Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool is a versatile chain tool that helps maintain your bike`s chain.
Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 42(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wrong tool,
May 18, 2016
By
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ordered this chain tool for a shimano 11speed ultegra chain but then found out it wasn't suitable for this 11speed chain but it is for some others,so difficult to rate it but perhaps the description could be tweaked a bit to save further confusion. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and good value,
May 05, 2016
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, easy to use
" I'd never used one of these before but when my chain broke I thought I'd give it a whirl and it was a piece of cake so for less than a tenner I have a working bike and a spare replacement link and tool to fix the chain if it breaks again. Bargain. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topeak chain tool review,
May 05, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Nicely made tool that proved easy to use. The tool was purchased in conjunction with a Shimano CN-HG40 chain. My old chain was well worn and needed to be replaced, so I decided to do it myself. The old chain was removed easily with the tool, all you have to do is insert the chain into the tool line up the extraction pin with a pin in the chain and then wind in the extraction pin. This will push the pin out and split the chain. Next count the number of links in the old chain and repeat with the replacement, note that the links are in pairs. Mark the links that need to be removed and fit the new chain to the bike on the smallest of the gears to allow plenty of slack. Now use the tool to remove the excess links but don't fully remove the pin from the chain, if the chain is reversed in the tool the original pin can be wound back into the chain once the unwanted links have been removed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tool,
May 01, 2016
By
from Silverbridge, Newry, Newry and Mourne BT35, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" ordered this chain tool on line for collection no problem. Using the tool was dead easy. I would recommend this chain tool. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price!!,
May 01, 2016
By
from England, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: multi tool
" This chain splitter is great it has so many uses. You couldn't be disappointed with this. Highly recommended. "
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tool,
February 25, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This tool works well. I usually use Park tools, but this one is working comparably. Have used it a few times now. I would recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Gear Chain and Cassette,
January 30, 2016
By
from Gourock, Inverclyde, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
" After 2 years trouble free cycling my chain started slipping. Time to replace and replace the cassette as well. This little tool made it easy. You could probably buy a cheaper one, this is quality, well finished. Buy with confidence. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great,
December 21, 2015
By
from Shannon
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" used on 10 speed SRAM pc1071 chain, no problems what so ever. good price. can't comment on quality as only used 2x "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy,
December 18, 2015
By
from Dunfermline, Dunfermline, Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, sturdy
" The tool is well made and feels solid. It was easy to use and breaking the chain was quick and simple. Definitely worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broke my chain nicely....,
November 04, 2015
By
from Swanage, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple, effective, good price
" Easy to use, need I say more ? Here's some extra text to fill the box as it said I hadn't written enough ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
invaluable tool,
November 03, 2015
By
from Immingham, North East Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: chain keeper
" I have only used it twice so far, but I see no reason why it should not last as long as my previous one (20 years).
It works as it should; is simple to use and I cannot fault it.
This tool has the addition of a chain "keeper" that fits into the handle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right tool for the job!,
September 19, 2015
By
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to replace my broken Park Tool chain tool. Does everything the Park Tool one did and is actually easier to use. At nearly a quarter of the price, it goes to show, you don't always get what you pay for!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect for the job in hand,
August 21, 2015
By
from Elgin, Elgin, Moray IV30, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just perfect for the job,and you get a better deal if you order it online and collect at the store.
Maybe there is a reason for online stores!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and sturdy,
August 17, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, strong enough
" Already had one of these on my multi-tool but it is a bit fiddly and not strong enough to squeeze a pin out. So ended up buying this after reading other reviews and happy with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use,
August 04, 2015
By
from Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great little tool so easy to use with little effort. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
July 26, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used to break and remake 9 speed chain with no problems.
Reserved on line for instore collection and found it was £3 cheaper than buying in-store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says,
April 28, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Good quality tool which does its job well for relatively little money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
March 03, 2015
By
from Brixton, London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good tool - handy to have for the Bike tool box!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
February 27, 2015
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does what it says on the tin! This is a well made item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
topeak chain splitter,
February 19, 2015
By
from caerphilly s wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works perfect
" cant fault it does what it says on the tin .
good quality tool probably outlast me ha ha.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>