Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"

The Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike is reliable, richly specced, and raring to go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
112 of 117(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
August 09, 2014
By CK55
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Brought this bike for occasional off road riding and commuting. Can't fault it for value for money and spec. Great frame, great brakes, forks ok for day to day stuff - I'd change them if I was throwing myself down a mountain regularly but they're fine for roads and cycle paths. Gears a little clunky on my bike but its yet to bed in but the bike rides really nicely and is very stable and responsive. Definitely recommend it for the money.
Great service from Halfords in Exeter too! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (SIDWELL STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth while peice of kit. :),
August 08, 2014
By GavB
from Melton Mowbray, Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good looks
Cons: that they have discontinued it.
" Ittttssssss GGGGGGGRRREEEAAATTT!
That is all... :)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would not recommend.,
August 07, 2014
By Geddie
from Farnborough, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Positives:
-price I paid
-gears switch smoothly
-looks
Negatives:
-gear change downward is very inconvenient, you need to push [not pull] the lever, it is hard to reach with the thumb and inconvenient with other fingers; the gear indicator sits too low and not easy to see what gear is it.
-the bike is quite heavy; my old steel frame Raleigh is only one kilo heavier
-the front fork is not lockable so you just feel your energy going into it instead of pedals when pushing uphill
-the tyres are very heavy and 'fat' - are they really needed that fat [unless you planning real rock riding of course]?
-disk brakes - was expecting better performance, now no difference or worse than V-brakes on my other bike
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike !,
August 07, 2014
By forester200
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike is an absolute joy to ride , feels solid , safe , beautifully built and fantastic value , great bike ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Vengeance Mountain,
August 07, 2014
By triggz
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smoothness
" Good overall bike I was impressed by the style and the handling of the bike n for a budget bike I couldn't ask for more! feels nice and sturdy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value bike- Carrera Vengeance,
August 06, 2014
By Billybiker2
from Fife
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
Cons: hard saddle
" A very attractive bike which draws admiring comments and rides beautifully. Loaded with features from 24 easy gears, front suspension forks and disc brakes to a handlebar bell ,so useful on paths shared with folks out for a walk with children, dogs etc. The ride is smooth and relaxed with good handling and powerful brakes. Love it. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20",
August 06, 2014
By GF123
from Bedford, Bedford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: mechanical disc breaks, lightweight frame
" excellent value for money for an entry level mountain bike, I purchased this for my son and he is delighted with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera,
August 05, 2014
By Clive1960
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very light
Cons: none
" What a bike for the money can't say any more would recommend to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
August 05, 2014
By Drew22
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: strength
" This is an entry level mountain bike & is speced well for the money. I've bought it to use for getting to work mainly in the winter as in the summer I ride a road bike. The gears are fairly smooth but the forks are a bit soft. It's comfortable & copes well with all the potholes this country has to provide. Not sure it would feel that stable or strong on a proper off road course. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bilke,
August 04, 2014
By kobbdab
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" great value for money. and its a great bike. i will recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sale price,
August 04, 2014
By andyr67
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Daily sale price made this bike excellent value,good cheap sunday bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT SOLID AND FAST BIKE,
August 04, 2014
By DJ501
from London SE1, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design, quality, colour
Cons: pedals
" THIS BIKE IS VERY NICE INDEED.ITS FAST BUT ALSO LIGHTWEIGHT.HANDLES VERY WELL AND IS WELL BUILT.WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE AS THE PRICE ALSO MAKES IT EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike and smooth to ride,
August 03, 2014
By Kabab7197
from Swindon, Swindon, Swindon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick release wheels
" The bike is great to ride and very smooth, the gear shifts make it easy to change gear and good brakes make stopping easier "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy and seems value for money,
August 03, 2014
By Pete1866
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought to replace a cheaper and heavier bike. Works well and well set up in store. Few rides down and no real problems- only a desire to get a more comfortable gel saddle. Recommended at the 'sale' price, although whether really cheaper or just had price bumped up for a couple of months previously which was then dropped is a point to consider. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
too good for the price paid,
August 03, 2014
By valrem
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
" the bike is too good for the pirce paid, its light weight allows you to speed up when ever you want and also has good grip and the front suspension is also very good for going off road "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
August 03, 2014
By Liam1493
from Aylesbury, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a perfect bike, best one I've bought so far! It's amazing and great product for the price! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good entry level bike,
August 03, 2014
By TDub87
from Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: solid build
Cons: gears
" This bike is a good light use bike but does suffer a little from its weight and gearing.
That being said it isn't designed to be a hardcore riders bike and holds out well enough for my commutes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top bike for price,
August 03, 2014
By Dday
from Bangor
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had the bike a few weeks now and i have to say i am very impressed. I took the bike on a tough mountain bike trail and it handled impeccably. You really cant go wrong for the price. Brakes and gears were spot on so hats off to the staff at my local halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
August 03, 2014
By Don5125
from Thirsk, Thirsk, North Yorkshire YO7, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disk brakes, lightweight frame, comfortable seat
Cons: no standard mudguards
" Good quality features on a really agile frame. Really good value for money when you compare with similar products on various websites. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera vengeance,
August 02, 2014
By alfro66
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything. ...colour brill
Cons: nothing
" First new bike since my chopper bought in 77!...how things have progressed. ..24 gears. .disc brakes. .etc...fantastic bike love riding it..... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>