Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack

Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack is the ultimate basic accessory for all cycling expeditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 41(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Review 1 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Crossfire 2 - Luggage rack fit,
August 21, 2014
By Pedlepower
from East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I fitted this rack to my crossfire 2, which has disc's, you do not need to get the disc version as the mounts on the bike are to the side of the disc and used the top mount hole, all screws are provided. The rack I got was black, however the top mounting brackets were silver so I sprayed them matt black. Tip - fit the brackets to the rack first as it makes them easier to bend in to place to line them up to the top two bike mounting points. I have full length SKS Beavertail mudguards fitted and the bottom of the rack clears this at its highest point by a good 25mm+. Very good rack, combined it with the MTX Track Tourist bag.
Also while in the shop tried it on the lastest crossfire 2/3 2015 and they had the same mounting points as mine.
Just to confirm my crossfire has 28" 700C wheels.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
December 12, 2013
By Anonymous
from Ware
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The product is strong and easy to fit. The staff at the store (Harlow) went way out of their way to obtain this item for me from another store. Their service could not have been better."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack,
October 24, 2013
By oldandgrey
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality
"Looks well made, instructions were good, but didn't need them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid build,
October 20, 2013
By Ceemea68
from Wimbledon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this pannier because the frame doesn't have screw/bolts like others, so will be less prone to corrosion. Light but feels sturdy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIMBLEDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a quality bit of kit,
September 17, 2013
By mxtb
from glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very well finished
Cons: it could be priced slighty better
"This is a well constructed pannier, and takes not only topeak bags but also my previous drybags aswell."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, solid rack,
July 06, 2013
By Mapplet1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use., solid
Cons: topeak don't seem to sell single bags to fit the r
"I would have given this rack five stars but for the slight hassle fitting. The main problem is the forward upper attaching arms which look like they are made of some type of steel. They required a fair bit of bending down to align with my 18" bike frame. they also needed twisting to permit the screws to square up with the frame threads. I use an Altura Night Vision bag on the rack and find clipping on & off very simple on the extra rail sticking outboard on the rack. I only travel short distances and light so the rack isn't tested to the max but it certainly looks as if it could take the weight. I've not had any problem of the bag catching in the wheel so the rack design seems to have covered that possibility. I would recommend this rack above the other Halfords racks as it seems to have everything covered"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack,
June 26, 2013
By Mickmac
from Perth, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fits my Apollo Vortice bike perfectly. Easy to fit. Very strong."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topeak Super Tourist Rack,
June 24, 2013
By JimF57
from Dundee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought one for my disc brake equipped hybrid and was so impressed with it that purchased another for my Giant MTB. This means I can use the Topeak mtx trunk bag on either bike for both pleasure and commutes.
Excellent products and great service from the boys at the Dundee store"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light, easy to install, pleasant to use,
June 22, 2013
By Daniel84
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall impression is very good:
- The manufacturing quality is very good. Looks very solid.
- Light.
- Simple but the mounting system is flexible enough to accommodate virtually any bike. The only problem you may experience is that the length of the mounting bracket arms is insufficient for some bikes. In my case, I had to use only one bolt instead of two when attaching each arm to the rack.
- Worked fine with 700c wheels, still enough space for mudguards.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Topeak Solid Mount Rack,
May 26, 2013
By Grumpyoldrider
from England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: front mounting brackets
"Fits most solid framed bikes though there is an alternative version with modified lower mounting brackets . . . specifically for Disc Brakes . . . However finding and using a simple spacer is not hard . . .
Personally the supplied front mounting brackets are cheap naff and I won't be using them !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well designed and quality pannier rack,
March 04, 2013
By Shambles00
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, good quality
Cons: there is nothing negative about this product
"The TOPEAK pannier rack costs a bit more than other racks on the market BUT what you get in return is an extremely well designed and well made product - far superior to other racks that I looked at.
The quick release system allows you to securely fasten the luggage onto the rack without the need for messing around with bungee cords and Velcro straps. Releasing the bag is as simple as pushing down the yellow button and sliding it off the rack. It really is as easy as that.
I would really recommend the MTX quick release pannier rack and luggage even though it is more expensive than other alternative products. The quality is so good I have no doubt that this will last me years and cheaper options are unlikely to either perform as well or last as long. Buying TOPEAK makes sense and you will NOT be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very well made and clear instructions,
February 23, 2013
By Sharkattack989
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the sturdy build and ease to fit
Cons: silver fixing stays should be black to match rack, stays could have been more flexible to fit
"Comes up as a more expensive item but the build and fitting was very good and straight forward. Silver stays could have been shaped better to allow more flexible fixing and for matching the rest of the rack would have been better if these were in black. Instructions were clear and all bolts to allow fixing to the bike were included in the kit, fitting the stays was fiddly but would depend on the actual bike make. If you have a high mudguard fitted you will need to be aware this has to be removed, whilst the product spec advises this rack has a built in splash protector it doesn't do the exact same job as a mudguard."
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
February 02, 2013
By Ian21
from Chessington, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"A very robust a strong pannier, fits perfectly on my cyclocross bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, pity my bike got stolen with it on after 7 days,
November 21, 2012
By MattP1979
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
"This product is well made and easy to fit. I was very happy with it, until it was stolen :-( Will replace like for like when I get a new bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 years' experience: superb,
November 18, 2012
By NickOrwood
from Ottawa, ON
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light-strong-durable
Cons: scratches-but it's alloy no?
"Have had my rack since 2003, used it for touring and for day trips in South Africa, Canada, US, & Europe. Has given me no problems at all -- fits perfectly, suffers in silence when it gets banged about. Accepts my Arkel T-42 rear panniers in 2-3 seconds-a-side, and tents, trunks, etc, secured via bungees on the top. Test of its quality is that I never think about it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, solid rack,
October 15, 2012
By Sproggy
from Welwyn Garden City
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light strong easy to fit.
"Easy to fit. I don't really understand other people's comments about being worried about bending the mounts so much that they'd snap! I did have to file down the bottom of the support struts because they fouled the quick-release fasteners on the axle. Maybe that was just my frame, though. putting the mudguard/rack tapping too close to the axle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike pannier rack,
August 30, 2012
By Chaos217
from Doncaster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for use on my daily commute, decided to discard my Rucksack and go for mounter luggage (purchased a Topeak Trunk Bag DXP at same time)
Rack is very good, looks well on the bike, very strong with side frames for panniers / drop down panniers as I have. Easy to fit. Good quality, Was also 20% off so got at a good price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
June 17, 2012
By Anonymous
from North east
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Advertised as super strong and it is? Hope it lasts longer than the last one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
January 28, 2012
By thenwo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"No complaints, does exactly what its supposed to do - fitting was easy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Topeak Super Tourist DX Pannier Rack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good buy,
January 24, 2012
By cactus
from Chelmsford Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easy to fit looks good and best of all suits my needs."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>