Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Camping Windbreak

The Urban Escape Camping Windbreak provides privacy and shelter around your tent.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Review 1 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Windbreaks in general,
May 19, 2014
By BasilBiscuit
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: window strip, colour, size
Cons: space needed, tricky set up
"This actual product is a sound buy in every respect. Just make sure you want a wind break with guy ropes as they take up a lot of room and clutter up the place. The height& length of this w'break is good but it does flap a good bit. Poles do not stab into the ground and the cheap ground pegs will swivel round and ping the guys off if not angled and pushed in correctly. Tricky and time consuming to set up single handed (not worth it for weekend/overnight campers like me?). These criticisms are more to do with windbreaks in general as this product has many good features/quality for it's type."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
August 07, 2013
By Naomi83
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This was perfect for providing privacy and shelter on a recent camping trip. Much better than the beach windbreak we had been using! Very long so we only used this rather than the usual two windbreak. Packs neatly into bag."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coping with wind problems!,
August 06, 2013
By ScottCB
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Over the years we have all struggle with wind. And keeping it under control has always been a struggle. When on the beach wind can pop up at anytime so it good to see how we'll the urban windbreak deals with the problem. For years I have used the cheap candy stripe breakers but decided to invest in something better and what a difference. In fact if you go camping to the beach or anywhere want a bit of privacy etc. this windbreak will take all your problems away. easy to erect and comes in a very small carry bag. Just brilliant"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
windbreak,
July 31, 2013
By candyjr
from devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"used at a festival lots of interest from other campers told them where to by it most talked about bit is the 'window' section"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
July 29, 2013
By Jen33
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having bought this for a camping trip and not got it out the bag until we got there the instructions were easy to follow and managed to put it up relatively easily even in gusts of wind would definately buy another one"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not one for the beach,
July 27, 2013
By jem7
from Guildford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: of no use to me. waste of money
"Having read the reviews of others here and elsewhere, I thought this may be a better buy than the cheap windbreaks that I could purchase locally. Whilst seems good quality and will probably be OK in a field, it was useless on the beach. I had assumed that there would be poles to bang into the sand and the guy ropes would provide extra stability, but the poles do not extend past the fabric and it is only held up by the guy ropes, which did not work in compacted damp sand or shingle.
It is wasy to construct but difficut to put up on one's own especially if there is a bit of a breeze, which is a bit of a downer for a windbreak!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the 'pack',
July 26, 2013
By Monster998
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: compactness
Cons: could be a bit more solid
"A very good value piece of equipment, does everything you expect it go do. Particularly impressed with how compact it is when folded. Best windbreak I have bought at the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good sturdy qind break,
July 25, 2013
By denknee
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very good sturdy windbreak, just make sure you peg it in a good deep angle and into the ground flat in case of high winds."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Buy,
July 24, 2013
By Mal33
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"my first thoughts when i unpacked it was have i made a mistake, the pole do not stake into the ground does not look sturdy... Well i am happy to say it was wrong the only negative i have is the instructions they could do with being more comprehensive.
If you are buying this and i suggest you do for camping purposes then do a practice setup before you go away ;-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Windbreaker!,
July 22, 2013
By Paddy1977
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good windbreaker, ideal for camping, keeps wind away from cooker, probably not great if gonna use on the beach because its kept in place with pegs at the bottom but for grass its ideal, could'nt fault it, plenty of tie ropes, pegs, and very easy to fold back up (two ppl) and put back in bag, thats what i really like about halfords stuff its always goes back into carry bags they came in!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? WATERFORD (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
July 09, 2013
By Rich1979
from Dursley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble, great quality, a very good addition for a little more privacy when camping."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant windbreak at a brilliant reduced price,
July 08, 2013
By MattyOX
from Oxford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great size
"Bought this for camping, worked very well and very easy to put up. Found it to be a lot better than other windbreaks I have used in the past. Brilliant size for having your own enclosure around the tent, although it would be better if I had two so I am going to buy another one. Very sturdy and secure once erected."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really good product,
July 04, 2013
By lindy07
from drogheda
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product. held up well in breeze. Easy to put up, and folds away nicely!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? DROGHEDA (ROI)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stood up to the job,
June 24, 2013
By londonrob
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality finish
"Camped at the weekend in a very windy spot, and this did the job perfectly.
The poles are strong and if they can withstand this weekend, they should be up to anything.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHARLTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top but,
June 19, 2013
By Broomy289
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought this for the garden, easy to put up, Would reccomend A+++++++++++++++++"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Windbreak,
June 18, 2013
By Donna28
from Scunthorpe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very good, easily to use. Would recommend this product to anyone going camping."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money, good quality.,
June 15, 2013
By Karen99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value, qualuty
Cons: poor instructions
"Kept us sheltered from some pretty strong winds and only one guy had to be repegged. Instructions weren't all that clear but good value overall."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value Windbreak,
June 12, 2013
By pgibbo
from Gtr Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really good price and great quality, much better to use on hard standing rather than soft sand. Pretty easy to set up"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? ASHTON UNDER LYNE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good service,
May 28, 2013
By thomaschloe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: no hassle
"very fast reliable good service. made a reservation and within an hour i recieved an email to say ready and waiting for collection. highly recommend halfords excellent sevice. thank you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Camping Windbreak
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
May 05, 2013
By Cfraser
from Inverness
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product and excellent way to stop the wind. If camping in a group use to keep your area defined"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>