Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool is a versatile chain tool that helps maintain your bike`s chain.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
March 03, 2015
By Kelv12
from Brixton, London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good tool - handy to have for the Bike tool box!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
February 27, 2015
By psyclo
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does what it says on the tin! This is a well made item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
topeak chain splitter,
February 19, 2015
By sm54239cs
from caerphilly s wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works perfect
" cant fault it does what it says on the tin .
good quality tool probably outlast me ha ha.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little tool!!!,
January 20, 2015
By riddo1980
from Teeside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Needed to replace my old chain so bought this little tool to give it a try.
Worked great and happy with my purchase.
THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE SLOW SERVICE YET AGAIN IN HALFORDS!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool,
January 17, 2015
By iplas
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As previous reviewers say this is a great tool simple to use and does the job. Only warning is one pushing the pin out make sure it doesn't goes all the way out leave it in the far plate as they are a pain to put back in. That is nothing to do with the tool just me turning to much "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
October 30, 2014
By simon2110
from Burton on Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent quality, good price
Cons: looks a bit like cheaper alternatives and this in
" Having broken two 'chocolate' chain tools.... trying to change a chain I saw this one I was skeptical as the design was similar to the cheap broken ones, but took a chance because of good reviews.
It is a totally different tool to the broken ones, it oozes quality and took me 10 seconds to split the chain after an hour ..... absolutely brilliant "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chain splitter,
September 22, 2014
By alanw09
from Hartlepool, Hartlepool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: as above
Cons: nothing
" toepeak universal bike chain tool is i find an excellent piece of kit. i last used a similair tool fifty three years ago now, as a recycled cyclist at seventy years of age i did not think i would find any difference but the chain hook and the pin storage along with the mini hammer top the bill. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike chain tool,
September 17, 2014
By Gyou
from East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" very solid, easy to use and make change of a chain an easy job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfect,
September 04, 2014
By jaye2747
from hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this bike chain tool worked perfectly effortless, recomended buy for anyone needing such a tool. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Chain Tool,
August 25, 2014
By BikeKeeno
from Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" Bought this to shorten my SRAM chain and it work a treat.
Thanks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tool,
December 10, 2013
By mickb1031
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent piece of kit at a great price. Very easy to use. Solid construction. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sucj a joy :),
December 03, 2013
By GTagressor2BOY
from rochdale/manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: there is none
" Bought this from the rochdale store .. paid for it and with in 20 mins of getting home i used it on my new chain all with in half hour . Such a joy to use avoids useing a nail and hammer lol
Any id sure reccemend it to anyone haha. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful tool to have in your toolbox,
December 01, 2013
By tonywing
from Newport south Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent tool worth the money, I refurbish vintage bicycles and this tool is a must, easy to use and good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what is says.,
October 06, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Worked well first time, even for an amateur like me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality & value.,
September 21, 2013
By Neil73
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good price and a better quality than the cheap chain splitters. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has great features,
May 21, 2013
By Gazmend
from Morden, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product has great features for everything quick and easy chain repairs . Very good product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MITCHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swift 'n' Easy,
May 04, 2013
By falkirk48
from Falkirk Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: hollow handle for pin storage, wire to take tension off chaih for repair
" Replaced my 'old faithful' of 30 years as it broke trying to shorten a new chain.
Checked for replacement on Halfords' website and reserved then collected with no hassle.
A couple of turns of the tommy bar and it was off!
I recon this tool will last as long as the last one if not longer(Hope I do!)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliable backpack chain tool,
April 29, 2013
By Anonymous
from Leeds, West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have tried several chain tools now and this one from Topeak is the best by far. The link retaining clip would benefit from having longer hooked ends for a more secure hold but they are still adequate. Great quality, low weight and modest size at a great price - this is a superb portable tool that I shall carry with me at all times. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built,
April 20, 2013
By JohnRS
from Tyne and Wear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As above really. Very good for a cheap tool, seems well built although I am yet to use it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and easy,
March 28, 2013
By Fozziewozziedodah
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent value product that can be used anywhere! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>