Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"

The Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike is ideal for the commute, light trails or road riding.
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 of 47(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike & awesome service!!!,
February 22, 2014
By FlexDiezel
from South Croydon, London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike is both superior in quality and impressive in style. I wanted to return to my active fitness regime (in cycling), after a lapse of 4 years and selected this bike because I can ride it with peace of mind, both on and off road. It's quite a chunky bike but is as silent as a mouse when in operation. If you like doing tricks on your bike, then this bike has the required build and sturdiness and also the perfect tyres and rims to survive those jumps. The disc brakes are both inconspicuous and highly responsive. The tyres are extra thick which give added resistance to punctures. The gear change is fluid but perhaps too many gears. A lot of other reviewers have complained about the seat being awful and the handle bars being too wide but actually on using it, they work perfectly for me too. But yes, a padded or gel seat would be a plus. After researching various hybrids from several companies, I was unsure of the correct bike size to select (I'm 5'11 with a muscular build) so I thought I'd visit the store and try out the bikes on display. Nothing beats seeing the built-up product and actually trying it out. I reserved it in-store whilst comparing it against other bikes at the Croydon Purley Way store and paid for it on the same day. I would like to commend the two bike mechanics both called Michael. One of them gave expert advice on bikes in general, and the other one made me a very happy customer by building the bike for me on the spot, so I could ride it home on the very same day. What a great service! Collection is usually after 4pm the next day after making a reservation the day before. I've only had the bike for 3 days but so far, I'm exceptionally pleased with it. The only two things I would have wanted to be added to this bike were a front suspension system and hydraulic disc brakes but I can live without them. All in all, it's a fantastic bike at an unbeatable price. 5 stars all the way!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and ideal returning bike!,
February 18, 2014
By CBRMan
from Lincoln
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: gear selection, brakes, looks
Cons: hard saddle, bar height
"Large frame size 22" ideal for my 35" inside leg. Gear selection really easy with up and down selectors. Brakes excellent. Finish is good for this price and tyres seem fine for my use which is almost all road. For me the saddle is a little hard, may get gel saddle and I will add bar extender as I feel I lean too far forward. Highly recommended and staff in store very helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike and a great buy,
February 03, 2014
By MT1000000
from Wimbledon, London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike has exceeded all expectations at a knockdown price. Great to ride, very stylish and all round a bargain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIMBLEDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
terrible tyres,
January 12, 2014
By Banditrider
from Grimsby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: black paint jobbrakesseat.
Cons: tyres
"great bike apart from the tyres which give no grip at all in wet or slippery conditions.I have cycled to work on my old mountain bike for the past ten years,fallen off once.I have owned this bike for 6 months and fallen off three times due to poor grip,the front wheel just slides out from under me on wet or greasy roads.I have changed to knobbly tyres to try and stay upright."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, better then expected,
January 07, 2014
By kazbez
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: almost everything
Cons: nothing so far
"Having been using entry level MTB bikes for last 3 years and my 3rd bike was stolen recently after long consideration I decided to go for this bike. Why??? In a great price you receive relatively well equipped bicycle. It is light in this price range much better equipped then my previous Giant entry level MTB bikes in similar price. After few rides it makes great impression ( I just added clipless pedals), very stable, gears work smoothly and it is much faster them my previous bike. I had to get used to narrower handlebar but now it feels good.So far I love my new baby. Happy to recommend this bike!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MITCHAM
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product for a bargain,
December 23, 2013
By hsscott
from Dewsbury, W yorkshire England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this bike for a christmas present and am so happy with it. Got a full year Halfords service included so looking forward to using the bike all through the year."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Entry level hybrid bike,
December 14, 2013
By Fero1
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: seat - bit hard
"Good balance between the price and quality for anyone who who is buying a first bike for commuting and leisure."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike well recommended,
November 01, 2013
By Maz7979
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great bike well recommended could do with mud guards thougj"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid XL - 22",
October 27, 2013
By Sooty4Sweep
from Epsom, Surrey. UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything!!
"Having been disappointed with both rear & full suspension bikes, I chose this beautiful rigid frame model.
With both front & rear disc brakes, which perform brilliantly (maybe TOO well, until you get used to them!!) and super-smooth click-shift multi-derailer gears ~ I think there are 32 speed combos (i.e. 4 x 8).
The fat, but NOT-KNOBBY tyres are perfect for road use and some light off-road. Combined with the black carbon wheel-rims, the tyres look super-chunky (a bit like top-end BMX models!).
Even the saddle is gel-cushioned for comfort.
The weight of this model is unbelievably light, and construction & paint-finish (oh-so-sexy mat black!) appear to be of a very high standard.
I cannot recommend this bike enough!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great surprise,
October 22, 2013
By Lukeydukey
from Haverfordwest
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, speed, ease of riding
Cons: saddle is touch hard but just buy padded shorts!
"I looked at other reviews of this bike with a little cynicism to be honest, but now I have it and have taken the time to buy the proper gear, I love it.
I'm a fair weather rider it's true but, dang, when I get on it this bike is fast compared to my old MTB.
I've yet to get on the proper long rides on the local cycle paths but I hold great hopes and am very much looking forward to it. Well worth the investment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
September 25, 2013
By Lee10
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: almost everything
Cons: narrow handlebars
"I downsized from a 4 year old higher spec Carrera Fury. I didn't want to spend so much money, and was just looking for an all purpose run around bike.
This is nice a solid, fairly light, and the gear mechanism is very smooth.
My only criticism is of the handlebars. They are too narrow for a extra large bike, and I didn't feel in total control of the bike.
In the end, I transferred the wider handlebars from the old fury, and bike is perfectly setup now."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfectly fits my needs and good value,
September 23, 2013
By JackDusty
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, disk brakes, good gearing and shifters
Cons: no mudguards included
"I wanted a good hybrid for commuting 5 miles each way to work and the odd weekend ride. My route is a mix of road and trails (gravel paths and a couple of off-road dirt shortcuts). This is ideal. It is comfy and smooth and I am doing the journey at least 5 minutes quicker than on my old mountain bike.
The gear ratios (24 gears) allow much higher speed on the flat or downhill parts of my ride and the excellent rapid fire shifters are smooth and quick. They do need some adjustment after the 2 weeks I've been riding but I will get that done at the free 6 week service.
With disk brakes on board as well, you do get a lot of equipment for the money. It also looks really stealth in the satin black finish. No mudguards are included so I got some at the same time which were fitted for me, essential when riding in the wet and on mud.
Overall, I highly recommend this bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid,
September 22, 2013
By Cardifftaxis
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, disc brakes, lightweight frame
"This bike is very well made,nice and light,and is great to ride.
I have both a Carrera mountain bike and road bike,which I have never had an ounce of trouble with.
The 24 gears I find ,is good for maintaining good speed,as my mountain bike,in top gear,has the legs going 14 to the dozen.
Looks great too,and the disc brakes are an added bonus.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product excellent but,
July 30, 2013
By bigdave1877
from renfrew scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had this bike before but got stolen so bought another as I love them. Service was not good as the bike had not been set up right the handle bars became loose and the brake cable rubbed against the front tyre which also wobbled when I pulled brake. Not good I took the bike back and the girl hummer and hawed about my receipt she eventually looked up thecomputer. The bike was fixed properly but I lost week of cycling and it was during great weather. I felt I should have been offered some vouchers or something very disappointed in Halford braehead."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Workhorse: eats up the miles,
July 25, 2013
By johncaduk
from weston super mare
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sturdy solid construction, smooth gear change
Cons: only available in black, seat not too comfortable
"I bought this bike not for looks but for its ability to eat up the road and track in front of me. A hybrid workhorse is what I like to think Ive bought as Im moving more efficiently than all the other bikes I've ever owned. Halfords 10% trade in on old bikes made this a must to buy after months of indecision."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Performance A1,
July 17, 2013
By alan65cn
from chesterfield, north derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got my Carrera Subway in November 2011 from the Chesterfield Branch/Sheffield Road and its never let me down yet, it's smooth, comfortable to ride, 24 gears for speed performance and a great looking bike this bike is absolutely Five Star in my book and I would Recommend the Carrera Subway to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value for Money,
July 16, 2013
By Rokerlad
from Boldon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: weight, brakes, gears, looks, tyres, price
Cons: nothing
"Had this bike a couple of weeks now and love it. My last bike ( Claude Butler Explorer ) got nicked so thought I'd take a punt on one of these. I only ride a bike to keep fit so I'm not a hardcore cyclist by any means but I can report that it is nice to ride, quite light to pick up, good brakes and gears. I also like the slightly wider tyres on this which make it nice on trails and soak up the bumps of the shocking British pot holed roads a bit better. Narrowish handle bars mean it fits down the side of my house in the gap between the shed so an added bonus. I find myself cycling more and more since I bought this bike. All good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTH SHIELDS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain Bike!,
July 13, 2013
By kastigere
from Redditch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, comfy ride, disc brakes
Cons: gear levers
"I was recommended to buy this bike from a friend of mine who works at Halfords, He said it was a bargain at it's original price, so was a steal with the extra discount saving.
Ordered online and was able to pick up the next day, custom built and ready to go, and the staff were more than happy to adjust the bike to accustom my tall frame.
Took it out for a 12 mile ride without any problems and very comfortable. Halfords also offer a free 6 week check up to make sure everything ok and tighten brake & gear cables.
My only criticism is the left and right gear leavers on the handlebars work opposites to each other (left lever tightens cable to go up a gear, right lever tightens to go down), takes a bit of getting used to, especially when going up hill and you think you are changing down!
All in all, a great purchase and feels durable enough to keep me going for many a mile.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Subway from Dorking,
July 08, 2013
By fossilman
from surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: local service
Cons: 2 gears need sorting slightly
"Good value - set up well - polite service
the bike is stylish & suits my size really well
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DORKING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what an intense hill climber,
July 06, 2013
By jockjones
from Betws, Ammanford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: every aspect of the bike 100% quality, beautiful framework, amazing up hills, price second to none, front and rear discs, superb customer service
"I had been looking around for a road bike in preparation for a charity cycle event taking place july 7 in Llanelli. After endless ebay searches treads call ins and scrolling through evans cycles online, I finally found the gem that is the boardman comp hybrib from halfords! As iv had an operation on my wrist and continue to have some issues, a flat bar bike was essential.The customer service was second to none explaining to me how good this bike was,obiously your going to be sceptical as he is trying to get a sale none the less I persavered with what he had to say, he said it was the closest hybrid bike he had ever riden to a top quality road bike so much so he had one himself! Besides the good sales techniques the bike itself is a work of art with its lightweight aluminium frame and stunning seemless welds it simply a dream to ride. The main reason im writing this review is because of its performance im tearing up hill climbs now like im riding down hill, if your the type of rider that pushes themselves more and more every time you ride you will 100% satisfied with this genome of a bike.
Well I hope you get some help with my review as I am so pleased with it everyone who appreciates a really good quality fast goodlooking bike then this is most definitely for you.
Halfords swansea thankyou very much.
Thanks for reading.
Mr extreamly happy customer!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
123next>>