Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Sat Nav Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI

TomTom Start 20 UK & ROI get started with navigation, drive confidently with a larger screen & clear guidance at every turn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.519 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
33
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
99 of 106(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Review 1 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom Macoute,
March 22, 2013
By Anonymous
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it really works well
Cons: case is too expensive
"An extremely clever little gadget that works straight out of the box. Intuitive interface needs no lengthy instructions, just follow the screen prompts. The warnings can be annoying in the UK with all the roadworks and speed cameras so either turn off or down. Easy to follow directions , even with the sound turned completely off. I can't recommend this little gadget too highly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tomtom start 20 sat nav uk $ roi,
March 09, 2013
By charlie92
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of use
Cons: none
"excellent product very happy with price. free updates and map share, and easy install on computer and it even comes up with new roads which i was surprised as i have a new estate in my town and it was all on there it even takes you to the actual house not just the street which is handy for me as i am a delivery driver. word of warning do not forget to register your sat nav or it wont work."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would rather be it than without it,
March 06, 2013
By Felix229
from Hertford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My first Sat Nav and gets me from A to B, although sometimes by weird routes.
Easy to use, but perhaps not the model best suited to me.
Lane assist is great.
Would rather be with it than without it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HERTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, so good,
March 05, 2013
By George99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spoken street names
Cons: maximum voice volume seems quieter
"Decided to stick with Tomtom after my previous start failed completely after 18 months even with the help of their customer services. So far, so good. The spoken street names are useful and the screen really easy to follow. Especially at junctions. Finds initial GPS much quicker than my old start."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so impressed I bought it twice!,
February 18, 2013
By Speckledyhen
from Suffokj
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear screen and instructions
Cons: it doesn't come with carry pouch.
"Sadly I had my first TomTom Start 20 stolen - don't leave ANY accessories visible in the car . . . but was so impressed decided to replace and used the 'Reserve and Collect' option via email. Text message arrived as promised to say the product was available within the hour.
When I went to pick up the Start 20 the only item was a returned faulty one in the store, so was offered an upgrade to Start 25 at no extra cost! Only difference is slightly larger screen, so woudn't have paid extra. So easy to use and comes with the leads to connect to power up/upgrade map via USB port on computer at home, thought haven't done this yet. Charges in car as you use it. Great product, easy to use a great help negotiating London.
Fantastic very friendly service from Halfords staff at both Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket stores.
YOU MUST REMOVE ALL SIGNS OF IT FROM YOUR CAR WHEN PARKED to avoid the frustration sorting out a smashed window and damage to your car by thieves.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bit of kit,
February 11, 2013
By Sparkeyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really pleased with this does what it says and a bit more good value..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tomtom Start ok, but very low voice!,
February 01, 2013
By JayJay789
from Near Congleton, Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the different voices
Cons: the lower volume
"My Father and myself went to buy this for his use. Everything seemed fine, so we went ahead and bought it. Halfords staff very helpful and friendly. On the way home, however, my father couldn't hear the instructions properly.
He is a bit hard of hearing, but even I thought it was a little low and nothing wrong with my hearing! By the time we got home, we had decided it wouldn't be the right one for him. We phoned Halfords, who told us to bring it back so that they could check it. Back we went.
The staff were once again very helpful and checked the volume with other TomTom sat navs. We then checked against the Garmin range, which turned out to be much louder.
The TomTom was exchanged for a Garmin of the same value. Such a nice gesture, as the TT would have been useless for my Dad. The specs between the two are about the same, only the volume is louder on the Garmin.
As both have the same specs, it's really difficult to choose between them, but I would say that the larger screen size (on both models) is a definate plus, as it's so much easier to see. Also the lane guidance (also on both models) is a brilliant feature, and makes life so much easier on these complicated roundabouts and route entry and exit points.
My choice would have been the TomTom if I hadn't already got one! For my Dad, the Garmin was the better choice.
Many many thanks for the Halfords, Congleton staff for dealing with this problem politely and efficiently. We left the store very happy!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Parent
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for a newbie,
January 28, 2013
By 2rabbits
from Norfolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My first sat nav. I've had no trouble with hooking up to the Tom Tom website to register the product and complete a number of updates. I like the screen and the way it displays which lane to be in at motorway exits and complicated junctions. The spoken instruction is clear and given in good time. It is a big reach to the windscreen of my Ford escort which makes attaching and removing it a bit fiddly, the display also reflects in the windscreen at night although this didn't cause me any problems once I got used to it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product,
January 25, 2013
By arriva1
from england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good graphics
Cons: no clips to atach usb lead in place
"the tom tom start 20 is a great little piece of kit especialy if you are new to sat nav, its easy to use, easy to set up, and at the right price, it does what it says, it gets you to a to b with no problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First TomTom,
January 20, 2013
By bobbie26
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The only problem I've had with this TomTom is there is a slight loose connection with the cigarette lighter in my car, but other than that it's pretty fabulous. It's clear, precise and tells you what the road name is that you need to turn into so even if you aren't sure about the visual display, you have an extra back up. The extra features are fun, like being able to chose the icon on screen, and the accent of the person speaking. I'm a fan of the Irish guy!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
January 20, 2013
By Helen638
from Purley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Set up was easy and very simple to follow. It has good maps and seems to take me the quickest route. Good product for the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A first class product,
January 19, 2013
By Domband
from Doncaster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Tomtom and I am delighred and impressed with it. Tomtom support is easy to contact and the agents are most helpful. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfied customer,
January 14, 2013
By Johnwill
from west midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This satnav does what it says on 'the tin'. Considered alternatives but decided on the brand leader, and based on recommendation from my daughter. Really needed this when trying to find a particular Travel Lodge in Cheshire the other day."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mr khan,
January 08, 2013
By king35
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"it's very light and easy to use. it has great features."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom Tom Start 20,
January 08, 2013
By William23
from Scottish Borders
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use clear directions.
Cons: needing to add correction/patch before would work.
"Pick up of product went well and Halfords staff were very helpful but contrary to what I had understood GPS was not just "switch on and go". Unit could not find GPS signal in the Halfords car park. Had to take the unit home and upload GPS start-up correction/patch and maps. Worked great thereafter."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great product for the price,
December 29, 2012
By duck18
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A great little sat nav, great value for money simple machine to operate"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav,
December 25, 2012
By InhouseJanitor
from Greater Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: built in mount
Cons: a mains charger/adaptor would have been nice
"I bought this to replace a 6 year old TomTom. Very impressed. Its light weight very slim and the screen is really clear. Picked up a sat signal within a minute. I particularly like the built in windscreen mount, means you can never be without it whilst you have the TomTom with you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom Start 20 sat nav,
December 14, 2012
By Annie6754
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: thought case was expensive should be included wit
"good product, only used a few times to date but easy to use and helpful staff in Halfords set it up for me and I was ready to go driving ourt of the car park. Would definitely recommend as a basic UK sat nav for beginners."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed,
December 09, 2012
By Norfolkdriver
from Norfolk. UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Clear, precise and easy to use. It's not too big, so it's not distracting while you drive, but clear enough to see at a glance which road, roundabout exit or even which lane you need to be in.
You don't need anything more than this.
...apart from something that tells you where all the traffic jams are perhaps!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom Start 20 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
December 07, 2012
By quincysw
from Hemel Hempstead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does all that it says on the tin A very efficient and affordable navigation aid"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.