Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent is perfect for famlies or groups of friends.
Average Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
102 of 107(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
leak in damp air no rain,
July 28, 2015
By cboothy87
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: very cheaply made, leaks, not enough gie ropes
" I purchased this tent in the sale anitionaly fort we got a good deal until we went camping to Filey for four nights between the 20th to the 24th.
Which we had to cut short and come home after 3 nights due to the damp air during the 3rd night night which caused water to drip in the tent and that was without any rain and it was due to rain the next night so wasn't taking the risk with two kids.
And also the tent needs more gie ropes the tent is really baggy once pitched.
But on the upside go outdoors was really good when returned item with out an issue with a full cash refund.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quality for bottom price,
July 19, 2015
By JAYCO19820
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent tent and brilliant quality, ample space for living room and bedrooms. Would definitely recommend this tent over any of the over priced equivalent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
atago 5,
July 19, 2015
By Anonymous
from Drogheda, Co. Louth, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value for money, plenty roomy
Cons: would be better with steel poles, side windows could be better desgined, bedroom light hanging point could be spaced more
" i bought this tent as after a lot of searching for the right tent for fishing trips and family camping trips i needed something that would be the right size for both, be plenty roomy inside for furniture and beds and storage but also hold up in the weather elements and be manageable to transport while also not breaking the bank,, kinda looking for the impossible but this tent seemed to fit the bill and has some great reviews , unfortunetly i got one that had a hair line crack in one of the poles and this caused it to shatter and rip straight through the top of the tent and weakened the structure of the tent causing it to collaspe several times through some wind and rain that it really should off held up to, however cause we were already on the campsite there was nothing we could do determent not to cancel our trip altogether i patched it up with duct tape and some extra rope i had, 4 other people on the site had this tent aswell and none of them had any prpblems so ithink it was just unlucky to have got a weak pole, halfords did however exchange it for a new one with no problems as soon as i got back , advice give a full test before going on a trip, also the side windows would be better if designed the same as back window that the curtain can be closed but at an angle to still allow ventilation to get through hopefully the new one won't give any problems on the next trip. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DROGHEDA (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camping,
July 18, 2015
By Scarlettmia
from Banbury, Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: nice big bag to put away
Cons: the peak over the front could be bigger
" 1st tent I brought and this was great loads of room for 4 adults and 1 child. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent sized, great family tent,
July 15, 2015
By chicknugget
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having camped for years with many different tents I am delighted with this one. It is better than any other which I have owned. Perfect size, plenty of room for storage and standing and sitting in etc.. bedrooms are also a good size. It was very easy to assemble and no leakage despite days of rain! Yes the canopy is small but in my opinion you can get over that - very happy with this tent and feel it's good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATERFORD (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent,
July 06, 2015
By JeSaRich
from Brentwood
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design, sale price, optional bedroom divider
Cons: no footprint available, no tent carpet available
" Saw this on offer online and purchased. Reserved online and collected at romford store with no drama. Staff were friendly enough and polite. Yet to be fully tested, it's been up in the garden and for the price very pleased.
Love the bedroom arrangement, the divider between the two can be unzipped, or partially, just enough for a small child to get through if need be.
The only down point and I should have done my homework a little more, is that I was under the impression that a footprint and carpet set was available for this item. Having double checked the websites I found, they all lead back to halfords, where the items are discontinued.
Off in a couple of weeks with our 5 year old daughter to camp for the first time with her (Mrs n I uses to camp pre-child). But so far so good and at the price we paid.... So far so good
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tent,
July 05, 2015
By MrsW86
from Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is our first ever tent we bought. It was relatively easy to put up with instructions inside the bag and watching the video on halfords site. Once it was up we totally surprised at the size of it. Very roomy and comfortably fits 2 adults and 2 children (baby in travel cot in big bedroom with a double air bed) the living near area again was huge we put our picnic table inside this part. We had a bit of wind and rain on our first night but the tent held fine against it. Was easy enough to pack back up and the bag it comes in allows for it to be not folded as perfectly like from factory packed. Overall I highly recommend this tent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant tent for the price,
July 02, 2015
By mrsabs
from Carmarthen, Carmarthen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a replacement tent and we couldn't have asked for better. Excellent value for money. And reletively easy to put up but when taking it down make sure that all the air is out of it otherwise its like trying to put a balloon back in the bag "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARMARTHEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tent,
July 01, 2015
By katebot
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to put up!
" This is the first tent we've bought and its as good as all the previous reviews. Easy and quick to put up and take down. Large bag and therefore easy to pack away. Nice and roomy inside too. Perfect! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tents,
June 29, 2015
By Eilo
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" bought this tent which I find absolute great value as I priced this type of tent in another store and it was three times the price seriously, we defiantly need more camping equipment in Halfords as it makes for great competition to the other camping stores in Ireland which are very few. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? LIFFEY VALLEY (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome tent canopy is small but built much better than other tents,
June 19, 2015
By Anonymous
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: build and feel
Cons: canopy too small grrrrr
" absolutely great we just wish the canopy was a big one though, built better than other tents for same price but others have cover when cooking in rain were as this truly fails at that. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Family Tent,
June 17, 2015
By NoniK123
from Offaly, Co. Offaly, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, sewn in groundsheet, great waterproofing
Cons: pegs
" A very good tent, plenty of space inside, lovely big living area and also good spacious bedroom that can be divided into two rooms if needed. A great value tent, it has a great spec such as sewn in groundsheet, 3000HH waterproofing, storage pockets etc. Easy enough to put up with two people, the pegs that hold it aren't the best so I will be investing in some stronger pegs that don't bend quite so easily. All in all we are delighted with the purchase and can't wait to use it again! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NAAS (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tent!,
June 15, 2015
By joe25w
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
" Fantastic tent!
Bought this for me and the girlfriend to camp in for 2 weeks and glad i went for this tent.
Easy to pitch when you get the hang of it.
Waterproofing is excelent
Tent tidy pocket thing is great
Without the inner rooms zipped in, this tent could easily sleep 10 people "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tent,
June 12, 2015
By Mandrewsbtn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We are very pleased with this tent, it's so roomy inside and easy to put up and take down, particularly as the bag it comes in is a decent so no squeezing it in. It withstood a very windy night with no problems at all. Ideal if like us you want one big bedroom as a couple. The sewn in ground sheet all the way around is just what we wanted too as we have a dog. Definitely recommend this tent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great value tent,
June 11, 2015
By Com54
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
" A good size tent that was simple to put up taking about 15 minutes, packing away was just as easy with plenty of space in the bag.
It wasn't tested in the rain but i did have to wash it off when we got home as it got covered in honey dew and there were no leaks.
Plenty of space inside for 4 people, the smaller bedroom is large enough for a double airbed, just. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice size but rather unstable,
June 10, 2015
By Princescruffster
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good size and layout
Cons: rather unstable and difficult to pitch
" I recently purchased the Atago 5 in the bank holiday sale and felt it was a good price. When I collected it after receiving online, I was quite shocked at the size of the bag. So be warned, it takes up a fair amount of room in the car. The bag in separated in to different compartments for bedrooms, poles and flysheet. Poles are colour coded so easy to find what goes where . The tent however is really unstable until the guy ropes and pegs are in place. There seems to be a lot of slack in the flysheet. It was impossible to get the roof tight so there was a fair bit of flapping and movement even in a light breeze. I am a regular camper, but I would not have been able to pitch this tent without help. Once up, the tentimes is a good size with 2 bedrooms and a large living area. Lots of storage too. I am disappointed with my purchase because the reviews were so good and I had high expectations. Not convinced it will survive high winds. Luckily our weekend was mild weather. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazed at the price & size & ease of setup,
May 23, 2015
By Stevostyles
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Were new to camping never done it before and only took us 30 minutes to put up fully like the features of a rear window and power access point at the front perfect for two adults and two children and we can't wait. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect,
May 22, 2015
By tentlove
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all round zipped entrance door, size of bedrooms huge, price, colour is lovely, easy to carry strong storage bag, can be put up by one person 20 mins
Cons: light fitting loop too near to entrance, pegs rubbish (as in all tents) use rock pegs
" I bought this in the recent sale as we have a larger tent for family hols and I needed something smaller so I could take my child away with me on my own during the school hols.
I read the reviews before purchasing and heres one to add to it:
This tent was put up by me alone, Im a 5 foot tall woman, I watched the dvd on you tube, lay all the poles flat on ground as shown and hey presto, it was up. I loosely attached the guy ropes on either end and then securing the others one by one.
This tent really is, easy to erect. I expected to ask my child to hold the poles etc, but didnt. If the weather was windy to the point of the tent becoming a kite, then I would of asked for her to help hold the poles.
The bedroom area is really roomy, enough space for a double sim and two single sims, we opened up the zipper divider and made it one room, even fitting in a bedside table and lamp.
I love the fact that unlike other tents I have, that you can fully zip all around the exits. So no flapping in the wind at night.
My only gripe, and its a small one, is that the hanging loop for the light is right on the front exit, and if like me you have a pendant lamp, then you have to mind your head on entering.
But thats the only downside, this can be sorted by taking a bulldog clip and hanging the lamp somewhere else.
Price wise 5 stars, ease of putting up 5 stars, space, I would say enough for 2 adults and one child, but with luggage etc it would be a squeeze for anymore. But we do take two large dogs with us as well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for any weather,
April 21, 2015
By Campingbear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We camp all over england and this tent has stood up to the most extreme weather in chedder we had very heavy rain and high winds the tent stood up to it no problem not a drip of water anywhere, it's easy to put up and has enough space for a family of 4 or even 5 we use it for just 2 of us and it's lovely to have all the space I would highly recommend this tent to anybody it's durible and big enough to enjoy your camping trip "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent,
March 28, 2015
By Vicky41
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this tent and had it up in some terrible weather indict ions and all I will say is this is a very sturdy and weather proof product. Would highly recommend this.
Can anyone tell me if I can still purchase the carpet & groundsheet for the atago5 please
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>