Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop DVD Players or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player

The Nextbase SDV48 Portable DVD Player is a great way to distract the kids on long car journeys.
Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
55 of 58(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent,
April 01, 2014
By MrDad
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to fit and remove with upgraded mounting
Cons: can still be fiddled with by a toddler!
"Having got through a couple of the fold-out DVD players (which our toddler was able to kick and play with the buttons on from his car seat) we purchased this. So far it has been excellent - easy to set up and it came with the upgraded mounting kit (free), which is a very easy way to fit the DVD player and remove it when not needed. The picture quality appears to be similar to the cheaper models we previously owned and the audio quality is very good and loud enough for motorway journeys (even with a whistling roof box!). The only way it could be improved is if if had some way of 'locking' the buttons when in use, to stop my toddler being able to play with it!
So far I've only used it as a DVD player and haven't tried loading up photos from memory sticks etc. Also, I've only used it with a direct connection to the car power socket, so can't comment on battery life.
Will probably get another one when our little girl is old enough!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product!,
December 09, 2013
By Gill1311
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything
"Bought this as a xmas present for our 19 month old granddaughter who hates travelling in the car. Instant transformation, sound is just right, screen is really clear and no jumping with bad road conditions. Only problem now is getting her out of the car at the destination!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
in car DVD,
December 02, 2013
By Dodgie
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought one last year for our grandson. We've bought another this year for our grand-daughter - which I think explains how we feel.
Good quality at a reasonable price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Wee Player for the Car,
October 24, 2013
By RSR38
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: internal battery
Cons: headrest straps
"We needed something quick as our daughter's previous player broke, so went for this one due to price. It is a great player and unknown at the time of purchase it has an internal battery that gives about 2hrs worth of playing time. The volume seemed slightly low for me, but my daughter says it is fine in the car, so must be an age thing! The headrest straps are a bit fiddly and I left off the ones over the device as they appear to block the speakers, but all in all great player and does what it says on the tin!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pleased overall,
October 21, 2013
By Trantz
from South Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good clear sound
Cons: screen is small should have bought the next up., can't adjust angle towards seat
"Overall very please with this product, good quality, god Lund, clear screen and say to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keeps the kids happy,
October 16, 2013
By Peter1090
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"ideal device to entertain kids on long car journys.
Easy to fit to the back of a headrest securely
"
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
October 12, 2013
By SilverKA
from Perth Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good quality, screen display, ease of use
"I was pleased with this product. It feels good quality, easy to use, and plays DVDs great with a really good screen. I think it's a great piece of kit for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portable in car dvd player,
October 01, 2013
By Barrie42
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Havent used,was bought as à gift for my son,which im sûre hé will enjoy watching his favorite dvds on"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good portable DVD player,
September 28, 2013
By Georgina75
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Perfect for holidays, especially in the car. Straightforward to use and attach on back of front seat. Remote control and car plug in very useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant Product,
September 20, 2013
By JaiJai
from Devon UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really pleased with this product. I wanted a dvd player that I could use on a couple of tvs in the house, therefore it needed to be portable. This is exactly what I wanted."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best deal i could find :),
September 13, 2013
By clarkie2206
from Burton-Upon-Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: remote control, able to fit on headrest with straps, sound quality
"This dvd player was well worth the price, it was the best deal by far and my toddler loves watching it in the car. It comes with the headrest restraint so toddler can view it behind passenger seat. It comes with remote so can easily operate the player. The deal with free dvd with nextbase was to be requested after purchase online but came within 10days."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is real value for money!!,
August 04, 2013
By Mummy2012
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this for my little boy as we were having to do some extensive distance driving and needed something that would keep him entertained during those long driving hours
This product comes with everything you need for an in car DVD player, screen and sound quality are really good, and is very quick & easy to set up and comes with a mains charger which I know some others don't.
In my opinion this is one of the best buys I have made so far for my little one. His happiness is paramount and this product did exactly that. Overall rating.... Excellent!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value product,
August 02, 2013
By Guinness289
from Preston
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: headrest strap
Cons: headphones not suitable for smaller kids
"nifty little gizmo, kept the kids quiet on a 8 hour journey so gets my vote! Handy straps to hold it to the headrest with the buckles out of the way of the front passengers head and you can change discs without removing it from the straps..much better desin than our old one. all in all good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player,
July 31, 2013
By Katana1170
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product and value for money. A great little portable DVD that can be used straight from the box. It screen is an ideal size as I thought about the 9 inch but that would be to big for my head rests. My child is 10 and managed to work it with out any problems at all. The only down side is the car fitting kit. I would replace the Velcro straps with elasticated ones."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Faulty products,
July 21, 2013
By Anonymous
from Fife
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We purchased two of these for long car journey's, not long after both players developed the same problem, when switched on they won't play the DVD because the player says it is open, so i had to put elastic bands around the top of the screen to keep it tight shut for the DVD to play, also the headrest attachment is very poor,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
July 20, 2013
By Abc123LEICS
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good value for money, all the cables and extras included
"We bought this item for my step
Daughters birthday, we do long trips to and from her mothers house and this makes the journey so much more fun for her. The volume is plenty loud enough in the back, but not very audible in the front, so were still able to use the radio. There is a cable to play the sound through the car speakers if your car is not very quiet. It came with a free DVD and headrest holder. It does everything we need and more. Easy to use. Easy to reserve. Easy to collect. Staff were brilliant and helpful.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for travelling with kids!,
July 01, 2013
By Penny405
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this product to entertain our 3 year old on holidays- a great buy..
Easy to operate and picture very clear. Added bonus that it attaches to the back of a car seat and comes complete with fixings unlike others on the market.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent dvd player,
May 25, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great dvd player has everything you need easy to set up and use. Battery only last two hours tho before you need to plug it into the mains or car cigarette lighter. Not a downside but a small disadvantage. Overall extremely happy x"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nextbase,
April 19, 2013
By raja84
from hinckley,uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"nextbase dvd player, Very happy, exelect!!! my little one just love it!!! easy to use,nice !!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nextbase SDV48 7" Tablet Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Brilliant Tablet For A Fantastic Price,
April 14, 2013
By faltskog5450
from MINTLAW
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it
"We bought this tablet for our son the day we were going on holidays. He is disabled and finds car journeys a chore! Not any more. This tablet kept him amused the whole journey. The picture and sound quality are fantastic. It even came with headphones which although were no good for him, I was impressed that everything including a in car charger and a 230/240v charger were also included.
Whilst in the hotel we borrowed it and watched a DVD and were totally impressed. And also looked at the photos we had taken as it has a function for SD cards,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? PETERHEAD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>