Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent is perfect for famlies or groups of friends.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
83 of 86(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Size does matter!,
September 10, 2014
By ledzepgreg
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: room size, easy to errect
Cons: small porch.
"Bought this tent for the size and also considered the lenghthy guarantee if anything goes wrong. Put the tent up on my own within half an hour at a music festival, pretty straight forward as it has a tunnel design with three main poles that are colour coded so you can't go wrong. Once up even I could stand up in it and I'm over 6 foot tall! Plenty of room for chairs and kit. The double bedroom amply fitted a double airbed with room to spare. The sectioned extra bedroom looked enough space for 2 people. Great idea to have zipped side opening at the bottom of the front of the tent to enable hook up cable for electric. Plenty of windows to let in sunlight if needed. I didn't have the unfortunate chance to try the tent in severe wet weather, but it stood up to light winds and rain perfectly. One drawback I found was the lack of a larger porch to the front opening, giving possibly more shelter if in heavy rain when going in/out of the tent.
All in all I'm very pleased with this tent and would recommend it! It is made of robust material and the hydrostatic head (materials ability to repel water) has a higher rating than tents more expensive than this one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appalled,
September 02, 2014
By Anonymous
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"First night put the tent up as instructed got a bit of wind through the night and the pole snapped had to pay to stay in bed and breakfast looking for somewhere to stay in out pyjamas the first night it had ever been used total waste of money not happy at all with this product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice tent in general,
August 31, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: height of living area, porch
Cons: difficult to erect
"Hi. We camped in this tent during some fairly wet & windy days, and it stood up very well in these conditions.
Wasn't an easy job to get it put-up in the first place though, and it was so much easier when you left the door open (thanks to an earlier review for this piece of advice). The tent could have done with a few more hanging points - like a central one in the middle of tent to hang a light.
Once up, it took the elements easily although we were quite sheltered by surrounding trees. The 'living' space was big enough and a good height."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
family tent,
August 27, 2014
By lynn71
from england uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: only one thing and that is the ground sheets lifts, when windy
"This was our first family tent, it was pretty easy to go up even with on adult and my 12 year old daughter we made the bedroom area into one large room so we had lost of space, the only downfall os when its windy it lifts the ground sheet up but it can stand very high winds the gide line just came undone but pegged back down with 2 pegs and it held its own im so glad that i bought this tent"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tip Top Tent for Tuppence,
August 25, 2014
By Gzer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: space
"Having reviewed a number of tents on-line we decided to go for the Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent. This was cheaper than many other 4 and 6 birth tents with good reviews, and did a fantastic job. It was put up in 30 mins whilst in a deluge and had plenty of space to sleep keep our gear and to eat in. Highly recommended!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good - but second hand!!,
August 25, 2014
By Shoppist42
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was looking for a tent to take to a festival. There was only two of us but we like to have space and be able to stand up inside and didn't want to spend a fortune. This one seemed to fit the bill perfectly and had good reviews.
Bit disappointed when we unpacked our 'new' tent to find it had remnants of grass inside, a couple of marks on the outside and the odd bit of evidence left behind that this tent had obviously been used before!!
Nevertheless it was intact, went up quickly, was very comfortable and was just what we were looking for.
Would definitely recommend the tent to others and is big enough for a weekend or even longer.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wet weekend,
August 22, 2014
By Bilsten
from Tain, Highland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for going to a family festival. Plenty of room and kept the torrential rain out. There was a fair bit of condensation though. Easy to pack away but the bag it came in ripped on the first trip."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent -for the price,
August 21, 2014
By campingruss
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lots of room, lots of head room, the expanding carry-bag
Cons: thin tent poles.
"I was looking for a tent I couold stand up in. As such, this ticks all the boxes - and more. The lounge area is high enough in to walk around in comfortably and the sewn-in groundsheet is a bonus. The two seperate bedroom areas are great and are spacious enough for double beds in each.
really, for the money, the tent is excellent! The poles are a little on the thin side - we tried putting the tent up in high winds and it proved impossible - one of the poles cracked when the tent was blown flat (but it was really, really windy). The front porch could do with being a little bigger - but these are really minor things. Overall - I don't think you will find a similar tent anywhere for the same money. It's a real bargain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tent but watch the wind,
August 14, 2014
By CasperDog
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: large and practical
Cons: small wire pegs
"Large family tent, fairly easy to erect and very good value for money. But it blew down in the (admittedly very high) wind on our first weekend away. We pitched it with the wind from behind, but on the third day the wind had changed direction and caught the overhanging front canopy bringing the front section down. Rain had made the ground very soft and the small pegs supplied with the tent came out. We got it back up within about 10 minutes though and no damage done. We'll get better pegs next time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looking good for the family,
August 10, 2014
By willr1927
from Eastbourne, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spacious and full height for standing, living area, seems like good quality, nice bag - looks like it will last
Cons: quite large when packed in bag
"We have only pitched this in the garden so far. Pretty straightforward, will be much quicker next time. Lots of great features and looks to be a good quality tent. We think it will suit the family well (and are going on our first camping trip this week)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
massive tent,
August 10, 2014
By melange
from Maidstone, Maidstone, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easily big enough for more than 5 people, fairly straight forward to erect only took 1 hour first time by two newbies to camping.
expandable bag make it easy to put away after use and still leaves room for additional gear ie double air bed & rubber mallet.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tent,
August 10, 2014
By Flatpack21
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What a great tent! So easy to put up I can do it on my own. We have taken it on a few trips now and come rain or shine it always holds up. Nice sleeping area sizes and the entrance is high enough to stand up with plenty of room. Amazing value for money compared to others on the market which you would pay double for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tent,
August 09, 2014
By ann43
from Chichester, Chichester, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We have now stayed in this tent on two occasions. It was easy to put up, and take down. We had a very wet night one night, with over an inch of rain, and the tent held up with everthing and everyone staying nice and dry, unlike many other campers!
We got the extra ground sheet and carpet which I would recommed as it just added that little bit more comfort. It was easy to pack away.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great family tent,
August 09, 2014
By Nikki76
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent size for the four of us and kept us dry in very wet weather ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent tent,
August 09, 2014
By Mikgoo
from Lichfield, Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size of seating area, easy of set up
Cons: bag not stong enough
"purfect for the family but ony four of us. pleanty of space to sit in side when needed. only problem was the bag for the tent split when packing away for the first time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Large tent!,
August 09, 2014
By K77L
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this in the sale. Found this very easy to put up (two ladies) both pods are large enough for a double bed. Not sure how it would cope with a servere storm but we had a fair bit of rain on first night and no leaks. Brilliant value tent for first time campers giving it a try."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very happy recomended,
August 06, 2014
By wottooo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this tent last week and took it straight on holiday. Was really pleased with it put it up with ease took bout 25 min was really spacious inside for 5 of us got very cosy on a night. Well pleased overall with value n easy to pack away n fit back into bags lol."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good tent,
August 06, 2014
By Rann5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: question some of the quality
"The first time we used this tent the front fly sheet had a small hole in it. Unfortunately we were away and by the end of day 3 it was a huge hole. The tent is quick to set up and there is loads of room. We had plenty of rain and it held its own. Hoping halfords can rectify the issue, which I'm sure they will."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant tent all round,
August 06, 2014
By Alibabe47
from South Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used the tent for the first time when it was absolutely teaming down with raining. Inbetween showers we put it up and having the ground sheet attached made a huge difference in the time it took compared to my old tent. It took us approx 15mins to put the outter up just in time for the rain to start again. That night the rain was unrelenting all night and the tent remained dry through it all.
I used both bedrooms, but they can unzipped to make 1 large compartment. It is a great size, plenty of room for cooking and sitting in the living area and for the money I paid for it I couldn't be more happy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tent,
August 05, 2014
By Linziii
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tent is excellent value for money and will be used frequently looking forward to using it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>