Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"

Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike Medium 18inch will get you noticed with its great looks and performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
86 of 87(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike,
August 16, 2014
By Stuart34
from Ayr, South Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been really pleased with all aspects of the purchase from Halfords - good support in placing order - very good value for money - and very good after sales support.
Also very pleased with the Carrera Subway bike which has performed very well as expected."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? AYR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes riding easy,
August 11, 2014
By Mark9680
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanted a bike that would be good for hills and the straights
Could not afford a the posh giants or boardmans when this
Subway came up at a good price thought I'd give it a go without any expectations but was happy with the over all performance the shimano gears work like a dream making easy work of the hills around porthmadog the double disc brakes are very responsive probably performs like the top makes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike,
August 11, 2014
By Snezy22
from Kingston upon Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"Cracking bike, rock solid, easy riding, perfect for getting me to work everyday !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all rounder,
August 11, 2014
By Joshuag1989
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the looks, the weight, top speed
Cons: the seat, somewhat unpredictable gear changes.
"I'm a fairly experienced cyclist who's had an array of types of bikes over the years for both stunt and road cycling.
I bought this with the intention to start riding a mixed trail route as part of my commute with both loose gravel on dirt and Tarmac stretches. This bike is perfect for this type of riding and copes with both incredibly well.
The gearing is great at both the top and bottom ends; The lowest being closer to a walking pace which is great for steep inclines. Whilst the top end just turning the gear over averages at 30mph and takes little effort to turn over.
The changes sometimes aren't quite as predictable as I'd like and slipped a cog going fairly fast; luckily avoiding a serious injury.
The brakes are good and work well even in torrential downpours which I found out the hard way!
The seat is a little uncomfortable but the profile is great, Its bare able for the time being.
The tyres are holding up and not showing any signs of wear either and offer grip on mixed surfaces.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
August 11, 2014
By skysurfers
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: well made, light, great for all round use
"Great bike for the money. I've used it mainly on tarmac and light trails and it has performed really well. It is quite light bike compared o my old one and it seems to be faster. The gears are also more close ratio and it gets going better. All in all a sound purchase for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for commuting and road riding,
August 10, 2014
By Jimzzy
from Kirkby Lonsdale, Carnforth, Cumbria LA6, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: weight, gears, brakes, saddle
Cons: fixed handle-bar stem
"I bought this bike when it was on offer, primarily for going to work on. We live in a rural location, with lots of hills. I wanted a bike that wasn't too heavy, with plenty of gears. The Carrera Subway is perfect. It weighs 13.5kg (I checked with some luggage scales) and has 24 gears. The brakes are good and the gear change is nice and smooth. The bike comes with road tires, so is perfect for my needs. It's also great for weekend rides, with a couple of 20 mile rides during the last couple of weeks. Overall, I would highly recommend this bike. Cheers Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking quality bike,
August 09, 2014
By cpandk
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality parts, stealth look, lightweight
Cons: non adjustable handlebars
"I ordered straight off the internet without visiting Halfords, purely based on other positive reviews. The bike is actually much better than I expected - It looks to have quality parts and the design makes it almost have a stealth appearance. The only negative I can find is that you can't seem to adjust the handlebars up and down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Alrounder,
August 09, 2014
By DarrenT1972
from Hastings
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike that is nice and light weight. Good value for money too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of bike for a little price!,
August 08, 2014
By WhyNotScott
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes, good derailleur and gear system., starting tyres (kendas) are more than decent., quality frame - welding is visible but clean and e, no suspension which is a positive thing for city, chunky mtb-type pedals :), light aluminium frame., looks great :) and the shape of the frame is perfe
Cons: nothing
"Highly recommended. Solid work on the bike frame and components; came set up well by Halfords in Rochdale.
For the price you are getting a lot of value. Looking for a hybrid bike in this price range? Your search may end here. That's if there are any left by the time you read this, as it is now 2014...
I cannot think of anything bad to say about this bike and I'm very satisfied with it. Excellent value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great looking bike,
August 07, 2014
By DazzyBee
from Hull, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A good Sturdy bike for everyday use. Halfords built it for me next day collection which was great for a quick birthday present.
They have excellent after sales support. After a few weeks they advised to bring it back to tighten everything up.
Any issues I'm told just to bring it back and they'll take a look at it free of charge. No complaints on the bike thus far.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
August 07, 2014
By Niall40
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good looking bike which was built by halfords with no fuss. Love it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very decent for the price,
August 06, 2014
By Rob87
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
"I'm not an expert and I mostly use this for a 15 minute commute to work, but this is a good bike that is exactly what I wanted for the price. It feels good to ride and after a month I've had no issues with it. I haven't used it for mountain biking yet but I will be doing once or twice a month. A good buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike!,
August 06, 2014
By JayCee66
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good spec.
Cons: nothing
"This is a great bike and excellent value for money. It looks good, is a comfortable ride and has a wide range of gearing to encompass steep hills whilst maintaining a decent cruising sped on the level. Love it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good all-rounder built to last,
August 04, 2014
By DJBaz
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: strong frame, quality mechs
Cons: seat is not for softies
"Bought this bike for commuting to work and it's a joy to ride, easily coping with potholes, kerbs and a bit of rough track. Good gearing ratios, decent brakes and reasonably light, it is efficient to use. Once you get used to the gear operation, using the 2 levers on each side, swift smooth changes are achievable with care. I really like it and it's a shame this range has come to an end. I hope the new models are as good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (HIGH STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good step up for my son,
August 04, 2014
By Mark2307
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the disc brakes, the gear ratio
"Having had several mountain bikes, my son is extremely pleased with this hybrid"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good all round value,
August 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Ormskirk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: for the money its great value
Cons: shame it doesn't have suspension
"Bought 2 of these for my son and I to get ourselves fit. Halfords did a good job of assembly and the quality for the cash is really there I have to say. Been out plenty of times in the last couple of weeks and so far no issues at all. We are doing about 50/50 road and canal track riding and the bikes seem to handle both well. I would say if you are a novice rider you will be pleased with one of these."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ORMSKIRK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
milne1477,
August 03, 2014
By milne1477
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very very happy with this bike. All round good bike for not a lot of cash really."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Subway Hybrid for Commuting,
August 02, 2014
By bikeman14
from Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: subtle design, smooth gears
"I bought this bike around 2 months ago to commute to and from work, around 7 miles each way.
I chose this bike as it was very reasonably priced and had all of the features I was looking for on a bike that would stand up to a tough, urban ride.
The gearing and drive-train on this bike have been brilliant, with little or no problems to mention and the mechanical disc brakes seem to stop me well enough even in wet conditions. However, the brakes do seem to grind a bit, which i am contributing to the brake pads, meaning I will be upgrading them soon.
The design is fantastic and I feel safe leaving this bike locked up outside all day as it has a subtle, matte black design that doesn't draw any unnecessary or unwanted attention.
Overall, a great bike for the price point.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (COULBY NEWHAM)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great performance and a great price to boot!,
July 30, 2014
By mrBeatz
from Morecambe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: top bike
"I bought this Carrera Subway to replace an ageing Raleigh mountain bike I have used for the past 10 years to commute to and from work every day (5 miles each way) It is labelled as a Hybrid and I agree it is a hybrid but has thicker tyres so can handle off roading too if you wanted-wouldnt be very comfortable though.
The first thing I noticed about it is how light and responsive it is compared to the old bike + it's quick-real quick!! I have already knocked 2 mins off my previous personal best time to and from work and I think I could (with a push) knock another minute off that too!
Build quality is fantastic/ solid frame good disc brakes and gear changes are relatively smooth, I say relatively because I believe they need some slight adjustments which I am looking forward to in 6 weeks when it has it's first free service at Halfords. Another thing I must add is it is an absolute stunner too! looks much nicer in the flesh than in any picture I have seen.
The only negative and it is a little harsh I guess but the seat is bloody uncomfortable and if my cheeks don't get used to it soon I think I will be replacing it, but other than that I cannot fault it.
Overall I am very happy about my purchase and would definitely recommend the Subway to anybody thinking of purchasing a hybrid bike.
mrBeatz"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy,
July 28, 2014
By Slimgrego
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gets me outdoors
"Yea have this bike a month or so... Best buy I ever made well worth the money....great bike , great price, great service... Thanks halfords...."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 1
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>