Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"

Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike-20inch has 18-speed Shimano gears for a smooth ride.
Average Customer Rating:
3.855 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
42 of 54(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Basic bike,
August 29, 2014
By Madzee
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: gears
"I had this for a week, but had to return it as it developed some serious problem with the gear system. I as well doubt the quality of the material used within the bike, as the plastic between the suspension and the frame had a crack within a week's time.
Nevertheless, you get what you pay for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant priced bike,
July 05, 2014
By bonney25
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Recently got back to riding and this bike is worth it. Comfortable, affordable and brilliant. Well worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible Bike,
May 10, 2014
By Ben17
from Norwich
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I had my bike stolen and was on a tight budget so bought this as a replacement. I wish i never had. The bike is absolutely awful. The breaks are incredibly unresponsive, especially the rear break which seems can not stop the bike on its own. The gears ran smoothly for a few weeks or so but then the chain started to skip and occasionally it will come off when changing down from 6th to 1st. This is not with intense riding either, i use this bike to commute from my house onto my university campus, all on road. I would hate to think what would happen with a few off road rides. Bottom line is do not waste your money on this bike, for a hundred pounds more there are plenty of bikes from reputable manufacturers which will perform so much better than this one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
great looking bike but poor,
March 06, 2014
By stevie78
from renfrew
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"got this bike last summer from halfords braehead,,after two day i started having problems with it..3month later it in my backyard in bit's..can't fixed so it went to the scrappy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20",
January 04, 2014
By GriffosApollo
from Wrexham, Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Full size suspension bike ticked all the boxes - well made and looks good. The seat, breaking system and overall manufacture could well be mistaken for a bike much more expensive. Well recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy cheap you get cheap.,
November 14, 2013
By Macka66
from west bromwich
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: that im getting rid of it
Cons: everything about it
"Seriously dont know where to begin , ive had the bike 4 months now and its ready for the Skip Chain keeps jumping off the rear cogs , the brakes dont work , then they do , then when you try again they dont , its that bad i have added 2 miles to my work route to stay on flat ground . The gears have started to play up not running smoothly but changing 5 or 6 seconds after changing When changing from 3rd to 4th you skip to 5th but back up the gears is fine .I have put new pedals on already. The crank is wobbling so i think that needs replacing but i just cant be bothered now i will just get a new bike . My advice to anyone is this is a cheap and badly put together bike with no performance value at all steer clear ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WALSALL
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT,
August 29, 2013
By ashlvsbex
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great bike nice leg room and great brakes would deffo recommend to any one"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A good budget bike, but some issues...,
August 26, 2013
By XeNoWolf
from Grimsby, United Kingdom
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good suspension, good brakes, great price
Cons: gears, seat could benefit from extra cusioning
"The paint scheme on the bike is brilliant, the colors work well on it, also with disc brakes and full suspension, the ride is comfortable braking and going. The draw-back is the gears, after a few weeks of riding, you notice they quickly start to degrade and without constant maintenance after every ride, you could start having problems with it jumping a gear, chain slipping, or the bike just refusing to change up at all.. Not a big deal as long as you can, as previously mentioned, keep good maintenance on it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of time and money,
August 26, 2013
By Shorty6100
from Llantiwt Major, South Wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: very bad quality
"Bought this bike because I needed to replace a stolen bike, didn't have high hopes because of the price but was pleasantly surprised when I got it, very nice to ride, very smooth gear changes and what not............that really didn't last long. Within 2 days of owning it I realised the gears were so out of tune that I could go into 1st or 6th without the chain coming off, after a few more days I noticed the front wheel was warped (bent) but it was still useable, then the chain started jumping links and finally the left peddle snapped clean off. I had had enough and to be fair, they tried fixing it to no avail and then replaced the bike like for like, all is good and dandy, until cycling home the chain decides to come off completely, snapping off the chain guard and leaving me with a very sore calf muscle! Will admit it would probably be good for a child or someone with very little interest in cycling/wont use the bike everyday. Taking it back to get my money back, never again!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
-10points
3out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like this bike,
August 24, 2013
By TheMcDay
from Southampton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: suspension
Cons: gears
"Had this bike for just under a year now. It's lots of fun and easy to ride, me and my Brother did a 30 mile ride across the Isle of Wight and it handled itself fine compared to his several hundred pound hybrid. Although I mostly use it for commuting.
However, the gears are shocking. Like I said, months later on and it wont let me go anywhere above or below gear 7-12 which is obviously frustrating. I must take some of the blame seeing as I haven't serviced it ever, but it's been like it for months. And it could have something to do with the youngins they have working in the store I went to.
Other than that it's a great bike for the price, suspension is nice, smooth riding and durable (I crashed and broke my toe on it, it was fine!)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bike,
July 24, 2013
By M333
from Norfolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: suspension, price, customer service, quality
Cons: saddle a little uncomfortable
"I was looking to purchase a bike, and as I was not looking to spend too much money, I decided to go ahead with the Apollo Outrider. I believe it is very good value for the money I paid. The bike feels high quality, not the lightest, but still great for what it is. The disc brakes add a premium quality feel, and also are more effective than just the standard V brakes. The bike overall is very good, and only had a problem with the little plastic chain guard which broke off, took it back to the store and the problem was rectified immediately without any fuss. All in all, great bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shimano equipped,
July 13, 2013
By Cotzo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great bike with great futures, full suspension does the job very well and the braking system on disk as well
On the down side i can say the bike is a bit heavy at 17 kg but i don't mind that much
For the moment I use it for commuting to work but I'm planning to take it next week for an off road
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20",
July 13, 2013
By bigscott1
from yorkshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: all points mentioned
"looks great and great colour scheme but truth is a poor low grade bike! gears calipers crank failure straight away on first ride, calipers lock break pads on solid under hard city traffic breaking, slippage power loss through crank,when you accelerate in traffic the crank slips and the peddles slip round 30% before the power actually gets to the back wheel, gears preset incorrectly and grind and rattle and cannot always maintain the gear you select and smashed the chain-guard off the crank,the seat is unbearable to ride any further than five miles in one day session. the bike really does look great but it also needs to be reliably ride-able."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not bad for the price,
July 10, 2013
By Crouchie
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
Cons: gears slip
"This bike is a pleasure to ride, although after a week and half of using it daily I'm already starting to see a few niggles with it, mainly the chain slipping in the mid range gears (3/4) and squeaky brakes already, I would like to hope my small issues are a rare occurrence but due to take it back down to get it checked."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no problems yet,
July 04, 2013
By fox81
from holt norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: almost everything
Cons: uncomfortable seat
"I bought this bike to get to work and back, round trip of 10 miles a day 4 days a week,i have not been on a bike for 2 years and easily got back into cycling ,i can honestly say that the bike has not missed a beat, i changed the tires to semi slick and its made a good bike better, having already clocked up 80+ miles the only down side is the saddle I HIGHLY RECOMMEND A SOFTER SEAT!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reasonable bike, great service.,
July 03, 2013
By TiggerWife
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We bought this bike for my husband commuting to and from work. There have been a few issues with the bike but they have all been sorted quickly and without cost by Halfords.
With the bike you get what you pay for, so while I wouldn't necessarily recommend the bike if you want something reliable, I would definitely recommend Halfords. They've been brilliant!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, look and feel,
June 27, 2013
By InMejosh
from portsmouth UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: look, feel, price
Cons: suspension could be better
"This bike whilst not my first choice has definitely turned out to be my best, great price and striking looks make it stand out from the rest, very light so easy for me to lug up and down stairs at the train station.
All in all a very good bike, suspension could be better, but again for the price what can you expect, Also disc brakes work well and a must!
Highly recommended bike :)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awful!,
June 20, 2013
By Ton2210
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the colour.
Cons: everything else.
"Had this bike 2 weeks and the brakes locked on. Weighs far too much. Don't waste your money, buy a more expensive bike for better quality and practicality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great bike,
June 17, 2013
By IDM1
from Bolton Middlebrook
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Great looking bike, everything works really well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Outrider Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased with purchase,
June 15, 2013
By Leady1
from Sunderland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike a couple of weeks ago now, and although I've not had much time to go out on it yet, the time I have I have really enjoyed.
Admittedly I'm not a serious rider, more of a "casual try to keep fit" rider. This bike ticks all the boxes for me. I'm 6ft 1 and the height is spot on. Suspension makes a difference when riding off road (for the better!).
Well pleased!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>