Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"

The Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike is ideal for the commute, light trails or road riding.
Average Customer Rating:
4.757 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
72 of 72(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain !,
August 25, 2014
By adriano
from Luton, Luton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this bike following customer reviews and that was my best buy for a few recent years.
Well built, smooth to ride, light. Great as urban bike or off road.
Despite the fact there was some assembly issue and need return to store twice in first week.
Special thanks to John (Gypsy Line -Luton). Smart, polite and knowledgeable guy. Excellent customer service! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Subway,
August 22, 2014
By Rustygb
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: sitting position needs getting used to
" Sitting position is different from my last Halford's bike but it seems correct for the type of riding this is designed for.
Better build quality means that the gear changes are seamless I needed to get my last bike tweaked to work properly, this has worked from the off.
Recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike,
August 21, 2014
By Shappy
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Would recommend this bike as it is excellent and comfortable to ride it's also fast and makes light work of hills and those steep climbs
I use this bike to commute to and from work clocking up 16 mile every time
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
August 21, 2014
By Francosian
from Horndean
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: style of the bike
Cons: saddle a bit hard lol
" Love this bike, good lightweight frame which provides great acceleration. Smooth easy gear changes. I am not a serious hard core cyclists and this has been an excellent bike for getting me back on the road. If like me you are thinking about getting back on a bike after a long absence or starting for the first time look no further than here. Great value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding value all round,
August 20, 2014
By GazzaT
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very happy indeed with all aspects from the price to the quality of the product. Highly recommended experience from the team at Halfords, thank you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy,
August 19, 2014
By cipnt
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: equipment, design, price
Cons: available colours
" I bought this for the second time after my first one got stolen. This is an amazing bike for the money. You get a good frame with disk brakes and double rims. Hybrid tires do well on a daily commute in urban areas, while being ready for any occasional offroading. I'm a big (95kg/15 stone) tall guy (185cm/6 feet), so I felt like I needed a strong set of rims and frame to support me.
The look of the bike is very nice and modern, my only complaint with this would be the lack of a wider colour range.
My recommendation, mostly based on my experience with the previous bike I owned, is to invest in good d-lock and additional cable lock. The Subway look good and catches the thieves' eyes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22,
August 12, 2014
By Delboy1950
from Coalville, Coalville, Leicestershire LE67, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Well pleased with the build quality, the guys at the Coalville Branch were most helpful. The bike is a pleasure to ride, gear change is really smooth and the disc brakes are very good, and for the price it is superb, for me it is ideal, first time time on a bike for a long time and I am very pleased with my purchase, and would buy another bike again from Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got the bike in the end :),
August 12, 2014
By Blackymark
from Leighton Buzzard, Central Bedfordshire LU7, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks great, rides great
Cons: saddle a bit hard
" After reserving the bike at the dunstable branch, when we went to pick it up a "computer error" meant there was no bike bike available for me.
Laurence kindly dealt with the matter , gave a goodwill present and offered to collect the same bike from the nearby Hemel store.
When we went to collect the next day , even though I had requested a boxed bike , they had kindly made it up for me!!
Thank you :)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
August 09, 2014
By TheLoneWanderer
from Hereford, Hereford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: impressive amount of gears, overall well built
Cons: hand grips not put on properly
" I bought this bike for commuting to uni, you can feel that it is well put together when you cycle it. It has an impressive amount of gears meaning you can reach a good speed very quickly. My only gripe with the bike is that the handle bar grips don't seem to be the right way because the finger spaces face upwards instead of forward, it seems like something that can be fixed easily, I just haven't got around to it yet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike,
August 08, 2014
By Webb0
from Salisbury, Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I needed a decent hybrid bike for commuting to work and using for leisure. This bike has all the gear I could want - I am very happy with my purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for money,
August 08, 2014
By Pilkins
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value all round bike great for everyday use on & off road. Had a squeaky brake which was put right next day. My last carera bike lasted me 25 years so had no hesitation in purchasing another. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carerra subway 22" bike.,
August 08, 2014
By Dave2289
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent customer service and I was extremely please with how fast my order was processed. Bike was built and ready to pick up bang on time. Also get a free bike service.
I previously purchased this bike from Halford and was happy but my bike was stolen so I got another from Halford as it is a great bike and had no problems with the bike. Thanks Halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike at a great price.,
August 08, 2014
By Philmoz
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike is a great Hybrid, giving excellent on and off road performance, a very smooth ride and very well geared.
At a very good price, I would recommend this bike to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike, so pleased.,
August 08, 2014
By steveparadox
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent quality, great looks, handles superbly, smooth ride
Cons: nothing at all
" I bought this bike, now at the age of 32 and having not cycled for about 15 years. I did my homework and checked out cheaper as well as more expensive bikes. I decided to opt for this one as it had good reviews and was neither so cheap that I was worried about shoddy workmanship and not too expensive. The bike was assembled by Halfords Byfleet and the guys there were great. Before buying this bike I had never even heard of a Hybrid bike, but I liked the fact that it seemed to be geared towards road and light off road use. It has elements of a mountain bike in appearance and chunkier tyres that look robust. However, I was surprised at how smooth the bike was, it glides so well over road surfaces and also copes well across bumpy towpaths. The bike also looks great with its matt black finish. My GF has now ordered the womens version of this bike which we are collecting tomorrow. I cannot recommend the bike highly enough! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent Bike For The Price,
August 08, 2014
By Ashha
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: comfortable, lightweight
" Generally very happy with this bike. I was using an old mountain bike to commute to work and decided it was time for an upgrade. Has made cycling in much easier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems like a good bike for the money,
August 08, 2014
By dutch090163
from Worcester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: much lighter than a mountain bike, good looking bike
" Bought this for a 15 mile each way commute to work.
Ordered online on a Wednesday got a text to say it was ready to collect on Thursday. When I went to collect on Saturday was told they thought I no longer wanted it and had sold it. They had another one in stock and assembled it in about an hour and added some lights for my inconvenience.
It appears a good solid bike. Disc brakes are not as good as I had hoped for but are reliable. Had a puncture and quick release system worked well on back wheel. Must remember to get some slime so I don't have to do it again. Puncture was due to a very solid pin going straight through tyre and tube when I got a bit adventurous and went a bit off road.
All in all very pleased and if I continue using it regularly will look at a road bike next year so trip time should come down
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product for a great price,
August 06, 2014
By truewhitey
from Bridport, Bridport, Dorset DT6, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike is extremely sturdy and has a great ride on both road and bumpy tracks etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upgrade,
August 04, 2014
By bob742
from Ayr
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears
Cons: n/a
" Needed a new bike for the 7 miles to work (Road and Dirt track)
Great on both, brilliant gears.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYR
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would defiantly recommend,
August 03, 2014
By Davidn31
from Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this bike after my old one finally gave up. Use it every weekday for work compared to my old mountain bike this one is effortless to ride. The pull away is twice as fast as it is so much lighter then my old steel frame. I now go out for rides in the evening as it's so nice to ride. Performance of a road bike look of a mountain bike. Perfect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Sturdy bike,
August 02, 2014
By Paul400
from Croydon, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A good all round, Sturdy bike for everyday use. The only issue, if you ask Halfords to build it, check they have tightened everything, ESPECIALLY the Handlebars, before use, don't make the same mistake as me and assume they had done what they said they had. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>