Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool

Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool is a versatile chain tool that helps maintain your bike`s chain.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Chain Tool,
August 25, 2014
By BikeKeeno
from Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Bought this to shorten my SRAM chain and it work a treat.
Thanks"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tool,
December 10, 2013
By mickb1031
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent piece of kit at a great price. Very easy to use. Solid construction."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sucj a joy :),
December 03, 2013
By GTagressor2BOY
from rochdale/manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: there is none
"Bought this from the rochdale store .. paid for it and with in 20 mins of getting home i used it on my new chain all with in half hour . Such a joy to use avoids useing a nail and hammer lol
Any id sure reccemend it to anyone haha."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful tool to have in your toolbox,
December 01, 2013
By tonywing
from Newport south Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent tool worth the money, I refurbish vintage bicycles and this tool is a must, easy to use and good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what is says.,
October 06, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Worked well first time, even for an amateur like me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality & value.,
September 21, 2013
By Neil73
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good price and a better quality than the cheap chain splitters."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has great features,
May 21, 2013
By Gazmend
from Morden, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product has great features for everything quick and easy chain repairs . Very good product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MITCHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swift 'n' Easy,
May 04, 2013
By falkirk48
from Falkirk Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: hollow handle for pin storage, wire to take tension off chaih for repair
"Replaced my 'old faithful' of 30 years as it broke trying to shorten a new chain.
Checked for replacement on Halfords' website and reserved then collected with no hassle.
A couple of turns of the tommy bar and it was off!
I recon this tool will last as long as the last one if not longer(Hope I do!)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliable backpack chain tool,
April 29, 2013
By Anonymous
from Leeds, West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have tried several chain tools now and this one from Topeak is the best by far. The link retaining clip would benefit from having longer hooked ends for a more secure hold but they are still adequate. Great quality, low weight and modest size at a great price - this is a superb portable tool that I shall carry with me at all times."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built,
April 20, 2013
By JohnRS
from Tyne and Wear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As above really. Very good for a cheap tool, seems well built although I am yet to use it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and easy,
March 28, 2013
By Fozziewozziedodah
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value product that can be used anywhere!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy !,
March 18, 2013
By specs
from North Lanarkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
"Bought this as a replacement for lost Park tool.Same build quality but a lot cheaper ,great deal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well Made,
March 04, 2013
By BopCycle
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good chain removal tool. Light, durable and easy to use. Worth paying a bit more for this one as the cheaper chain removal tools tend to break after one or two uses."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product,
February 21, 2013
By Bikenut14
from Portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This item is exceptional value for the quality, very easy to use and did the job perfect."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy to use,
February 01, 2013
By 123peter123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had a number of these in the past, this is one of the best."
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Missing bits,
January 25, 2013
By Ragley213
from Berkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: long handle
Cons: hollow in handle for storage
"Hard to review this. The base of the tool has a hollow and a cover intended for storage of spare link/connector. I ordered from stock in store and this cover was missing. The guy at Halfords was kind enough to notice and tell me. I'd found my formerly lost chain tool anyway, so didn't purchase the tool. But of a daft design anyway unless it's waterproof too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topeak Bike Chain Tool,
October 28, 2012
By TheGreenman
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: its versatility, the inclustion of teeth to loosen tight links, the fact it comes apart to fit the sadle bag
Cons: none
"Excellent Quality and value, I'd previously bought an X-Tools version of this but for some strange reason there was no cut out see how far the pin had been dislodged thus making the tool useless. However this version does have the magic cut out and thus the dark art of chain link removal and rejoining is easy to master. Overall a quality product that should serve the individual for years, an essential piece of kit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chain tool topeak,
October 10, 2012
By caveman0099
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reliability
"great item, great quality, pin did not bend, thread remain free moving and straight, chain did not get damaged, a lot better than a cheaper ebay item i bought previously which only lasted one use. you'll not save money buying cheap and then replace over and over so get it right first time!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good tool which seems to do the job,
July 22, 2012
By ghtyul
from Halesowen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this after buying a cheap equivalent one whilst trying to save money and what a let down it was.
So, i was quite nervous when buying this one and thinking they were all made by the same company and as such would disapoint.
But, this is well made , solid and the pin didn't bend as they cheap one did and it worked a treat.
I had to break two chains and it took it all in its stride, i am very pleased to be typing this and as it comes with chain tension device (which i really wish i had used- i will next time) it means its even better value.
Sometimes it is a case of you get what you pay for and hopefully this will continue to be of use for a component which is generally disregarded too often when it is critical.
Good buy and worth the money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Topeak Universal Bike Chain Tool
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Item .,
June 15, 2012
By PG75
from Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was a little reluctant choosing a chain tool, I had seen so many similar looking but cheaply made tools.
I bought this and some grease on a special offer.
The chain tool did a wonderful job, it let me brake my old and new chain (3 time) with no problem, it seems very well made and looks great, the wire chain hook that attaches to the handle was a great help, and the end cap pops off the handle for you to store chain pins.
All-in-all it's great, can't see why you would want anything else."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.