Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm

Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike is equipped with the best of the best for the best of the best riders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
90 of 92(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Review 1 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Virtuoso,
July 28, 2014
By Promac
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My first bike in years done a few miles on it and enjoyed it loads easy to use and does the job recommend to any new cyclists"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike, good price,
July 17, 2014
By kc9400
from Gosport
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I'm really new to riding road bikes. I've owned this bike for 3 weeks now and have put a few miles on it.
I've not had any issues so far.
I changed the pedals to SPDs and haven't seen any reason to change to tires just yet.
(give it a few more miles and we'll see if the other reviews stand true)
I could use a few more gears.... so may try and change that at some stage."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good,
July 13, 2014
By Diggles123
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast light good looking
Cons: pedals
"I was looking to purchase a road bike to join my cycling enthusiast partner. As an absolute novice I was looking for a cheap option that wasn't too clumpy and basic. After speaking to a lovely lady in the Welwyn Garden shop (Jane I think) she talked me into the Carerra TDF which looked really good value.
After a little research it turned out that the Virtuoso is lighter, better gearing etc etc for not lot extra money.
In a nutshell I plumbed for this and ordered online to collect from Luton. On arrival I was slightly disappointed to say they only had the display model available but they knocked off more money so it was cheaper than the TDF.
I'm so glad I chose this one. I've been out on it 4 times this week and it's easy to ride, the gears and smooth and have a nice range for hills etc and feels pretty light to me.
Plus, it's fast. Faster than any non-motorised vehicle I have ever been on but the brakes cope admirably in stopping the bike.
I think I'll eventually change the pedals but currently, I cannot fault the Virtuoso. I may even get into this cycling lark!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 miles a day,
July 05, 2014
By LillysDad
from Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: look, value, weight
Cons: tyres
"Have been using this bike for my commute for the past year and for the money paid it was well worth it. Like others here mainly used mtb to get around and after taking advise from a few peple took the plunge and got this road bike.
The bike is a comfortable ride, I cover about 20 miles a day with it and havnt had any major problems yet.
White striped tyres that came with the bike, I managed to rip a hole in the side of within the first few weeks, and when using them I found that functures happended pretty much every ride. Upgraded the tyre to a pair of Continental Gatorskins and no more problems, I think they maybe indestructable.
Gearing is a bit clicky and dosnt always go where i want it to but that may be me thrashing the bike around rather than a real problem.
Havnt had any pedal problems, did replace with Shimano SPD's but the cleats came lose and flew off so back to originals now ( which i prefer tbh)
Overall I really like the bike and if your looking for a commute bike that looks good and does the buisness for a reasonable price look no further.
would budget in for changing the tyre's though as ou will 100% need to"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great entry level bike,
July 04, 2014
By Ryan99
from Lochwinnoch, Renfrewshire PA12, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks, good quality components, value for money
Cons: pedals, a little heavy
"I have had this for about 4 weeks now and been out reguarly on it and I have really enjoyed using it. I love the way the bike looks with the white and blue frame .So far everything everything has been up to standard I have had no punctures and no problems with any of the components. Brakes have worked well the gear changing is nice and smooth. Well worth the money I paid and halfords are very helpful and they provide a free 6 week service which shall be very handy. The downsides are it's a little heavy and the pedals can get a little annoying over time but over I think it is a really great and good value road bike ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
new cycle,
June 25, 2014
By alan2377
from port tlbot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: zero
"just bought this new bike at the port talbot branch very comfortable bike and great value ,also the staff at the branch were excellent with their service and advice ,listened to the requirements i wanted and the use i would get out of a new bike , no hard sell just good old fashioned customer service ,cant thank them enough"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PORT TALBOT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 weeks gone, nearly 200 miles and loving it!,
June 17, 2014
By BlueBell79
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: style and value
Cons: toe clips/pedals
"Have not been on a racer/road bike for nearly 20 years and decided to make my 25 mile round trip to work easier by upgrading from my hybrid bike. Wish I had done it sooner!!
Very enjoyable bike for a very good price. Could not get used to the toe clips so had to remove them and will most likely change the pedals in the near future but apart from that the bike has been excellent. No issues with tyres despite the terrible Glasgow roads. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase, I am 6ft 2in and find the bike comfortable enough. The ride is good, the gears are smooth and it brakes well. You will not find a better bike for this value and roll on the next 200 miles
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very happy,
June 16, 2014
By john533
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Originally I was buying the Carrera tdf I had ordered this on the Christmas pay scheme where you put a deposit on the bike and pay up till Christmas so when I came to collect it on Christmas eve they brought it out and it was the wrong size so they offered me the Carrera virtuoso which was a higher spec I had a look and was very impressed
So never been on a proper road bike always had a mtb so went out on it and loved it its so light fast the gears are smooth and just love how easy it is to change up and down gears with out fuss its so different from riding a mtb its helped me to go further im not into all the cycle talk just know how to ride and do some basic repairs would buy again from halford and already eyeing up my next mtb"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera virtuoso,
June 16, 2014
By Neston99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ride
Cons: pedals
"This was my first road bike and really happy with the ride. Great on the road although very big hills are quite tough going but great for training rides. Advise changing the pedals. But otherwise recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 months on,
June 12, 2014
By jaktar
from north yorks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"bought the bike last year and I had previously read the reports, the tyres have been changes as they went out of shape within first 200 miles. New tyres are a lot better, low level gearing could be better but generally I have had no problems on hills.
The handle bars do transmit the road conditions through your hands, overcome this with gel gloves.
I do like the bike and you will not be let down for the mony paid.
"
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic first road bike!,
June 07, 2014
By GM1982
from Dundee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was my first purchase of a road bike. Decided to spend a wee bit extra and I wasn't disappointed.
Fantastic to ride. Highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to make the change from a mountain bike.
Feels great to ride and great to look at."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent bike for the money,
May 31, 2014
By windatints
from Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for moneyquality
Cons: tyres and toe clips
"I have had this bike for 6 weeks now.so far so good.i find it fairly fast.i can do a 40 mile ride in under 2 hours now so its not bad.its comfortable to ride the gearing is well spaced and its a smart looking bike as well.the only things I dont like are the tyres and the toe clips on the pedals.i have replaced the tyres with better ones now and the pedals are next.overall its a cracking bike for the money and I would recommend buying one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the price,
May 28, 2014
By JPDEVON
from South devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks price and speed
Cons: chatty on front fork
"I have had my virtuoso for just over 6 weeks and covered just over 200 miles, no trouble with tyres yet, gear change very smooth, a little chatty on the front fork but you get use to that, and you can keep up with with other riders who have spent a lot more on there bikes you just need to think ahead for hills to change gears sooner, over all what a bike,looks good, and the miles just disappear, why spend more. I have not changed the peddles as I have got the hang of them when you stop lean on post's or hand rails feet can stay in peddles."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as good as I'd hoped,
May 25, 2014
By Trev62
from South East
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: price, reliability
Cons: pedals, tyres, seat, comfort
"The tyres aren't up to much, squirmy and skittish. The pedals are a joke. The seat is hard and the bar tape just doesn't cut it when riding over 20 miles, making the ride uncomfortable at best. Replace these and you've got a reasonable if slightly heavy ride. Only having 16 gears means the low end spacing is quite marked making it difficult to maintain a steady cadence, changing ip and down because the right gear isn't there.
Wish I'd spent a little more getting something lighter with better gearing and not requiring so many upgrades out of the box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Virtuoso,
May 06, 2014
By Jicks
from Gosport, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price value for money, quick
Cons: a bit heavy
"Having returned to riding I wanted something cheap and reliable as a commuter and bit of fun. The guys at our local Halfords were great. I had SPD pedals fitted which was a good move. I have done a few 30 mile plus rides and I must admit was pleasantly surprised. It goes well can get up hills reasonably well and is responsive. It is a little slow to get up the hills as it is a little on the heavy side, but it will get there. I have had no problems with the gears, brakes or wheels and must have done a couple of hundred miles on it so far. My only complaint is the binding on the handlebars is a little spartan and vibration is a little harsh particularly on country roads. All in all it is a good value machine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Outstanding!!!,
April 15, 2014
By Jake2176
from Camberley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the handles, gears, brakes, wheels
"This is my first road bike. The bike itself handles exceptionally well and moves ever so quick. Even though i have only had it about a day i can see the quality and craftsmanship that has gone into it and i know its not going to let me down!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bike which was advertised well turned out to be a disappointment,
April 08, 2014
By TrekkieDan
from Cornwall
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: forks plastic bracket failure, gear failure, water absorbing in frame, forks corroding and rusting rapidly
"Consistent faults with the bike, too much to put into detail with what went wrong! Terrible bike steer well clear and buy something worthwhile!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
-2points
9out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UNREAL,
April 03, 2014
By HAV007
from Derby uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"70 miles cycled so far, fast smooth and most of all no punctures??? Thats a first for me, so won't change them until I have to. Handles like a dream. Very fast and responsive. The seat is even comfortable on the sit bones. Bike looks very attractive and colour coded perfectly. Cannot fault this bike at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Virtuoso,
March 24, 2014
By DM1701
from Biggleswade
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light fast slick gear changes great brakes
Cons: toe clips and straps
"After considerable research I took the plunge and bought the Virtuoso from the Biggleswade branch. I bought it online and used a discount code and the recycle scheme to get the bike at a great price, making a fantastic entry level bike cheaper still, and giving someone else the chance to start cycling.
Aiden and the manager at Biggleswade were brilliant and got the bike sized up for me and assembled without fuss.
Forget all the other reviews you read about the questionable bikeset ups, come to Biggleswade and see Aiden or the Manager and they'll sort you out perfectly.
Regarding the bike itself, this is my first Road bike, having been trundling along on a 5yr old mountain bike (which weighed about the same as a chieftain tank) for the last 5 months.
First time out on the bike and I reduced the time on my normal route from 32 mins to 25.
Third time out and I've got it down to 23 mins.
This bike literally glides along the road and is really quick and light. Hills are no problem at all. I had no problems with the range of gears, and there a few testing ones near here. And don't worry about the gear selectors, you really will get used to them quickly and they are proper slick and precise.
The brakes are spot on too. I've got a dodgy hip so the toe clips and straps needed to be removed, which I did at home, without any fuss. For me, the regular pedals (minus toe clips and straps ) are absolutely fine, although I've not been out in the rain yet, but for the more serious amongst you, you may wish to change the pedals.
All in all, my first few days with the bike have been fantastic, it's light, fast, and so much fun you'll be looking for a longer route home!
Thanks again to Aiden and the Manager at Biggleswade, who made the whole purchase experience a pleaseure - a great bike and a great team at Biggleswade. Happy days!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Virtuoso Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 54cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
180k here I come,
March 16, 2014
By CorkSpurs
from Cork
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall quality
Cons: pedals
"With advice instore and researching reviews of this bike I went ahead and made the purchase.
Having been used to mountain bikes, (my last road bike was a Raleigh many moons ago)this was quite a change. Having been out on several rides already I have to say like others I hate the provided pedals and toe clips and will be swapping this asap.
Aside from that this is a quality great light weight road bike to get me back on the saddle and preparing for a 180k charity cycle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>