Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe

TomTom Start 25 Europe drive confidently with a large screen & clear guidance at every turn
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
75 of 82(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Review 1 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 30, 2014
By Jamesbonzai33
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: east to use
"We are here at Belgium visiting family. I bought the tomtom 3 days ago ang its great product. Easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - Free lifetime UK, ROI & Full Europe Maps.,
October 14, 2014
By alggomas
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use if you take your time to get used to t
Cons: poor/frustrating new sucker for windscreen.
"First off it was easy to click and pick up from Halfords.
The problem later was that Halfords were using leaflets with info that did not apply to this offer [free lifetime maps].
After a little frustration phones Tom-tom helpline. It transpires that the lifetime maps are embedded in the unit.
Was given info also by email. pat on the back for TOMTOM rep.
Good sized unit. If you buy any new Tom-tom now it will have a fixed windscreen sucker to the unit. I found this difficult to get used to. Difficult to get your hand around the back to "lock" the sucker to the windscreen. Frustrating.
The volume could be louder. Good idea to play with the settings before you try.eg. putting in home address. therte are other features but the more you put the more cluttered the screen. I found that some "voices" stated the street names as well. Found this confusing as I only wanted to know the direction to take. It can be switched on and off. Several voices available.
Night mode is easier to see. switches on automatically. I think you can leave on daytime but better to check.
Good price for UK and European lifetime maps and unit.
"
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you really need!,
October 11, 2014
By ABK62
from Oswestry, Oswestry, Shropshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the large screen, the attachment device to the wndow
"This SatNav really has everything that you would need. It is a quantum leap improvement over previous models and the maps are very nearly faultless--even in Slovenia where I really put this device through its paces. Satellite pick up time is a few seconds, each and every time, the device makes its switch to night time mode automatically, and the range of navigation options is enhanced way beyond the average user's demands. I really don't know why anybody would need anything more than this device. Finally, the attachment mechanism to the window works perfectly, a vast improvement over previous designs. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OSWESTRY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,
October 10, 2014
By Bossman50
from Louth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have only used it for three journeys so far but lots better than my old RAC satnav. Gives good directions right to the doorstep."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LOUTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MAKES DRIVING/NAVIGATING SO MUCH EASIER,
October 10, 2014
By NONAME13
from LEEDS
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"EASY TO SET UP AND A LIFETIME INVESTMENT WITH THE LIFE TIME MAPS"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose,
October 09, 2014
By florencelawrence
from England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a Start25 based on many years of good service from my TomTom ONE.
However, the unit lost GPS signal approx.every 10 minutes & took about 5 minutes to recover each time. I was told it needed a software upgrade using Mydrive Connect, but each time I tried to link my unit, I got a "please try later message" on 2 different PCs
Halfords replaced the unit with another, but I got the exact same issues with it.
Please avoid Start25s. I am now with another vendor.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap, not Cheerful - Great stuff!,
October 02, 2014
By ADB1
from CW9, United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: wont charge unless you use the charger, always asks permisson to log informatiobn
"With lifetime updates, this is all you need. It has its niggles, but all in all good value
I thin it absurd that it'll only charge with th e cigarette to USB converter supplied. Any other, it thinks you are connected to a computer! As my car has ONE socket, in the armrest ( nothing on the dashboard) and i have another camera to connect, YOU NEED A SPLITTER BUT BE WARNED, FANCY SPLITTERS DON'T WORK EITHER FOR SOME REASON!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best value I've seen,
September 30, 2014
By PaulMC01
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For the price, this satnav is absolutely brilliant. UK and full Europe maps (not just western), lifetime maps and a large clear screen make it a no-brainer. I had a little difficulty with the TomTom registration, but when their customer service people sorted it for me, it updated and has been excellent since."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tom Tom Start,
September 28, 2014
By potter93
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have had Tom Tom before and been very happy but I was not impressed with this one. The touch screen was poor and you had to press hard to get any response. Also when I had it set up it turned upside down without being moved. It also changed colour our to the blue too. I know they could have been locked but sometimes I didnt always want it locked. Not impressed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all round,
September 28, 2014
By Reeva
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product easy to set up, and really effective.I love it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BOREHAMWOOD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My First SatNav!,
September 28, 2014
By Scout49
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a reasonably priced piece of technology and I am extremely pleased with it.
It did take a long to register it on the internet for free map updates but I eventually got there. Then it took about 2 hours to update all the maps! It was Europe as well as the UK!
As usual with all technological purchases these days you do not get a decent instruction book - you have to download it! A few more instructions would have been useful e.g. what the screen was telling you. But you do eventually work it all out. Just travel to somewhere you know how to get to and it will all become clear!
Great product!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom Start 25,
September 26, 2014
By radkol2
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good product for the beginner in the world of sat navs."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUPERB SAT NAV.,
September 26, 2014
By Nnabisco
from Willesden Green, London NW2, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a very good sat nav. The screen adapts to any position you put it. It has a setting that gives you extra guidiance and direction."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KILBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says,
September 25, 2014
By MMM11
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: clear graphics, simple set up
"It is very simple to set up, clear screen which shows you in advance which lane to go into (very useful). I haven't had this very long but have had no problems so far. Good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Sat-nav,
September 24, 2014
By Galleymacker
from LE65
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent product.
Reasonable price.
Very satisfied.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ok,
September 24, 2014
By Anonymous
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: screen size
Cons: takes long to pick up gps signal, wrong routes
"This device is okay to use and despite the fact I did all the updates it was still taking me through building sites with closed roads and others with no roads. It even took me through stone henge trying to force me through there when there is no through road there. Stone henge has been around for ages and you can't tell me tom tom haven't worked out that there is no through road on the site where the device was trying to take me ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply the best,
September 23, 2014
By Bazcam
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"I have had TomTom sat nav in one form or another for the last 7 or 8 years. This is only my second purchase but the difference is staggering. Not many changes in the operation, but certainly an improvement in speed and efficiency.
Well pleased.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
September 22, 2014
By watashi
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease to use
Cons: behaves strangely at times
"Only had it a couple of weeks, fits well on the windscreen, clear map and directions"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great piece of kit,
September 16, 2014
By RetiredYorkshire
from Weaverthorpe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The features and the lifetime maps are great. This is my second Tom Tom and things have moved on in the last eight years since I bought the last one.
The only drawback is, if like me you have not got fibre broadband it takes an age to download the maps.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom Start 25 5" Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes driving easier,
September 16, 2014
By Faraway
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this satnav to replace an older model, that packed up two days before I was due to go to Germany. So was unfamiliar with how it worked. It was great and made driving in a strange country so much easier, the graphic representation of junctions was especially helpful, as was the ability to get the satnav to warn of fuel stations, etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>