Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent is perfect for famlies or groups of friends.
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
76 of 78(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tent but watch the wind,
August 14, 2014
By CasperDog
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: large and practical
Cons: small wire pegs
"Large family tent, fairly easy to erect and very good value for money. But it blew down in the (admittedly very high) wind on our first weekend away. We pitched it with the wind from behind, but on the third day the wind had changed direction and caught the overhanging front canopy bringing the front section down. Rain had made the ground very soft and the small pegs supplied with the tent came out. We got it back up within about 10 minutes though and no damage done. We'll get better pegs next time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looking good for the family,
August 10, 2014
By willr1927
from Eastbourne, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spacious and full height for standing, living area, seems like good quality, nice bag - looks like it will last
Cons: quite large when packed in bag
"We have only pitched this in the garden so far. Pretty straightforward, will be much quicker next time. Lots of great features and looks to be a good quality tent. We think it will suit the family well (and are going on our first camping trip this week)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
massive tent,
August 10, 2014
By melange
from Maidstone, Maidstone, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easily big enough for more than 5 people, fairly straight forward to erect only took 1 hour first time by two newbies to camping.
expandable bag make it easy to put away after use and still leaves room for additional gear ie double air bed & rubber mallet.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tent,
August 10, 2014
By Flatpack21
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What a great tent! So easy to put up I can do it on my own. We have taken it on a few trips now and come rain or shine it always holds up. Nice sleeping area sizes and the entrance is high enough to stand up with plenty of room. Amazing value for money compared to others on the market which you would pay double for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tent,
August 09, 2014
By ann43
from Chichester, Chichester, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We have now stayed in this tent on two occasions. It was easy to put up, and take down. We had a very wet night one night, with over an inch of rain, and the tent held up with everthing and everyone staying nice and dry, unlike many other campers!
We got the extra ground sheet and carpet which I would recommed as it just added that little bit more comfort. It was easy to pack away.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great family tent,
August 09, 2014
By Nikki76
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent size for the four of us and kept us dry in very wet weather ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent tent,
August 09, 2014
By Mikgoo
from Lichfield, Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size of seating area, easy of set up
Cons: bag not stong enough
"purfect for the family but ony four of us. pleanty of space to sit in side when needed. only problem was the bag for the tent split when packing away for the first time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Large tent!,
August 09, 2014
By K77L
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this in the sale. Found this very easy to put up (two ladies) both pods are large enough for a double bed. Not sure how it would cope with a servere storm but we had a fair bit of rain on first night and no leaks. Brilliant value tent for first time campers giving it a try."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very happy recomended,
August 06, 2014
By wottooo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this tent last week and took it straight on holiday. Was really pleased with it put it up with ease took bout 25 min was really spacious inside for 5 of us got very cosy on a night. Well pleased overall with value n easy to pack away n fit back into bags lol."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good tent,
August 06, 2014
By Rann5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: question some of the quality
"The first time we used this tent the front fly sheet had a small hole in it. Unfortunately we were away and by the end of day 3 it was a huge hole. The tent is quick to set up and there is loads of room. We had plenty of rain and it held its own. Hoping halfords can rectify the issue, which I'm sure they will."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant tent all round,
August 06, 2014
By Alibabe47
from South Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used the tent for the first time when it was absolutely teaming down with raining. Inbetween showers we put it up and having the ground sheet attached made a huge difference in the time it took compared to my old tent. It took us approx 15mins to put the outter up just in time for the rain to start again. That night the rain was unrelenting all night and the tent remained dry through it all.
I used both bedrooms, but they can unzipped to make 1 large compartment. It is a great size, plenty of room for cooking and sitting in the living area and for the money I paid for it I couldn't be more happy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tent,
August 05, 2014
By Linziii
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tent is excellent value for money and will be used frequently looking forward to using it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tent!!,
August 04, 2014
By Slh4984
from Shropshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tent has made camping a pleasure! Easy to put up and easy to put away. We took our 2 year old and our dog, plenty of room for everyone and all of our belongings. A good looking tent that looks like it cost a lot more than the bargain price we had it for!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic all round tent,
August 04, 2014
By scarper27
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality for the price
Cons: wish the flaps for windows were on the inside
"brought this product last j uly but refrained from writing a review until we had experienced all types of weather. this tent has to be the best we have had and following our latest trip which we experienced a huge thunder storm, torrential rain and high winds I have to say we were completely dry and safe. the room inside is more than adequate for myself, husband, teenage son and large dog. haven't regretted buying this tent and a huge thumbs up to Halfords quality was what I wanted and it's what I got"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
August 03, 2014
By dada1
from Carlisle, Carlisle, Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to put up/take down
Cons: guy rope stops slipping
"Very easy to put up. Plenty of room for the family. Good storage and useful hook up for the electric. Had a few wet nights out and no leaks at all. Very impressed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family 5 camping trip,
August 02, 2014
By Family5
from Co. Louth, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high head height throughout, good sleeping space for 5, spacious living area
Cons: outside window covers on 2 side windows., very slight leakage during very heavy rain
"Our first family camping trip so wanted a value for money & spacious tent. This is a 5 person tent so no need to go buying a 6 person tent for 5 people, this is more than adequate. Fit 2 double & 1 single air bed easily into bedroom area. Great head height throughout, feeling very spacious.
Very easy to erect. Possible with 2 but easier with 2 adults and a child or other adult to help hold poles. Simply lay out, put poles in colour coded sections then erect. Put in grounds stakes next, then guide ropes. Very easy to take down also.
We experienced a flash flood and tent had a little leak and I mean little at 2 side window edges but waterproof window cover was half way down so maybe if fully down would have been more waterproof(this was torrential rain).
Had problem with condensation but again 5 people sleeping in tent so will bring a dehumidifier box on next trip to take excess water from the air. But nothing that caused items to get wet and it dried instantly doors opened etc.
living area very spacious and easy to use. Bedroom area also doubled as sitting area due to good height with air beds stacked up.
Overall very happy with our purchase and made for a great camping experience as with children living area is important. Felt we camped in luxury & with 10% discount was a great 1st tent purchase.
Would highly recommend as a 5 person tent but an extremely roomy 4 person tent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? DROGHEDA (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for family camping,
August 02, 2014
By Tadpole97
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect for our needs. Good price , good quality and simple to put up ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? EAST DEREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended,
August 02, 2014
By Rabey
from UK, kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sewn in ground sheet, big bag, windows, insect screens
Cons: nothing
"This was our first 'proper' tent and was a step up from our 2 man tents. I spent ages reading reviews and finally went for this. I am not disappointed. It has loads of room and is high quality. I did a trial run in the garden and left it up for nearly two weeks. Not a single drop of water inside after quite a few downpours, and not any insects inside either. The sewn in ground sheet makes a huge difference. It took us 45 mins to put up and I think I will half that next time. The ropes provide essential stability so make sure you have them in the right positions. The bedrooms are big and you can fit 5 in easily. Has some nice touches such as the storage pockets and good windows."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great family tent,
August 02, 2014
By Michelle2403
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The tent was easy to set up and had plenty of room for the whole family. Definitely recommend buying this tent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? WOODGREEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
July 31, 2014
By IanfromSunderland
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Spacious bedrooms and living area. The expandable bag is great as the tent is never as small after use than when it was first bought."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>