Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)

Keep the kids quiet on long journeys with the Nextbase SDV49AC 9inch Dual Tablet DVD Players.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Review 1 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kids love it,
January 04, 2014
By wayde3074
from Newbury, Berkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: you can watch two different films
Cons: headphones not ideal for young kids
"This was very easy to get started, it is also very user friendly, my 5 year old can operate it. the picture and sound is of very good quality. I would definitely recommend. The only reason I did not give it five stars was that it would have been helpful to have come with its own bag and the earphones are not ideal for my five and two year old. these are only my preferences and does not affect the quality of the product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Get better results from your Nextbase dvd player,
December 26, 2013
By Ed04
from Northampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"You really do need to buy the Nextbase fixing brackets to get a secure fixing to your headrest This really does make a difference."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend,
December 22, 2013
By Gmannrrrrf
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Works well. They seem pretty robust as my children are able to touch them, and at 1 and 4yrs they are not gentle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great buy for the long drives with kids,
December 16, 2013
By watson21
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have got this product for my children . To keep them happy on the long trips in the car ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Children
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Results not bad but build cheap,
October 23, 2013
By GladSadBadDad
from Buckinghamshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: screen size and quality, multiple formats for media
Cons: build quality, dvd drawer opening very small
"Reasonable spec machines, responsive and play some pretty badly damaged DVDs fairly well. Good quality screens. But feel pretty cheaply made, all plastic construction with a lid that opens to a point that makes you think it isn't open. In the hands of kids this is a worry because it wouldn't take much to force it open further and hence break it.
Fixing for seats are annoying and act as a sort of cradle. To take the devices off the seats you have to completely remove the strapping etc.
One last thing, you can play separate DVDs and connect the machines together but with the cabling supplied you can't plug the two machines together and through the cars stereo, you need some sort of splitter.
My previous player was a Sony which was considerably more solid, less flexible but had a better level of build etc (they don't seem to make them any more)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids love it !,
September 15, 2013
By Willo1
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for long journeys to keep them entertained.
They can never agree what to watch so gives them option to watch different films . Great quality and simple to use ..would definately recommend !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
August 08, 2013
By kids2
from north norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent product, does everything i need to, keeps my 3 and 5 year olds very happy, got these to used at a my sisters wedding and for your holiday as we have a 2 and a half hour flight. The only thing that could be improved on is the head rest holder its made very cheaply although secure its fiddly and when you finally get one in you have to start all over with the other one. but other than that they are brilliant."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal for our family,
August 04, 2013
By Veli
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought it to keep the kids amused during long journeys. Very happy with the product
Pluses:
Not too expensive
Good sound level
Very good pic quality
Ability to watch 2 films at the same time
Minuses:
A bit fiddly to mount
You
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next base sdv49ac,
July 10, 2013
By Jan63
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ideal having 2 masters
Cons: volume is too low
"Fantastic product, ideal having 2 Masters - so no arguments. Only downside is that the volume is too low, however we have solved this by buying to mini amps and they are now perfect.
I would also suggest purchasing the specially made holder that connects to the 2 metal rods on the headrest - this is far neater and safer than the cumbersome holders that come with the DVD players.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dual screen is great for two children,
June 27, 2013
By Vegpatch
from Reading
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought this as we have two children and while they are happy at the moment to watch the same dvd on long journeys, I expect that will not always be the case. These dvds give us the option to let them watch the same or individual so will stop arguments! We have only used one of the screens so far and we were very happy with it. These DVD players do not switch off when you turn the engine off, which is handy if stopping for petrol as they do not have to stop watching!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peace at last,
June 21, 2013
By Sandroid
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent quality feel, dual so they can watch what the want, socket for headphones so we don't have to listen. Plays mp3 etc. too. Fairly neat."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
June 12, 2013
By RickB12
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: screen & sound quality, remote control, internal battery
Cons: can't charge battery in car while watching, can't change dvd while strapped to headrest
"Good quality screen and sound. Easy to setup and operate. Comes with remote control which is a nice feature for operating from the front seat. Supports lots of media devices"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Next base 9" dual DVD player,
June 10, 2013
By Spiderweb268
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great DVD's. Good quality and easy to setup. The ability to watch 2 separate DVDs is excellent and kept our oldest 2 children entertained on a recent long journey."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great for the kids,
June 10, 2013
By Halifax5
from Halifax West Yorks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The video players in the rear for the kids will make our journeys to the caravan a lot easier although they are still young it is a good product and I am sure will give good service"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not just the kids happy !!!!!,
June 10, 2013
By Gegorna1
from Danbury Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: can watch separate dvd's
"This is such a good idea as it stops amy squabbling as to which DVD to watch (not just the kids either ! )
Easy to use (if I can anybody can ) and fits nicely on the headrests"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dual DVD player review! Next base SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet.,
June 08, 2013
By Bigwelshmatt1976
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use., great quality picture.
Cons: generic holders., awkward connection positioning.
"We have two children aged two and four. We had been toying with the idea of buying some DVD players for long journey's and saw these and bit the bullet. The item is fab. Excellent quality picture and easy to use. The only down side is that the holders are fiddly and the cable holes ie power lead and USB are on the same side of each device. If one had the connections on the other side it would be a lot easier with wires etc. best feature, each child could watch different things because both are masters rather than one master and one slave."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, great value from Halfords,
June 08, 2013
By Strob1
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price!
Cons: a bit lightweight
"Shopped around on the net for these Nextbase DVD screens, but halfords was by far the cheapest.
Did their reserve and collect thing, which ios really easy to use. Recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product....well worth the money,
June 07, 2013
By Sicknote192
from Oswestry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this on a whim for a trip to South wales with the two kids (3hr journey), having owned many other portable DVD players this one is by far the best, the screens fit neatly on the headrest, the pull out stand for using on a table etc is ideal and well thought out! I did have to cross over the mounting straps to fit on my KIA headrests but reliable, value for money, versatile. really impressed, have been using it for individual movies and screening across both devices."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? OSWESTRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase 9" dual tablet dvd palyers,
June 06, 2013
By mike0121
from west midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was exactly what i was looking for at a very resonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase SDV49AC 9" Dual Tablet DVD Players (Master/Master)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
April 17, 2013
By Pinky37
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought this for our 2 kids to watch on long car journeys. Great that they can watch their own DVDs so saves arguments. Easy to set up and fits the headrests in our car perfectly. Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12next>>