Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier

The Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier can carry one bike with a frame of up to 80mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
67 of 72(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
February 25, 2016
By
from DH9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" easy to fit makes transporting bikes secure and easy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Freeride 532,
February 21, 2016
By
from Whitstable
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" Staff at shop very helpful. Instructions could have been clearer (and with bigger pictures) but got there in the end. Have just got back from trip to Northumberland using two of the racks for the first time. Well built and very easy to load and unload bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy,
February 17, 2016
By
from Haverhill, Haverhill, Suffolk CB9, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to assemble, easy to use and stable carrying my cycle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best way to carry a bike,
February 16, 2016
By
from Rugby, Rugby, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: doddle to load and unload, lockable, weight distribution, robust, stable, corrosion resistant
Cons: handed, what's not to like?
" personally I dislike tow bar carriers: the bikes are vulnerable to an accident; the weight is way outside the wheelbase of the car and pulls the back end down badly affecting handling; most people neglect to use a tow board and so lights are obscured. Of course there may be no choice on a taller vehicle.
These carriers are superb in conjunction with roof bars. It'll take about 15 minutes to set it up but once done it takes less than a minute to load a bike and make it secure. With several bikes on the roof, the primary objections above to tow bar carriers are eliminated, especially the weight distribution, which is near perfect and hardly affects the cars handling at all.
No need to take the bike apart - unload ready to ride!
Be aware though, that once built up they are handed. However I remove the bars and carriers from the car as a whole assembly, simples!
I've 3 of these and a 591 - all are great and I have no qualms carrying my £1000 bike at motorway speeds.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike rack,
February 14, 2016
By
from Mid Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good product easy to fit on to the roof bars and holds the bike very securely. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 21, 2016
By
from East sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what is says in the description, fits car perfectly! Good price! Would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
December 13, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble, great value, well made
Cons: none really
" Ordered online for collection in 1 hr but when arrived at store they were out of stock and had to return two days later, that said the product does the job well, easy to assemble and install on roof bars, bars lock onto roof bars and bikes lock on to carrier. Easy to adjust to suit your bike. Overall great value for money especially if like I did you get them on special offer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
December 11, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what I need. I'm carrying a meduim frame Giant Talon 1 mountain bike. Even with the thicker frame size it has no issues grabbing and is solid once mounted. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
looks cheap,
November 10, 2015
By
from hants
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: name
Cons: cheap look, deceptive photo
" I already have two thule 591's and expected this to have the same aluminum styling - the photos look like it is. Wrong! Cheap paint effect. Id advise taking it out of the box in the shop for a snoop before buying "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy to load and unload.,
October 05, 2015
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I purchased this cycle carrier for a 450 mile round trip to Cornwall and back in a new Vauxhall Corsa 5 door.
The carrier fits easily onto the Vauxhall roof bars which I believe are also made by Thule and I could still safely open the tailgate with the bike loaded. Assembly was straightforward and all in all it is much easier to use than my old carrier which I bought back in the late 1990's. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2-month Europe Trip,
September 15, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fast loading/unloading, strong, key lock is secure
" We fitted 2 of these carriers to our 2001 Nissan Micra using the Halfords roof bars in order to carry our bikes for a 2-month tour of Europe. The carriers and really strong and hold the bikes securely, and we had absolutely no problems during the entire trip. The key lock is great when you have to stop at service stations etc. Loading/unloading bikes using this system is really fast (around 30 seconds per bike) which really saves a lot of time! This method of carrying bikes is more expensive than a rear carrier or tow bar etc. but is far more secure, faster loading and you can open/close the boot as normal whilst the bikes are on the car.
If you are touring with bikes for any length of time these carriers along with a roof bar system is the best choice! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cycle bars...great value,
August 29, 2015
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid construction..secure, hold bikes securely
" Updated version of some old favourites and rightly so..very secure solidly made and the bonus if locks make these unbeatable value...there are cheaper but not better IMHO. . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great roof bars,
August 29, 2015
By
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with bike roof attachments and at a decent price at £40 on offer. Bikes are solid. A bit diddly at first till you master it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple and effective,
August 19, 2015
By
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: locks
Cons: instructions
" Excellent carrier which locks to the roof bars AND bike. Assembly instructions the usual pictures sheet and guess what goes where so that could be improved but straight forward really if you have a little DIY experience. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier,
August 18, 2015
By
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I can't make a comparison with other models or brand as its my first time to use this type of carrier but based on my experience this carrier met all my expectations. High quality, bike was fixed securely and very stable and easy to mount. There is a lock and a key which prevents bike from being stolen. It fits my aero roof bars which is much wider than the steel ones. When installing the carrier on the aero bars, just make sure to use the square head bolts which fit in the groove that runs along the length of the bars instead of the C-shaped anchor. It was £40 when I bought it which I thought was a very reasonable price to pay considering the quality of the item. I wished I bought 2. Highly recommended. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality, value cycle carrier,
August 18, 2015
By
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, narrow profile
Cons: need to set the frame size up in advance, not as easily adjustable as pro ride
" We bought this carrier to supplement the two Thule Pro Ride carriers that we already have. We weren't confident that we could fit 3 Pro Rides on the roof and, because of the narrower profile, opted for the Freeride. Assembly is easy and fitting to the existing roofbars (we have Wing bars) was also very straightforward. Mounting the bike on the carrier is very straightforward, although not quite as easy as the Pro Ride and you do need to decide of the two bar diameter settings, which one you will be using before you mount the carrier on the roof: the upright support firmly grips the frame once the clamp has been tightened around it. If you're sensistive about the straps rubbing on your wheel rims, you will need to consider purchasing some wheel rim protectors to thread on the straps. All in all, a very good carrier and, if you're looking to get 3 (perhaps even 4 bikes) on your roof bars, these are worth considering as they do have a slimmer profile than the Pro Ride that has a large ratchet on one side and a wider baseplate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
better than the more expensive model,
August 17, 2015
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust, cheaper, easy to fit, holds bike well
Cons: less stylish
" I already had one of the pro-ride 591s and while it is easier to fix to bike, this 532 model does seem to hold the bike more sturdy and does not allow it to shake about at all. While it is slightly more fiddly to fix to the bike, it is easy enough and once in place, holds the bike very rigidly. If I were to buy a 3rd bike rack, I'd probably go for another of these 532s. Very satisfied. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent carrier, don't look anywhere else.,
August 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid easy to get bikes on/off
Cons: pointless instructions
" I bought two of these after looking around for a decent couple of racks and reading the reviews on here. The instructions are pretty much useless but once set up and on they are a fantastic bit of kit, very solid and once the bikes are on they are going nowhere. Locks from carrier to cycle and carrier to roof bars, very straight forward to get on and take off. They come with t track adapters for Thule bars and those to fit standard ones, however, if you are using BMW or Renault bars for example or any other manufacturer then do your research before as you may need the larger t track adapters like I did. Not an issue but don't get caught out. That aside, great racks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule cycle rack,
July 24, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: no decent assembly instructions
" As usual these days no written instructions and not brilliant pictorial representations. So, allow time to assemble several times till you get it right! I still have a section of tubing and two sticky back plastic patches spare, no idea where they go!!!!! And be careful of how you mount these relative to other Thule items....the main support for this is rivetted to the wheel support strut so the whole system is NOT infinitely variable; had to re-position top box too so all could fit on the cross bars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Freeride 532 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bmw Mini O.E base unit bars,
July 19, 2015
By
from Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I'm sure this is a great product but unfortunately they do not fit the O.E. Bars supplied by mini ... The feet and the clamps are too small ... Item was immediately refunded by Halfords staff "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>