Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack

The Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack includes all of the kit you will need to get you started on your camping trip plus some added features for extra comfort.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Review 1 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tent superb,
August 08, 2013
By Camperbob
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great tent, no leaks, good bag
Cons: poor sleeping bags, challenge to pitch, heavy
" I have had this tent pack six years. It has been used many times in all weathers - including very high winds one weekend in North Wales. The tent has performed superbly and has not leaked. The poles are still the originals and have no issues.
Erecting to begin with was quite a chore with the many pegging points etc. however this makes the tent very sturdy. I am now used to it and it can be up in 10 minutes.
To be honest do not buy the pack as the sleeping bags are not suitable to our UK climate. I used them once and never again! They are to hin. The same with the lights. The air beds are good though and the pump still works. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
G,
August 08, 2013
By Gmcnnn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ideal for a first time camping family
Lots of room easy sleeps four
Steeped soundly on the blow up mattress
Easy to put up well in the 35minutes stated on the instructions
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tent very spacious,
August 08, 2013
By Kewi0404
from Crawley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this tent for Henley festival so have yet to use it properly. Put it up in the garden to practise how long it would take, and this took no more than 25 minutes. Instructions and diagrams were very clear and great that it is colour coded. Very roomy inside but not fussed that the windows don't open as the door can be left open. Going to try to use camp beds in the bedroom area instead of airbeds to see if this creates more room. Hopefully it will not rain at the festival but that is part. Of camping. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stood up to the wind!!,
August 07, 2013
By mandha
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: large windows, sewn in ground sheet, easy to put up, roomy living space
" I bought this tent as my previous one was too small. It has plenty of space in the living area and the bedrooms accomodate a double airbed with about an extra foot at the bottom ( or the top if sleeping on an incline!!) The large windows made it very light inside if the doors had to be closed and having a door on each side was good.I first used it with just a six year old child with me and did get help from another adult to put it up. Having said that I think I could have managed alone if it hadn't been for the strong wind when I arrived. I did take it down and pack it away alone using the six year old as a weight as I dismantled it ! The weather was warm whilst away but, as we were on Shell Island (breezy anyway) in particularly strong winds I became very nervous on the first night. The tent withstood these winds magnificently and a heavy downpour on the first morning.All in all I'm very pleased with this tent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it is suppored to do - great features,
July 20, 2013
By Ciara31
from Newry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We bought this tent to pitch in the garden, but really you could take it anywhere. It was not hard to assemble - I did most of it with a little assistance occasionally eg getting the tensions even.
It is really roomy inside - the living area is great and the 2 bedrooms are what you would imagine. The airbeds and sleeping bags were a real bonus too. We have not used either torch. While it is a four man tent the living area would easily fit 4 more kids - we are planning a sleepover as a birthday treat for 11 year olds.
Can't fault the product and Halfords staff were really helpful too. We ordered online and picked up.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this,
July 17, 2013
By Dazza999
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This was our first family tent and we love it. Very quick & easy to put up and put away again. I can even manage to get it all back in the bag it came out of. Nice that the kids sleep in the other end of the tent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent,
July 08, 2013
By Forsey72
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the room
" Excellent tent and a great price.very spacious inside and very easy to put up. Even got the kids putting it up now "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
July 02, 2013
By bubbaloo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This was purchased as our first tent to take our little boy on cheap holidays. The instructions were not 100% clear but we got it up after about an hour. For three of us the space is fantastic and all the accesssories were great. The only difficulty was getting it all back in the bag! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tent, happy with it,
July 01, 2013
By Tseels
from Cheltenham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: all round good tent, you can stand in it easily, spacious central section
Cons: sagging inner compartments
" I put the tent up on my own which took over an hour but now I know what I'm doing I will improve on this. An experienced camper would have no problem although it would be better with 2 people. Only put up in garden so it hasn't had to put up with any rough weather. I left it up for 3 days and it rained a bit and blew a bit and the tent seemed fine. The blow up beds took ages to blow up using the car pump but I think this is improved if you start the engine. The sleeping bags seem fine, the mini torch is ok, the lantern seems a bit rubbish as it only has 1 light setting, the light on another lantern I have can be increased. The inner compartments seem to sag a bit towards the sleeping area but I'm hoping this won't be a big deal. All in all though it seems a good purchase and I'm planning to go on more camping holidays since buying it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great looking tent for camping,
June 30, 2013
By ray61
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this tent but not had a chance to use it.but I have been after this tent for a while looking forward to use it.it looks great and has got a lot of things with it hope to get many years of use out of it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all round bundle,
June 21, 2013
By Iaind
from Brighton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The Urban Escape tent pack is excellent value. Everything you need to head off and enjoy a camping holiday in one bag. Apart from food and transport, of course. The tent itself is well designed an has lots of interior space to take cover from the rain. I particularly appreciated the lanterns as part of the package. The only slight downside is, after one night's use I notice some stitching on one of the sleeping bags has come out. Still, not the end of the world. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good tent shame about the lanten,
June 15, 2013
By TedTheJacket
from In the woods somewhere
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: tent, matress, air pump
Cons: lanten, torch
" The the most important items in the pack, the tent and matress are very good and well made.
The air pump is excellent
The sleeping bags are too thin apart from the warmest summer night. So take more beding.
The lanten and torch are worthless and could not illuminate the inside of a small card board box.
Overeral a very a good product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Henley weekender.,
June 12, 2013
By BubaTwo
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Reserved this on-line before 8 am and the product was ready inside of an hour for me to collect. All ready and waiting when I arrived. Did not put the tent up until we went camping the following day. Could not find the instructions (found them sewn in to the inside of the tent bag in the end) but very easy to put up and no hall of shame to walk! Good tip fro, m the man at Halfords we sprayed the tent with water once up and let it dry naturally apparently this helps seal the tent as they come untested from the manufacturer, lots of dew over the weekend to consilidate this. We had no rain so will hope this works for when it really rains Roomy but bedrooms small for two adults kids were OK. Light and airy in the main tent and plenty of room for changing/storage, again untested in the rain. Very windy and the tent stood up well with few drafts and wobbles, built in groundsheet worth its weight. Overall good , up and down inside 20 minutes each way. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Family Tent,
August 29, 2012
By Brogborne
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, 2 year garantee, spares avalible
Cons: unable to open windows
" Got this a plan B. Ordered a tent from Amazon but it never showed up.
Was very surprised with the quality of this tent set considering the price and the amount of stuff your getting.
It rained the whole time we were camping had no issues with leaking.
Zips seam good quality, and poles and joints are strong.
If i had to pick something i didn't like it would be the fact the windows don't open. I was expecting to be able to unzip the plastic windows and roll it up leaving a fly mesh.
The sleeping bags are nice and warm (tested in late summer)
I was not able to test the lights as batteries were not included. Note dont think this is mentioned on the the package.
But other than that everything seems very good.
Nice family tent loads of room for four people.
Plus Halfords give you a 2 year garrantee. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value for money,
August 17, 2012
By lorryB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Firstly, I should say we have never camped before buying this tent. We booked a week in Cornwall up on a hill with sea view.
Tent has 3 poles then it was just hammer in the tent pegs and guy ropes. We had tent up and ready to use in 25 minutes.
During our stay the weather was very windy and lots of rain. Tent next to ours did collapse.
Bedrooms just have room for a double airbed - no storage or room to get dressed. Living area is huge - plenty of room for table ect.
We did managed to get tent back in it's bag!
We are more than pleased with this tent and have booked another site for next week.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leaks !!!,
August 15, 2012
By coxdave
from Perranporth, Cornwall
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" i'd not recomend this package to anyone.
The tent has leaks in 4-5 places when it rains
Also the air mattresses do not stay inflated all night. a poor deal all round ;(
The sleeping bags are fine , but the lights are also very poor
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Fishing
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Urban Escape Akashi 4 man Tent,
June 30, 2012
By Chiefeng
from Durham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to put up
Cons: none yet
" Great Value for money. Easy to put up; and we must have been very lucky, we did manage to get it back in the bag, but not so easy. The extendable main bag helped. Only used once but no problem. Good quality hope to use it more when the weather improves. May purchase awning for it.
It will be great to take the Grand Children away on a trip.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Akashi 4 Man Tent Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Urban escape 4 man tent,
May 22, 2012
By Anonymous
from Essex, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all in one bag everything you need
Cons: you will be lucky to fit in all back in the bag
" Great purchase, easy to put up and the kids loved camping plus full height living area large enough for a table and 4 chairs! Great whatever the weather. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.