Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)

The Nextbase SDV49AM combines the fantastic quality of the latest 9" LED backlight screens with a great design to provide a twin screen DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Review 1 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product,
August 07, 2013
By Jim38
from Sevenoaks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well made and works fine.
The straps that hold the unit to the headrest are best crossed over to ensure a secure fit.
The speakers are partially obscured by the straps, however, this didn't cause any problems, my kids could still hear them just fine.
It's quite simple to swop DVD's, just release the top straps and open the unit. The side velcro straps still keep the unit firmly attached to the headrest mount, not sure why other reviews say you have to remove the unit.
Both screens have a on/off switch on the top, makes it easy to reach across and turn them off once the kids are asleep!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Difficult to see even in normal daylight,
June 27, 2013
By ChrisJS
from Grantham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Well made and robust but sadly the picture was difficult to view in even normal daylight conditions, so much so my daughter had a coat over her head and the screen so she could watch it, returned them after the first day. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Concerned about build quality,
June 12, 2013
By njgree
from Cwmbran
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: big screens
Cons: build quality
" I had an old nextbase portable dvd player and it only intermittently recognized that there was a disc in there and played it. I was a bit reluctant to buy another nextbase incase the build quality hadn't improved. I went against my instincts as it was such a good deal and the 9 inch screens are lovely and big and bright, and the cabling is simple and streamlined for a main and slave unit. We used it for a week on a long trip up to scotland in the car and the slave unit started to flash blue on the screen with a dodgy connection with the AVI cable and now that seems to have stopped but the sound stops working now if you tilt the unit to the side. Maybe it's just this one is faulty and it's not normal but it hasn't inspired confidence. I will be taking it back to halfords and will probably ask for a refund to be on the safe side. Shame. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DVD,
June 06, 2013
By Maximos
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very good
" Yes I am very happy with the in car DVD player it works really well just as it says on the box's and has great features because you can also connect it to you home tv as we'll and play music on it to . Very happy would bye this make again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Lifesaver,
August 14, 2012
By Fliddy
from W.Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up, dvd ripping facility
Cons: cant really think of one at present
" Bought one of these when on offer, great bit of kit, went on a recent camping trip with the grandkids, set up in the car and silence, only one request of 'are we there yet?' and that's because the film finished. When we arrived set up in the motorhome and kept the 2yr old quiet for hours, he could have his own little screen to watch dvd's when the weather grotty. Good feature I am yet to try is the facility to rip films to memory stick and can then have a selection without having to switch discs. Had the same problem as another reviewer that the straps slipped around the headrest so just crossed them over at the back (or front as it would normally be) and problem solved no movement whatsover. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nextbase dvd players,
April 16, 2012
By bagder75
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" We took our grand children to Scotland and the dvd players were a godsent. They worked well and worth the extra to have both being able to play the cd's. The one draw back and it was a big one was the very bad design of the method of fixing the dvd,s to the back rest. They were a load of rubbish and on that fact alone I would never recommend them to anyone. I may even ask for my money back!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great player, but too quiet!,
January 02, 2012
By brianthebookworm
from Bracknell
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: large screen and well made
Cons: too quiet
" Super players with a clear image and excellent features. Mount easily to headrests and are well made. Large backlit screens are great. The only downside is even on max volume they are too quiet. This includes using the supplied headphones. This is a real issue as cars can be noisy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player,
October 10, 2011
By Gumma
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of units
" Excellent produce kept my 10 month old baby entertained throughout the journey to Scotland and back. Over 4 hours plus. Would recommend to anyone, great viewing and secure holding against the headrest. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nextbase 9",
September 10, 2011
By iceman12345
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great DVD player no skipping when driving, nice clear screen, most important kept the kids quiet on long journeys. The SD card slot was excellent enabling me to put a couple of films on the card so no DVD swapping was needed. To swap the DVD you do have to undo the front straps which would not be a problem for older kids but not for little ones. The slave unit turns off when the car is switched off as it’s powered from the 12v car adapter. Sound is loud enough to be heard from the front of the car, comes with all cables needed and a carry case. On the whole very pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SDV49AM,
July 15, 2011
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good twin screen system, kids enjoyed it and 9inch screens seemed good size . I would recommend as the kids easily changed the DVD's themselves and were using the remote within seconds of us opening the box, they didn't need the manual obviously! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase SDV49AM 9" Twin Screen Tablet DVD Player (Master/Slave)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SD49-AM,
June 21, 2011
By cookie5656
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Picture quality on units good but very disappointed to discover the mounting system supplied with the units is rather poor!
Two straps supporting a piece of flexible covered plastic /board.
Mounting straps too far apart to fit Saab headrest!
The two straps that run down the front of monitors to hold it in place partially cover speakers.
The same straps also have to be released to open front of unit when loading/unloading DVD.
Would not recommend purely because of poor quality mounting system
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.