Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml

Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner power jet spray, which blasts away deposits
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Review 1 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality product but very overpriced,
June 18, 2015
By Jeffo70
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent quality, visible cleaning results
Cons: halfords pricing is uncompetitive
" Excellent product but if I hadn't need this urgently I would have gone elsewhere as I bought further cans from other reputable Companies at half the price "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surging lawn tractor,
May 05, 2015
By Richard567
from Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having checked the fuel supply, filter, fuel pump etc. I was at a loss as to why my Honda 2417 lawn tractor V twin engine was 'surging'. On various forums I had read that fuel can 'gum up' the carburettor jets so I bought this product from Halfords as I was convinced that I had a fuel related problem but didn't want to strip down the carb.
So I sprayed the product as recommended into the air intake, fuel supply and fuel drain hole in the carburettor and started the engine. After a short while the engine began running normally again and has continued to do so. This product is excellent and I strongly recommend it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
liquid gold,
April 19, 2015
By spread
from bognor regis
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost
" Used on a motorbike that has been stood for a year or more with old fuel, mains where blocked, this tin saved me a lot of grief removing and striping the carbs, well worth the money and I have enough left to do the same again at least twice more. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works,
March 11, 2015
By pidginsue
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Its Easy and quick to use, recommended if on budget "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Class Product,
September 18, 2014
By TINGG
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Great solvent which quickly and effectively 'de-gummed' the blocked carb on my lawnmower.
The fine tube which fits into the spray cap makes it really easy to high pressure blast those very narrow blockages in the pilot jet and nozzles.
PERFECT !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic!,
August 12, 2014
By BulletDave
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This carb cleaner is outstanding! I used it to clean an ancient Amal Mk1 Concentric motorbike carb, which are notorious for having tiny 'blind' airways that easily get blocked and are difficult to clean out. This made light work of it, the combination of fierce solvent and a high-pressure spray proving irresistible!
Highly recommended! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seriously good cleaner,
June 15, 2014
By Jb1974
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought an old bike that had been sat around for a while . Idle was terrible and not running on all four. On the road the bike was not bad, found one exhaust not as hot as others and suspected rubbish in the carb and blocked pilot jet.
Did not strip carb down, sprayed loads in air intake and up through drain valve on bottom of carb . Left solution in and drained it out several times.took for a run , eventually bike revved clean and no lumpiness.sorted !
Do wear gloves this stuff is aggressive.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best erg valve cleaner I've yet found,
May 17, 2014
By Squeeky22
from Casvegas
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong and effective, 500ml so plenty
" This is a powerful cleaner and would advise wearing gloves.
To date the best cleaner I have found for breaking down and dissolving deposits in a egr valve.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
February 12, 2014
By R50Cooperman
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I know for best results you really need to strip & clean the fuel system components but I just took the airbox apart on my BMW Mini Cooper & sprayed this up the intake. It first of all highlighted an issue with plug#1 which needed to be tightened as the cleaner made the car misfire on plug#1 so I also cleaned the plugs with the cleaner whilst tightening them.
The car runs so much better; smooth throttle and acceleration with no more jerkiness. I also used Wynns Fuel Injector additive in the fuel tank. I think the combination of both works very well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does The Job!,
January 07, 2014
By sprayedit
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This did everything it said. Cleaned lots of residue off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
January 02, 2014
By Anonymous
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I used the can for cleaning my EGR valve of my Toyota Avensis. The solvent did the job in less than 15 minutes and half an hour later the car was back on the road.
All in all, excellent product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked a treat,
November 21, 2013
By Bikereck
from Glasgow, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does what it says on the tin
Cons: ouchy!
" Used this today to clean the throttle body on our 2002 Honda Civic 1.6 v-tec (108k miles). Took the throttle body off the car first, then stripped it down a little to get at all the bits affected. Gave everything a good spraying, left it to soak for a few minutes, then got to work with the cotton buds (Q-tips for our transatlantic cousins) and cloths. All the sooty residue and varnish appears to have gone, and with a lot less hassle than I had expected. Nice one, Wynns!
WARNING: use eye protection and kitchen gloves. This stuff stings if you get it on sensitive skin.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Results - Waste of time and money !,
October 27, 2013
By Bot1
from South Wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Purchased this product on the strength of the 17 reviews on this site. Used on simple carb off a generator. Carb was dismantled, float bowl had a light coating of petrol residue, also 'tide' mark on the casting inside. at fuel level. It didn't remove any of it even when worked with a toothbrush ! Very disappointing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job great.,
October 17, 2013
By ginge41
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does the job
" This did a perfect job on my old Ninja's carbs. Took em apart and soaked the jets for 10mins cleaned everything right up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Product,
July 07, 2013
By West19
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very powerful, lasts a long time
Cons: stings eyes!
" Used this to clean out the the throttle bodies of three different cars and it lasted for all of them. It cleans brilliantly and burns off good when you start the engine up. Do wear some sort if eye protection though as it does sting! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
June 05, 2013
By Micko73
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had used another high quality brand to clean the throttle body in my volvo which was filthy, couldnt remove half the grime. Car continued to rough idle and cut out. Got this stuff and tried again. It removed the dirt as i was spraying. No messing. Does exactly as it is supposed to do and had to use very little. Car is running perfectly now. Excellent product and very reasonable price compared to auto stores. Also used it to clean the mass air flow sensor. Watch the eyes when using, Blasts out of the can. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top notch cleaner,
June 02, 2013
By PeterBexley
from Bexley, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, powerful, no need to soak
Cons: stings eyes, dries skin
" Great cleaner, done a tin on 4 carbs, cleared two years worth of old fuel from them, no problems. Bike runs like a dream now. Will definitely purchase a few tins to sit in the garage. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKFEN
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazed...,
May 15, 2013
By 666999
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it works.
" Sceptical but I bought this for a Honda GX140 generator - it improved the running (can't be entirely sure because I changed some other things at the same time). But bingo... my ancient Honda XL motorbike has always been a pig to kick start - so I sprayed the intake with this. Since then, instead of ten to twenty kicks to start, it starts first kick (really). I've since put it through every carb I can find, from Chainsaws to lawn mowers. Great stuff - I think it might be dissolving the varnish that builds up in the carb (due to the ethanol which is now added to petrol). Great stuff. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wynns fuel injection & carb cleaner,
May 07, 2013
By charlie92
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" does what it says. i used it on my throttle body cleaned it well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wynn's Fuel Injection & Carburettor Cleaner 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oustanding results,
April 27, 2013
By Anonymous
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effectiveness
" My lawnmower made no attempt to fire up after a winter layoff. Inspection of the sparkplug indicated that no petrol was getting through to the cylinder. I put one big squirt of Cleaner in the air intake and left it for 15 mins. With the first pull of the starter handle the engine fired into life. The alternative was stripping the carburetor down and trying to clean the parts. Undoubtedly it would not have gone back the same and you would still need a chemical to dissolve the petrol gum. Amazed !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>