Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Portable DVD Players or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player

Philips PD7042/05 7" Dual LCD screen Portable DVD player - double your movies on the road with two DVD players.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good all round product,
May 20, 2013
By Gary000001
from Berkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Happy with the headrest fixing and being able to play individual DVD's. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? READING (SOUTH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a super package,
May 09, 2013
By ricokid
from milton keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a real bargain for such a leading brand built of great quality and reliability "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not very practical,
May 06, 2013
By ChrisMac333
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: dvd works good
Cons: would be better strapped to the head rest
" From the DVD perspetive these work fine - sound good picture good. No Remotes controls which is problem for little ones.
The mounting system is a waste of time. it is so big that the display is only a few inches away from the face of your child. plus the instructions tell you to undo the screws holding it together when you are finished (for safety i guess).
Im afraid I took mine back after a one trip trial. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product but 2hr battery,
April 19, 2013
By Anonymous
from Bracknell
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: battery life
" Great dvd players, great picture and sound but battery only lasts 2 hours "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dvd player,
April 12, 2013
By 4j4j
from bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought item to keep grandchildren 2 and 5 happy during a 6 hour long journey. Did the trick both ways and they enjoyed watching the screens at eye level so no car sickness. Easy to install and operate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent well worth the money,
April 12, 2013
By Martinw3012
from Macclesfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" Bargain and really good quality!! Picture quality is very good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CONGLETON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality, simple to use,
March 29, 2013
By Angelmouse
from Dartford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic
" A fantastic item, can be used in the car and as a portable DVD player and I like the fact that you can either watch the same film on the two screens or two different films. The screen is really clear, generally a great product and at a brilliant price :o) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
March 22, 2013
By sheddy01
from Haslingden
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: mounting system
Cons: no remote
" Especially like the mounting system, very secure and convenient. Good quality pictures and like the fact the kids can watch two different films on the two units where the supplied headphones are a godsend!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing,
June 27, 2012
By travelingwomen
from Poole
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After reading an artical in a well known magazine which rated this product top in it's class, I researched for the best price, and Halfords came out the best.
The DVD player was as good as it's review.
Excellent
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best,
April 19, 2012
By danwasyl
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" the best, wonderful for a boy and a girl, because everyone can watch what they like.We are very pleased with the purchase "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for a peaceful journey!!,
April 17, 2012
By Autofan
from Osterley, Middlesex UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 2 separate discs can be played or 1 can be shared, built it speakers too to share music etc.
Cons: no r/control so have to lean forward to control, wire link between screens hangs around
" This item worked well on a long 5 hour journey and kept the peace with my 2 sons in the back aged 9 and 11. for a while they watched different films and then they shared movies.
The only major down side is that the units are not remote control, so they often had to lean forward to adjust volume, pause or rewind.
The case was missing from the box, but the store have put one aside after I called them on our return a few days later.
Overall, good quality, easy fixing and removal. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips 7042 Duo Deluxe Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great System,
September 15, 2011
By Blackcats
from Northampton, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having searched through reviews i setled on this system. It is very simple to operate and the quality is fantastic. Quick and simple to fit in the car and very secure. Would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.