Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe

Garmin Nuvi 1440T's 5" touchscreen display allows you to view map details, driving directions, photos & more in bright, brilliant colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sat Nav,
January 06, 2013
By andysherborne
from Sherborne
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: screen size
"I prefer this to the Tom Tom thanks it a real good machine easy to use friendly to novices solid Garmin quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Sat NAV - great value,
January 03, 2013
By Alan45
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: free traffic info, bright screen, photo maps of junctions
Cons: none
"This is an excellent Sat Nav unit. Very easy to set up and use with Garmin's straightforward interface. I actually prefer this to the large screen unit factory fitted in my car. Nice and bright and very good audio quality too. The traffic information is subscription free and works in most areas without the use of the additional aerial. Satellite connection is very quick."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, basic sat nav,
December 12, 2012
By figbat
from Berkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple interface, fuss-free use, clear large screen
"I bought this sat nav when Halfords had it on a half-price offer. Turns out this was maybe a little stretch of the truth (in terms of price) but nonetheless I got a great sat nav for a good price.
I came to it from a TomTom and at first found the Garmin user interface a bit simplistic and featureless. However, I have come to regard this as a positive thing as I rarely use any advanced features and for getting from A to B, perhaps via C, the simple-to-use, simple-to-view interface is perfect. It has navigated successfully all over the UK and France and never failed to find satellites (although after any lengthy time of non-use it takes a little time to acquire them).
The traffic system works well too; it's supposed to need the power cable plugged in to work (since this includes the required FM aerial) but given time it will often pick up traffic data even when used stand-alone. The battery lasts most journeys and the unit slots easily into and out of the mount, which is secure on the screen."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not impressed at all,
October 19, 2012
By andy6662318
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: did not work
"my partner and i bought a garmin the same day , within a week we both had full refunds due to the sat navs not picking up satelites."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the Job,
May 25, 2012
By Atom42
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, excellent for speed camera alerts, good photo lane indications, large screen
Cons: a bit pricy but no subscriptions
"Bought this to give me assistance when navigating around various city centres that Im not familiar with, especially useful for when certain roads are closed due to accidents etc, where this sat nav automatically diverts youwell in advance, Excellent for alerting you of fixed and mobile speed cameras and alerts you if your going too fast. Also alerts to red light cameras.So simple to use. A very good buy and large clear screen to tell you which lane to get in within plenty of reaction time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first satnav,
May 01, 2012
By Billboy
from Farnham, Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having purchased my first satnav, a Garmin, I am impressed with how easy it was to set up in my car and use. I registered the product with Garmin and found it easy to update the maps and add a few extra features. I used it for the first time for a trip to a new golf course some 50 miles away and although some of the route was difficult the satnav made it an easy journey, even advising me which lane to be in for junction interchanges on the motorway. I am certainly happy with my buy. I have a life time update feature with this purchase which should come in handy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic for Donegal!,
February 01, 2012
By portia505
from Donegal, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great sat nav system. Has routes and waypoints, perfect for a courier or similar. Only 10 routes but many more can be stored on a memory card and imported very easily.
Great for finding schools, points of interest, hotels, banks etc. Also has bluetooth, so hands free calling is a doddle.
A great purchase!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garmin 1440t,
November 01, 2011
By bowman
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: photo real junction
Cons: cant think of one
"excellent product,got me to a real tricky
place in birmingham,couldnt get thereon
my own.took me straight to the door.photo
real is great!took me off m6 when traffic was
bad.dont leave home without one.
mat @stockport thanks for your help,great guy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not impressed,
October 19, 2011
By Recoveryguy
from Brighton, E Sussex
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: too many leads, traffic updates usless
"I have to agree with Trukker and Meeper. This is a terrible SatNav. Although i never had an issue with the Satellites, (only used it for 1 day though) Again like the Nulink it gave out Traffic reports when IT decided. Slow to update routes.
As a Pro trucker also i bought it to avoid delays and for its 'features.' It is very easy to use, clear screen, accurate, Lane assist is very clear.
However, IMO it has too many leads with it. It has the main power lead, but it also has an FM lead you have to plug into the FM receiver in the power lead to get the traffic updates, so you end up with yards of lead trailed all over the Dashboard!
Having read Trukkers review i tried the Navman Tourer. (Plz read my review on that)
Again Staff at Shoreham very helpful. (Fred) Thx.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GARMIN 1440T,
July 15, 2011
By trukker
from NORTH WEST
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cant fault when it works
Cons: cant find satalites
"BEWARE,CANT FIND SATALITES, DERBY SOUTH YORKS,CHESHIRE, NORTH WALES
AS A PRO TRUCK DRIVER BOUGHT TO AVOID DELAYS,TESTED IT ON ALL ROUTES I KNOW, VERY GOOD INFO / SCREEN / EASE OF USE ,ACCURATLY TELLS YOU AT A PERFECT TIME AT JUNCTIONS ETC,
DROVE FROM DERBY TO SHEFFIELD LOST SIGNAL FOR 37 MILES,ALSO IN AREAS LISTED ABOVE,
TOOK IT BACK, WAS GIVEN ANOTHER NO QUIBBLE, JUST THE SAME, SWAPED FOR A 265WT, JUST AS BAD,
BOUGHT THE NAVMAN TOURER, 5" FULL EUROPE + HAS TRUCK MODE, TO AVOID NARROW ROADS / BRIDGES + GIVES HGV SPEED LIMITS,
STILL PREFER GARMIN SCREEN ETC.
CAN'T FAULT HALFORDS STAFF, ANDY & LYNNE ( BURY )
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst ever Sat Nav,
July 03, 2011
By meeper
from East Anglia and France
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: can't find satellites most of the time inaccurate
"We bought this to replace our Navman which they say cannot be updated. It was a disaster. It's a terrible sat nav. Don't bother buying it. We updated the maps from the outset so we knew we had the latest ones, yet when we switched the Garmin on, even 20 miles along the road it still could not find any satellites, on the odd occasion it could find a satellite it kept loosing it soon after and spent the whole journey thereafter saying satellite signal lost. I put our old sat nav on at the same time and it found the satellite in exactly the same conditions in less than a minute!, If you plugged the Garmin 1440T in to charge it in the car it stopped giving directions all the time it was charging and showed it was charging (unlike our old NAVMAN which would give directions when it was charging or plugged into the cigarette lighter.
We drive a lot in France but also on the rare occasion it could find a satellite, the pronounciation of French roads was so bad we could not work out what road the sat nav was saying or meaning, e.g for a flippant example, if the road was 'route de Mange Tout', it would say maan-gie (pronounced as in the unfortunate condition when cats and dogs lose their fur and an y at the end) and towt," (pronounced by someone selling black market tickets), = nothing like the real pronunciation, and in a real 'giving directions' sitauation with a real French named road, it was **not** 90 percent of the time saying anything understandable you could say oh that's the road its just said - its over there. I've no idea what it does in other countries whose roads are named in other languages but our experience is that it does not bode well.
It also often got addresses wrong so if you set it to go to 14 xxxxx street, when you turned into the drive of that house it would say that was no 22 when it was not. It could not find our house in the UK, it could not find our holiday home in France.....
It failed to find a number of addresses we tried it on. Although the maps had just been updated it could not find a road on a housing estate or on another occasion a road on an industrial site in La Rochelle that had been there at least 8 years!!
. It has a list of 'places of interest' and under that category there is one for " transport". We were trying to work out how long it would take to get from our house to Portsmouth car ferry port. ,.... but incredibly there were no ferries listed at all under "transport", but trains, taxis planes you name it but no ports or ferries! The ferries were eventually found after about an hour search and further help from a halfords store under something like "other...." Not very intuitive, very hidden, and a pretty stupid and useless place to put them. I'd give up with this one.
The instructions are very poor as well even if you download the ones found on Garmin website on line. It was hard to find out where to plug in the traffic pickup and only later on did we find that you plug it into the transformer on the charging unit because the instructions were so poor....and we never managed anyway to get any traffic information from it. That part just didn't appear to work. Don't buy it. Ournearly 5 year old Navman with its out of date maps is far better than the Garmin and could still find where we were far quicker than the Garmin.
Both my husband and I use this but there isn't a space on the review form to put that more than one person might use it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SatNavAce,
June 02, 2011
By SGPsailor
from Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only just started to use this Sat nav but it seems very easy and flexible - couldn't wish for more!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best ever purchase,
May 31, 2011
By matuajen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would still be driving if I hadnt had the help from my 1st purchase of a Sat Nav. As a lone driver it was invaluable especially the 5" screen. Very user friendly especially from a mature computer 'dawk'"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product,
May 19, 2011
By Mahesh
from Greater London, Essex Area.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First purchase of a sat Nav. Very pleased with it. Travelled to France with it. Extremely satisfied.
A little slow in recalculating the changed route.
large and clear screen.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but could be better,
May 15, 2011
By etyperep
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: finds satellites quicker than the old tom tom., free traffic updates.
Cons: very little instructions with the unit, voice announces the wrong road name* see main list, motorway junctions come up too soon, can't seem to "go to centre" of a town
"Wanted to up date an old Tom Tom that I had for about 3 years. I wanted traffic warnings and re routing which this had and I didn't want to pay extra as I would have had to do if I'd got the new tom Tom. Also I wanted to be shown which lane to get into at motorway junctions. Nice clear screen and bright enough. Clear instructions verbally.
The photo of the motorway junction comes up too soon, by the time you get there you have forgotten what the photo looked like, should come up again for my liking. When traveling on a country road and making a turn the voice tells you to turn onto the name of the next major road that might be miles away yet as it doesn't have a name for the country road, this is confusing. Hardly any instructions with the unit. With my old Tom Tom I could ask it to find the "centre" of a village or town if I didn't exactly know where I wanted to go, but this unit needs an address before you can prog it to get you to a town or village.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Germain nuvi1440,
May 15, 2011
By Tapas
from Chester, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: not very cheap
"Well designed, Specific, light but big screen, clear voice."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Go for it - it's Fab!!,
May 15, 2011
By SandyC139236
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it is user friendly - a delight to use.
Cons: none
"Bought this for my husband's birthday and he is highly delighted. I would most certainly recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not a bad buy,
May 10, 2011
By aardvarkjones
from essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy & simple to use
Cons: annoying voice
"considering i didn't want or need a ' sat nav ' i was hugely impressed by this Garmin little number. it appears to do exactly what i had hoped for & to date has been a good buy !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
simple 'quality' gps,
May 09, 2011
By elom
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: screen could be a little more sensitive
"1440T. Simple to use, helpful 'help' content, voices not too aggravating, good clear screen. High value awarded as GPS part of 50% sale. Otherwise GPS would sit about 3-4 stars."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Nuvi 1440T Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value,
April 30, 2011
By Psmdriver
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I always research widely before buying anything. This sat nav has been the best purchase. It is full of spec, and with the free lifetime traffic alerts made it even better. I wanted the bigger screen and the photo junction and the road name announcement all of which are great.
I can't recommend this enough, go buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>