Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier

The Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier can carry one bike with a frame of up to 80mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
58 of 61(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cycle bars...great value,
August 29, 2015
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid construction..secure, hold bikes securely
" Updated version of some old favourites and rightly so..very secure solidly made and the bonus if locks make these unbeatable value...there are cheaper but not better IMHO. . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great roof bars,
August 29, 2015
By
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with bike roof attachments and at a decent price at £40 on offer. Bikes are solid. A bit diddly at first till you master it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple and effective,
August 19, 2015
By
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: locks
Cons: instructions
" Excellent carrier which locks to the roof bars AND bike. Assembly instructions the usual pictures sheet and guess what goes where so that could be improved but straight forward really if you have a little DIY experience. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier,
August 18, 2015
By
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I can't make a comparison with other models or brand as its my first time to use this type of carrier but based on my experience this carrier met all my expectations. High quality, bike was fixed securely and very stable and easy to mount. There is a lock and a key which prevents bike from being stolen. It fits my aero roof bars which is much wider than the steel ones. When installing the carrier on the aero bars, just make sure to use the square head bolts which fit in the groove that runs along the length of the bars instead of the C-shaped anchor. It was £40 when I bought it which I thought was a very reasonable price to pay considering the quality of the item. I wished I bought 2. Highly recommended. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality, value cycle carrier,
August 18, 2015
By
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, narrow profile
Cons: need to set the frame size up in advance, not as easily adjustable as pro ride
" We bought this carrier to supplement the two Thule Pro Ride carriers that we already have. We weren't confident that we could fit 3 Pro Rides on the roof and, because of the narrower profile, opted for the Freeride. Assembly is easy and fitting to the existing roofbars (we have Wing bars) was also very straightforward. Mounting the bike on the carrier is very straightforward, although not quite as easy as the Pro Ride and you do need to decide of the two bar diameter settings, which one you will be using before you mount the carrier on the roof: the upright support firmly grips the frame once the clamp has been tightened around it. If you're sensistive about the straps rubbing on your wheel rims, you will need to consider purchasing some wheel rim protectors to thread on the straps. All in all, a very good carrier and, if you're looking to get 3 (perhaps even 4 bikes) on your roof bars, these are worth considering as they do have a slimmer profile than the Pro Ride that has a large ratchet on one side and a wider baseplate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
better than the more expensive model,
August 17, 2015
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust, cheaper, easy to fit, holds bike well
Cons: less stylish
" I already had one of the pro-ride 591s and while it is easier to fix to bike, this 532 model does seem to hold the bike more sturdy and does not allow it to shake about at all. While it is slightly more fiddly to fix to the bike, it is easy enough and once in place, holds the bike very rigidly. If I were to buy a 3rd bike rack, I'd probably go for another of these 532s. Very satisfied. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent carrier, don't look anywhere else.,
August 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid easy to get bikes on/off
Cons: pointless instructions
" I bought two of these after looking around for a decent couple of racks and reading the reviews on here. The instructions are pretty much useless but once set up and on they are a fantastic bit of kit, very solid and once the bikes are on they are going nowhere. Locks from carrier to cycle and carrier to roof bars, very straight forward to get on and take off. They come with t track adapters for Thule bars and those to fit standard ones, however, if you are using BMW or Renault bars for example or any other manufacturer then do your research before as you may need the larger t track adapters like I did. Not an issue but don't get caught out. That aside, great racks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule cycle rack,
July 24, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: no decent assembly instructions
" As usual these days no written instructions and not brilliant pictorial representations. So, allow time to assemble several times till you get it right! I still have a section of tubing and two sticky back plastic patches spare, no idea where they go!!!!! And be careful of how you mount these relative to other Thule items....the main support for this is rivetted to the wheel support strut so the whole system is NOT infinitely variable; had to re-position top box too so all could fit on the cross bars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bmw Mini O.E base unit bars,
July 19, 2015
By
from Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I'm sure this is a great product but unfortunately they do not fit the O.E. Bars supplied by mini ... The feet and the clamps are too small ... Item was immediately refunded by Halfords staff "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike roof rack,
July 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered this product the day before for online, picked it up around lunch very efficient. Got home and fitted it in about half hour, brilliant bike rack, takes a bit of getting use it on the top of roof but they didn't move once on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value product,
July 08, 2015
By
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: thule brand, sturdy build
" Picked up 2 of these in a recent offer on cycle racks, and got the two for €99, which is a bargain. Seem to be sturdy, haven't had a chance to use them yet as I'm waiting on some mounting hardware to make them compatible with my car's roof rack (not a Thule one).
If you have any other roof rack than a Thule branded one, you likely won't be able to mount this without the correct mounting screws (Thule part number 889-3 in my case). Something to be aware of, and is approx €20 per set extra (and not available from Halfords) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CARRICKMINES (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thule 532,
July 07, 2015
By
from Fife, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: lightweight, price, locking function
Cons: don't feel as sturdy as existing thule carriers, assembly instructions not the clearest, adjustability of frame clamp
" Purchased to replace Thule 510 cycle carriers as they would no longer fit new Thule Wing Bars and no adapters were available.
Carriers do not feel as sturdy as original units and the frame clamp does not provide as much confidence to safely hold the bike in place. However, the new carriers are significantly lighter which makes fitting much easier.
Wheel plates did not adjust sufficiently for my roof bar setup and as such neither my MTB or Road Bike have the rear wheel properly located in the holder which is frustrating.
Overall I regret not paying the extra for the 591 carrier which securely clamps around the bike frame. I may upgrade at a later date for peace of mind, however the carriers have performed faultlessly so far.
Parts were also missing from the box and combined with the damage to the Thule roof bars I also purchased, this has left me questioning Thule's quality control. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy,
July 02, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" this is now our third one we have bought, a tad expensive but worth the extra pounds, easy to make up, even easier to install with the track bars and even easier to secure the bike on to. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid piece of kit,
June 30, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A good quality product and good value for money (£50). Ordered two. The first one took a bit of time to set up, but the second one was a doddle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good cycle carrier,
June 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought 2 of these,
Holds my mtb, kids bike and road bikes secure, can be easily put on and off,
Locks are good aswell for security whils bikes are on the car
Will be looking to buy 2 more !! "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good overall product - but?,
June 28, 2015
By
from Greater Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality easy to attach bike's and very secure
Cons: instructions and the awkward clamp
" There is no question that the cycle carrier is a good buy - generally, however you will have read the comments about the instructions, well they are bad! if you have ever assembled anything remotely similar then you may have less trouble than me, and others.
I have also encounterd a problem with one of the 'clamps' which sometimes refuses to open (its nothing to do with the locking mechanism) the one I am refering to is the one that clamps to the bike frame, the solution seems to have been to add petrolium jelly to the clamp to reduce friction, so far so good but any more trouble will envolve returning it to Halfords
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THULE Bike Carrier,
June 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fitted with locks
Cons: no cons
" This bike carrier is the mutts nutz I cannot find any faults with the carrier at all 100% confident when my mtb is fitted to it no need to check up 5 miles down the road for the bike coming loose and the added bonus off it having locks fitted is a great touch..paired up with the THULE roof bars you cannot asked for a better combo very happy with the reserve & collect at halfords Bradford store....great results alround "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value product that works really well.,
June 19, 2015
By
from Salisbury, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" So nice to find a product that for a very reasonable price works really well, is easy to set up, well made, and does exactly what it is supposed to with no issues. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 16, 2015
By
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good quality product. Easy to fit & to use.
Highly recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLANCHARDSTOWN (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent cycle rack,
June 16, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my 3rd 532 carrier, as we now have an extra rider with us. Very easy to set up and use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>