Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large

The Universal Multigrip Large Snow Socks provides you with the grip you need.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Review 1 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They work,
January 05, 2014
By dan69
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quick to put on, grip well
Cons: not sure how durable they will be?
"Used while skiing in the French Alps this year. Worked well, and we wouldn't have got up to our apartment without them. We have an Audi A4 Avant, and the clearance between tyres and car body isn't great, so was a bit of a struggle to get the socks on, and took a bit of skin off my knuckles. But still pretty quick - a couple of minutes per wheel. I'd definitely recommend them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow Socks,
December 04, 2013
By BEB59
from Oldham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Brilliant product keeps you going when others can't, a little tricky to fit and remove but it gets easier with practise"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed,
March 27, 2013
By Clusone7
from Notts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First time I have used this product.
Very impressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really worth getting a pair.,
February 23, 2013
By Carroots67
from Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made easy to fit
Cons: the gloves could be tougher
"I bought these just before a recent winter trip to Derbyshire to use in case the weather turned as bad as they predicted. So glad I did as the car got stuck in 6 inches of snow as soon as we arrived! Luckily we weren't stuck for long as I fitted my new snow socks and within less than 10 mins we were moving again. They really work! They grip straight away (after you've got them positioned correctly on the tyres ). I would recommend having a 'practice fitment ' just so you know how to fit them before you're stood in the freezing cold trying to read the instructions! I used a pair of rubber gloves in addition to the thin long gloves they supply you with, you'll get messy without them. I think the cost of them is nothing compared to having to cancel a holiday or paying for a days holiday off work. Now having them in the boot of my car during winter just gives me the confidence that I can get out of trouble should the snow get bad on the roads. Totally recommend them!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing product,
February 07, 2013
By DAZ2984
from WEST YORKSHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: nothing perfect
"after my sister-in-law saying that this product was a load of nonsense and it was only a bit of velcro i was a bit worried when my wife bought these for our alfa romeo for my son and I's recent trip up to scotland, without this product i would have not been able to get out of our city without them, we travelled on the second weekend of bad snow this year 2013, whilst lorries and vans were slipping all over my mito was like a tank ploughing through the 10inch of snow that had fallen over night, when we got to the A1 we removed them, it was quick and simple, as was fitting them to my alloy wheels as well, brilliant product, they even fit my fiat scudo van, everyone should have a pair, much better than snow chains, lighter to carry, and easier to store"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SNOW SOCKS IN WOODFORD,
February 05, 2013
By JIM911
from LONDON WOODFORD
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"SOCKS WEREN'T IN STOCK ON ORDERING BUT ARRIVED DAY BEFORE SCHEDULED BRANCH INFORMED ME AND HAVE BEEN COLLECTED WELL DONE "HALFORDS "READY FOR USE IN BOOT OF CAR FEBRUARY SNOW AND ICE IS LIKELY READY FOR A TEST ! MY FAMILY IS NOW A LOT SAFER AND AT EASE WITH THE WEATHER AND TRAVELING."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effective but....,
February 05, 2013
By dan54321
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: they will give you traction in snow
Cons: have to take them off on tarmac
"Pleasantly surprised they worked well in the snow where I previously got stuck. Drawback is you have to take them off for roads that have been ploughed/gritted so they are not an alternative to winter tyres although a lot cheaper. Also, depending on the height/wheel size (width) of your car, no way near to get on as per the video. It was a struggle on a 3 series bmw on msport suspension & 255 rears without jacking the car up slightly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well - but NOT easy to fit...,
February 04, 2013
By Steve113
from Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works well after fitting
Cons: struggle to fit over wide tyres
"`Does what it says on the tin`....however, when it comes to fitting the socks for the first time...it is NOT straightforward.The gloves supplied are flimsy thin polythene and provide little protection when fighting to fit the sock over the far side of wide tyres. They soon were discarded as it is necessary to feel when the gaitor is in place at the rear. It required quite a bit of brute force! Not a job for a suit or manicured nails! Both fitting and removal take much longer than advertised...in ice..and snow...so frozen fingers. When on works well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large,
February 04, 2013
By Sailman1
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance
Cons: first time fitting is a but fiddly
"I was a bit sceptical about Snow Socks at first but having used them they are a must for the car boot over the winter. I bought these recently after being causght out and having to abandon my car after a small snow flurry. I was gald I did two nights later we had about a foot of snow fall I fitted the snow socks and was able to get to work without any issues the Snow Socks worked brilliantly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic in snow & ice,
February 04, 2013
By CharlieBoy667
from Huddersfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: nothing!
"I bought these socks over other brands because the sizing was flexible enough to cover the tyre sizes of both my vehicles. In the recent snow I used them a couple of times to drive the cars on packed snow & ice and they were excellent.
There was absolutely no traction with normal tyres. Fitting the socks, using the included gloves, only took a few minutes and I was then able to drive the car almost normally.
The only comment I will make is that it is a good idea to carry a bucket to put them in when you have finished with them to avoid the melted snow making a mess in your boot!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick, easy and effective.,
February 04, 2013
By Luke88
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy to fit and remove, seem to handle the bad weather, cheaper and easier than snow chains
"I bought these in anticipation of a long journey across the country on snow day, when I needed them I was quite glad to have them! They were easy to fit and remove when I followed the instructions - I do have a good clearance between the wheels and the arches so that may have made it a bit easier.
All in all I am really impressed with the snow socks and have been recommending them to everyone I know.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works brilliantly!,
February 03, 2013
By taruwow
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple fitting, great for snowy conditions, keeps you mobile
Cons: difficult to fit on bmws due to small arch gap, need to remove once you get to roads clear of snow
"My fiance has to park up a long way from our house when it snows due to the hill. With these fitted however she is able to get to the house in snowy conditions. Worked well in both deep and light snow."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for emergencies,
February 03, 2013
By Dunblazin
from WGC, Hertfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, material quality, performance, design
Cons: difficult to fit on sport cars, difficult to remove
"Bought this just before the snow came in and thank God I did. Good quality and functional but an ABSOLUTE nightmare to put on and take off especially with a small arch clearance. Took 20 mins to fit during the recent snow fall and about 10 mins to remove once finished.
Cannot fault the quality or the performance as they got me home safely through a number of treacherous hill climbs and descents. Would recommend buying 2 pairs as the pair without will still cause problems.
For cars that have adequate arch clearance it may be a little easier to fit and remove but for performance or lowered cars be prepared to experience some frustrating moments and cold fingers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
now sicks,
February 03, 2013
By mekeon54
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"an ideal piece of kit for a raer wheel drive car that we can't get up the hill near us in the snow - wish I had brought them earlier & cheaper than a set of cold weather tyres"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase,
February 03, 2013
By Mcdmcd222
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Haven't used them yet but the package is quite small making it easy to store in the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
possibly a good product but no way of knowing!,
February 02, 2013
By eggotvhi
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought these using the online reserve and collect function. I filled in my registration number etc and the website told me that these were the right size for my car. The day after collection I got stuck and went to use them only to find out thatthey were hugely too small for my car! So I never got to the ppoint of ginding out whether they work or not! Halfords fully refunded and informed me that this is a common problem with the website! So buyer beware! If you can double check and not just trust the website!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Getting to work,
February 02, 2013
By tq01
from essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: reasonable cheap, approved by regulators
Cons: likely not to last very long, speed limitation makes a road use problematic
"I bought these the week before the forecast big snow event. I was keen to be able to get to work (live in a very rural area). Trial fitting the snow socks was pretty straight forward but in the end the snow was nothing like as bad as forecast in our area so they have not been used in anger so to speak. They are clearly well made and thought through and are easy to fit. Will definitely carry them in the winter in future. They seem the right compromise between expense and being stuck in the snow in the UK where the infrequent snowy weather in the south of england makes winter tyres such an expense."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The item was helpfull,
February 02, 2013
By Robidnb26
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality and absolutley helpfull if u stuck in the snow."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Snow Socks - Difficult to fit but work,
January 31, 2013
By Horns
from UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"These socks do what they say but i struggled to fit them on both my focus and bmw. There is not enough space between the tyre and wheel arch to put them on. The only way i could do this was to jack the car up increasing the space. The other thing to be aware of is that you cannot use them on tarmac, so once you are off the snow you need to take them off straight away"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow socks,
January 30, 2013
By Iain465
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The snow socks worked very well up and down hill no problems as I live in South Wales and with the snow we had I got out of my road which is on a hill. Once you get on to clear roads you need to remove them ASAP and let them dry. There was no sign of wear and tear as it was only driven on snow it's a must for winter driving"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>