Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm

The Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike weighs just 8.6kg and features a super-lightweight frame with carbon fork.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Review 1 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera vigaro,
July 11, 2013
By Marco10
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent bike has everything you could wish for ,for a great price , perfect for beginners like me or the more experienced riders , a must for the enthusiast , great after care team too . E "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Value for Money,
June 15, 2013
By Parky20
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very light
Cons: handle bar tape looks shabby
" I upgraded to this bike from the Carrera Ltd TDF as I wanted a lighter bike. I was impressed with the Ltd/TDF but this bike is outstanding for a fully carbon bike and the cost.
I ride most days for 40/50 miles each ride and its a pleasure to ride. Its comfortable even after 4/5 hours in the saddle, light (weighing in at just over 8kg) and fast, averaging 17/18 mph on flat with ease. It flys up hills. It is well equipt with good gearing and the handling is very good you can confidently take bends at high speed with confidence. The only small down point is the handle bar tape is not finished very well and looks abit shabby, being white it soon gets dirty, but hey you can always change this. If you want a fully carbon bike at good quality get this bike, you won't be disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A bargain!,
June 10, 2013
By Ezeepc
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A double discounted online price brought this down to a great price for my first road bike considering it is fully carbon.
After just over 50 miles riding, I'm still getting the feel of the gears and have a struggle to change up easily from the lower to the higher chain ring - I need to hold the lever for about 5 seconds to get it to shift. Possibly user error...
Service was great at Gateshead - they ordered in a new frame as the original had a slight fault (spotted before purchase when I viewed in store). Kept informed and updated all the way through the purchase.
Very happy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny!,
April 26, 2013
By db9rds
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the weight, quality finish, very good spec
Cons: handlebar tape
" I thought I'd have to compromise to get a carbon frame bike for this money but so far I'm glad to be proved wrong. I'm fairly new to road/racing bikes but I did a lot of research before choosing this bike - at the time nothing came close for the spec at this price. To round it off it looks great as well. The only very slight let down is the handlebar tape - it looks cheap and not finished well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Viargo,
April 20, 2013
By Leeky7
from London uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightness
Cons: no peddles
" Having read privious reviews on this bike i can confirm that it is a great first time buy. It's good value for money and handles really well. Only thing to bear in mind is that it does not come with peddles. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value bike,
March 15, 2013
By DutchyinUK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: paint job, gear set (nice low lowest gear), price (especially in the regular sales)
Cons: stem length too long on medium bike
" Bought this bike to replace my 'half-carbon' OCR bike. Was not sure to go for full carbon this time, but the price tag on the Carrera and the good reviews convinced me. It is a great, low weight, smooth bike. Had to put it together myself (nothing to do with Halfortds) and that was easy as well. I like the adjustment possibility on the rear gear cable.
Only issue I can find is that the stem is slightly too long for me. For my 5ft 9 body the medium bike has not got the right ratio between leg and arm length. Read this in one other review, so am not the only one. For the rest great value bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera top gun,
February 03, 2013
By mavngoose
from fareham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: carbon frame looks bb30 crank
" I bought my carrera virago back in Oct 2011, and I absolutely love it I have been riding bikes for over 20 years and this is top bike. I did a lot of searching for a new road bike and for a 105 group set (minus the brakes) and a carbon frame the virago was hard to ignore.
The ride is smooth the frame soaks up alot of the bumps, the gears are crisp and quiet and brakes responsive. I am 6ft 2in andI was worried about back ache however the 56 cm frame suits me well and the riding position is a great Balance between aggressive head down and a more relaxing situp sportive , overall the bike is comfortable and racy at the same time.
I did change the inner front chainring from a 34t to a 36t and this has reduced cross gearing and hasn't affected my hill climbing
I would highly recommended this bike. I have a big grin on my face every time I ride and more so when overtake others on cubes and cannondales "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable value and performance,
January 09, 2013
By NigelRD
from Lincs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the weight, the performance, the price
Cons: the handle bar binding
" This bike looks good, feels good and rides good. I am used to a hybrid and this is my first road bike. Steering is very nimble and precise, brakes excellent, and I have now conquered the "paddle" gear change.
One small niggle- the Virago's handlebar "binding" isnt the greatest, but hey, overall I love it! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
virago,
January 08, 2013
By johnson2006
from scunthope , uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Has to be the best bike in this price range by a country mile. Looks brilliant and rides even better.
Smooth ride, responsive, I just love and im a person who as bought more than 20 bikes over the years and now finally found a bargin.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Virago Carbon,
December 31, 2012
By Andylandie
from Bassingbourn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: every thing
Cons: nothng
" Hi
My wife and I brought 2 Carrera Viragos from this store.
I rode my bike yesterday in 25-30 MPH winds and to say the least, it is sublime.
The gear change is almost totally silent and very smooth and the whole bike feels taught and responsive The finish is as good as any other and its as light as a feather .Dont over look this bike when looking for a good carbon bike, it is brilliant.
Go on, give it a go, you will love it. PS. We ride top dollar MTB so we know a good thing when we ride it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Virago Carbon Road Bike 2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply the best bike I've ever rode!,
July 02, 2012
By Peanut1981
from Harlow, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent running gear, 8.6kg, looks
Cons: white seat, white handel bar tape
" I've done around 70-80 miles on this bike so far and falling in love with it!
After cycling hybrids for the last year and mountain bikes previous to that. I can't get over how quick she really is! I am no way a pro cycler but at times I was happily sitting at 20-23 mph on the flat!
The bike is stunning the red white and exposed carbon is perfect. I fact I'd say the bikes even better looking than the pictures on here.
The Chainring and 105 running gear is amazingly clean and crisp when changing. I do have a bit of cross chaining but is expected lose the bottom 2 on the cassette in the small chainring and the top 2 in the big.
Few draw backs tho, white handle bar tape. It's already getting dirty. It's only gonna take one puncture get covered in break dust and road grime and it will never be the same again. And the same goes for the white seat!
All in all i love it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+67points
68out of 69found this review helpful.