Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool is a versatile chain tool that helps maintain your bike`s chain.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Gear Chain and Cassette,
January 30, 2016
By
from Gourock, Inverclyde, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
" After 2 years trouble free cycling my chain started slipping. Time to replace and replace the cassette as well. This little tool made it easy. You could probably buy a cheaper one, this is quality, well finished. Buy with confidence. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great,
December 21, 2015
By
from Shannon
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" used on 10 speed SRAM pc1071 chain, no problems what so ever. good price. can't comment on quality as only used 2x "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy,
December 18, 2015
By
from Dunfermline, Dunfermline, Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, sturdy
" The tool is well made and feels solid. It was easy to use and breaking the chain was quick and simple. Definitely worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broke my chain nicely....,
November 04, 2015
By
from Swanage, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple, effective, good price
" Easy to use, need I say more ? Here's some extra text to fill the box as it said I hadn't written enough ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invaluable tool,
November 03, 2015
By
from Immingham, North East Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: chain keeper
" I have only used it twice so far, but I see no reason why it should not last as long as my previous one (20 years).
It works as it should; is simple to use and I cannot fault it.
This tool has the addition of a chain "keeper" that fits into the handle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right tool for the job!,
September 19, 2015
By
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to replace my broken Park Tool chain tool. Does everything the Park Tool one did and is actually easier to use. At nearly a quarter of the price, it goes to show, you don't always get what you pay for!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect for the job in hand,
August 21, 2015
By
from Elgin, Elgin, Moray IV30, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just perfect for the job,and you get a better deal if you order it online and collect at the store.
Maybe there is a reason for online stores!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and sturdy,
August 17, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, strong enough
" Already had one of these on my multi-tool but it is a bit fiddly and not strong enough to squeeze a pin out. So ended up buying this after reading other reviews and happy with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use,
August 04, 2015
By
from Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great little tool so easy to use with little effort. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used to break and remake 9 speed chain with no problems.
Reserved on line for instore collection and found it was £3 cheaper than buying in-store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says,
April 28, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Good quality tool which does its job well for relatively little money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
March 03, 2015
By
from Brixton, London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good tool - handy to have for the Bike tool box!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
February 27, 2015
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does what it says on the tin! This is a well made item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
topeak chain splitter,
February 19, 2015
By
from caerphilly s wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works perfect
" cant fault it does what it says on the tin .
good quality tool probably outlast me ha ha.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little tool!!!,
January 20, 2015
By
from Teeside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Needed to replace my old chain so bought this little tool to give it a try.
Worked great and happy with my purchase.
THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE SLOW SERVICE YET AGAIN IN HALFORDS!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool,
January 17, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As previous reviewers say this is a great tool simple to use and does the job. Only warning is one pushing the pin out make sure it doesn't goes all the way out leave it in the far plate as they are a pain to put back in. That is nothing to do with the tool just me turning to much "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
October 30, 2014
By
from Burton on Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent quality, good price
Cons: looks a bit like cheaper alternatives and this in
" Having broken two 'chocolate' chain tools.... trying to change a chain I saw this one I was skeptical as the design was similar to the cheap broken ones, but took a chance because of good reviews.
It is a totally different tool to the broken ones, it oozes quality and took me 10 seconds to split the chain after an hour ..... absolutely brilliant "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chain splitter,
September 22, 2014
By
from Hartlepool, Hartlepool, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: as above
Cons: nothing
" toepeak universal bike chain tool is i find an excellent piece of kit. i last used a similair tool fifty three years ago now, as a recycled cyclist at seventy years of age i did not think i would find any difference but the chain hook and the pin storage along with the mini hammer top the bill. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike chain tool,
September 17, 2014
By
from East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" very solid, easy to use and make change of a chain an easy job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfect,
September 04, 2014
By
from hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this bike chain tool worked perfectly effortless, recomended buy for anyone needing such a tool. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>