Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent is perfect for famlies or groups of friends.
Average Customer Rating:
4.683 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
96 of 100(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant tent for the price,
July 02, 2015
By mrsabs
from Carmarthen, Carmarthen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a replacement tent and we couldn't have asked for better. Excellent value for money. And reletively easy to put up but when taking it down make sure that all the air is out of it otherwise its like trying to put a balloon back in the bag "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARMARTHEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tent,
July 01, 2015
By katebot
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to put up!
" This is the first tent we've bought and its as good as all the previous reviews. Easy and quick to put up and take down. Large bag and therefore easy to pack away. Nice and roomy inside too. Perfect! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tents,
June 29, 2015
By Eilo
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" bought this tent which I find absolute great value as I priced this type of tent in another store and it was three times the price seriously, we defiantly need more camping equipment in Halfords as it makes for great competition to the other camping stores in Ireland which are very few. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? LIFFEY VALLEY (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome tent canopy is small but built much better than other tents,
June 19, 2015
By Anonymous
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: build and feel
Cons: canopy too small grrrrr
" absolutely great we just wish the canopy was a big one though, built better than other tents for same price but others have cover when cooking in rain were as this truly fails at that. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Family Tent,
June 17, 2015
By NoniK123
from Offaly, Co. Offaly, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, sewn in groundsheet, great waterproofing
Cons: pegs
" A very good tent, plenty of space inside, lovely big living area and also good spacious bedroom that can be divided into two rooms if needed. A great value tent, it has a great spec such as sewn in groundsheet, 3000HH waterproofing, storage pockets etc. Easy enough to put up with two people, the pegs that hold it aren't the best so I will be investing in some stronger pegs that don't bend quite so easily. All in all we are delighted with the purchase and can't wait to use it again! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NAAS (ROI)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tent!,
June 15, 2015
By joe25w
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
" Fantastic tent!
Bought this for me and the girlfriend to camp in for 2 weeks and glad i went for this tent.
Easy to pitch when you get the hang of it.
Waterproofing is excelent
Tent tidy pocket thing is great
Without the inner rooms zipped in, this tent could easily sleep 10 people "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tent,
June 12, 2015
By Mandrewsbtn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We are very pleased with this tent, it's so roomy inside and easy to put up and take down, particularly as the bag it comes in is a decent so no squeezing it in. It withstood a very windy night with no problems at all. Ideal if like us you want one big bedroom as a couple. The sewn in ground sheet all the way around is just what we wanted too as we have a dog. Definitely recommend this tent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great value tent,
June 11, 2015
By Com54
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
" A good size tent that was simple to put up taking about 15 minutes, packing away was just as easy with plenty of space in the bag.
It wasn't tested in the rain but i did have to wash it off when we got home as it got covered in honey dew and there were no leaks.
Plenty of space inside for 4 people, the smaller bedroom is large enough for a double airbed, just. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice size but rather unstable,
June 10, 2015
By Princescruffster
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good size and layout
Cons: rather unstable and difficult to pitch
" I recently purchased the Atago 5 in the bank holiday sale and felt it was a good price. When I collected it after receiving online, I was quite shocked at the size of the bag. So be warned, it takes up a fair amount of room in the car. The bag in separated in to different compartments for bedrooms, poles and flysheet. Poles are colour coded so easy to find what goes where . The tent however is really unstable until the guy ropes and pegs are in place. There seems to be a lot of slack in the flysheet. It was impossible to get the roof tight so there was a fair bit of flapping and movement even in a light breeze. I am a regular camper, but I would not have been able to pitch this tent without help. Once up, the tentimes is a good size with 2 bedrooms and a large living area. Lots of storage too. I am disappointed with my purchase because the reviews were so good and I had high expectations. Not convinced it will survive high winds. Luckily our weekend was mild weather. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazed at the price & size & ease of setup,
May 23, 2015
By Stevostyles
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Were new to camping never done it before and only took us 30 minutes to put up fully like the features of a rear window and power access point at the front perfect for two adults and two children and we can't wait. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect,
May 22, 2015
By tentlove
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all round zipped entrance door, size of bedrooms huge, price, colour is lovely, easy to carry strong storage bag, can be put up by one person 20 mins
Cons: light fitting loop too near to entrance, pegs rubbish (as in all tents) use rock pegs
" I bought this in the recent sale as we have a larger tent for family hols and I needed something smaller so I could take my child away with me on my own during the school hols.
I read the reviews before purchasing and heres one to add to it:
This tent was put up by me alone, Im a 5 foot tall woman, I watched the dvd on you tube, lay all the poles flat on ground as shown and hey presto, it was up. I loosely attached the guy ropes on either end and then securing the others one by one.
This tent really is, easy to erect. I expected to ask my child to hold the poles etc, but didnt. If the weather was windy to the point of the tent becoming a kite, then I would of asked for her to help hold the poles.
The bedroom area is really roomy, enough space for a double sim and two single sims, we opened up the zipper divider and made it one room, even fitting in a bedside table and lamp.
I love the fact that unlike other tents I have, that you can fully zip all around the exits. So no flapping in the wind at night.
My only gripe, and its a small one, is that the hanging loop for the light is right on the front exit, and if like me you have a pendant lamp, then you have to mind your head on entering.
But thats the only downside, this can be sorted by taking a bulldog clip and hanging the lamp somewhere else.
Price wise 5 stars, ease of putting up 5 stars, space, I would say enough for 2 adults and one child, but with luggage etc it would be a squeeze for anymore. But we do take two large dogs with us as well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for any weather,
April 21, 2015
By Campingbear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We camp all over england and this tent has stood up to the most extreme weather in chedder we had very heavy rain and high winds the tent stood up to it no problem not a drip of water anywhere, it's easy to put up and has enough space for a family of 4 or even 5 we use it for just 2 of us and it's lovely to have all the space I would highly recommend this tent to anybody it's durible and big enough to enjoy your camping trip "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent,
March 28, 2015
By Vicky41
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this tent and had it up in some terrible weather indict ions and all I will say is this is a very sturdy and weather proof product. Would highly recommend this.
Can anyone tell me if I can still purchase the carpet & groundsheet for the atago5 please
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gr8 size,
March 18, 2015
By richiemc1
from Limerick, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size
" bought in summer 2014. used twice , once in sun shine and the other in wind and rain. held up perfect . while a lake started to form outside the tent we stayed dry in side. when we moved the tent the water had gotten under it but none came perfect size for a family of four with air beds and a picnic table inide "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size does matter!,
September 10, 2014
By ledzepgreg
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: room size, easy to errect
Cons: small porch.
" Bought this tent for the size and also considered the lenghthy guarantee if anything goes wrong. Put the tent up on my own within half an hour at a music festival, pretty straight forward as it has a tunnel design with three main poles that are colour coded so you can't go wrong. Once up even I could stand up in it and I'm over 6 foot tall! Plenty of room for chairs and kit. The double bedroom amply fitted a double airbed with room to spare. The sectioned extra bedroom looked enough space for 2 people. Great idea to have zipped side opening at the bottom of the front of the tent to enable hook up cable for electric. Plenty of windows to let in sunlight if needed. I didn't have the unfortunate chance to try the tent in severe wet weather, but it stood up to light winds and rain perfectly. One drawback I found was the lack of a larger porch to the front opening, giving possibly more shelter if in heavy rain when going in/out of the tent.
All in all I'm very pleased with this tent and would recommend it! It is made of robust material and the hydrostatic head (materials ability to repel water) has a higher rating than tents more expensive than this one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appalled,
September 02, 2014
By Anonymous
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" First night put the tent up as instructed got a bit of wind through the night and the pole snapped had to pay to stay in bed and breakfast looking for somewhere to stay in out pyjamas the first night it had ever been used total waste of money not happy at all with this product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
-10points
2out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice tent in general,
August 31, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: height of living area, porch
Cons: difficult to erect
" Hi. We camped in this tent during some fairly wet & windy days, and it stood up very well in these conditions.
Wasn't an easy job to get it put-up in the first place though, and it was so much easier when you left the door open (thanks to an earlier review for this piece of advice). The tent could have done with a few more hanging points - like a central one in the middle of tent to hang a light.
Once up, it took the elements easily although we were quite sheltered by surrounding trees. The 'living' space was big enough and a good height. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
family tent,
August 27, 2014
By lynn71
from england uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: only one thing and that is the ground sheets lifts, when windy
" This was our first family tent, it was pretty easy to go up even with on adult and my 12 year old daughter we made the bedroom area into one large room so we had lost of space, the only downfall os when its windy it lifts the ground sheet up but it can stand very high winds the gide line just came undone but pegged back down with 2 pegs and it held its own im so glad that i bought this tent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tip Top Tent for Tuppence,
August 25, 2014
By Gzer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: space
" Having reviewed a number of tents on-line we decided to go for the Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent. This was cheaper than many other 4 and 6 birth tents with good reviews, and did a fantastic job. It was put up in 30 mins whilst in a deluge and had plenty of space to sleep keep our gear and to eat in. Highly recommended!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good - but second hand!!,
August 25, 2014
By Shoppist42
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Was looking for a tent to take to a festival. There was only two of us but we like to have space and be able to stand up inside and didn't want to spend a fortune. This one seemed to fit the bill perfectly and had good reviews.
Bit disappointed when we unpacked our 'new' tent to find it had remnants of grass inside, a couple of marks on the outside and the odd bit of evidence left behind that this tent had obviously been used before!!
Nevertheless it was intact, went up quickly, was very comfortable and was just what we were looking for.
Would definitely recommend the tent to others and is big enough for a weekend or even longer.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>