Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent is perfect for famlies or groups of friends.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
45 of 47(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tent,
March 11, 2014
By Padraic
from Galway
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: great value for this size tent, so much room
Cons: pegs
"Excellent Tent so much room and very easy to put up and take down, we had a 3 man tent before this but this is unreal very happy, the pegs could be better but other than that its an great tent so if your looking for a tent that will last well then buy the urban escape you wont be sorry;
Also a great thanks to Halford for there great service A++++"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? GALWAY (ROI)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great size tent,
February 24, 2014
By Nickyads
from Stamford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: big windows, matching carpets available, good value
"We bought our last May and have used it for several weekends away. There is myself, my partner and our 6 year old boy. There is enough rooms in the bedrooms for the beds and our clothes. The living area is a great size to get in kitchen and table and chairs. The tent has big windows and is nice and light. The groundsheet is sewn in and we bought the carpets which are great value and make the tent warmer and cosier. We are off to France with it this year. Pictured with the Halfords gazebo, which fits perfectly over the lip of the tent canopy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Tent,
August 18, 2013
By Dinosaur1
from Doncaster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Loads of room in the tent, easy to put up and take down (2 people) lots of storage pockets inside, although it did flap quite a bit through the night, it was very windy but was still standing in the morning, this product comes highly recommended. Looking forward to our next camping trip in it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent,
August 13, 2013
By lynpit
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So happy with this tent. Its straightforward to erect, went up even first time in 30 mins.
Built in groundsheets are a wonderful bonus to an old seasoned camping veteran!
Really love the large bedroom compartments, for the first time in my life i didn't have claustrophobia problems and slept soundly. We were able to get a kingsized blow up in the there and still have standing room and strorage.
No problems so far with rain leaking in either. We had some very heavy cloudbursts but it just ran off the outside canvas.
Brilliant tent especially for the price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely tent for money,
August 05, 2013
By mich74
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size of tent
Cons: the pegs
"Got this tent after reading the reviews on it. Lovely size tent and loved that it got a sewn in groundsheet so keep the bugs out. The pegs are not very good with it so did take some new ones with me which glad i did now. There was 4 of us in tent but loads of room for more. The 2 nights we used it we had loads of rain and very windy. Only bit of water that did come in was in by the door which was only small amount on both nights. Found the tent did flap a lot with the wind compared to other tents on the campsite. But not sure if that from our first time putting tent up or just the way the tent is. Looking forward to using again with better weather in nights next time. We decide to buy the footprint and carpet to go with tent which glad we did as made living area better and saved the ground.
Plus we did put some extra guide lines in but still made tent flap in wind.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great basic tent for new campers!,
July 31, 2013
By Newcampers4
from England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: porch door with insect net, lots of space in "front room"
Cons: divider doesn't come out.
"First one bought had to return as some stitching not great on pole section over door - exchanged easily and 2nd one ok. Nice and easy to put up - managed under 40 mins first time. Good size for 5 people unlike some supposedly 6 man tents which are smaller than this one! 2 A + 2 C camped on a humid night in July and suffered quite a bit of condensation, could do with rain covers on the side windows otherwise the rain gets in if left open!
One other gripe was that the divider in bedroom doesn't "remove" and only rolls up to the top meaning it hangs down at the side into the person sleeping there and has a step in the groundsheet. Would be better if unzipped completely. Luckily we had air beds that fitted over the top.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for Money,
July 31, 2013
By Stingry
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: outstanding value for money
Cons: tent pegs very thin.
"Bought this tent on summer 2013 deal.
We used it for 5 days camping in north of Scotland during the summer heatwave. we tested the tent prior to the trip and were very surprised by the size of the tent and the amount of room inside. It was very easy to erect taking on average about 20-25 minutes to put up. The bag the tent comes in has plenty of room which is great when re-packing the tent.
all in all great value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really easy to put up,
July 28, 2013
By GlendaS
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: also easy to put back inside bag
"We bought this tend for the week end, never gone amping before. Really easy instructions to follow and we manage to put the nt up in 30min and under heavy rain. Under the ain all night so it proved to be waterproof! Plenty of space for a family of 5. I would highly recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great roomy tent for price,
July 25, 2013
By Applepie33
from South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the windows lots of them so bright and airy, good looking when up
Cons: light roof! v bright early mornings
"Bought this on special offer as wanted a smaller outfit than our vango Diablo. This tent was quick to put up, even in windy Gower! Impressed with build quality, stitching etc and fly nets on all windows and doors. High mud flapping on sewn in groundsheet also good. Felt that mid section could have done with another pole as fly sheet bit droopy. Added extra two guy lines though and this was quickly sorted, so no gathering of rain and no excess flapping in the winds, stood up to a stormy night room for five of us and our kit. Would agree about the pegs, bend in hard ground but we took our vango heavy duty ones after reading these reviews! Great to pack away, expandable bag a nice touch. Great looking and fully functional tent for the money, I am hoping they bring out a porch attachment though, would just make this perfect."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
July 25, 2013
By Dympna
from Co Tyrone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First time ever camping and loved it. The tent is so spacious. We were able to put it up in about half an hour and it was about the same taking it down. Folded back into the back no problem. Pegs aren't strong enough so we will be getting new ones made. All in all a very good reliable tent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent,
July 23, 2013
By Col1124
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased July 2010
*Great value for money*
Had not been camping for years and just decided to go away for a long weekend, found the tent easy to put up and perfect for the 3 of us 2A + 1C only took about 1/2 hour to put up and the same to dismantle, on the last night we had a very heavy thunder storm and it was perfectly stable and waterproof all in all AAAAA*****"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good family tent,
July 23, 2013
By callumgilhooly
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As a family of four (2 young kids), we were looking for something that can be more than just a bedroom and this fits the bill perfectly"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect first tent,
July 22, 2013
By Lovelyjubberly
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spacious, high ground sheet, easy to put up, great tent bag
Cons: bendy pegs, open windows from outside
"So far we have had dry weather in the tent so can not comment on waterproof factor. Did get slight condensation in morning but had everything shut!
It is incredibly spacious and love the large entrance door.
The ground sheet comes up high keeping all insects out perfect!
The bag for the tent is amazing I've even fitted the air beds in this without undoing the extra expandable part, no panic packing it back in very good designed bag.
Poles are colour coded with tape which match the seams they go too making it that bit easier. The tent was simple to put together but it will require 2 people to lift both pole sides as I found out in instructions this bit is true. Taking it down managed alone but could be tricky in high winds as with any tent.
The only small adjustment I would of liked was to have inside covers for side and back windows should you want to put these up you have to go outside to open windows but all have fly net including secure door.
Will be investing in pegs these are poor and would not go in dry ground!
Over all still gets 5 stars from me very happy and got it in discount price so very happy.
Happy camping in this!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? ST. ALBANS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent awful pegs,
July 21, 2013
By Carpcrunch
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the lovely tent, easy to put up
Cons: pegs
"This tent is easy to put up and perfect for a small family.
Only negative is the pegs are rubbish but luckily I brought along my good ones"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!,
July 20, 2013
By KKANDAK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Tent, Great Value For Money! Would Definitely Recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a great tent!,
July 20, 2013
By VHappycamper
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A really well made, good quality tent. Easy to put up - can be done with two, easier with an extra pair of hands though. Plenty of space, and nice touches fitted pockets etc. Bought it on a half price offer so was excellent value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality and value,
July 20, 2013
By Sarah14
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the fully zipped door, fly screens on every door
"Easy to put up and really solid construction. Very impressed with the fly screens throughout, the storage nets multiple windows and secure front door ... Not all of which are usually available with tents of this price from bigger brand names. Would thoroughly recommend to both experienced and novice campers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good!,
July 19, 2013
By Mickey1981
from Shropshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spacious, easy to pitch
Cons: pegs not very rigid
"Very easy to pitch, never pitched before we went away so it was fresh out of the bag when we arrived. Loads of room, both bedrooms were of good size, easily fitted 3 children in one and 2 adults in the other. Take or buy some stronger pegs as the ones supplied are a bit.....weak, bend easy.
Would definately recommend this tent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money, very spacious.,
July 19, 2013
By Mark8486
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: spacious, value for money, easy to put up
Cons: rubbish tent pegs
"Very pleased with the last minute purchase before a camping trip earlier this summer.
The tent is very specious, easy to put up 30-45mins from parking up to getting the air beds pumped up/BBQ lit.
As easy as you would expect to put away too, it comes with a big bag, don't forget to unzip the extension part of the bag to make it bigger, it wont fit in otherwise.
I would certainly recommend taking or buying some extra heavier duty tent pegs as the ones supplied with the tent bent like paperclips.
What wasn't mentioned in the listing was that it comes with a repair kit and also storage hanger with netted pouches which hangs up nicely, very useful!
Very pleased, cant wait to use it again!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Atago 5 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
5 man + 10!,
July 18, 2013
By DW00565
from Corby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: size, value for money, large doors, large living space
Cons: windows
"I was absolutley amazed when I brought this tent home! It is advertized as a 5 man tent, but with the amount of space this tent has to offer, you could sleep 15 people in there!
The tent was very easy to erect and took much less than then the 35 minute time quoted on the package. It also fits easily into the bag upon repacking.
The one issue I do have with this tent, and the reason why I did not give it a 5 star rating, is because the windows can ONLY be opened from the outside. Having used this tent on a very hot summer weekend, I was frustrated that I was unable to open the windows from the inside to get some air flow inside the tent.
Otherwise, it is a great tent, with a large amount of sleeping and living space. Highly recommend for campers with a family, or a lot of gear. Also it would be an idea tent for spring/fall camping, as there is enough space inside to comfortably relax if you get caught in the rain.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
123next>>