Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carrier Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier

The Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier can carry one bike with a frame of up to 80mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent Product,
January 25, 2014
By AverageSam
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Assemble instructions are useless! But generally easy to assemble and fit after doing one (we bought two). DIdn't help that it was freezing outside so it took twice as long as it should have!
Decent quality. Holds the bikes well once placed in correctly.
Only down side is that you cannot choose which side to have the lock fitted on the fixing point between the carrier and roof rails. Easy to reach one side, however, having 2 carriers means one carrier is going to have lock in the centre of the car roof not close to car doors side."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I wanted..,
December 30, 2013
By Rob26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really good product. Easy to put up and fits bike frames up to 80 mm which I needed...all lockable .. Perfect"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No frills bike carrier,
December 15, 2013
By Arider7
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: effective, reasonable price
Cons: locking handle could be more efficient
"Simple and effective way of carrying a bike on a set of roof bars, Thule supply you with a few different fitting options so there should be no problems attaching to any type of bars. Secures the bike well once it's clamped up its solid. Seems a solid design an construction by a well established brand."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent,
December 15, 2013
By davey13
from sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The only fault with this cycle carrier is that the instructions are all in pictures no written instructions, once id fathomed out which way the brackets went in it was a breeze fantastic piece of kit sturdy/ quick to put on and take off 2 locks to deter would be thieves straps for wheels are more than capable of keeping it sat on rack. All in all Im more than happy with it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cycle carrier,
December 04, 2013
By toffeebluenose
from cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A great cycle carrier,instructions could be a lot clearer but once worked out was easy to fit holds the cycle firmly and is easy to remove when not needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cycle carrier,
November 23, 2013
By ludog
from macc
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"a good sturdy product, have to watch you dont lose the back bracket when you take it off, and initial instructions take a little getting used to as they are just photographs. good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item,
April 28, 2013
By Morry
from East Kilbride
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent buy, good sturdy item bikes are securely stored on roof."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Fit and Well Made,
April 03, 2013
By Giles6760
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: limited adjustability on bigger bikes
"This is a quality product, well designed and easy to use.
It clamps the XL frame of my 29er mountainbike rather low on the downtube ( almost touching the front gear wheel) and the wheels do not fit very snuggly in the adjustable cups but it does hold the bike firmly and securely. I would hope that a more premium model would address thewse issues"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 19, 2012
By Skandalan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As you would expect from Thule this is a sturdy well designed and easy to assemble, install and use. My only gripe is that the rear bracket is loose once taken off the roof racks so needs to be stored carefully so as not to lose it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cycle carrier,
May 18, 2012
By Spurge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value for money, can be used without assitance from another person
Cons: locking mechanism on brace bar
"A good value for money cycle carrier.
Attached easily to my roof bars and once I figured out what I was doing (my advice where possible practice on the ground first) it was easy to lift my bike up on to the carrier and secure it on my own.
My only gripe was the locking mechanism on the brace bar which was difficult to close thereby allowing you to lock the bike in place
My bike felt secure once fully attached.
It does the job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.