Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium

The Universal Multigrip Medium Snow Socks are lightweight and easy to fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Review 1 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JUST THE JOB FOR WINTER DRIVING,
November 27, 2013
By Feebster69
from St Leonards-On-Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Quick and easy to fit; should be just what you need for winter driving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ace snow socks,
March 13, 2013
By TimoR
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to put on and work a treat
"I recently went to Andorra skiing taking a hire car from Barcelona airport. As soon as we started climbing up the mountain, the snow started. I pulled over, popped on my snow socks, and away I went. Many others were stranded.
A fantastic alternative to snow chains which look like a menza pussle at the best of times (not least when you are cold and at the side of a mountain road in the dark!).
These come highly recommended.
I bought 3 sizes as I wasn't sure what size my hire car tyres would be. The unused sets I returned to halfords and they were fine about it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got me out of a pickle!,
February 03, 2013
By LuhDuh
from Walsall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"During the recent snowy spell we had and being a fairly new driver I decided to invest in a set of snow socks and needless to say it took me 40 minutes to drive to get them and 10 to get back home! Very effective product, easy to fit and take off and also you get a few bemused looks of other people for a bit of fun! Very good product, would definitely reccomend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Universal Multigrip Snow Socks,
February 01, 2013
By Adash
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Driving home on first day of heavy snow and there was no way I could get my car up the back roads to my house. Bought a pair of these and they got me the rest of the way home including up a steep hill. Will be keeping them in my boot for emergencies."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It worked for me!,
February 01, 2013
By SylvieAnnie
from Bexhill
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased tyre socks in last snow episode. My nursing colleague and myself got stuck going up icy hill. I put socks on hakf way up the hill. It was a bit difficult but I got the knack taking into account I'm 58 with health problems. It certainly got us up the hill and on to the next patient. I put the soggy socks into plastic bag supplied, washed them and they dried well and fitted back into the neat red bag easily. I certainly feel more confident having brought them as can use in our different types of wintry weather and relatively easy to apply by myself and fitted hospice vehicle too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stuck in snow,
February 01, 2013
By ajay1810
from east grinstead = uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"without this product i would not be able to get out of my road.Easy to fit and remove. Do exactly what it says on the "tin". Have no hesitation in recommending this product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe and easy,
February 01, 2013
By Ems85
from Aylesbury, Bucks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: speed limited
"Took 5 mins first time to get them on, once the knack is with you it's no problem at all.
Speed limit (25mph) was unexpected, but when the weather/conditions are bad enough to need them, it's not really that big of a deal.
I'm pleased I shelled out for them, happy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snow Socks,
January 28, 2013
By Dippy1
from Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is brilliant! Normally we are stranded where we live if it snows. Ideally because of our location we could do with 4x4, but as we clock up 300 miles a week, it isn't an option. So, normally, if it snows we just stay at home and accept it. Not this year though! We donned the socks and off we went, across the farm track which is our drive and onto the hilly open road with no problem.
The only downside is that they are a little difficult to put on and take off, especially if they are wet and cold which is inevitable as you have to take them off when you get to tarmac, but that said, it was definitely worth the aggravation and cold fingers!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you moving,
January 26, 2013
By KimCanters
from Canterbury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Performs well and does what it says. Simple to fit and remove."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My tyres are hopeless in the snow,
January 21, 2013
By octavalent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: peace of mind
"Its not my driving, well I think its not anyway. My polo Dune has low profile wide tyres which are rubbish on the slightest incline in the snow. My girlfriends Mini will climb anything. These are just in the back and they allow me to get home without wondering whether I am going to be the one sliding about on a 1 in 100 slope. A bit of a struggle initially but they get easier to fit with practice. So glad I have them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Work well but tricky to fit,
January 20, 2013
By Charltonfan
from Hextable
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: they work really well
Cons: fitting and removal difficult especially with limi
"Bought a set of these as my car was hopeless in the snow last winter and we live on a side road on a hill. The quality of the product seems really good and once fitted these worked excellently. I tested them by driving up an ungritted hill with around 1 in 6 or 1 in 7 gradient and got up with no effort at all. But the down side is that I found fitting them was hard work. It may be that my car does not have much room between the top of the wheels and the wheel arches which made getting the socks over the back of the tyres difficult. Pulling them off also took longer than expected and hurt my fingers. Maybe with practice it will become easier"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So pleased I bought these on the off chance,
January 18, 2013
By adamx
from Exeter
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and simple, worked a treat, robust
Cons: not quite as easy to fit/remove as they suggest
"As I had to drive to the Netherlands I thought an emergency set of snow socks would be a good thing to have. Three hundred snow miles in Europe, no need for them... Returning across Salisbury Plain jan 18th 2013 :- SAVED OUR BACON! Cars and trucks were all over the place in the deepening snow. We cruised along quite securely. Also had to do about 20miles on thin slush/wet road before being able to remove them and they appear fine after this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Practical & easy to use,
February 20, 2012
By Acedriver
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: compact, lightweight, easy
"These were very easy to fit. Great for emergency use. Take up no notable room in the boot beside the spare wheel, ready for use again. Highly recommend these."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top product,
February 18, 2012
By happychappy1
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: bit tricky to fit.
"Used them last week, fabulous product, I live in a very hilly city and was unable to get up the hill due to ice and snow. Took me 4 minutes to fit them and they were brilliant, set off on a steep hill no problem at all.
Cheaper than winter tyres or snow chains.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase,
February 17, 2012
By CJLon
from London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought these as we were off to deepest darkest Suffolk with the worst snow forecast for years. There was a lot of snow but didn't actually need these but well worth buying just for peace of mind knowing that we wouldn't get stuck anywhere. They will stay in the car now and I'm sure will come in handy at some stage. Reasonable price too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
-4points
8out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smug!,
February 05, 2012
By GreenMildred
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does the job well, uncomplicated to fit
Cons: fitting/removal requires strength, need to remove once you are on gritted roads
"Performance: I have just used these for the first time on my Peugeot 207. I thought I would put them to use after I had turned onto a 14% hill and the car in front of me had come to a standstill. Whilst fitting them to my tyres, several cars (including a Volvo estate) drove around me, only to end up skidding around before giving up and turning round. I felt exceedingly smug as I easily drove uphill, steering under control around the skidding cars.
Ease of fitment: Very simple, although as they are snug fitting, you need to have a fair amount of strength to get the last bit over the wheel.
Ease of removal: Simple, but hard work and hurt my fingertips. I may just not have worked out the knack yet, but it took a good amount of tugging to get them off. I am a pretty robust female and I think a smaller individual might have difficulty with this. I definitely advise keeping a pair of gloves with them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Multigrip Snow Socks Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This year I am ready!,
November 09, 2011
By Sici
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight
"Very nice product. I will always keep it in my car. The winters are changing and this year I am ready for it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+8points
45out of 82found this review helpful.