Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"

Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike Medium 18inch will get you noticed with its great looks and performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.606 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
64 of 65(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love This Bike!,
July 15, 2014
By PuddingandPie80
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money, mechanically sound, good brakes, solid build
"I bought this bike for a short daily commute, and I've got to say I can't fault it! Even after more than a year of use it hasn't missed a beat. Only problem I had was a faulty bottom bracket and Halfords in Harrogate sorted me out with a replacement (no charge and relatively painless).
I swapped the thinnish trail tyres that come with the bike for a set of wider (but slicker) Schwalbe City Jets as my commute is mainly on roads. Got to say it that with those tyres and the moody paint job the bike looks fantastic, a real city warrior.
Mechanically the bike has been fine, just needed a bit of adjustment on the brakes and gears every so often but this should be expected as cables stretch slightly on a new bike and pads get worn through use (so nothing out of the ordinary). The disk brakes work really well, especially in the wet; the they only squeal the first time I apply them in the wet, after that any water on the disk has evaporated off and they're near silent.
I would definitely recommend this bike to others, for the price it's a great piece of kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT BIKE! GREAT VALUE!,
June 09, 2014
By ADAMH95
from Worcester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money, built to last
"Where do I start? This stealth looking bike is brilliant! with quick and smooth shifting, great for steep inclines and all types of surfaces! I use my bike as a daily commuter whether that be to college or work on canal footpaths and terrible british roads! the grip from the tyres are amazing and the brakes are really efficient as long as they are adjusted every month simply by screwing the pads in with a 5mm hex key. As a qualified level 3 imi diploma in motorcycle maintenance and repair I recommend this bike! it is really nice to ride and well worth every penny forget any budget bike and buy this. It is built to last!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Poor brakes,
April 20, 2014
By Martin34
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Just be aware that although this bike has disc brakes, they are not great - and are certainly much worse than ordinary v-brakes. To quantify this, it is impossible to lock the rear wheel, whereas my son manages this quite easily with the v-brakes fitted to his smaller Ridgeback.
Apart from that, everything else seems OK."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike at a good price,
April 14, 2014
By Greener42b
from Worcester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the light frame
"Light frame bike, excellent for my cycle to and from work. Great range of gears and disc brakes are excellent ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bike for ladies as well,
April 04, 2014
By sazdaz
from Wakefield uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having the need to commute on a daily basis I felt I needed a decent bike. After looking at ladies bikes I happened to take a fancy to this men's bike. And to be honest I find it easier and more comfortable than ladies bikes. Yes occasionally the brakes do squeak but for the most part it makes my ten miles a day very easy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for price.,
March 18, 2014
By Williamg
from Scunthorpe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: equipment level, looks, price
Cons: nothing
"Already having a Carrera road bike which has been more than reliable I decided as a 50th present to invest in a mountain bike. After looking at various bikes I decided to have another Carrera and picked the subway (I know it's not a mountain bike but it's just as good). What a great pick it turned out to be as the bike looks great, the level of equipment is more than expected for the price, and the bike handles like a dream. I have had no issues with the disc brakes they are responsive and not at all noisy. I have changed the pedals for SPD which were a very good price from Halfords and I would recommend having some bar ends fitted for more leverage when climbing hills (that's just a personal preference).
In all can not fault the Subway in any shape or form and if it lasts as well as my road bike I will get years of use out of it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike so far,
March 09, 2014
By Tomw81
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only just brought this bike and so far its been great. The breaks for me are not noisey and are also very responsive, so maybe the person in the previous post had a bad apple or maybe is just used to an even higher grade of break system. Bike looks slick, my only gripe is the tyers I would have preferred to be thinner, but thats just my personal preference."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
March 08, 2014
By HybridRider
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made, feels quality
"Bought this as a first 'proper' bike for my son and he is very pleased with it. I've had a go myself and can't fault it at all. It well built and easy to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for in life.,
January 04, 2014
By cyclefreak45
from cornwall
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good package
Cons: brakes
"I bought the Subway as a winter bike for commuting. My normal commuter is a road bike and was becoming unpredictable on the wet and muddy country lanes I use to get to work. Overall the bike has been pretty good but it has some issues , namely the brakes. I don't care what others have said about them. THEY ARE SHOCKING !. They make plenty of noise but they do not work. I'm sure they are okay if you ride gentle trails with the kids on a sunny Sunday afternoon but that's it . I carefully set them up after scareing myself trying to anchor up in a hurry( motorists , God bless em.). Using information from Tektro website but still they are pants. I will be upgrading them to hydraulics , this also means I will have to buy shifters .
The saddle has to much padding which actually makes it a bit uncomfortable and the bike is quite heavy , saying that it rolls along at a far old rate of notes . I am sure this bike after some upgrades will become a trusted friend . I don't want to be to down about this bike because it is a good bike for the money and I do like it and would recommend it to anyone wanting a MTB based hybrid .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Careers Subway,
January 01, 2014
By homicidaldave
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"bought this for my 13 year old boy, made his Xmas. it is A solid but fairly light hybrid with disc breaks, quick release front wheel and slick gear shifts.
described by my boy as one bad boy of a bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for 10 year old son,
October 23, 2013
By deG66
from Watford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: shimano gears, light weight
"My son is loving his new bike. Able to do long rides easily due to light weight and easy gear changes. Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bike,
October 22, 2013
By DAZZA1910
from Ayr
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: decent quality parts
Cons: uncomfortable seat for long runs
"Bought this bike reduced a few weeks ago.
Having been used to cheaper end bikes for years i finally bought one that was a bit better.
Much lighter than my old ATB with it being a hybrid and you can certainly feel the difference.It handles well and you can get a fair old speed up on it.It did take a bit of getting used to and taking corners felt weird at first because it was lighter but i'm used to it now.
I'd certainly recommend it for road and lighter track cycling.I've already had a puncture but no tyre can hold out against stupidly discarded carpet tacks"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYR
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy so far.,
October 19, 2013
By ScottBelfast
from Greater Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very happy with it so far. Lovely smooth ride on the road, nice smooth gear changes. It's my first bike in years, and my first hybrid bike ever, and I'm very happy with the quality at this price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Bike,
October 10, 2013
By Carl82
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: the saddle
"This is a good hybrid bike for every day use at a reasonable price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality brand. Excellent price,
September 29, 2013
By TheDarkWright
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes, gears, build quality
Cons: seat
"I haven't had a real chance to get out on it yet but on the ride home it seemed very well built, great breaks and the gears are so easy to use! Well worth the money in my eyes, especially for a Carrera! The seats a bit hard so I'll definitely be changing that!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHARLTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera subway hybrid 18 inch,
August 12, 2013
By ABDUL3105
from Derby Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no cons
"Great bike, for commuting to work and leisure use. Purchased from Halfords at Wyvern store Derby. Great service, staff very friendly and helpful especially Jake. Bike ready for collection as advised and even received call to let me know it was ready. Can't fault Halfords will be going back."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good,
July 30, 2013
By Anonymous
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bike is not perfect. But for the price is very good value. The brakes are very good in all conditions and the ride is so much better than my previous bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike,
July 30, 2013
By johnners
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Superb bit of kit, excellent service from Halfords too. 2 days after collection the inner tube split, halfords replaced it, free of charge, as I waited. Nice one halfords :o)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
value for money,
July 25, 2013
By partialpete
from plymouth uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does what it says on the tin, easy for commuting or leisure riding, smooth ride and the gearing is about right for no specialist cycling"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway Supermans Bike,
July 20, 2013
By BarnicleBoy
from Eastham Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything. even the saddle. not hard at all
Cons: nothing
"I bought this bike from my local Halfords store in Bromborough. The staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. They talked me through my requirements and helped me make a decision on this bike. The service and set up was first class, as is the bike. I have had it a few days now and I have already put some serious hours in the saddle. I am very impressed. It is light and very responsive. The brakes are excellent. I can not fault it. If you want a reasonably priced bike to ride on roads and some minor off road then this is the bike for you. Fantastic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>