Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Computers & GPS or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor

Garmin Edge 500 with Cadence & Heart Rate Monitor a lightweight GPS-based cycling computer for performance-driven cyclists. Loaded with data, Edge 500 tracks your distance, speed, location and elevation with high sensitivity GPS.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product!,
November 18, 2012
By StuC38
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A superb training aid. Pricey, but worth it. Been using on the turbo and I still haven't used all the different stats and figures that are available."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mid range GPS,
October 15, 2012
By DazN
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: switch on press a button and ride
Cons: too many menu's to switch bikes
"I upgraded from the Edge 200 as I wanted HRM.
Nice device, very easy to use and customise."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Egde 500,
September 25, 2012
By 2Lockers
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small / compact
Cons: price a little high
"Great peice of Kit. Didn't need the maps so the 500 was a great buy.
Costs a bit but well worth it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike Computer,
September 19, 2012
By WiggosSideburns
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Have had numerous 'cheaper' products over the last 10 years and this does it all. GPS, cadance, HR and the computer on its own is well worth the money. Only negative so far is using the Garmin Connect website,which is not as straight forward and gets a bit of getting used to. However have already recommended this product to a few friends"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garmin Edge 500,
August 18, 2012
By MattOl
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Choice of the pro-peloton GPS computer. Industry standard.
Fabulous, almost infinatly customisable screens to allow choice of information displayed. Rapid satellite acquistion. Looks lovely with excellent battery life.
Great price from halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not cheap but.....,
July 06, 2012
By BFB59
from Wiltshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Searched for about 3 weeks trying to decide what type of GPS computer to go for. Decided I didn't need mapping so plumped for the Edge 500.
Dead easy to use and with 5 easily selected customisable screens gives you all the info you'll ever need in the saddle. Plus Garmin Connect gives you all the analysis after the ride and a detailed history of your rides.
Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
June 14, 2012
By Gethin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: battery life
Cons: expensive
"Good piece of kit, I think essential to improve on training etc. Easy to use and battery life is great"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
May 11, 2012
By hawkes5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good friendly staff in store.
the product does what it says on the box and is excellent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
garmin 500,
April 20, 2012
By mack70
from Paignton Devon
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a Garmin 500 on line in December. It was defective and was immediately returned through Halfords Torquay branch.I received another one a few days later and after using it for 4 rides various functions proved to have failed. It was again returned throgh the Torquay branch.I then had to wait about a month to get a replacement as Halfords were out of stock. I contacted Garmin to try and get an earlier delivery and also to report the problems I was having.They were not at all interested and made no effort to help me.So I am on my third model now and so far it is working as it should. Full marks to Halfords Torquay and to Halfords Distribution Centre for their service, but do not waste your time talking to Garmin. If this unit proves to be reliable then obviously I will be happy to uprate my product ratings above."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Poduct,
March 18, 2012
By Tigertankie
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent looks, good quality and made for the job, facilities
Cons: perhaps slightly pricey .
"My first Garmin Product and it does everything stated.
I am really pleased with the look, the quality, the controls and the fixing brackets. Overall a very good purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup,
March 05, 2012
By BallroomKing
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The setup and mounting to the bike does not take more than 10 - 15min. And it works straight away. There are no problems with signal loss (GPS or wireless to the speed/cadence sensor).
I have been using my smartphone with heartrate belt before as well as a low-cost bike computer. They have annoyed be on so many occasions (lost GPS signal, battery flat in no time at all, bluetooth HR belt unreliable, bike computer interferes with bluetooth etc.)
Yes, the Edge 500 does not come cheap but it is good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garmin 500,
March 03, 2012
By GARMIN1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"great service from halfords, arrived very quickly and best price avaliable. The unit is as good as everybody says, linking it with Strava is one of the most addictive things ever!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garmin 500,
March 03, 2012
By RobMac77
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: record and review details of rides, heart rate monitoring as a measure of effort
Cons: it's not cheap
"A great product, especially if you want to record and review your rides.
Using the Training Centre application or the online Website allows you to see where you've been, distance, elevation, etc.
Linking this with heart rate gives a good estimate of effort made and therefore you can monitor improvements in fitness by comparing performance over the same route
Set-up was pretty quick and easy
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin 500,
February 14, 2012
By Bigtexxas
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The cheapest bundle in the UK.
Great service, great price and very speedy delivery!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
February 12, 2012
By Shug13
from Amesbury,England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: didnt arrive in the 4 days stated
"An excellent piece of equipment at a fantastic price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
v good,
February 11, 2012
By labbyd
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"cheapest price on the internet, excellent product, fast delivery. no complaints... buy one"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Class,
February 10, 2012
By delirious
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Top quality product, faultless service from Halfords. Very competitive pricing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great product, flat battery,
January 17, 2012
By bee8y
from Northampton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The device itself is great, a number of friends that I ride with have them, so I knew that before I bought it.
However, when it arrived I set it up and used it straight away for about 3 hours. Then the following day there was no connection to the cadence/speed device. It turned out that the battery in that unit itself was flat and I had to purchase another."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awsome edge!,
January 14, 2012
By oscar66
from STOKE-ON-TRENT, ENGLAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"THE EDGE IS EASY TO SET-UP AND JUST AS EASY TO USE. ONLY JUST HAD ITS MAIDEN RUN BUT THE AMOUNT OF INFORMATION YOU CAN OBTAIN IS FANTASTIC. THIS IS A GREAT TRAINING AND RIDING TOOL WHICH WILL IMPROVE YOUR CYCLING VASTLY!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 500 GPS Cycle Computer with HRM & CAD Sensor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Packs a punch!,
January 05, 2012
By Vitus992
from Oxfordshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: exceeds my expectations
Cons: bit of a dodgy colour !
"This has to be the most useful piece of kit I've ever bought. I have four bikes for different purposes and the Garmin is easy to switch from one to another. It comes with two stem/bar mounts which themselves are easy to swap over to other bikes. The display is clear and big enough to read and the buttons can be used even with winter gloves.
The best feature is that I can customise the display for each event - for example, my time trial screen shows speed, average speed, elapsed time, distance, cadence and heart rate. Just perfect - all the info I need to stay on target. You can also switch screens on the fly to show (for example) the gradient of the hill you're climbing.
Set up and fitting is easy, and the data analysis on the Garmin Connect website is excellent. Oh, and you can pre-set workouts too for intervals, threshold training etc. Why isn't everything this good?!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>