Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL

The Universal Multigrip Xl Snow Socks give your car grip on the roads.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Review 1 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT, so much better than snow chains.,
January 05, 2014
By Beaulieumorleys
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Using the snow socks right now in Chamonix. Compared to snow chains they are easy to fit and make no noise when driving. Couldn't be happier!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Universal Multigrip Snow Socks - much better than snow chains,
January 03, 2014
By Orange123
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works well in the snow, easy to install, convenient plastic bag for storage once used
"Much better and easier to install/.remove than snow chains. Worked very well in bad snow conditions at Chamonix Mont Blanc in France.
Definitely recommend it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow problems....what snow problems??,
February 07, 2013
By Laurie884
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product and price. Work very well and you feel as if the snow isnt there. Got up a hill without issue where others were struggling. Wish I'd bought them years ago. Also you dont wear away the rubber on your tyres trying to get grip!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snow socks,
February 06, 2013
By war1982
from nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"hi very good better than cheap plastic one did not need to get up any earlyer for work or clear snow from driveway just sliped them on weels and strait over snow would recomened rubber glove hands get bit cake up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Performance,
February 03, 2013
By kevin62
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: grip
Cons: finishing of stitching in places is't great.
"Easy to put on., included gloves are very good though.
Grip is amazing, drove up a snow covered 1 in 9 hill without any problems at all.
Felt a bit guilty driving by a stuck drivers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It doesn't last long,
February 01, 2013
By Maike
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: it wears too fast
"The grip is good on snow.
However on wet snow it's not good. Wet snow accumulates inside and then the wheel spins free. And so the sock is useless.
It wears too fast, the joints crack open.
"
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential for my snowy estate,
January 30, 2013
By PaulaD73
from BlAckwood, South Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: they work and get you home to snowy housing estate
"Bought these for a long journey I had to make a couple of weeks ago. Red alert weather warnings for snow. Main roads were fine of course, but these socks were essential for the last part of my journey to get home to the South Wales valleys.
My vectra loves to have a good slide around but these got me up hills where I would normally fail.
Getting them on wasn't too bad at all. I was worried after reading reviews that you need a bit of strength, but I'm an absolute weakling and I managed it fine without having to call for help from a man. Result."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actually Works!,
January 30, 2013
By Dazamondo
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight easy storage, easy to put on, they work!
Cons: bit difficult to take off in cold icy conditions.
"My partner has to go up a fairly isolated steep hill every day to work with her horse, When snow was forecast I thought I'd prepare by looking for snow chains for our VW T5 van. Reviews of the various snow chains available were mixed but these 'snow socks' had fairly consistently high reviews and were considerably cheaper. I decided to go for them and was glad I did. On the day it dumped nearly six inches of snow we drove nearly 20 miles on slushy snow roads including our desolate hill which had solid packed icy snow on it, not to mention several abandoned cars! The ol' snow socks got us up it with barely a hint of slippage. Also at the stable they enabled a tricky 5 point turn with no hassle when another van was slipping all over the place! They were easy to get on, but a bit more of a struggle to get off, mainly because it was freezing cold and there were chunks of ice stuck to the wheel arches. When I did get them off there was no sign of wear on these 'material' snow chains despite all the driving on roads (at 25mph) with just slushy snow on. They seem really well made and strong. Long term they may not match traditional snow chains, but for the occasional British episode of snow, they are well worth having in the boot! Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant when it snows!,
January 30, 2013
By stu1967
from Horwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought these for a Mercedes E-Class. Usually when there is any level of snow the car really struggles due to the rear wheel drive. I had an opportunity to try them last week when a good 10 inches of snow came down and I needed to be out and about. Took about 10 minutes to fit - mainly due to the freezing conditions! They worked brilliant - grip was excellent even when braking. Went past lots of people struggling on main roads and had no problem on side streets that had previously not been driven on. Highly recommended and useful to have in the boot during snowy weather."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service,
January 27, 2013
By RaymieJ77
from Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Haven't got to use them yet, but have to say the service from Halfords was very fast and professional."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple and Sensible,
January 26, 2013
By Whoever99
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: fit neatly away in the boot their bag, the look easy to fit, instructions are clear
Cons: rather pricey for what they are made of
"Bought these snow socks for 5 Series BMW.... have not used them yet but they fit nicely away under the boot floor and, for anyone that has ever tried driving a rear wheel car in the show / ice, provide confidence that I wont get stuck at the bottom of even the slightest incline..... Instructions look easy to use - I think they will be easier to put on than chains but I havent actually tried them - they are for emergencies ! A bit pricey for what they are, but worth it for peace of mind I think"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remarkably Good!,
January 21, 2013
By HomeandWarm
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance, light and compact to carry around
Cons: cheap gloves in the kit - get some longer ones!
"A pair of these made a vast amount of difference to my car in the snow. I got stuck this morning at the first hill on my commute, then decided to go home again.
I had four attempts at getting up the road back to the house, tried having a bit of a run up, tried everything I knew. Even tried reversing up to keep more weight on the front wheels. Eventually gave up, and abandoned the car in a safe spot.
Got a pair of these on the front wheels around lunchtime, and cruised up the hill home (forward!) without a hint of wheelspin. I could stop and set off on the steepest part of my road, on packed snow.
They are tricky to get on and I'd recommend that you get a pair of long waterproof gloves to use when fitting them - you get a lot of muck from the wheelarch on your sleeves otherwise.
The only lasting concern I've got is how durable they might be, a decent stone in the road might split them. A price worth paying perhaps for the compactness and lightness.
Once I've got them dried out, they'll live in the car for the season - well worth the price to get you out of a spot of bother."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Snow Socks,
November 15, 2012
By lufclightspeed
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought them.
Waiting for snow ... it hasn't snowed yet"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
-32points
1out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snow sockd,
November 08, 2012
By irene47
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: no need to change tyres, easy to put socks on and take off
"these really work well worth the money. they arrived in store on time staff very helpful and very polite this was in the Peterhead store Aberdeenshire"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snow socks xl,
April 23, 2012
By bambi1973
from hereford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
"Great worked very well lots snow in camgorms in scotland and put snow socks on easy to fit and gives you lots more grip. wish i brought these ages ago"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great,
February 20, 2012
By Taxicab
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: they get you unstuck in the snow
Cons: cheap plastic gloves
"I purchased these just before the last lot of snow and was very glad I did. Once fitted I was easily able to travel even the worst affected roads with other drivers blocking the roads being the only impediment. They could do with proper gloves to be included but apart from they are great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Work well,
February 05, 2012
By Bellcat
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: grip well
Cons: harder to fit on wide tyres
"Was a bit unsure how good these would be but quite surprised, overall grip especially up hill where without them you would be stuck was pretty good, but back still slides! On my tyres (235/45/17) these took about 10 mins to fit due to the width and clearance in the arches but once on (an cold fingers later) they stay on. Would recommend, saves you running into the back of someone and paying insurance excess."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got us out of big trouble,
January 05, 2012
By FrazerJollygoodfellow
from Sudbury, Suffolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: not as east to fit as expected
"We were driving to a french ski resort in an Audi A6 estate. Had to drive over a Col that was covered in snow. Not sure about the 2 min fit as I think our tires were at the big end of the scale. My wife would have had no chance without breaking a few nails, but once on were fantastic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Snow Socks,
December 28, 2011
By Blake2
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Since i bought them it hasn't snowed!! So I haven't been able to test them - they take very little room up in the boot though."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
-21points
2out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks XL
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow Socks,
October 03, 2011
By Guss22
from Beverley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The service for collection was excellent. Owing to the record breaking weather I haven't had chance to try outy the product but am sure they will work excellently too"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-55points
22out of 99found this review helpful.