Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack

The BikeHut Rack Pack`s hook and loop fitting means it can be used with most pannier racks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Review 1 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just what i wanted,
July 27, 2013
By ajg66
from yate. s. glos
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good easy to access storage
Cons: a choice of colours would be nice
" having looked at many on line reviews, I decided to buy the bike hut bag. it was much cheaper, almost half the price of some and looked the part. I ordered on click and collect and an hour later it was in the shop. it did exactly what I wanted. I couldn't fault the quality or the zippered compartments, which according to some reviews caused concern. although i'm old and wrinkly I do need some street cred and this fitted on my hybrid rack easily and securely. my pension slush fund was safely hidden from the wife in a side pocket and my tools, wet gear and maps all found a suitable pocket. I have now completed several long journeys on pretty rough lanes and so far no problems. I can only say that I am delighted with the bag, it does what I want and at a price I can afford. great product and great value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? YATE
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money?,
July 22, 2013
By OMIL
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheapish
Cons: fixing
" On first look the rack pannier gives a good impression with the number of pockets, medium size and built in weather cover (took me a while to find that as its underneath in another zip compartment). On first fitting to an open type rack on an old CB Super Dalesman It was immediately obvious that it would not sit straight for long as the velcro fastening is quite stiff and does`nt (won`t) follow the bag contour that well. I decided to make a wood insert to flatten and strengthen the bottom of the bag. This worked marginally well. I find that the velcro fastening will not hold its grip and could do with velcro up the side of the bag to assist. There is enough length on the strap part to allow for this. I will probably make this modification in due course.
Overall you get what you pay for and this is relatively cheap and does a job, just keep remembering to check the fixing especially if you have loaded up the bag. This bag may be better on a solid platform rack.
"
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has great areas for storage,
July 17, 2013
By CarolAngela
from Leeds, West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: different pockets
" Lots of handy pockets in addition to main storage compartment. Great in built rain cover and shoulder strap for when taking with you when bike parked up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Slightly loose fitting,
July 02, 2013
By Mundo88
from London
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good space
Cons: velcro fastenings
" I find the Velcro straps on the bottom do their job and keep the bag on the rack, but it feels loose and going round corners I can sometimes feel hte bag shift. They aren't the easiest straps to attach either, sort of have to reach your hand under the bag once its on the rack.
No complaints with the amount of space, as long as you don't rip open the zips I can't see them breaking.
Good little bag overall. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Rack,
June 28, 2013
By Roy034
from Norfolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: internal pockets
" Brought this to carry a small amount of kit for day rides and also for commute to work.
The bag has proven to be of ample size and is very securely held in place by the two velco straps. The one thing I will highlight is that the statement on the lable is correct, it is only shower proof and a light one at that. It comes with a cover for heavier showers bit I now ensure things are wrapped in poly bags for extra protection. Considering how much it cost this is a minor issue.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice size - poor quality,
June 15, 2013
By Conks
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: nice size, rain cover included, lots of storage areas
Cons: flimsy, not the best quality
" Bought the bag and after using it for 3/4 rides the zip that holds the rain cover inside had split "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value and size,
June 11, 2013
By JA27
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: capacity, light weight, ease of use
" Good pack for day rides, can accommodate everything you'd want for a day's cycle. Ease of use for attaching and detaching. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
May 18, 2013
By Beanface843
from Cheltenham.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: shoulder strap for when you're off the bike., waterproof cover, spacious, good quality heavy duty zips
Cons: wish there where other colours available.
" Does the job well. Good quality product with plenty of space for all the essentials. Puncture repair kit, lock, wallet, phone and sandwiches all fit in it nicely, and there's still room for a waterproof to deal with the unpredictable weather! Sits nicely behind the saddle which is much more streamlined than panniers, A real bonus over longer distances. The problem with the stitching mentioned on previous reviews seems to have been solved, it has a very well built feel to it. The zips are slightly sticky, but this is simply due to the fact that they are heavy duty, so they won't come apart and let you down mid ride. A tiny amount of grease or chain oil soon solves this problem. The carry handle and shoulder strap are useful extras. A great alternative to riding with a rucksack, which is, quite frankly, rubbish over long distance day rides. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first rack pack,
May 03, 2013
By Tootington
from Tooting
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all the different pockets, rainproof cover
Cons: zips are a little stiff
" Someone put some thought into this one and I'm glad they did.
I commute to work but I like to travel light. So I needed something to fit my bike tools, spare tire, my medium sized lock, phone, keys and some other small bits and bobs. Also, when it gets warm, I need to fit my cycling jacket in there and my thick winter cycling gloves. It all fits, very compact and looks good too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
poor stitching,
April 25, 2013
By meridarider93
from south Ruislip
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: all the compartments
Cons: sticking zips, poor design on stitching, needs a secure way of attachments yo fack
" The bag itself looks great. Loads of compartments. But zips stick. stitching on velcro straps started to come undone after three days the buckle began to come away from the bag.this is the straps that holds the bag on to the rack . Very poor design. Buckle held on by only 5 stitches should be a continuous piece of webbing stitched the whole length. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal storage,
April 18, 2013
By alfbakotu
from Thetford Norfolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ammount of pockets, suitable colour, easy to attach
" This bag has many pockets to store tools, phones etc and a large central space for waterproofs or other clothes. It also has a concealed waterproof cover that works a treat. I am very pleased with this holdall "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little pannier,
March 08, 2013
By Lockness2009
from Rochdale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: extra pockets
Cons: the zips are a bit sticky
" I just have started cycling to work and needed bag to put few spare clothes and lunch in. This is great. Plenty of pockets and easy to attach. For weekend cycling plenty of room for waterproofs and extra water butties etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound product,
March 01, 2013
By Daltonxk
from Lockerbie
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: multiple pockets of different sizes
" I've had this bag for a year and it has performed well. I used it every day for work for 6 months. It fits well and quite easily onto a standard rear pannier frame. Some stiching gave way after a few days but Halford provided a replacement without question and that has been fine. A small hole has appeared in the rear pocket from carrying tools. I guess I should have thought to wrap these in a rag to prevent this. I does seem to carry quite a lot more than the stated 9 litres. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good size bag well designed,
February 28, 2013
By CJA1
from Atherstone warks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Product bought as part of package for my wife's new bike. Decided more practical than basket. Pleased with adaptability and number of secure pockets. Will be a great asset. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack,
January 09, 2013
By Allywdb
from Dundee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to mount and dismount. Good size for days out. Space for rain jacket thermos and snacks. Small pockets good for Mobile Phone etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How did they know I really needed it?,
January 05, 2013
By Badonhills
from North Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good capacity and pockets
" The Saturday before Christmas, yet another e-mail from Halfords but I have a quick flick through. 20% off for a pannier rack pack when I already have a side pannier? But was I not thinking that one side pannier made me a bit heavy and unbalanced? Give it a go, ordered on line, went in just a couple of hours later and there it was, even in our country market town branch. Sold! Excellent service and excellent quality which proved its worth on the post Christmas outing with the boys. Thank you Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BikeHut Pannier Rack Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A useful Rack pack,
January 01, 2013
By Rodders1956
from Newcastle, Staffordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: multiple compartments
" I am quite impressed with this 'Rack Pack' bag.
What is not clear (without personal inspection) is that the bag comes with 7 zipped pockets; left hand side, right hand side, front, back, top, bottom, and an internal.
The front, left, and right hand side pockets are not large (in terms of storage capacity) ; they have height and width but no significant depth. I store my basic toolkit in the left pocket, and a spare inner-tube and the bag's shoulder strap in the right-hand pocket - but they take up all the space. The front pocket can just about accommodate a mobile phone and a small bunch of keys.
The back pocket is more useable as in addition to its height and width it also has depth. Sufficient capacity to store my cycle lamps and a little bit more.
The bottom pocket comes with the bag's yellow shower cover already inserted. Like the side pockets the bottom pocket does not have a great deal of depth, and access is hindered by the limited zip opening. I removed the bag's shower cover [which I now store in the bag's back pocket – this gives quicker access to it in the event of a sudden downpour] and now store a small nylon [emergency] bag and additional [emergency] bungee cords in the bottom pocket.
In the top pocket I can store a pair of gloves and a woollen hat. Maybe a little bit more with a bit of pushing.
The internal pocket is of a mesh type My cheque book fits inside it without needing to be folded.
All these little compartments/pockets safely and securely take care of the smaller essentials for cycling, leaving the main compartment free for food, a jacket or waterproofs, and a bike lock.
On the top of the bag is an elasticated cord which would allow additional small items to be stored under it.
Hopefully the above examples give you an indication of the capacity and usefulness of this bag.
The bag fastens to the bike's rack using Velcro straps. Personally I found them fiddly [and time-consuming] to fit. As I have to remove my bag from the bike on a regular basis I now use three bungee cords to secure the bag to my bike rack when only travelling short distances.
The web advert states that the bag's capacity as 9 litres - but can be expanded. The tag [attached to the bag] indicates it has a capacity of 12 Litres. A further discrepancy between the web advert and the tag is that the advert states the bag to be 600D water repellant polyester, whereas the tag states it to be 420D water repellant polyester..
Personally I found this bag a significant improvement upon my previous rack pack. Multiple compartments allow me to safely store my 'small cycling essentials' easily, and the main compartment is big enough to handle my remaining needs for a day trip. The bag comes with a handle (and a shoulder strap attachment) for easy carrying when not attached to the bike. The bag also includes a loop tab for my rear light.
A well-thought out, practical bag. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.