Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm

Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike is equipped with the best of the best for the best of the best riders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
78 of 79(99%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Review 1 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Outstanding!!!,
April 15, 2014
By Jake2176
from Camberley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the handles, gears, brakes, wheels
"This is my first road bike. The bike itself handles exceptionally well and moves ever so quick. Even though i have only had it about a day i can see the quality and craftsmanship that has gone into it and i know its not going to let me down!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bike which was advertised well turned out to be a disappointment,
April 08, 2014
By TrekkieDan
from Cornwall
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: forks plastic bracket failure, gear failure, water absorbing in frame, forks corroding and rusting rapidly
"Consistent faults with the bike, too much to put into detail with what went wrong! Terrible bike steer well clear and buy something worthwhile!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UNREAL,
April 03, 2014
By HAV007
from Derby uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"70 miles cycled so far, fast smooth and most of all no punctures??? Thats a first for me, so won't change them until I have to. Handles like a dream. Very fast and responsive. The seat is even comfortable on the sit bones. Bike looks very attractive and colour coded perfectly. Cannot fault this bike at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Virtuoso,
March 24, 2014
By DM1701
from Biggleswade
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light fast slick gear changes great brakes
Cons: toe clips and straps
"After considerable research I took the plunge and bought the Virtuoso from the Biggleswade branch. I bought it online and used a discount code and the recycle scheme to get the bike at a great price, making a fantastic entry level bike cheaper still, and giving someone else the chance to start cycling.
Aiden and the manager at Biggleswade were brilliant and got the bike sized up for me and assembled without fuss.
Forget all the other reviews you read about the questionable bikeset ups, come to Biggleswade and see Aiden or the Manager and they'll sort you out perfectly.
Regarding the bike itself, this is my first Road bike, having been trundling along on a 5yr old mountain bike (which weighed about the same as a chieftain tank) for the last 5 months.
First time out on the bike and I reduced the time on my normal route from 32 mins to 25.
Third time out and I've got it down to 23 mins.
This bike literally glides along the road and is really quick and light. Hills are no problem at all. I had no problems with the range of gears, and there a few testing ones near here. And don't worry about the gear selectors, you really will get used to them quickly and they are proper slick and precise.
The brakes are spot on too. I've got a dodgy hip so the toe clips and straps needed to be removed, which I did at home, without any fuss. For me, the regular pedals (minus toe clips and straps ) are absolutely fine, although I've not been out in the rain yet, but for the more serious amongst you, you may wish to change the pedals.
All in all, my first few days with the bike have been fantastic, it's light, fast, and so much fun you'll be looking for a longer route home!
Thanks again to Aiden and the Manager at Biggleswade, who made the whole purchase experience a pleaseure - a great bike and a great team at Biggleswade. Happy days!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
180k here I come,
March 16, 2014
By CorkSpurs
from Cork
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall quality
Cons: pedals
"With advice instore and researching reviews of this bike I went ahead and made the purchase.
Having been used to mountain bikes, (my last road bike was a Raleigh many moons ago)this was quite a change. Having been out on several rides already I have to say like others I hate the provided pedals and toe clips and will be swapping this asap.
Aside from that this is a quality great light weight road bike to get me back on the saddle and preparing for a 180k charity cycle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1st road racing bike for 20 years,
March 10, 2014
By batch99
from banbury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Wanting to get fit, purchased this bike and so far cycled nearly 35 miles on 3 runs.
Very pleased with the bike, light, strong, and once I am used to the new style gears, fast.
One member of staff at Halfords Banbury(sorry cannot remember name), had the same bike, he was extremely helpful, and recommended a couple of upgrades to add to the bike in time.
As mentioned the gears are taking a little getting used too, I also find they will need some adjusting at the free check up/service.
I cannot compare this bike to others as I haven't rode any others. But I am very happy with this and would recommend it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good!!!,
February 09, 2014
By claudiu
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"is the firs road bike for me....and i`m very satisfied!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value for money,
December 18, 2013
By Bush73
from Halifax
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, brakes, saddle, look of bike
"I bought this bike on the "bike 2 work" scheme a few weeks back and couldn't be happier. Really chuffed with how it rides, only thing I've changed are the pedals and only because I put my existing SPD's on instead. Gears and brakes are really smooth, and I've had no problems at all with tyres (despite what a few reviewers say!). I think this is a great looking bike and really good value for money, would definitely recommend.
Bike wasn't built as promised when I arrived at store to collect, but was pretty much built anyway, and only takes around 15 minutes to assemble.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 weeks, 1000 miles, 1 puncture, 1 crash and a really happy rider,
November 17, 2013
By SimonO74
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, comfort, ease of riding, neutral handling
"As you might guess from the title I've only had the bike for a short time, but I've also put some miles on it. The bike is used for commuting and a bit of leisure riding being bought to save my main bike from the ravages of winter yet not be as heavy as my old hybrid.
It is very comfy, brakes and gears fall to hand when riding and it looks good too. The components are a good spec with people asking questions about the pedals and tyres.
Pedals are fine; I have got size 9 feet and had no problems (bend the toe clips up to make getting in easier; they are usually squashed from being packed).
Tyres I'm not so sure; I had an off when I slipped on a wet white line; not sure if it is tyres or maybe there was some diesel on the road, but there was no bloom. I've since swapped them as they didn't have a lot of tread and it is coming on to winter after all.
I've given it 5 stars for performance; while it obviously isn't going to be the fastest bike on the road, it is darn fine value for money and I've achieved a few Strava top tens with it, a number of PR's and had a lot of fun in the process.
I certainly haven't been disappointed with it, it has beaten my expectations while the support from Joe and Andy at my local branch (Leeds Kirkstall) has been outstanding."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great value bike,
October 25, 2013
By nav07
from South Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great equipment, good quality fittings
Cons: change the pedals to spd's
"I have been cycling for quite some time so wanted something to go on the roads around South Yorkshire but didn't want to spend megabucks in case it was trashed or stolen.
So I chose this one and its been brilliant. It has loads of equipment, its light and fast and I'm really pleased with it. Its hilly round here and it zips up and down very nicely.
A friend who really knows his bike looked at it and said that for the money (I purchased it when it was on offer) I can't go wrong.
All in all its been fantastic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great bike and a great buy,
October 22, 2013
By Kellogs14
from Basingstoke, Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, great overall look
"An excellent bike. I wanted a road bike to start taking part in some night riding with a friend and to use a better bike than my old mountain bike - this bike seemed like a good buy and the servicing available made me choose this one and I'm glad I did. Doing the same routes as usual I am going about 7 minutes quicker without doing anything different! Very easy to ride and the gears are easy to use. A great purchase for someone interested in starting using a road bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems=no complaints!,
October 17, 2013
By klaus17
from W Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it's light to me.
"Good bike for the cost of it, we all get what we pay for!
"Thanks very much" to Nigel in Bognor Regis for not letting me leave the store with a bike too small for me!, (it has been a few years and a bit more!)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value for money.,
October 14, 2013
By Mamil1172
from Corby, Northants
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall build quality, styling
Cons: gears, tyres
"I bought this product back in July after months of research into other makes. I felt I was paying extra just for a name. The chap in Halfords Kettering was really well informed and incredibly patient, explaining all the various features and changes to bikes since " the olden days" and for the cost of a years gym membership I was sorted. The gears continue to be an issue from time to time but I'm learning how to adjust them myself. DO make sure you junk the original tyres. After about 400 miles they developed alarming bulges and kinks and I now have Conti's
Gator Skins (from Halfords!) and what a difference. I no longer feel like I'm riding over a cattle grid either. The bike is obviously built to a price but honestly I don't think you'll get better for the money - unless you snap up Cav's end of season bike!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
over 21,
September 08, 2013
By ish73
from teeside
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"good bike for the money overall good value
bad points tyres are rubbish recommend buying better quality tyres before taking bike home
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent 1st bike,
September 05, 2013
By Anonymous
from Shrewsbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the gear shift and breaks all in one
Cons: none!
"I decided to get fit and not having ridden a road bike in over 25 years elected for this one. It was a toss up between this and one off the internet and I am so glad I went with this. The bike is exceptional value for money and is a great ride. One of the main factors of going with this was the fact I would be buying from Halfords, where my local branch is just down the road from me, I confess that there were a few teething problems after they built it, but after a return visit everything was sorted and I am a very very happy customer (have to point out I would not of had this if I'd bought from an on line store).
I can not recommend the bike or Halfords enough. If you choose to buy one of these..........you will NOT b3 disappointed.
I now ride between 20 and 30 miles a day and could wish for a better first bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelieveable,
August 29, 2013
By NandoCav
from Home Counties
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the bike, the shop
Cons: seats a bit hard
"It's so good,i bougt it and ever since ive just been on it all the time and when im not i want to be. The gears take a little while getting used to but after that it just happens subconsciously.
The people in Halfords were just so helpful, they called when it was ready, it was built immaculately, they put all these extra things on it like bump, water cagem lock and lights on it in almost no time at all. The guy showed me how everything worked and gave me advice on how to get started like just startslow to get used to the bike.
I can't wait until i can go on very long bike rides so i can be on my bike for so long because it is such an enjoyable feeling!
Thank you Halfords...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome,
August 28, 2013
By Anonymous
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have used this bike for my work commute of 30kms daily for over 4 months now and I must say there has been not a single problem with it. Its absolutely brilliant. I still wonder why would someone go and spend 1-2k on a roadbike..
Also Halfords have been brilliant with their great service and tips on using bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product has great features,
August 05, 2013
By Artur7
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Recently purchased this bike as part of my cycle to work scheme and am very happy with it, lightweight frame and good performance. Great value for money, recently I decided to upgrade the pedals very slippery the originals not good to ride when is raining"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ILFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
carrera virtuoso,
August 04, 2013
By Steven1230
from wigan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
". 1st bike for 20yrs a bit dubious about buying due to other reviews saying tyres need changing and pedals not so good. But no probs so far with tyres.not been out in wet though. You get used to pedals. Great bike for price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bike,
August 01, 2013
By 3rdhorseman
from derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike to replace an old mountain bike for my daily commute. After reading a lot of reviews I came to the conclusion that this was the best bike I could get within my budget. After cycling 15 miles a day on my commute for 3 weeks now I couldn't be happier. Solid and reliable so far, good brakes and nice smooth gear changes. Several reviews suggest replacing the pedals and tyres, I personally find the standard ones perfectly ok but they do feel like the lowest quality parts on the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHBOURNE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1234next>>