Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm

You will be whizzing along in no time at all with the Carrera TDF Road Bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.587 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
61
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
0
188 of 194(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
86 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Review 1 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth the 'on offer' price...,
March 19, 2014
By tore9773
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: rim quality, acceleration, long term comfort
Cons: oe tyres, cheap pedals, average braking capability
"Purchased on a promotion offer, this bike has turned out to be a good value commuter/ trainer. I've so far covered approx. 1,500 miles. There's some noticeable flex in the frame when giving it 'large', and the front gear change mech slightly rubs the chain in top gear, even on its limit of adjustment, but I've used worse. Main points (as mentioned by other reviews) is Kendas have to be changed for gatorskin ultras IMMEDIATELY, as tyres are like clingfilm, and the pedals are truly 'shocking.' I have however, found the rims to be exceptionally strong and have needed no maintenance so far. Only other upgrade required soon will be brake units to some budget Campagnolo's, to give a more solid feel. These points considered, I would recommend as a good 'entry' level purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good,
March 15, 2014
By rosey911
from durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike in the summer of last year, to date I have done over a thousand miles on it in and around the Durham countryside.
Tyres....changed them within 100 mile, far to many punctures.
Pedals...just changed them in the last week, stated to click, but they did last.
The TDF was my first road bike, once ridden I was hooked. A cracking ride even at speeds in excess of forty mile an hour I still feel confident enough to tuck in pedal.
As for halfords in Durham, theres a young lad works in there who knows everything about bikes, I could talk to this lad for hours, plus I had a slight problem with the gears slipping he told me to bring it in and he fixed it there and then, the guy is a credit to halfords.
All in all this bike is well worth the money for a starter bike, it will easily go in excess of 40 mile an hour safely, my advice would be change the tyres ASAP it will save you a load of aggravation.
Barry"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap components ruin the experience,
February 15, 2014
By Spike1981
from Oxford
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: frame maybe?
Cons: everything else
"I held off reviewing this bike until I had used it, in all conditions, for more than a few weeks to get a well rounded opinion. Verdict? Cheap rubbish:
-In two years, I have completely worn out the drive train just by commuting and occasional weekend rides. It needed replacing in full.
-Tires are ridiculously prone to punctures. I got about 2 or 3 punctures a month until I replaced them with better quality ones.
-Pedals are very prone to rust as, are the quick releases levers. Both replaced.
-No carbon forks so vibrations on less than perfect roads are a big issue.
-plastic gear/break levers are far too flexible to give total confidence in use.
In all I've probably spent 50% to 60% of the value of this bike fixing things when they've gone wrong.
Please: spend a bit more and get an entry level machine from a proper manufacturer, as I wish I'd done...."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
February 01, 2014
By marc10
from fareham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"Well as a mountain biker who punishes himself on 30 mile rides on his mountain bike on the road, I decided to bite the bullet and buy a road bike.i went for the tdf as the reviews id read had been fairly positive.well im astonished to be honest, brilliant bike, well built, fast, and so much easier to ride than my mountain bike, I just love it, how they do it for the low cost I will never know.i upgraded the tyres to gatorskins and changed the pedals to make a great bike...if your not sure about which road bike to buy...look no further...the tdf for the money is simply unbeatable...well done halfords and the staff at the fareham branch were just great..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best road bike!,
January 18, 2014
By Tobs
from Dawlish warren
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"This is the best bike if you a beginner or an enthusiast! I love it so much! Honestly this is the business."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
January 07, 2014
By chay5875
from birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: front chainset
"Excellent bike, very happy with everything only one very small observation could do with a compact chainset"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera tdf,
January 03, 2014
By Mck10
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: standard pedals
"I bought the tdf as my first road bike a few months ago when it was in a previous sale. As this was my first road bike, I didn't want to spend lots of money on a better branded bike and find I didn't enjoy cycling and end up leaving it in the shed! As it happens, I now love cycling and am more than happy with the bike, and get out on it as much as I can. The only thing I didn't like were the standard pedals, as they felt a bit flimsy, so I changed these as soon as I could. I am extremely happy with the bike, and even though I have nothing to compare it to, I think the ride is smooth and the bike is well built. Having racked up quite a few miles on it now, I can say that I am very happy with the tdf and have no plans of upgrading any time soon."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first road bike,
January 02, 2014
By kevt1964
from norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: frame
Cons: pedals
"Got this as part of a bundle with a trainer
Really please with it and got great service at local store
you will want to change the pedals though
Apart from that all is well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TDF,
November 29, 2013
By patriot1423
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought the TDF two weeks ago, staff were excellent, good service and I am over the moon with the bike (except the pedals)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Starter Bike,
November 17, 2013
By oldmanpanda
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quick and light enough
"I have only ever had mountain bikes before, so the first time I got on this bike was quite a shock! It's quick, light and I still haven't managed to get it to top speed without feeling rather scared! I'm sure if I were an expert there are many things that can be changed on this bike, but as far as I can see, if I'm struggling up a hill or not getting enough speed on the flat then it's more likely my lack of fitness than the bike itself. For myself, cycling about 30 miles a week in evenings and weekends, this bike is brilliant, seems well built and is getting me fit, and so far the service I have had from my local store has been very good"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tdf,
November 11, 2013
By Tommy22
from Southport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great looking bike
Cons: the pedals and tyres
"Great bike very poor pedals change them for normal bike pedals and change the tires for gatorskins I had 2 flat tires in 3 days but overall a great bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF - WOW LOAD OF AWSOME ON TWO WHEELS!,
November 03, 2013
By Davew24
from Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the paintwork, brakes
"I'd like to start by saying WOW. what a brilliant machine.
I've never had a road bike but after seeing the half price offer online I jumped all over her.
As soon as I picked her up I took her for a long ride. I thrashed her for an hour and a half and was smiling all the way. She took the lot. Very smooth and fast.
Smooth gear changes. Good hard build. A pleasure to spend time with.
I would recommend the tdf to anyone.
I've no negatives on the pedals. They work well.
Great price and build. Very happy chappy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price,
November 01, 2013
By glennamy
from CO10
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike for what I need
Great price, bought as bundle with the Elite turbo trainer
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUDBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012,
October 27, 2013
By Pefi
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the whole finish of the bike
Cons: bumps on the road
"Won't repeat other comments about how great the bike is.
The brakes on my old 'racer' had a bar that you pull on in the upright position - I do miss that.
Would like to comment on a possible SOLUTION to the peddle straps.
They are floppy and catch the trainers anywhere possible - hard to get the foot into or out of. I was going to make do with them in favour of lights and mud guards
but they are tooo awkward.
As a SOLUTION I took off the straps, flattened them on the table and wiped them with some rubber compatible thin glue - not the bicycle repair stuff (don't think that will work as well).
Upon letting the glue dry and putting them back in place, they formed a nice oval shape in which to insert or extract my foot, as oppose to the floppy things that obscured the insertion point and caught on the trainers on the way out.
They are much better now for a few pence worth of glue,."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, for everyday usage and long rides.,
October 26, 2013
By Ajaygill
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use gears and very smooth to use.
Cons: pedal straps annoy you when in traffic
"Not had any issues with the bike as of yet, and I'm training with it for a charity bike ride from London to Paris!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good starter road bike,
October 23, 2013
By bert46
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If like me you've been thinking about getting into road bikes for a while, this is an excellent bike to get you hooked.
There are better and more expensive entry level bikes out there, but this Carrera is perfect for a year or two. Then as you get thebug you will probably start researching better spec bikes.
But for the price this is all you'll need for now.
Fast, stylish and sturdy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera road bike tdf,
October 21, 2013
By roller73
from ormskirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought this bike in the sale and have only done about 80 mls so far.It is a good entry level road bike and feels well built,with quality parts.The only thing I don't like are the cage style pedals included and would advise buyers invest in better pedals."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ORMSKIRK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
October 21, 2013
By Tuz28
from Huddersfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks good, light weight, fast, comfy ride
Cons: pedals
"Bought this bike last week and ended up getting the 58CM which was too big, took it back to get the 54CM (medium) with no issues what so ever.
The bike is light, looks good, easy to build (if your DIY) and picks up speed incredibly quick, the new style gear shifting is a breeze and much easier to use too, great beginners bike.
The pedals are OK, not the best and would recommend changing them asap, its quite difficult to ride and slip you feet in to the pedal cages as well as keep and eye on the road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
October 20, 2013
By cyclenut45
from sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: riding position, smooth gears
Cons: pedals
"Wanting to progress from a mountain bike to a road bike I chose this one for it's great price and build quality. The riding position is comfortable and it has a smooth gear change."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera TDF Road Bike - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrerra tdf,
October 19, 2013
By gutman
from solihull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"relative novice to bikes but very impressed smooth fast ride for intro type level"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SHELDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12345...10next>>