Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent is perfect for famlies or groups of friends.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
56 of 58(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
huge tent,
July 20, 2014
By xynabarby
from ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this tent for a family of 5 and a baby very easy to assemble very big space and strong material delighted with the tent and the price excellent value"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Urban Escape,
July 20, 2014
By powells
from Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the size
Cons: how long it took us to put up
"Brought this tent 1st time campers, did trial run today to put up tent took us over one hour, we must be doing something wrong, any comments on how to speed up please add.
tent is large enough for our needs looking forward to out first camping trip
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
urban escape atago 5 man tent,
July 12, 2014
By William12345
from Cork
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used it for the first time in Killarney. Twenty minutes to put up. It rained a bit over night, no leaks. The makers of this tent thought of everything to make a reliable, generous in size and easy to use Tent. This tent has real genuine quality.
Ten out of Ten.
William from Cork."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy Campers,
July 06, 2014
By Sabrina22
from Donegal, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the space, the pockets for storage
Cons: some of the pegs bent luckily we had spares
"Bought this after our new 6 man tent zip broke, was amazed by the size of it, prefect for camping with small children, loved the little pockets for storing stuff in.... the head heigh interior space was more than adequate, we took it to a family camping festival and it was nicknamed "the Hotel" by other campers who were definitely going to purchase one. If was easily put up as we didn't get a chance to try it up before heading away... can't wait to our next camping adventure....."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LETTERKENNY (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab!,
June 20, 2014
By skerview
from Bridgend, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: loads of room, option of 1 bedroom or 2, bedroom is a tent inside the tent
Cons: would like more of a porch
"I researched buying a tent and was looking for something with room for my family and something that would keep us dry and I found what I was looking for.
I arrived at the campsite as my hubby went down while I was in work to put the tent up and when I arrived I could not believe the size of it. The picture does not do it justice it is huge. We had loads of room when sleeping and there was 7 of us sitting in the living area!
We also bought the footprint and carpet, bit pricey but good for comfort.
instructions are not great and takes 2 to put up but that was not a bad thing.
highly recommend this tent for a family"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
new to camping,
June 08, 2014
By angelablackrose
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Initally thought it was going to be too big but its great"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!!!,
May 28, 2014
By scobbly72
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought on reviews and price and what a bagain.
Away in tent now rain is hammering down and the wind is blowing very hard and tent is standing up to everything thrown at it.
we did fabsile all seems before first outing but missed one with a very small leak nr door.
All in all very impressed with this tent for its price and quality.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spacious & enjoyable,
May 27, 2014
By JohnTom1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: space
"Bought this for myself & son. We just come back from a very wet weekend camping. Tents withstood the torrential downpours we experienced & we took my sons 2 friends and their fathers with us, we all fitted easily in the tent. I purchased better pegs as the ones that come with the tent are useless. Easy to erect and pack away lots of storage spaces. Only fault I encountered was the mesh above the side windows if you pull the flap up to high the water sealed in."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tent,
May 20, 2014
By chance12345
from south wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: like
"just bought this tent put it up in the garden its so big great for the price,,and loads of room for us ,2 adults and 2 lab dogs cant wait to use it,,,well done halfords,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!!!!,
May 05, 2014
By pitchup8081
from Fishguard
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"As beginners to camping we have been looking for a tent to suit our needs we found that many tents was over priced for so little when we came across the Urban Escape Atago 5 we felt that it was the right size for the right price. Upon returning from our first camping break in our new tent we felt that it was just outstanding so much room so many pockets for different items excellent for family's lots of venting room. Didn't take as long to put up as stated with both of us it only took 20 minuets not 35. In other reviews we noticed that a lot of people was saying that there was a problem with the pegs however we found the pegs to be very sturdy didn't bend and went into the ground very well using a rubber mallet. our last night the winds was very strong and we was very impressed how the tent withheld in the storm. very easy to pack away. Very impressed very happy cant wait to use it again. Well done Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent.,
April 23, 2014
By Winger808
from Kilsby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the size
Cons: nothing not to like
"Wow what a great product and a great price. Just come back from our trip out in our new tent. Tipped it down with rain, no leaks. Plenty of space fully loaded tent. I have read other reviews after having tents over the last 20 years this is one of the best. And for the ones that said the tent pegs were no good I thought they were a very good standard for the price of the tent. Will recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tent,
March 11, 2014
By Padraic
from Galway
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: great value for this size tent, so much room
Cons: pegs
"Excellent Tent so much room and very easy to put up and take down, we had a 3 man tent before this but this is unreal very happy, the pegs could be better but other than that its an great tent so if your looking for a tent that will last well then buy the urban escape you wont be sorry;
Also a great thanks to Halford for there great service A++++"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? GALWAY (ROI)
+28points
34out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great size tent,
February 24, 2014
By Nickyads
from Stamford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: big windows, matching carpets available, good value
"We bought our last May and have used it for several weekends away. There is myself, my partner and our 6 year old boy. There is enough rooms in the bedrooms for the beds and our clothes. The living area is a great size to get in kitchen and table and chairs. The tent has big windows and is nice and light. The groundsheet is sewn in and we bought the carpets which are great value and make the tent warmer and cosier. We are off to France with it this year. Pictured with the Halfords gazebo, which fits perfectly over the lip of the tent canopy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Tent,
August 18, 2013
By Dinosaur1
from Doncaster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Loads of room in the tent, easy to put up and take down (2 people) lots of storage pockets inside, although it did flap quite a bit through the night, it was very windy but was still standing in the morning, this product comes highly recommended. Looking forward to our next camping trip in it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent,
August 13, 2013
By lynpit
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So happy with this tent. Its straightforward to erect, went up even first time in 30 mins.
Built in groundsheets are a wonderful bonus to an old seasoned camping veteran!
Really love the large bedroom compartments, for the first time in my life i didn't have claustrophobia problems and slept soundly. We were able to get a kingsized blow up in the there and still have standing room and strorage.
No problems so far with rain leaking in either. We had some very heavy cloudbursts but it just ran off the outside canvas.
Brilliant tent especially for the price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely tent for money,
August 05, 2013
By mich74
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size of tent
Cons: the pegs
"Got this tent after reading the reviews on it. Lovely size tent and loved that it got a sewn in groundsheet so keep the bugs out. The pegs are not very good with it so did take some new ones with me which glad i did now. There was 4 of us in tent but loads of room for more. The 2 nights we used it we had loads of rain and very windy. Only bit of water that did come in was in by the door which was only small amount on both nights. Found the tent did flap a lot with the wind compared to other tents on the campsite. But not sure if that from our first time putting tent up or just the way the tent is. Looking forward to using again with better weather in nights next time. We decide to buy the footprint and carpet to go with tent which glad we did as made living area better and saved the ground.
Plus we did put some extra guide lines in but still made tent flap in wind.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great basic tent for new campers!,
July 31, 2013
By Newcampers4
from England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: porch door with insect net, lots of space in "front room"
Cons: divider doesn't come out.
"First one bought had to return as some stitching not great on pole section over door - exchanged easily and 2nd one ok. Nice and easy to put up - managed under 40 mins first time. Good size for 5 people unlike some supposedly 6 man tents which are smaller than this one! 2 A + 2 C camped on a humid night in July and suffered quite a bit of condensation, could do with rain covers on the side windows otherwise the rain gets in if left open!
One other gripe was that the divider in bedroom doesn't "remove" and only rolls up to the top meaning it hangs down at the side into the person sleeping there and has a step in the groundsheet. Would be better if unzipped completely. Luckily we had air beds that fitted over the top.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for Money,
July 31, 2013
By Stingry
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: outstanding value for money
Cons: tent pegs very thin.
"Bought this tent on summer 2013 deal.
We used it for 5 days camping in north of Scotland during the summer heatwave. we tested the tent prior to the trip and were very surprised by the size of the tent and the amount of room inside. It was very easy to erect taking on average about 20-25 minutes to put up. The bag the tent comes in has plenty of room which is great when re-packing the tent.
all in all great value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really easy to put up,
July 28, 2013
By GlendaS
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: also easy to put back inside bag
"We bought this tend for the week end, never gone amping before. Really easy instructions to follow and we manage to put the nt up in 30min and under heavy rain. Under the ain all night so it proved to be waterproof! Plenty of space for a family of 5. I would highly recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great roomy tent for price,
July 25, 2013
By Applepie33
from South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the windows lots of them so bright and airy, good looking when up
Cons: light roof! v bright early mornings
"Bought this on special offer as wanted a smaller outfit than our vango Diablo. This tent was quick to put up, even in windy Gower! Impressed with build quality, stitching etc and fly nets on all windows and doors. High mud flapping on sewn in groundsheet also good. Felt that mid section could have done with another pole as fly sheet bit droopy. Added extra two guy lines though and this was quickly sorted, so no gathering of rain and no excess flapping in the winds, stood up to a stormy night room for five of us and our kit. Would agree about the pegs, bend in hard ground but we took our vango heavy duty ones after reading these reviews! Great to pack away, expandable bag a nice touch. Great looking and fully functional tent for the money, I am hoping they bring out a porch attachment though, would just make this perfect."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>