Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"

The Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike features great front and rear air suspension.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Review 1 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike !!!,
June 02, 2014
By Sam3
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good all around bike, not down side if i found any i will post me review
"I've been shopping around 5 cities looking for a good bike with a good price, I tried a few top of the range bike, but the price was ridiculous so a can across halford. I bought the carrera banshee for this amazing price, great components and light weight, Ive got a pice of mind because halford is all arround the country which support me in case I need replace/up great o maintenance some components, great chose of bike in shop, the shop assistance was reality helpful and he had good knowledge about the products.
I've got 20 years + of knowledges about bikes.
I really recommended anybody get any bike there if you halford is good as me in my home town.
Thank you halford you have a very happy costumes here :-)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CARLOW (ROI)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Initially a great bike,
August 16, 2013
By JECam79
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great looks, good spec, great for off road woodland etc
Cons: build quality
"A great bike with very good spec components, very good off road, a bit heavy & wrong tyres for on the road but roads really are not what this bike wants to see. Bike was great & had a lot of fun on it & could go anywhere until last weekend when the frame snapped :-("
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great toy,
July 25, 2013
By TJ27
from Telford UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: styling, adjustable suspension, value for money, feels well built
Cons: could have given it me for free?
"I've had the bike for 2 weeks, done around 150 miles mainly on gravel and dirt trails, everything's still as tight as when I purchased it, no obvious issues, nice product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrier banshee x,
June 19, 2013
By stroudy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything!! the bike thesl staff
Cons: nothing
"this is a fantastic bike, good spec parts! brakes,gears and suspension are all really good!! its a great AM bike that is as happy going down hills as it is up!! highly recommended! the halfords staff were great!! very helpful and built the bike to a cvery high standard!!! they even took the extra time to set it up just right for me!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 3
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera banshee review,
December 26, 2012
By stevo45
from somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the brakes, light weight bike, brilliant shocks, value
"A big with excellent value and out performs some of the better and bigger brands on market with this spec. the brakes are un- faultable and it weighs less than a feather, I went out for a 12 mile cycle to see what it was like and test it out for the first time and I could not pick fault with anything. truly exceeded my high expectations"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
+28points
34out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality bit of kit,
February 26, 2012
By fatman69
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic value for money
Cons: horrible colour!!
"After a lot of searching for an unmarked bike and a few false starts I managed to get my hands on one of these beauties.
The bike at Straiton had bent spokes, Seafield Roads bike was scratched, I was assured the one at Falkirk was perfect and able to go straight away so I headed over (60 mile round trip) only to find that the lockout lever on the rear shock was broken.
One of the guys, Lewis, through good customer care skills managed to get me a shock and I picked the bike up on Friday night (24/02/12).
Unfortunately my planned trip to Ae forest had to be cancelled as I was stuck on call by my boss, for the weekend, cheers Jim!!!
I can't wait to get the bike out into the trails, even crashing it up and down kerbs at the house was fun.
I have high expectations for this bike and can't get over the kit you get for the price, there's a grands worth of bike here for decent hardtail money.
I've got a three year old Carrera Gryphon Disc so I know I'm getting a good bike based on my experiences with that bike.
If you want a decent full susser at a good price get yourself one of these.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
+6points
21out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera banshee x full suspension mountain bike,
February 11, 2012
By decker
from cleveland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very well made bike, suspension and brakes are very good
Cons: poor pedals
"ive had the bike for 2 weeks now. it has a very well built frame and the components are very good . the suspension works great and is fully adjustable , the disc brakes work very well stopping in all conditions .overall it is a well built and good looking bike well worth the money .
thankyou to the staff at skippers lane halfords .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Banshee X Full Suspension Mountain Bike - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
early opinions, shakedown ride,
July 24, 2011
By dizzychoonz
from St Albans, herts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light and well balanced, super fast steering, wheelies like a demon, frewheels for miles, looks trick, nice comfortable position
Cons: bad cable stretch on gears on the first ride., watch out for chain snagging, brakes need lots of bedding in, seat !!! omg numb or what, seatpost aduster not quick release
"first ride today, 10 mile covering road, gravel tracks, light woodland and grass fields.
no extreme riding, just a gentle 10 mile bimble over 4 hrs with plenty of stops for adjusting fitting.
First impresssions are of a well put together bike, althought the suspension was well over pumped on both front and rear, better than too soft i suppose. after a quick depress or two of the air valves it felt better with a little sag from front and rear. front rebound adjuster doesnt seem to make a huge difference from stop to stop, but ill give it time. steering is super quick and light and caught me out twice. the lockout adjuster on the rear shock is really handy and can be switched in whilst riding, fick the lever then take your weight off the seat and its locked.
felt a little wired when the rear was locked out as it still pumps a little , but the opposite way,so gives a little springy feling.but locking makes little diference unless steep climbs im guessing, but have not had to climb steeply yet. front forks rather good as long as you run them softer than standard, mine have about 15-20mm sag with my weight on the pedals.
little dissapointed with the geartrain having then to turn the bike upside down and physically free the chain.it even fell off the inside front cog whilt changing from 2 to 3??
rear sprockets started seriously slipping after about 7 miles mostly on the middle gears ( 5 to 7) middle front cog. but i guess thats just initial cable stetch and i will report back once a little adjusment has been made, grips are comfortable and once allen keyed on properly , stayed in place, bar end caps fell out three times and will need glueing in. brakes good...rear more positive than the front and probably more time needed to bed in, but not snatchy at all..well not yet. sadlle is rock hard..really rock hard...change it for something softer.only you will know.
Rear rebound adjuster works well and makes a big difference, have mine set to three quarters slow rebound..nice for my 12 and a bit stone. seat needs setting very high as any sag will result in your legs not being straight at the end of the pedal stroke. seriously my seat is about 4 inches higher than a non suspension bike. front reflector fell of within half a mile. still...even with that high seat postion, riding position is comfortable with the bars set at their highest setting as standard. the seat can also tip forward/backward as well as slide a couple of inches as well...handy. seat post adjuster could be quick release, considering the money paid for this, but easily changed i suppose. so apart from a couple of worries concerning the rear derraileur and chain stretch, my first ride was great, im not a regular rider, so im unfit at the moment, im also over 40 so no spring chicken anymore...but this snappy little bike had me looking for kerbs/berms jumps/bumps and bombholes throughout the whole ride. Yes i
found a few, and yes i did get some air.It also leaps off kerbs nice and flat & wheelies like a dream. I was always bad at wheelies , but pulled some cracking monos) if your a kid youll love it. But more than likely youll be a 70,s child like me who wants something nice that will give you a bit of a rush whilst looking sweet and will really awaken your riding...im hooked again..more reports as it beds in.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+93points
111out of 129found this review helpful.