Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm

You will be whizzing along in no time at all with the Carrera TDF Road Bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.572 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (201 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
64
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
193 of 199(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Review 1 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good return to road biking,
July 21, 2014
By dw50
from Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"A good road bike, but had to change the gearing. Rear cassette now 30/11 a much better for climbing the hills round here."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great bike to start road cycling on,
July 08, 2014
By J90K
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: pedals
"This bike was an upgrade on an older road bike and is the difference from that has been noticeable. It's performed admirably so far and with the exception of the pedals (which will probably need to replaced soon), it has everything I could have required of it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money on offer.,
June 29, 2014
By Babur
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It was my first bike and mine came with shimano claris. I was advised by cyclist enthusiast to go for a more expensive bike but I wont repent it as it has worked very well for me.
Very speedy and excellent price for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tdf,
May 21, 2014
By mazza1963
from northamton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: mazza
"check frame size says 58 cm measures 53 cm and 53cm version measures 49 cm"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value,
April 24, 2014
By mike49
from lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall feel and general quality of bike
Cons: tyres poor quality
"Overall very pleased, good value entry level bike. Problem with a tyre as reviewers have previously mentioned this was replaced without any issues at the shop."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth the 'on offer' price...,
March 19, 2014
By tore9773
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: rim quality, acceleration, long term comfort
Cons: oe tyres, cheap pedals, average braking capability
"Purchased on a promotion offer, this bike has turned out to be a good value commuter/ trainer. I've so far covered approx. 1,500 miles. There's some noticeable flex in the frame when giving it 'large', and the front gear change mech slightly rubs the chain in top gear, even on its limit of adjustment, but I've used worse. Main points (as mentioned by other reviews) is Kendas have to be changed for gatorskin ultras IMMEDIATELY, as tyres are like clingfilm, and the pedals are truly 'shocking.' I have however, found the rims to be exceptionally strong and have needed no maintenance so far. Only other upgrade required soon will be brake units to some budget Campagnolo's, to give a more solid feel. These points considered, I would recommend as a good 'entry' level purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good,
March 15, 2014
By rosey911
from durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike in the summer of last year, to date I have done over a thousand miles on it in and around the Durham countryside.
Tyres....changed them within 100 mile, far to many punctures.
Pedals...just changed them in the last week, stated to click, but they did last.
The TDF was my first road bike, once ridden I was hooked. A cracking ride even at speeds in excess of forty mile an hour I still feel confident enough to tuck in pedal.
As for halfords in Durham, theres a young lad works in there who knows everything about bikes, I could talk to this lad for hours, plus I had a slight problem with the gears slipping he told me to bring it in and he fixed it there and then, the guy is a credit to halfords.
All in all this bike is well worth the money for a starter bike, it will easily go in excess of 40 mile an hour safely, my advice would be change the tyres ASAP it will save you a load of aggravation.
Barry"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap components ruin the experience,
February 15, 2014
By Spike1981
from Oxford
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: frame maybe?
Cons: everything else
"I held off reviewing this bike until I had used it, in all conditions, for more than a few weeks to get a well rounded opinion. Verdict? Cheap rubbish:
-In two years, I have completely worn out the drive train just by commuting and occasional weekend rides. It needed replacing in full.
-Tires are ridiculously prone to punctures. I got about 2 or 3 punctures a month until I replaced them with better quality ones.
-Pedals are very prone to rust as, are the quick releases levers. Both replaced.
-No carbon forks so vibrations on less than perfect roads are a big issue.
-plastic gear/break levers are far too flexible to give total confidence in use.
In all I've probably spent 50% to 60% of the value of this bike fixing things when they've gone wrong.
Please: spend a bit more and get an entry level machine from a proper manufacturer, as I wish I'd done...."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
-3points
20out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
February 01, 2014
By marc10
from fareham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"Well as a mountain biker who punishes himself on 30 mile rides on his mountain bike on the road, I decided to bite the bullet and buy a road bike.i went for the tdf as the reviews id read had been fairly positive.well im astonished to be honest, brilliant bike, well built, fast, and so much easier to ride than my mountain bike, I just love it, how they do it for the low cost I will never know.i upgraded the tyres to gatorskins and changed the pedals to make a great bike...if your not sure about which road bike to buy...look no further...the tdf for the money is simply unbeatable...well done halfords and the staff at the fareham branch were just great..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best road bike!,
January 18, 2014
By Tobs
from Dawlish warren
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"This is the best bike if you a beginner or an enthusiast! I love it so much! Honestly this is the business."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
January 07, 2014
By chay5875
from birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: front chainset
"Excellent bike, very happy with everything only one very small observation could do with a compact chainset"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera tdf,
January 03, 2014
By Mck10
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: standard pedals
"I bought the tdf as my first road bike a few months ago when it was in a previous sale. As this was my first road bike, I didn't want to spend lots of money on a better branded bike and find I didn't enjoy cycling and end up leaving it in the shed! As it happens, I now love cycling and am more than happy with the bike, and get out on it as much as I can. The only thing I didn't like were the standard pedals, as they felt a bit flimsy, so I changed these as soon as I could. I am extremely happy with the bike, and even though I have nothing to compare it to, I think the ride is smooth and the bike is well built. Having racked up quite a few miles on it now, I can say that I am very happy with the tdf and have no plans of upgrading any time soon."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first road bike,
January 02, 2014
By kevt1964
from norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: frame
Cons: pedals
"Got this as part of a bundle with a trainer
Really please with it and got great service at local store
you will want to change the pedals though
Apart from that all is well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TDF,
November 29, 2013
By patriot1423
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought the TDF two weeks ago, staff were excellent, good service and I am over the moon with the bike (except the pedals)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Starter Bike,
November 17, 2013
By oldmanpanda
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quick and light enough
"I have only ever had mountain bikes before, so the first time I got on this bike was quite a shock! It's quick, light and I still haven't managed to get it to top speed without feeling rather scared! I'm sure if I were an expert there are many things that can be changed on this bike, but as far as I can see, if I'm struggling up a hill or not getting enough speed on the flat then it's more likely my lack of fitness than the bike itself. For myself, cycling about 30 miles a week in evenings and weekends, this bike is brilliant, seems well built and is getting me fit, and so far the service I have had from my local store has been very good"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tdf,
November 11, 2013
By Tommy22
from Southport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great looking bike
Cons: the pedals and tyres
"Great bike very poor pedals change them for normal bike pedals and change the tires for gatorskins I had 2 flat tires in 3 days but overall a great bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF - WOW LOAD OF AWSOME ON TWO WHEELS!,
November 03, 2013
By Davew24
from Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the paintwork, brakes
"I'd like to start by saying WOW. what a brilliant machine.
I've never had a road bike but after seeing the half price offer online I jumped all over her.
As soon as I picked her up I took her for a long ride. I thrashed her for an hour and a half and was smiling all the way. She took the lot. Very smooth and fast.
Smooth gear changes. Good hard build. A pleasure to spend time with.
I would recommend the tdf to anyone.
I've no negatives on the pedals. They work well.
Great price and build. Very happy chappy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price,
November 01, 2013
By glennamy
from CO10
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike for what I need
Great price, bought as bundle with the Elite turbo trainer
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUDBURY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012,
October 27, 2013
By Pefi
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the whole finish of the bike
Cons: bumps on the road
"Won't repeat other comments about how great the bike is.
The brakes on my old 'racer' had a bar that you pull on in the upright position - I do miss that.
Would like to comment on a possible SOLUTION to the peddle straps.
They are floppy and catch the trainers anywhere possible - hard to get the foot into or out of. I was going to make do with them in favour of lights and mud guards
but they are tooo awkward.
As a SOLUTION I took off the straps, flattened them on the table and wiped them with some rubber compatible thin glue - not the bicycle repair stuff (don't think that will work as well).
Upon letting the glue dry and putting them back in place, they formed a nice oval shape in which to insert or extract my foot, as oppose to the floppy things that obscured the insertion point and caught on the trainers on the way out.
They are much better now for a few pence worth of glue,."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera TDF Road Bike 2011/2012 - Large 58cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, for everyday usage and long rides.,
October 26, 2013
By Ajaygill
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use gears and very smooth to use.
Cons: pedal straps annoy you when in traffic
"Not had any issues with the bike as of yet, and I'm training with it for a charity bike ride from London to Paris!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>