Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"

The Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike Extra Large 21inch is ideal for commuting to and from work.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
33 of 35(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Review 1 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT,
March 05, 2014
By Hayhog
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've never written a review ever but I feel I must because this bike is excellent for the money.
I was looking at all the popular brands and the extra £ 200 300 ain't worth it
I own a rockhopper comp ok the running gear is a bit smother but that's £ 200 300 extra plus the hydronic disc the cable ones are just as good.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poorly Put together,
January 28, 2014
By philhb
from Guildford
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a Carrera Crossfire from the Guildford branch, it looked good and seemed very good value for money. When i picked the bike up and got it home i found the saddle had been tighten crooked, the reflector was facing the wrong way and the additional mudguards were loose.
All minor things that could be rectified until i came to ride off and the pedal flew off, it had not been put on correctly and been cross threaded.
I went to Halfords and got a refund as what else would fall off.
Very poor as i am sure the bike is probably pretty good but lost total confidence in Halfords obvious lack of care and attention to detail."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
December 13, 2013
By Lee343
from Abingdon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks good
"bought this bike for my husband's early christmas present as his old one gave up a bit too early/. hubby loves it - he has to cycle 40 minutes every day to work and 40 mins back on roads as well as off. he says it is very light and fast due to good tyres."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
crossfire,
July 10, 2013
By kevsupermag
from newton aycliffe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"as good as expected if not better than the reviews I had read before purchase, excellent value for the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Bike,
June 26, 2013
By Cheefkeef
from East Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, brakes, comfortable ride
"I really enjoy riding this bike, gears are smooth, and operate quickly and quietly, and the brakes are excellent.
Overall, very good value, and a bike I can recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product got me back "on my bike",
June 24, 2013
By Bigladonabike
from Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes, gear controls
"Had not ridden a bike for a few years, bought a similar product for my youngest son at Christmas and he has clocked up a few miles and is well pleased, so I took that as a recommendation.
I have a larger than normal build so the build quality is important for me and thus far the bike seems to be ok with me in the saddle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good bike,
June 17, 2013
By tomo123344
from dunleer
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brake, shape of frame, good of road
Cons: saddle, tyre off road, noise of brake
"have the bike about 18 months now travelled about 600 miles now back axle snaped in half but overall very pleased with bike very quick on tarmac excellent offroad would consider offroad tyre as the tyre on it offer little or no grip brakes are excellent but sqeck alot get very annoying"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DROGHEDA (ROI)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Crossfire 2,
June 10, 2013
By Worzel68
from West Wycombe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightness, ease of going up hill
"Purchased this bike via the ride2work scheme, and it is a really great bike especially for the price. On tarmac it is very easy to pedal along with the minimal of effort and with the easy to opperate trigger shift gears going up hill is so much better than a standard mountain bike. I'm a tall lad and not the most slimmest, and the bike copes with myself absolutely fine giving a comfortable ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera crossfire 2,
June 07, 2013
By LittlePaul01
from Swindon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: q
"Nice comfortable ride and to date it fairly sturdy. Got a couple of punctures within a day and the tyres could be a little better but overall I'm very pleased with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
June 04, 2013
By Trillis
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I commute 10 miles a day on this bike. It's a considerable improvement over my last bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for the money,
June 03, 2013
By nigel23
from Faversham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all of it at present
"Prchased this following son in law buying a similar one, after first few rides everything seems very good, gears positive and smooth.
Excellent service from Herne Bay store when I went to collect it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent cycle,
May 20, 2013
By Nigel46
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic cycle all the mod cons,the only small thing I can criticise it for is the seat,they are obviously different to when I was a lad.
The gears are quality just like being in a sports car so easy to use by far a better system than the twist grip.
The ride quality and comfort is excellent even with the horse riders seat.
The brakes are out of this world and need to be used cautiously if stopping from speed or on gravel.
Over all a must buy it will save you hundreds,I was prepared to pay three times what I did and my pro rider mate is somewhat jealous he paid considerably more for his day to day cycle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Double purchase,
May 09, 2013
By Congo
from Wirral
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Recently bought Crossfire 2 bikes for myself and my wife. After two 10 mile rides they are ideally suited to our needs. Very easy to manage the hybrid gives a quality ride with easy gear change facilities. Excellent service from store staff and benefitted from discount when pre ordering on line. A great bike and good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant product for the price,
April 04, 2013
By Paulo0
from UK, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bike is fantastic value for money and well worth it ride is smooth and easy also very lite"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Great Bike,
April 03, 2013
By James197
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: really comfortable and easy to ride.
Cons: the seat can be harsh over longer distance.
"So just picked my bike from the store. I had it assemebled instore as my car is to small to get a bike in it. I have only done a few miles but in that time it has left a very good impression. It feels really light when you are riding it. My cruising speed is much higher then my old steel framed bike. The ride can be a bit harsh over long broken surfaces but I may have noticed this as my old bike was full suspension so I got use to a softer ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great hybrid bike,
March 23, 2013
By hp108
from Northampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast and easy to ride, an amazing all-rounder, a must-have hybrid bike
"I used to own a mountain bike to commute to work. However, I decided that I needed a bike that was fit for purpose.
The Carrera Crossfire 2 is an amazing bike. I ride to work and back effortlessly. The gears are smooth, and the suspension is able to absorb a bit of shock!
The service I received from Halfords Weedon Road was amazing. They built the bike the next day, and gave me all the information I needed.
It is a great bike for regular commuters!"
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carrera - only if you oil it every time,
March 18, 2013
By Rusty1bike
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Have just taken my new Carrera for its 6 week service. Apparently the chain and sprocket require replacement due to excessive rust! This is used as a commuter bike and lives either in a nice dry garage or undercover at the station. Supposedly you should wipe down and oil the chain after every use so if your are this diligent this is the bike for you!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb performance on a variety of surfaces.,
February 12, 2013
By SteSki7
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Carrera Crossfire 2 is ideally suited to both road and trail use. It is sturdy, not too heavy and relatively fast on road surfaces. An ideal hybrid bike which performs above expectations."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good large bike,
February 04, 2013
By Roger60
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm 6'3 with a bit of a bad neck. I wanted a new bike to change my cycling position to be more upright. I bought it wiith an adjustable head, but also bought a Sartori 4 stem extender.
Fantastic. It is light and flies, compared to my old steel bike.
Good service in the store, and I think, pretty good value.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Crossfire 2 Hybrid Bike - Extra Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Bike,
January 28, 2013
By Munkyboy
from St.Helens
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: styling, pannier rack mouting
Cons: saddle a bit too firm
"Having not been on a bike in nearly 17 years I stuck my neck out and bought this bike based on the reviews and recomendations on other forums. On my first trip out I managed to cycle 11 miles in just under two hours over a mix of singletrack, towpaths, roads and some serious ice and snow with a total elevation gain of 1200ft. The bike performed faultlessly and far exceeded my expectations!
The saddle was a bit too firm for my liking but a gel saddle cover sorted that out.
Had the bike for a week now and have done nearly 32 miles on it with no problems..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
12next>>