Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"

The Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike is reliable, richly specced, and raring to go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
20
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
91 of 95(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carerra vengeance,
July 13, 2014
By DB10
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance qualitylooks
"After LOTS of research I decided to go with the vengeance, Im not disappointed. Very pleasing to the eye. Performance is excellent. A great confidence booster, goes and stops very well. The suspension never gets fully pushed due to the 100mm travel, the gear changes are silky, strong and sturdy. The brakes have not been pushed, just brilliant. it's had many compliments due to the stunning look of this Carerra. Would recommend to anyone and you get used to the seat after a few weeks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stunning bike,
July 06, 2014
By Aidy
from Hilltown, Newry, Newry and Mourne BT34, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: the saddle is very hard.
"This is an excellent bike with a great spec. It is light weight for the tuff hill sections of any trail and handles well around tight twisty bends."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is a not to be missed at all- truly Amazing,
July 03, 2014
By MTBR1D3R
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: weight, frame style, smooth gears, amazing disc brakes easy to setup, comfortable pre fitted handlebar grips, amazing comfortable front suspension, bounces through paths and trails like a jeep would, tyres are double walled, price, everything else i could of possibly missed
Cons: seat could do with a bit more comfort.., chain guard is needed otherwise= ripped trousers
"Just got this amazing carrera, and im speechless. I have to come to the decision that i don't even want to ride it yet since its so glorious to look at."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dreadfully made bike,
May 12, 2014
By stokecity10
from Tamworth
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
"I bought this bike from Halfords a couple of weeks ago and already had to have another one because the back wheel fell off in my hand. Now the gears has decided to snap on me, and now can't change my front gears. Dreadfully made, avoid buying this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
-22points
12out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
March 27, 2014
By KhashayarB
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightness, quality
Cons: seat
"Superb bike, light weight so easy to carry up & down stairs, smooth gear change, very good overall,
The only cons for ME is the seat that i had to purchase a gel seat cover."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGSTON UPON THAMES
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
March 18, 2014
By sorted1112
from stirling
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good bike for the money i use everyday to work plus use off road forks are not the best i destroyed mine using off road giving the bike loads off stick and it's still good great apart from forks that are in bucket forks would have been fine if i never jumped the bike when off road. Forks are cheap to buy so don't be scared to buy and use the bike to the full cheers"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Bike,
March 16, 2014
By Muzzman11
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about this bike
Cons: when i can't ride it
"I've had this bike for nearly a year now and I still enjoy the moment when I get to take it out.
It is a good road bike but a brilliant Mountain Bike.
I struggle to find a track it can't handle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? READING (SOUTH)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad,
February 20, 2014
By BringingCallumTheHorizon
from Peterborough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheese
Cons: the seat
"Not bad, shame about the seat... its like sitting on concrete!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rubbish gears and brakes,
January 19, 2014
By matt2014
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"looks good and comfortable to ride how ever the first day riding it the chain skips on certain gear ratios and after a couple months both gear levers snapped. back brake has now failed even tho the pads are fine not happy at all really and now i would avoid buying a bikes from halfords again as its just cheap rubbish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
-9points
12out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera,
January 05, 2014
By bailey82
from port talbot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brilliant bike, but had to have the back coggs changed as they wer worn dwn, how i dont know, but halfords replaced it straight away, great value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEATH
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great value for money,
December 31, 2013
By Jambo1874
from Peebles, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This product is excellent for the price and exceeded expectations. Well built solid frame. Excellent gear and brakes set up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike and usual Carrera standard,
December 18, 2013
By Dewi498
from Llanbedr, North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great bike and usual Carrera standard This must be our 6th Carrera over the years"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike,
December 14, 2013
By TMcC34
from N. Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great bike, with great brakes and I love the gear selectors. The bike is really lightweight, feels even lighter than my old Carbolight racer. To be honest I haven't done much mucky off road trails yet but it should be ok, although I would imagine a bike with rear suspension better for the real off road stuff. Very happy with this Carerra Vengeance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? COOKSTOWN
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
December 11, 2013
By Handymh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just bought this bike to replace my Giant Terrago, this feels much better and offers amazing value for money in terms of the features/looks and performance. It was down between this and the Carrera Vulcan, for me this suited better as my cycling is light trails/paths etc rather than heady duty off road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 2
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
December 05, 2013
By Badger37
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this for my wife, plus points have been the style and spec. It seems comfortable and was good value. Downside (and I'm nit picking a bit here), quite heavy, I have squeaky brakes which I hope a service trip to halfords will sort, the SRAM shifters are not as good as shimano. Overall though, for the money, great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (CHILWELL)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smooth ride,
October 07, 2013
By phoenix84
from albert village
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: frame
Cons: gotta take back for gears to be adjusted
"Awesome bike great for the price.a really smooth ride"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SWADLINCOTE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really great sturdy bike,
October 03, 2013
By Nathan1989
from Salford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: saddlegearsbrakesdesign
"I bought this bike 3 days ago and I absolutely love it. Nice design, light weight, gears are smooth when changing them,saddle is comfortable,brakes are quick at responding the staff at halfords were really helpful and I would recommend this to anyone I would definitely go back there."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid bike,
September 29, 2013
By trooper100
from North Merseyside
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, quality overall
Cons: gears could be better but at this price.....hey
"I've deliberately left this review a long time, I've had my Vengeance for nearly two years and averaged 150-180 miles a week. I've had two new sets of kevlar tyres (not counting the rubbish ones that were on when purchased) new pedals, all were fine, I just wore them out; the bike is excellent for the price, I had a much more expesive bike stolen and the Vengeance was the best I could afford as replacement. I have not been dissapointed. I've been over the bars twice and although I suffered injury the bike was solid, both times were terrain and obsticles, not the bike. Recently a strange creaking noise began after a thoughtless driver forced me into the kerb. After having the bottom bracket replaced the noise persisted. One of the saff at Halfords was very understanding and, eagle-eyed, he spotted a crack in the weld where the seat post meets the cross bar, this was causing the awful creaking noise. This is being fixed under warranty (thank goodness). A faultless service from the staff a Aintree, Liverpool branch. All in all I get to keep riding an excellent product and I can't speak more highly about the service and staff. 5*"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is super on Thetford forest trails,
September 24, 2013
By Mo1164
from Mundford, Thetford, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the gear changes
"I use this bike for MTB in Thetford Forest. It is one great bike, it holds me in the saddle like no other bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic product. Shame about the build!,
September 23, 2013
By Anonymous
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good solid bike
Cons: not enough care put in to the build and checking.
"Love the bike. It's a pity that more care wasn't put in to building it. Luckily, I fully checked out all the vitals before riding it. I pulled on the front brake and the cable slipped straight through. Obviously hadn't been tightened adequately. Could have been disastrous if I had been riding it on the road. Also, the gears hadn't been set correctly. The chain flew off the outer chain ring when changing in to top gear."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>