Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm

Featuring a terrific spec and design, the Carrera Vanquish Road Bike is a great performance bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Review 1 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great bike for a great price,
May 03, 2014
By usi227
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 10.5kg, price tag, shimano sora, mavic cxp 22 rims
Cons: no mudguard eyelets, no carbon fork, tektro brakes, saddle
"What drew me to this machine was the Shimano Sora 18 speed gearing. Its perfect for climbing up hills and it's relatively light too (I think its around 10.5kg). When I was in the market for a road bike, it was between the Boardman Road Sport (2013) and the Vanquish. I opted for the Vanquish, simply because its a bit cheaper and similarly specced. 18 speed gearing is perfect for your "average fitness" rider, unlike the Carrera TDF which I believe is 16 speed, you''d be surprised but it makes a huge difference. I've got clip-less pedals at the moment, bikehut ones. I only have a couple of complaints about this bike, firstly there's no carbon fork and secondly the saddle is pretty uncomfortable but of course you can change that. I will end with a quick note for anyone wanting to buy this bike. If you are 5 foot 7-10 like me, consider the smaller 51cm frame size, Halford's only seem to stock the 54cm frame in store, ask if they can order it in, believe me, having the right size will transform you ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WICKHAM RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product,
September 24, 2013
By CallumG96
from Ipswich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the speed
Cons: seat is abit thin
"The product is so light and small and easy to move about in slow moving traffic. So good for its valve and all in all great buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm,
June 05, 2013
By jjtech56
from telford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: crisp gear changes wheels, very stylish
Cons: none
"after comparing this bike to several others i decided that the spec offered for the price made this an easy choice..mavic wheels ..sora rear changer..was the clincher.
it must be said that halfords staff went out of there way to get the bike delivered to the telford store and the quality of build was faultless.
first impression was tyres needed changing and i went for gatorskins..not only looked good but higher quality then stock tyres.
on the road the bike glides with v ery crisp gear changes and is geared to make easy work of most hills.
the bikes brakes are first class and swiftly bring the bike to halt from 25 mph easily obtained on the flat.
overall a good choice over more expensive makes
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Bike,
May 29, 2013
By Phill1176
from Northumberland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality running gear, high quality feel
Cons: pedals
"I was in two minds, either to get this Vanquish or Boardman Road Sport and I have to say i'm pleased I got Vanquish. The bike feels top quality on the road and puts the power down well, some reviews highlight the harsh ride from the forks but I haven't found this a problem. The only thing i'd recommend is changing the pedals to Shimano SPD'S. Apart from that i'd recommend this bike to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent starting out bike,
April 16, 2013
By Paullilley33
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had the bike 14 days now and ride 20 miles a day. Comfortable ride and able to get up some good speed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
April 04, 2013
By Rob12
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the rims
"This bike has a fantastic spec. and is well worth the money you pay for it! A great entry level road bike which will serve the rider well in all areas."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011 - Large,
February 24, 2013
By Easy2013
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value for money, quality components, fast and comfortable ride, good balanced bike overall
Cons: wiring of the cables - looks not practical, carbon fork was downgrad in 2012ed, supplied peddals - disaster must be removed, not compatible with 28 mm tyres - 2012 model
"I own Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011 - this is excellent bike and very good value for money, one of the best you can find on the market.
Carrera Vanquish is very fast bike - I have no problems going 25 mph on flat.
I did not have any problems with Halfords assembly, though some people complain about it on forums - it is probably not consistent from shop to shop.
I upgraded Halfords pedals to road pedals, tyres to Continental GP and carbon seat post.
Carrera Vanquish can be converted to commuter bike: mounts for mud guards are available, also 2011 model is compatible with 28 mm road tyres.
Unfortunately 2012 model was downgraded - carbon fork was replaced with aluminum fork (less ride comfort) and also it is no longer compatible with 28 mm tyres AFAIK.
I did not take a risk buying cheaper Carrera models, mainly because you get lower quality components.
If you buy Carrera Vanquish second hand, I would recommend getting 2011 year model over 2012 year model.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent entry level road bike,
December 30, 2012
By Billyboy007
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: high spec for the price
Cons: could have a better paint job
"Upgraded to a road bike from a hybrid and currently cycling about 200km per week. The Vanquish is a good bike with very decent spec components for the price. Tektro brakes are spot on and the shimano gears and integrated shifters are so much easier to use. Mavic rims have been robust on the not so smooth uk/local road surfaces. Thoroughly pleased so far and would recommend this bike for entry level bike to anyone thinking of dipping their toe in the road bike waters."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent road bike,
October 28, 2012
By Callaway570
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I got into cycling at the start of this year and have bought this and a mountain bike. The Carerra Vanquish is an excellent rad bike, really good value for money. I have done a few long rides on this so far and it has been a great experience. Having spoken to some other riders who have other brands, I think Carerra is a really good less expensive alternative.
The only issue is the gear - these are not the smoothest.
As always, Halfords staff were really useful who put this bike together really well and were very thorough with the 6 week service too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value purchase,
May 11, 2012
By mea1
from Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nice light,rigid bike, good value for money.Gears could be a bit smoother.I ride 60 - 80 miles a week so far a good buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would buy agian,
April 25, 2012
By Tjfhunter
from Bicester, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent bike, rides really well, specs bit different an advertises ( wheel are mavic not shimano)but still of good quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
April 05, 2012
By mthomson3
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good bike for the price, well put together by the halfords staff who were very helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Vanquish Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road bike,
October 12, 2011
By Fozy
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been after a road bike for some time so I purchased this with cycle to work .
Excellent value for money dose everything it's suppose to.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+12points
33out of 54found this review helpful.