Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"

Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21 inch is super lightweight with smooth gearing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
42 of 44(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Review 1 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great entry to serious cycling,
March 23, 2014
By shof2k
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: store advice
"I've decided to write a review after a few months in the saddle, so as to get a better all round view of the bike.
Moved to the Gryphon from a mountain bike using the cycle to work scheme. I chose the 17inch frame (being 5'2, 29in leg), which allows both a fully upright or slight racing pose. Moving from a mountain bike, the bike is fast and light without being continously afraid if the wheels will slip out under me. To this, I added some bar ends to give riding variety.
The Gryphon lives up to it hybrid build. The bike is fast but sturdy enough on local roads and bike tracks, however I'd void mud trails and grass banks. The chainset is graded for speed, so hill climbs are hard work, but along flat roads you can keep a pace with minimal effort. The 16 combinations are delived by an 8 speed rear mech and a 2 speed front mech. However the front shifter has 3 positions, probably because halfords are using stock parts. Set the 3rd front speed as a 'overdrive' to get to the highest gears.
The brakes are sharp with considerable pull needed to get the wheels to lock. This is probably as they need a while to bed in. The rear frame does flare out and even with my small size I have to be careful not to catch my feet on them.
The bikes looks hold against higher market rides, giving an understated look. Ideal for an urban commuter.
Overall the bike is a great hybrind, at a price that allows a novice cyclist to get an amount of a kit equivalent to a higher spec'd bike. Well recommended.
Have to give a big Thank you to staff at Littlehampton Halfords for my unending questions and for being so patient with me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Bike,
January 06, 2014
By SnowV
from Berkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast, good specs, low cost, copes well on road and rough paths
"I have upgraded from a Mountain Bike and I must say being able to effortlessly reach speeds of 18mph+ is a fantastic feeling as this was very hard to achieve with my old Mountain Bike.
I may replace the pedals and seat at some point but there is no need to early on as they are pretty comfortable for starting out.
Love this bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
decent bike.,
December 19, 2013
By peat
from nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightness of the bike., toe clips., confident riding position., it feels fast., good value for money.
Cons: not as comfortable as my crossfire, won't handle some of my old off road rout's
"I use this bike delay after getting my old carrera crossfire 2 stolen. i tend to use the roads more now so I decided to go for something a little faster. my last bike took some real mileage and with good maintenance, felt as good as when I had brought it about a year ago. when buying this bike i had to make the decision between this and the bordman hybrid comp. I think I made the right choice. i was a bit worried that not forking out the extra for the bordman would come back to bite me. but with my past experience with the carrera and the good feel of this bike I am sure i dont have anything to worry about."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
October 17, 2013
By Charliethecat
from Stourbridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth ride, great value
"You cannot get a better hybrid for the money. Had it for 8 wks now (in medium) and it's just right for me at 5'10" and 32" inside leg.
A really smooth ride for the commute and not been a bit of trouble apart from the front disc brake did squeek a little but Halfords sorted it out very quickly.
The Amblecote store mechanics did a cracking job and cannot be faulted and I find I'm using it more than my more expensive bikes.
Plan to upgrade the tyres at some point but really no need at present as they have coped with our terrible roads and canal paths with ease. Even taken it over rough hill paths after a wrong turn and despite expecting the worst they coped admirably.
Very pleased with the bike and have recommended it to people at work."
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HIGHLY IMPRESSED,
October 13, 2013
By Brian140
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Replaced my heavy old hybrid finding this a far superior ride. Although you have to pay more money you'll find it far more easier getting around and much more enjoyable, the difference was vast for me. It's a very smart looking bike with a lot of good components on it. For the extra money it's well worth it. I've had it for a few months now and had no problems with it, gears, breaks working well, disc breaks very responsive very good.
Overall you cant go wrong for a hybrid, be careful with pot holes in the road and get a helmet. You'll need to get cycling gloves as for me the grips are far to coarse. May need to change the saddle too but see how you get on with that.
Simply enjoy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike - good service,
October 09, 2013
By schof
from manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: service
"Bought an ex-display model from the Cheadle branch back at the start of August. Lewis and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful but I had a problem with it which was very frustrtaing. In short, the pedal fell off on my third ride - it was one of those things that can happen if it's not screwed into the crankshaft properly apparently. Anyway, I took it to the Wandsworth branch and was well looked after there by Danny and his colleagues. Thanks again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
September 26, 2013
By Vanboyd79
from Chorley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had a couple of roads bike but fancied a hybrid, this bike is superb and really fast was really surprised"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
September 26, 2013
By graysie
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently bought this Gryphon hybrid to replace my mountain bike.
I,m getting used to the gearing and having no suspension but its just what i need for fitness and a leisurely rides out.
Its definitely quicker than my old mb.
The bike looks good as well as the build
Ive put it through its paces and i love the bike
For the price i dont think you will buy anything better.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BURY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light weight, rapid urban commuter bike!,
September 20, 2013
By doogal12
from Glasgow, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight quick., excellent value for money
Cons: slightly thin handle bar grips
"I just got the Carrerra Gryphon and first impressions are very good!! Its a very light weight bike and quick, ideal for city cruising on hard road surfaces. Its got some ability to handle light trails or canal path surfaces too. I decide to go for another Carrera bike as my last one was such a success (a Kraken) and is still going well just after 10 years. I still need to get in some more mileage and usage of the Gryphon before i see how it goes but overall it looks and feels good! Saddle height good now but i might also adjust handle bar height in a couple of weeks time. Brakes good but may adjust to make slightly more sharper! All in all very good! David was very helpful at my local Clydebank store. Thanks a lot!
Douglas : - )"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CLYDEBANK
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value,
September 06, 2013
By Straightspeed
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value, style, performance
"This bike ended up on a shortlist of five, two from Halfords, the other three from a rival national chain. Ended up with the Gryphon purely because the salesman at the other shop was completely clueless, (and I'm not an experienced cyclist) and disinterested, I suspect due to most of the models I wanted to look at he didn't have there. Would have been happier if it did without the disc brakes, saving a bit of money and weight, but otherwise, easy to ride, appears well made and no problems so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent all rounder.,
August 06, 2013
By tadpole13
from N Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would definitely highly recommend this hybrid bike. Great bike to improve your fitness both on roads and toe-paths."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gryphone Pawel PL,
July 24, 2013
By Borewicz07
from Spalding UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"hi i have 1 day and i love it so good frame exellent - EXELENT SERVIS - FROM HALFORD IN Boston . Thank you ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zippy,
July 21, 2013
By Richy33
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick, lightweight, smooth
Cons: toe clips would be nice
"Brought this bike a month ago and I love it. Used to ride to work on a mountain bike with road tyres but this bike has cut my commute by nearly 5 minutes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (SOUTH)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
July 21, 2013
By bikeowner101
from workington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality of the bike
"Would highly recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a fitness boost only negative is the handlebars are a little stumpy with the paddle gears and i have big hands so not much room for negotiation."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speed machine,
July 03, 2013
By Ianstew33
from Wigan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth gears, comfort and geometry
Cons: the hit or miss set up of halfords
"I wanted a bike for a triathlon that would be quicker than my mtb on the road. I chose this after a lot of research and I'm very happy with it.
On its original tyres its rapid on tarmac but too harsh and skittish on loose trails or bumpy routes. As part of my training route is off road I have changed out the tyres for something bigger and more capable off-road, but with road ability, and I'm really pleased. When the tri comes round I'll chuck the original road tyres on and fly.
The brakes need properly setting up and Halfords don't seem to know how this is done but I have them sorted now and they work a treat.
The gears are great and my initial worry that it didn't have a triple chainset has flown out the window.
The ride is very firm on standard tyres, great for the road but not great for tow paths or rougher tracks but there is just enough room to fit something better. With different tyres it is truly a hybrid. In fact I scared the life out of some mtbers as i went past them at speed on a farm track.
The steering is neutral and the handling easy.
For longer rides I'm fitting bar ends to give me more comfort options.
For a light weight bike that can handle most tracks and roads this is great. For the price it really is well worth getting it and a set of more off-road biased tyres for those bumpy tracks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice commuter,
June 25, 2013
By TheRealJimbob
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I previously commuted on a mountain bike and the Gryphon is much better suited to the road."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TEWKESBURY
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was very good value for money,
June 14, 2013
By clem89
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the wheels, the weight
"Really love my new bike. Really super to ride as it is light and fast.
Got money off as i bought online so it turned out to be very good value for money and I picked it up the next day!
Cheers!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you coming back!,
June 13, 2013
By imranizzle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid build, paint job, easy to accessorise
"I've owned more than a few bikes over the past few years, I've upgraded, downgraded, yet I always end up getting one of these. Even though the frame is light it has a very sturdy and solid feel therefore making you very confident when riding. The spec is amazing for the price and the colour makes it look very sleek without being too flashy, and the paint doesn't randomly fall off like similar higher priced hybrids! The slightly wider fram also allows you to comfortably fit wider tyres if you ever need to do some rugged trail riding, and fitting mudguards and panier racks are no drama at all. Regardless of your riding style you would find this bike to be surprisingly fast, and once it's adjusted properly and fitted to your height, riding is almost effortless. If you're looking for a true all rounder, I highly recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
June 10, 2013
By HuntingdonBiker
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gearing, wheels are good - not sure yet about tyres
Cons: service can be very patchy at halfords
"Great bike. Surprisingly robust and study.
For a hybrid / road bike feels very good on the road. Gearing is great -ie. not lots of over lapping gears, just straight forward gears going from very low to reasonably high
Don't let poor / mixed service at Halfords detract from a good bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Gryphon Hybrid Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera hybrid,
May 01, 2013
By alan0635
from london
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"does exactly what it says on the tin. I was looking for a good quality bike at a reasonable price and this fitted the bill perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
123next>>