Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"

The Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike handles off-roading with ease, leaving you hankering after more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
62 of 63(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Review 1 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a brilliant bike/,
August 08, 2014
By Yearlyhen
from Newton abbot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the suspension, the gears, the brakes
Cons: the paint work comes off
" Everything on the bike is brilliant except that some of the paint can come off if scrapped too much. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks Good,
August 04, 2014
By SeaRat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes
Cons: no chain guard
" This bike was good value and looks great. I personally haven't had a problem with the saddle, though some people do seem to have a problem "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starting out,
August 03, 2014
By ROYB123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, tough, light, looks great
" I'm new to mountain biking and didn't want to break the bank with my first bike, this was a fantastic buy, great value, easy to use and rugged enough to take the rough terrain in its stride, I however may take a bit more practice! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely bike,
August 02, 2014
By Rstdog88
from Scunthorpe Great Britain
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size is perfect
" Being tall I have never had a bike that was quite big enough to ride without getting some form of ache
This bike has changed all that
I mainly use the bike to commute but also love to go hammering around the woods
The front suspension is brill,the gear change is effortless
All in a lovely bike to ride and I'm a very happy customer
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome New Bike!!!,
August 01, 2014
By thrudballdude
from Boxgrove, Chichester, West Sussex PO18, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy design yet lightweight, aesthetically lovely but practical
Cons: seat not too comfortable i replaced it
" The Carrera Vengeance is lightweight, robust and FAST!
GREAT for commuting, (I do 80 miles a week to work and back), off-road it's fun and capable.
SPANKY design with red go faster stripes, chortle!
Such a shame they are discontinuing this bike, get one whilst you still can!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Entry Level Cycle,
August 01, 2014
By AlphaPappa
from Lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to maintain., lightweight., solid frame., solid wheels.
Cons: front fork has very little adjustment., pedals no good in damp or wet., basic tyres.
" I bought this for Cross Country use mainly around my local moorland. The bike handles well, responds well to body movement and is an overall enjoy to ride.
It is however a good entry level bike mainly due to the Suntour fork. As it's only meant for XC thats what it works well with. If your looking to do more heavy hitting trails I'd upgrade the fork. It has very little sag adjustment and none for compression or rebound. I've been put over the bars twice getting to adventurous on downhill rut sections.
Overall good value for money but make sure you know what you want to do before choosing the bike, have a chat with the staff and they'll point you rifht. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for a solid bike,
July 25, 2014
By Jairey1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: pretty much everything
Cons: the tyres aren't very chunky
" In my ignorance I bought this based on how much money I was saving, and despite having looked into things more and more after buying the bike, I'm not really disappointed. I've found out that you can probably buy better for not too much more money if you shop around but really that's the case with everything. The bike is fine; it's features aren't spectacular but they're not mediocre either. Everything works well and it can definitely handle itself on trails etc. I was recommended the 20" frame from the website but hated it when I got it home so I swapped it for the 22" which was perfect. But I'm sure that's just personal preference.
I also have issues with the tyres. It seems all the other bikes in it's range have nice chunky Continental tyres which are what I'd have preferred, but this bike has the bog standard ones unfortunately. But again that's down to preference.
Overall I don't have any real issues with it. It's a great bike for a great price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera vengeance,
July 22, 2014
By scotttommo
from Padiham, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: top notch
" superb bike for the money this bike will handle most off road trails. and the gearing system is smooth the disc brakes are sharp and accurate if you want a high quality bike for for a lot less than paying out silly amounts of money well you cant go wrong i found this bike to be top notch and well worth the money!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Middle aged man trying to stay fit loving his bikes always,
April 28, 2014
By Enjoyyourbike77
from Frome
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: performance
Cons: none ...........yet !
" Had a TREK mountain bike for past 10-12 yrs using mainly for commute to and from work (3m) per day with some off roading. Change in jobs less bike time teenage sons used (and ubused Trek) time for New ,hence carrera Vengeance first impressions very good performance , quality for money. Guys at Frome store very helpful Oli on purchase and Neil ( I think ) store manager ,on problems with mud catchers no quibbles changed for better ones with no extra cost to me job done. Roll on another 10-12 yrs, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FROME
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice,
December 31, 2013
By Hudy
from Scunthorpe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very nice bike only breaks are very poor quality but i still recomend this bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome bike on a budget,
December 23, 2013
By Anonymous
from united kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality, style, peformance
" this bike is a very good bike and is very good quality at a very reasonable price. I bought this bike to commute to work for the winter. I have had it for two weeks now and so far is a great bike. staff at Halfords in Ashton were very helpful as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Old Fathful,
December 09, 2013
By BillyBigstick
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have had 2 of these a s one got stolen, I used to commute on it and go playing at the weekend. I do loads of XC and some jump-tasticness and it has stood up to everything I have chucked its way. Im a big boy, 6' 3" and 15.5 st, other than rounding the square taper on the BB and knackering the freehub, it just keeps going when my buddies' Specialized are breaking down around me. its a tad heavier and doesn't have hydraulic breaks, but as a good entry level bike...there is no better! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22inch Carrera Vengeance,
October 12, 2013
By vengeance2765
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: gears, suspension, disc brakes, overall design, paintjob, lightweight
Cons: mudguards not included, drinkholder not included
" ive had this bike for 3 weeks, i use it every day and no problems so far. the suspension, gears and brakes perform very well. The disc brakes provide good stopping power in any weather without the need to lock up the wheels. Also the bike looks a lot better in real life than it does in these online pictures. I really like the bike and im glad i bought it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some small modifications needed for myself.,
September 23, 2013
By Triplesvopen
from Epworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: speed, gears, brakes, tyres, looks good, reasonably lightweight
Cons: seat, non adjustable handlebars
" Had this for over 3months and very pleased overall,but having had the previous bike for 10yrs my Vengeance needed a handlebar extension piece plus a different seat to be comfortable again.I do mostly offroad and have the forks on the softest setting and it takes the bumps well. The low gear handles all the uphill gradients easily and the brakes are superb. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? GAINSBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for the money,
September 18, 2013
By KP100
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike was purchased as a gift and the recipient is delighted, not only with the bike but the service received from Adam at Halfords Kendal. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good for this price range,
August 12, 2013
By leee2271
from merthyr Tydfil
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price and design the weight breaks
Cons: the seat
" The bike is brilliant good for the price light so its easy to throw around when off roading iv had this bike for 6 weeks now and done atleast 500 miles on it the only thing I recommend is that you should buy a new seat or a gel cover because the seat gets uncomfortable after a few miles but I am very happy with this purchase I also recommend taking the insurance out its worth it in the long run "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vengeance is Sweet!!!,
August 06, 2013
By Xbox
from Liversedge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was so impressed with my new bike, I was in my local
Halfords in Dewsbury where I was talking to a mother
And son. I was raving about my new bike, value for money, excellent handling, in Fact the best bike I've ever bought. Plus the service in store was excellent the staff knew what they were talking about. 10 out of 10
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
August 04, 2013
By andypj
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike. bought as a replacement as my 12 year old has out grown his own and now uses my older bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product has great features and great value for money,
July 31, 2013
By jimmy123456
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great bike very light and very easy to ride down any dirt trail or even down hill just a great bike all round "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Extra Large 22"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All good so far...,
July 25, 2013
By MM111
from Dunstable
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: not being able to lock suspention
" I've only had the bike for two week's, but haven't experienced any problems so far. It is at the end of the day an entry level bike, but perfect for the road and off-road riding I do. Would definitely recommend to anybody thinking of taking the plunge. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>