Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml

Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner power jet spray, which blasts away deposits
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Review 1 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seriously good cleaner,
June 15, 2014
By Jb1974
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought an old bike that had been sat around for a while . Idle was terrible and not running on all four. On the road the bike was not bad, found one exhaust not as hot as others and suspected rubbish in the carb and blocked pilot jet.
Did not strip carb down, sprayed loads in air intake and up through drain valve on bottom of carb . Left solution in and drained it out several times.took for a run , eventually bike revved clean and no lumpiness.sorted !
Do wear gloves this stuff is aggressive.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best erg valve cleaner I've yet found,
May 17, 2014
By Squeeky22
from Casvegas
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong and effective, 500ml so plenty
"This is a powerful cleaner and would advise wearing gloves.
To date the best cleaner I have found for breaking down and dissolving deposits in a egr valve.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
February 12, 2014
By R50Cooperman
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I know for best results you really need to strip & clean the fuel system components but I just took the airbox apart on my BMW Mini Cooper & sprayed this up the intake. It first of all highlighted an issue with plug#1 which needed to be tightened as the cleaner made the car misfire on plug#1 so I also cleaned the plugs with the cleaner whilst tightening them.
The car runs so much better; smooth throttle and acceleration with no more jerkiness. I also used Wynns Fuel Injector additive in the fuel tank. I think the combination of both works very well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does The Job!,
January 07, 2014
By sprayedit
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This did everything it said. Cleaned lots of residue off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
January 02, 2014
By Anonymous
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used the can for cleaning my EGR valve of my Toyota Avensis. The solvent did the job in less than 15 minutes and half an hour later the car was back on the road.
All in all, excellent product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked a treat,
November 21, 2013
By Bikereck
from Glasgow, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does what it says on the tin
Cons: ouchy!
"Used this today to clean the throttle body on our 2002 Honda Civic 1.6 v-tec (108k miles). Took the throttle body off the car first, then stripped it down a little to get at all the bits affected. Gave everything a good spraying, left it to soak for a few minutes, then got to work with the cotton buds (Q-tips for our transatlantic cousins) and cloths. All the sooty residue and varnish appears to have gone, and with a lot less hassle than I had expected. Nice one, Wynns!
WARNING: use eye protection and kitchen gloves. This stuff stings if you get it on sensitive skin.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Results - Waste of time and money !,
October 27, 2013
By Bot1
from South Wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Purchased this product on the strength of the 17 reviews on this site. Used on simple carb off a generator. Carb was dismantled, float bowl had a light coating of petrol residue, also 'tide' mark on the casting inside. at fuel level. It didn't remove any of it even when worked with a toothbrush ! Very disappointing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job great.,
October 17, 2013
By ginge41
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does the job
"This did a perfect job on my old Ninja's carbs. Took em apart and soaked the jets for 10mins cleaned everything right up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Product,
July 07, 2013
By West19
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very powerful, lasts a long time
Cons: stings eyes!
"Used this to clean out the the throttle bodies of three different cars and it lasted for all of them. It cleans brilliantly and burns off good when you start the engine up. Do wear some sort if eye protection though as it does sting!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
June 05, 2013
By Micko73
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had used another high quality brand to clean the throttle body in my volvo which was filthy, couldnt remove half the grime. Car continued to rough idle and cut out. Got this stuff and tried again. It removed the dirt as i was spraying. No messing. Does exactly as it is supposed to do and had to use very little. Car is running perfectly now. Excellent product and very reasonable price compared to auto stores. Also used it to clean the mass air flow sensor. Watch the eyes when using, Blasts out of the can."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top notch cleaner,
June 02, 2013
By PeterBexley
from Bexley, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, powerful, no need to soak
Cons: stings eyes, dries skin
"Great cleaner, done a tin on 4 carbs, cleared two years worth of old fuel from them, no problems. Bike runs like a dream now. Will definitely purchase a few tins to sit in the garage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKFEN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazed...,
May 15, 2013
By 666999
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it works.
"Sceptical but I bought this for a Honda GX140 generator - it improved the running (can't be entirely sure because I changed some other things at the same time). But bingo... my ancient Honda XL motorbike has always been a pig to kick start - so I sprayed the intake with this. Since then, instead of ten to twenty kicks to start, it starts first kick (really). I've since put it through every carb I can find, from Chainsaws to lawn mowers. Great stuff - I think it might be dissolving the varnish that builds up in the carb (due to the ethanol which is now added to petrol). Great stuff."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wynns fuel injection & carb cleaner,
May 07, 2013
By charlie92
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"does what it says. i used it on my throttle body cleaned it well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oustanding results,
April 27, 2013
By Anonymous
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effectiveness
"My lawnmower made no attempt to fire up after a winter layoff. Inspection of the sparkplug indicated that no petrol was getting through to the cylinder. I put one big squirt of Cleaner in the air intake and left it for 15 mins. With the first pull of the starter handle the engine fired into life. The alternative was stripping the carburetor down and trying to clean the parts. Undoubtedly it would not have gone back the same and you would still need a chemical to dissolve the petrol gum. Amazed !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner,
April 05, 2013
By Shahid72
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is really amazing. I used this to clean the carburettor of my car & it gave excellent results as my car starts smoothly now. I will strongly recommend it to others."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carb cleaner,
January 18, 2013
By Edtheduck
from Soton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cleaned my throttle body a treat. Does what it dsays on the tin"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Squirt and its gone,
April 06, 2012
By Anonymous
from Stourbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick
Cons: wasnt enough in can to soak parts
Car Make 1953 Ford F10
"I used this to clean up my Holley 94 Carb as i was rebuilding the internals. Works great, gets all the grease and gunk from the inside and outer body in seconds. Well worth it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a charm!!,
October 22, 2011
By Xeeman
from Cambridge, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Chrysler 300c SRT8
"Used to clean my throttle body and it worked like a charm. The jet spray cleaned up deposits almost instantly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good cleaner,
May 12, 2011
By Danny1984
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"best product in category. Very happy. all parts are spotless"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
August 31, 2010
By Slasher2
from Essex, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used this product to clear the Amal carbs fitted to my old Triumph Bonneville, particularly the pilot bush, after they got clogged up with petseal from the fuel tank. Petseal (and other liners) dissolve in the Ethanol present in modern fuels and this product did the job in just a few squirts into the circuit. Recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>