Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large

The Universal Multigrip Large Snow Socks provides you with the grip you need.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
37 of 41(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Review 1 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow socks,
February 13, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to put on - haven't used yet - but feel far more confident just having them in the boot "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!,
February 11, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A bit of a challenge to get on as they are tight fitting but amazing once on. I got stuck on ice covered hill and started to wheel spin. Stopped, put these on and off I went. Was considering a four wheel drive purchase but have now changed my mind!
Put through a wash in machine and now in their storage bag in boot of car.
They also came with a plastic bag to put dirty socks in and a pair of gloves which I thought was a nice gesture!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very difficult to take off the wheels!,
February 04, 2015
By
from Surrey
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: does the job once fitted
Cons: fitting/unfitting
" This product was difficult to fit and a real nightmare to take off.
I bought these as a security for a ski trip to France. Unfortunately I did have to use them. It took me 40 minutes to fit the 2 wheels (according to the notice it takes 2 minutes) though that was by -3c with a snow storm so I put that down to my inexperience and the conditions) but the main problem was to take them off. You are supposed to just grab the socks and pull strongly. I tried this for over 20 minutes without any success at all. At the end I had to stop an other motorist (fortunately I can speak French) and a young friendly chap was willing to help even though he got himself quite dirty in the process. It took 2 average build men to pull strongly on the socks and be able to take these things off. My car is rear wheel drive which maybe did not help (you can't turn the wheels to get a better access to the back of the wheel) but it was a very stressful experience when you know that you have another 500 miles to go to the ferry port and can't drive with these socks on the dry or at over 25 MPH so they have to go!
Unlikely to ever use them again. The quality seems OK and they did the job brilliantly once fitted but it is far too difficult to take them off "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
one of the socks ripped,
January 05, 2015
By
from Surrey
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" They were difficult to fit and ended up jacking up he car to fit them. had to travel 17kms up a mountain road in snowy conditions disappointingly one of the socks ripped. Sock stayed on just so that we could get up the mountain but will be unable to use it again.
The socks looked and felt quality but unfortunately reality was one of them failed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (KING STREET)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They work,
January 05, 2014
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quick to put on, grip well
Cons: not sure how durable they will be?
" Used while skiing in the French Alps this year. Worked well, and we wouldn't have got up to our apartment without them. We have an Audi A4 Avant, and the clearance between tyres and car body isn't great, so was a bit of a struggle to get the socks on, and took a bit of skin off my knuckles. But still pretty quick - a couple of minutes per wheel. I'd definitely recommend them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow Socks,
December 04, 2013
By
from Oldham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Brilliant product keeps you going when others can't, a little tricky to fit and remove but it gets easier with practise "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed,
March 27, 2013
By
from Notts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" First time I have used this product.
Very impressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really worth getting a pair.,
February 23, 2013
By
from Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made easy to fit
Cons: the gloves could be tougher
" I bought these just before a recent winter trip to Derbyshire to use in case the weather turned as bad as they predicted. So glad I did as the car got stuck in 6 inches of snow as soon as we arrived! Luckily we weren't stuck for long as I fitted my new snow socks and within less than 10 mins we were moving again. They really work! They grip straight away (after you've got them positioned correctly on the tyres ). I would recommend having a 'practice fitment ' just so you know how to fit them before you're stood in the freezing cold trying to read the instructions! I used a pair of rubber gloves in addition to the thin long gloves they supply you with, you'll get messy without them. I think the cost of them is nothing compared to having to cancel a holiday or paying for a days holiday off work. Now having them in the boot of my car during winter just gives me the confidence that I can get out of trouble should the snow get bad on the roads. Totally recommend them! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing product,
February 07, 2013
By
from WEST YORKSHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: nothing perfect
" after my sister-in-law saying that this product was a load of nonsense and it was only a bit of velcro i was a bit worried when my wife bought these for our alfa romeo for my son and I's recent trip up to scotland, without this product i would have not been able to get out of our city without them, we travelled on the second weekend of bad snow this year 2013, whilst lorries and vans were slipping all over my mito was like a tank ploughing through the 10inch of snow that had fallen over night, when we got to the A1 we removed them, it was quick and simple, as was fitting them to my alloy wheels as well, brilliant product, they even fit my fiat scudo van, everyone should have a pair, much better than snow chains, lighter to carry, and easier to store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SNOW SOCKS IN WOODFORD,
February 05, 2013
By
from LONDON WOODFORD
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" SOCKS WEREN'T IN STOCK ON ORDERING BUT ARRIVED DAY BEFORE SCHEDULED BRANCH INFORMED ME AND HAVE BEEN COLLECTED WELL DONE "HALFORDS "READY FOR USE IN BOOT OF CAR FEBRUARY SNOW AND ICE IS LIKELY READY FOR A TEST ! MY FAMILY IS NOW A LOT SAFER AND AT EASE WITH THE WEATHER AND TRAVELING. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effective but....,
February 05, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: they will give you traction in snow
Cons: have to take them off on tarmac
" Pleasantly surprised they worked well in the snow where I previously got stuck. Drawback is you have to take them off for roads that have been ploughed/gritted so they are not an alternative to winter tyres although a lot cheaper. Also, depending on the height/wheel size (width) of your car, no way near to get on as per the video. It was a struggle on a 3 series bmw on msport suspension & 255 rears without jacking the car up slightly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well - but NOT easy to fit...,
February 04, 2013
By
from Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works well after fitting
Cons: struggle to fit over wide tyres
" `Does what it says on the tin`....however, when it comes to fitting the socks for the first time...it is NOT straightforward.The gloves supplied are flimsy thin polythene and provide little protection when fighting to fit the sock over the far side of wide tyres. They soon were discarded as it is necessary to feel when the gaitor is in place at the rear. It required quite a bit of brute force! Not a job for a suit or manicured nails! Both fitting and removal take much longer than advertised...in ice..and snow...so frozen fingers. When on works well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large,
February 04, 2013
By
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance
Cons: first time fitting is a but fiddly
" I was a bit sceptical about Snow Socks at first but having used them they are a must for the car boot over the winter. I bought these recently after being causght out and having to abandon my car after a small snow flurry. I was gald I did two nights later we had about a foot of snow fall I fitted the snow socks and was able to get to work without any issues the Snow Socks worked brilliantly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic in snow & ice,
February 04, 2013
By
from Huddersfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: nothing!
" I bought these socks over other brands because the sizing was flexible enough to cover the tyre sizes of both my vehicles. In the recent snow I used them a couple of times to drive the cars on packed snow & ice and they were excellent.
There was absolutely no traction with normal tyres. Fitting the socks, using the included gloves, only took a few minutes and I was then able to drive the car almost normally.
The only comment I will make is that it is a good idea to carry a bucket to put them in when you have finished with them to avoid the melted snow making a mess in your boot! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick, easy and effective.,
February 04, 2013
By
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy to fit and remove, seem to handle the bad weather, cheaper and easier than snow chains
" I bought these in anticipation of a long journey across the country on snow day, when I needed them I was quite glad to have them! They were easy to fit and remove when I followed the instructions - I do have a good clearance between the wheels and the arches so that may have made it a bit easier.
All in all I am really impressed with the snow socks and have been recommending them to everyone I know.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works brilliantly!,
February 03, 2013
By
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple fitting, great for snowy conditions, keeps you mobile
Cons: difficult to fit on bmws due to small arch gap, need to remove once you get to roads clear of snow
" My fiance has to park up a long way from our house when it snows due to the hill. With these fitted however she is able to get to the house in snowy conditions. Worked well in both deep and light snow. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for emergencies,
February 03, 2013
By
from WGC, Hertfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, material quality, performance, design
Cons: difficult to fit on sport cars, difficult to remove
" Bought this just before the snow came in and thank God I did. Good quality and functional but an ABSOLUTE nightmare to put on and take off especially with a small arch clearance. Took 20 mins to fit during the recent snow fall and about 10 mins to remove once finished.
Cannot fault the quality or the performance as they got me home safely through a number of treacherous hill climbs and descents. Would recommend buying 2 pairs as the pair without will still cause problems.
For cars that have adequate arch clearance it may be a little easier to fit and remove but for performance or lowered cars be prepared to experience some frustrating moments and cold fingers. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
now sicks,
February 03, 2013
By
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" an ideal piece of kit for a raer wheel drive car that we can't get up the hill near us in the snow - wish I had brought them earlier & cheaper than a set of cold weather tyres "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase,
February 03, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Haven't used them yet but the package is quite small making it easy to store in the car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
possibly a good product but no way of knowing!,
February 02, 2013
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought these using the online reserve and collect function. I filled in my registration number etc and the website told me that these were the right size for my car. The day after collection I got stuck and went to use them only to find out thatthey were hugely too small for my car! So I never got to the ppoint of ginding out whether they work or not! Halfords fully refunded and informed me that this is a common problem with the website! So buyer beware! If you can double check and not just trust the website! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>