Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carrier Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier

The Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier can carry one bike with a frame of up to 80mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Need better instructions,
September 13, 2014
By Nimdy54
from County Durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, excellent quality
Cons: poor assembly instructions
"I bought this in a rush as my old bike rack would not fit the aero bars on my new car. The reserve and collect through Halfords was excellent as usual and the rack once assembled is very easy to fit and remove.
The only downside was the assembly instructions, there are no words to explain the assembly so I resorted to you tube. Once you have assembled it and you look at the instructions again it all makes sense.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase,
September 01, 2014
By Mrpeff73
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought 2 sets of these together. A little tricky to work out how to fit initially but once worked out first one, second was a doddle. Took bikes approx 100 miles including on motorway on a windy day without bother. Very happy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
September 01, 2014
By Boad83
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use once fitted, holds bike securely
Cons: poor assembly / fitting instructions
"This is an excellent product, it fits securely to the roof bars, is simple to use and holds my bike (Fuji road bike) in place safely. My only criticism is the instructions to assemble and fit the carrier to the roof bars - they're poor. It took some trial and error on my part to get there. There are a couple of videos online which can help if you have the same problem I did. I wouldn't let this out you off buying though, I definitely recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality bike carrier.,
August 31, 2014
By andyevsy74
from Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, lockable
"Good quality carrier easy to put together and like the locking feature"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy fitting,
August 30, 2014
By stageman54
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a good quality product, easy to fit following the picture guide. Quite easy to adjust to size of bike, I bought two to fit adult bike and grandsons smaller bike."
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy Shopper,
August 29, 2014
By SiFox
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought 2 of these to transport our bikes to France on a family holiday.
Very simple to fit with good instructions.
Bikes are held securely, only niggle was that the bracket isn't quite wide enough for the tyre on my mountain bike, held well but slight movement.
Good value but gave it a 4 because you can buy then cheaper elsewhere as a pair.
Definitely recommend if you are looking for a roof top cycle rack."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Roof Bike Carriers,
August 25, 2014
By Landy07
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great quality secure recommend
Cons: instructions made clearer
"Bought two 532 carriers and they are great. My only issue when putting together is the instructions as they were not that clear. If like me you are not good at DIY it takes a little working out, but got there in the end. If you have a 4x4 reaching up to put the bikes on the roof was a struggle and needed small steps to get the bikes up. So if you lare going out biking, don't forget to take steps with you! As regards to the product, excellent quality and very sturdy. I would recommend these and felt confident the bikes are secure when driving. Last point, I have used a rear carrier in the past, but managed to damage the bikes getting on and off. However, the roof carriers, no damage as the bikes have space."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? LLANTRISANT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
August 24, 2014
By Prime1
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A good sturdy product which keeps the bike firmly in place. Once fitted easy and quick to use ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Freerider,
August 19, 2014
By tshch
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent bike carrier. Once you have worked out how to fit it(!) it is very simple and secure to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin.,
August 11, 2014
By BarryC
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality
"Bought three of these and fitted to VW Golf Roof Bars. No problems, all good. Only poor feature was the instructions, but still no great problem to fit.
Recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product so quick and easy to use.,
August 11, 2014
By Steve846
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, very quick to install
"Fantastic bike holder installed on roof bars in minutes and bike attaches in seconds.
Love the locking feature and holds bike well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
does not fit,
August 10, 2014
By raer
from nottingham
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"cycle carrier was unfortunately of no use at all as it was not compatible with my Audi roof rack, Thule should have thought of this, all they had to do was extend the fixing brackets by about 10mm and the carrier would probably be ok."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Male
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product , easy to use,
August 10, 2014
By Rich71
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Found these very easy to install and use and solidly made. My only reservation was the plastic wheel holders and locking parts but maybe I'm just prejudiced against plastic!
We did have some trouble initially because the carriers did not fit the bars we had purchased which were aero bars from a different manufacturer so it does pay to check.
Overall an excellent product, I was very confident on the motorway that our bikes were securely held."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 09, 2014
By Dikwed
from Widnes, Halton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Read a lot of negative reviews but have found the mounts to be sturdy, large enough, easy to assemble and good value. Size wise: Took a friends bike and it fit fine... he's 6'4 so his bike is large. (I'm 6'1 so my bikes aren't small either)
Have done a couple of motorway stints at 70 with 2 full sized mountain bikes on and no problems.
Just make sure that all of the bolts are nice and tight and that you have moved the upright holder so that it is 90 degrees to the bike frame."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
August 08, 2014
By masec
from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all combinations of fitments incluised
"Wonderful value for money with just about all the combinations of adaptors you'll need to attached to your rack and the bike.
A little fiddly to get the right combo of positions and spacers to grip the bike frame, but it's not a bit deal and the bikes were secure on the long trip.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
August 04, 2014
By NeilDC
from Chatham, Medway, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Keeps the bike firmly fixed to the top of the car to aid trouble free driving. Needs assembling although this is not too difficult despite there being only visual only rather than visual & written instructions"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little tricky to fit but feels very secure,
August 03, 2014
By HoolieH
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: secure
Cons: bit fiddly to fit the first time
"We bought these in a rush so hoped we'd made the right decision spending the extra instead of the Halfords value range. It was worth it! They were tricky to fit - the instructions took a bit of getting the hang of, but once you've done it once, it's quite clear. The bikes are fairly easy to fit, and feel very secure on the motorway. We bought the square bars so the car was already noisy (should have bought aero!) but the bike racks don't seem to have made it much worse. A good price and a good buy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to assemble and use,
July 31, 2014
By Chris4124
from Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Some reviews have said it is difficult to assemble but seemed straightforward to me and took about 10 minutes.
Quick to attach to roof bars and secure the several sizes of bikes I have transported using it. Thinking of getting another one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HITCHIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great carrier,
July 26, 2014
By Nevetstsew
from Newbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stability and price
Cons: instructions
"Great carrier, but instructions left a lot to be desired! Look at pictures on box before installing. Nice and stable after a 5 hour drive. Got extra discount by reserving online then using British Cycling card to get further 10% off. Bargain!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent Product,
January 25, 2014
By AverageSam
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Assemble instructions are useless! But generally easy to assemble and fit after doing one (we bought two). DIdn't help that it was freezing outside so it took twice as long as it should have!
Decent quality. Holds the bikes well once placed in correctly.
Only down side is that you cannot choose which side to have the lock fitted on the fixing point between the carrier and roof rails. Easy to reach one side, however, having 2 carriers means one carrier is going to have lock in the centre of the car roof not close to car doors side."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>