Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Roof Mounted Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier

The Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier can carry one bike with a frame of up to 80mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 of 42(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solid,
April 29, 2015
By NickT84
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Use this rack with T-bar mount and once locked in is solid as a rock. As usual front wheel wobbles at speed but apart from that the bike stands solid. Just upgraded my bike to a 27.5 wheel so hopefully still holds bike nice and firm "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very reliable,
April 29, 2015
By Acarr1968
from Cork, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy to use
Cons: the key locks can be a bit fiddly
" Didn't want to spend too much on a roof cycle carrier as it is only an option other than putting the bike into the car ,when I did use it I was very impressed ,very cheap for the quality of this product ,I booked it online as it was cheaper and collected in store
Very well pleased
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Typically Thule,
March 07, 2015
By Frank77
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: superb in use, great quality
Cons: awful instructions
" Like all Thule product the quality is great but the instructions are lousy - when you put it all together it's easy to see what the instructions mean but that's not what they actually illustrate.
Anyway, superb for the purpose and easy to fit to our Thule Aero bars "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended,
March 02, 2015
By Tony328
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, ease of use, value for money
" I've used several different cycle carriers over the past 20 years. The Thule 532 with Thule roof bars is by far the best I've had. The easy of installation, the security and robustness are very high quality. Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier is also very good value for money. I am more than happy with this product and would highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule freeride 532,
February 20, 2015
By Gb100
from Doncaster, Doncaster, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: not the best instructions
" After buying and returning halfords rear cycle carrier I purchased the thule carriers after reading other reviews. They are as good as everyone says, especially with the 10% off offer. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy,
February 08, 2015
By Gmoni1986
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Typical thule quality, holds the bike firmly in place and easy to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best flat cycle carrier on the market,
January 17, 2015
By Adam007
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: thule instructions
" I have a Thule wing bar and this product fits most Thule bars.
The actual assembly is pretty straight forward once you get to grips with the picture instructions. No instructions on how to fit it to a wing bar (other bars listed) so revert back to bar instructions or check online.
Strong, light and easy to load bike once fitted to roofs - no concerns on the road.
Be sure to check the bike frame as this comes with a 45mm and 65mm attachment for the clamp and you want this in place at the point of assembly!
If you've got a bike worth ~£200-500 then highly recommend the Freeride carrier otherwise upgrade to Proride. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good secure racks,
January 03, 2015
By Vic51
from Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solidity, fit
Cons: nothing really
" Good racks which fitted seamlessly with the Thule aero bars I have. They have two options - to fit square (any make) bars or the Thule Aero bars using a slotted bolt head system.
I was comfortable driving at speed limit with two mountain bikes attached.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality,
December 30, 2014
By McGarvey
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to clip on on the right roof bar, lockable
" Very easy to build and fix bike to, I originally purchased this along with a complete thule roof bar system which included the Wing bar, please note that the wing bar system use's the T track mounting system which is not suitable if you wish to clip the Carrier on and off, I was able to return the roofbars etc and replace them with the exodus Aerobar which is a very good system and should be interchangeable with the thule Footpack and fixing packs. Very happy with this bike carrier now that I can clip it on and off as i wish. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great quality, minor drawbacks.,
November 11, 2014
By D17MOK
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality security
Cons: being picky the length of frame clamp arm
" Well... The 532 is great quality, easy to fit, and easy to use.
Very secure on the car and the bike is going nowhere when it's on there.... but.... there is an issue. The length of the frame clamp bar. It could do with being longer! It would make life so much easier.! But that said, with some time and adjustment I have carried my daughters small bike, my gf's 26" wheel bike and my 29er on it, so it is up to the job and I'm just being picky.
Overall a very well designed high quality bit of kit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product!,
October 21, 2014
By Brendan12
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: double locking system
" Easy to fit, holds bit very securely!
I am delighted with my purchase and hope to get loads of use out of it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good quality item.,
October 16, 2014
By Neil762
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: aluminium finish., solid build quality, holds cycle firmly
" A good quality carrier from a well known manufacturer, the finish is good & easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike carrier,
October 09, 2014
By tdgr
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value for money and easy to use, can't fault it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value product.,
October 01, 2014
By Ronnie41
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good product and value. Bit fiddly to put together and on roof but ok once make sense of instructions. Just remember when use this need a step and can be two man job to put. Bike on roof "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike carrier,
September 26, 2014
By Sheldon69
from Shaw
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to setup and use .. So good I purchased 3 of them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to carry bikes,
September 17, 2014
By pexter
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I purchased x2 of theses fittings instructions wern't the best ive ever followed But after fitting to roof rails fitting the bike is easy and with the locks fitted makes youre bikes all that safer to carry "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Need better instructions,
September 13, 2014
By Nimdy54
from County Durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, excellent quality
Cons: poor assembly instructions
" I bought this in a rush as my old bike rack would not fit the aero bars on my new car. The reserve and collect through Halfords was excellent as usual and the rack once assembled is very easy to fit and remove.
The only downside was the assembly instructions, there are no words to explain the assembly so I resorted to you tube. Once you have assembled it and you look at the instructions again it all makes sense.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase,
September 01, 2014
By Mrpeff73
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought 2 sets of these together. A little tricky to work out how to fit initially but once worked out first one, second was a doddle. Took bikes approx 100 miles including on motorway on a windy day without bother. Very happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
September 01, 2014
By Boad83
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use once fitted, holds bike securely
Cons: poor assembly / fitting instructions
" This is an excellent product, it fits securely to the roof bars, is simple to use and holds my bike (Fuji road bike) in place safely. My only criticism is the instructions to assemble and fit the carrier to the roof bars - they're poor. It took some trial and error on my part to get there. There are a couple of videos online which can help if you have the same problem I did. I wouldn't let this out you off buying though, I definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality bike carrier.,
August 31, 2014
By andyevsy74
from Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, lockable
" Good quality carrier easy to put together and like the locking feature "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>