Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player

The Nextbase SDV49 combines the fantastic quality of the latest 9" LED backlight screens with a great design to provide a DVD player that is perfect for use in the car, home or outdoors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase 49,
January 07, 2014
By SNASH756
from East sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great quality item, reserved online and collected in store"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product, great service,
January 03, 2014
By NigeTeesside
from Teesside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ordered on line, collected from store - all aspects excellent. Product fits perfectly and securely in the car, great sound and picture. Does everything it says on the box"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for Money,
December 10, 2013
By lenny74
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cracking product at a very reasonable price. Our little boy as been overjoyed with the addition of this player to our car. Well built product with great picture and sound and works as it should. Overall I am very happy with this product and would recommend to all mum and dads looking for those quiet journeys."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for all the family,
October 18, 2013
By abj21
from bridgend
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great item, very easy to set up and use, kept the kids entertained on a 4.5 hour journey and the parents in the evenings on holiday too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great size and easy to use,
June 11, 2013
By 10000
from West Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Everything about this product is great with the exception of how the disc goes in when on a headrest. Our son is disabled and lacks mobility when using his arms so it is impossible for him to change a DVD as the disc is inserted at the back not the side. However, we knew this when we bought it but the quality of the product outweighed this feature."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Volume is not great,
June 10, 2013
By Tom4a
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"All good until you turn the volume up and you realise it only goes so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this product,
June 05, 2013
By Lingwo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Don't really have any point of reference as this is the only portable DVD player we've bought, but we're very satisfied with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shame it hasn't got a touchscreen,
May 24, 2013
By MCU79
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simplicity
Cons: lack of touchscreen
"Not too bad, there was one strap missing in the original headrest mount but it was exchanged without any issues.
The device itself works fine, though only for 1.5 hours on battery.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lots of features great sound,
May 21, 2013
By stimpy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this for my grand child when traveling to family. Keeps him happy watching films and sometime put it in his bedroom so he can finish his favourite film ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Parent
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
May 17, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact unit
"Great product -compact and high quality viewing would recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good DVD player,
April 16, 2013
By JATomo
from Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality of the product., how versatile it is
"We purchased this item to replace our longstanding portable DVD player which broke.
This Nextbase DVD player is great! It offers everything you need in a portable DVD player; the option to attach it to the car headrest, it can stand-alone and it has a good size screen. We use it mainly for our daughter when we are travelling and we've had no complaints from her.
The sound and picture quality are superb and most importantly, it doesn't jump when driving over potholes!
All in all a very good buy!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressive little gadget,
April 13, 2013
By Simon247
from Buckinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"For the price, this was the best option by far. The Nextbase offers far more superior features compared to others in the same price range and even ones above. The quality of the image is perfect and the 9 inch screen offers greater viewing pleasure. Our little one is now asking to go in the car just to watch TV!
The only negative (only a small one) is the way you change DVD's. You have to dis-mount the player from the head rest securing straps to do so. Not a massive problem but could mean constant stops if there is only one driver and no passengers. Other than that, great!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really easy to use,
April 13, 2013
By ring82
from Nottinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought this for our 1 year old to try and ease longer car journeys,works a treat!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
April 12, 2013
By Sugababe23
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good picture quality., not too heavy to hold, feels as if your holding a tablet
Cons: none as yet
"I had been looking at the 7" screen for a while but when this 9" screen was reduced by a further £20 which made it the same price as the smaller one thats when I decided to buy it. Nextbase is a good make and thats why I didnt hesitate with my purchase"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good blend of quality and value,
April 11, 2013
By Ed53
from Leicestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After ordering a cheap DVD player from an major on-line seller, which I sent back due to it being of an unacceptable quality, I decided to spend a few pounds extra on this one, I have no regrets at all, good picture, sound and general build quality, without being too expensive. Overall, really pleased I chose this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super!,
January 18, 2013
By Suzanna25
from Londonderry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I use it in the car for my son. Is immune to shake, play movies smoothly and very good quality, regardless of whether the movie is played from a CD / DVD or USB stick memory cards. Sound is good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as expected,
January 06, 2013
By sjsj75
from Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought to entertain 2 year old car on long car journeys. Works fine and had no problems attaching to car headrest. Sound is on the quiet side."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT,
December 20, 2012
By VALPETE
from NORFOLK ENGLAND
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"ITS A NICE PLAYER , GOOD PICTURE GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ticked ALL the boxes; fab product,
November 12, 2012
By Angie41
from Germany
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great product for good price
Cons: having to undo secure straps to load dvd
"After looking at various DVD in-car systems I opted for this one for my almost 2yr old. We live in Germany and have extremely long road trips to get back to the UK (something our daughter found extremely boring hence multiple tantrums which is not what you need when driving 6.5hrs through 4 countries!)
I read the reviews about this product first and decided that it was the one for us.
We haven't found any issues with the volumn and can only presume others issues have been because one of the straps does seem to cover the speaker.
The only downsides we have are:
1. The straps have to be undone to load another dvd as the screen flips forward, easier said than done if you are the only other person in the vehicle.
2. The straps could be longer.
We had the quietest (well barr having to listen to endless Peppa Pig dvd's) trip back to Germany to date which made for happier parents."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase SDV49 9" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 29, 2012
By Anonymous
from Halifax West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: picture and sound, ease to set up, easy to put in and out of car, light weight, remote control
"I would recommend this product for anyone who plans a long journey with a young child. A few videos kept my granddaughter engrossed the whole of my 2 and a 1/2 hour journey. The picture and sound quality were excellent and when charged you can just take the DVD player in and out so quickly if you stop on your journey.
A great product and great value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>