Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"

Carrera Valour Mountain Bike gets you started in the world of MTB with great gear and style.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
83 of 87(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Bike,
July 29, 2014
By John777
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stong build, comfortable ride, responsive suspension
" Collected this bike from the shop pre-assembled by Halfords mechanic. Excellent build quality, use it every day and great value for money. Used it on and off road and performs really well. I highly recommend this bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad of the update,
April 11, 2014
By Shimbo
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Since having an Apollo, and taking back I got updated to the Carrera Valour, wish I bought this bike first as it has more features and better build quality.
The weight limit is a little outdated as I weigh in excess of 16 stone and still find this a comfy ride.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not agen,
April 03, 2014
By Rolling
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I wood never never get this bike agen because I been in Halfords more times than I been on bike next time I will be going some where a better job can be done it's the 1st time and the last time I be going in now "
-36points
3out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
carrera valour mtb,
April 01, 2014
By motorcycleman
from angmering
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" good frame forks and wheels. rubbish brakes. took bike out of shop and the brakes did not work. they were covered in grease. took two sessions with a degreaser to get ride of it. took it to back today and i showed them was else was wrong with brake pads being out of alignment with each other and they test rode it and said its fine. even tough i could see a pulsing effect with the brakes. there is no way im letting that lot near my bike again. i fix it myself. thanks for nothing halfords! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value & quality,
February 14, 2014
By yeknom10
from swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight
" best bike iv'e had in a long time
might seek some upgrades better mud guards
than my current ones
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Carrera Valour Mountain Bike,
February 12, 2014
By Excelcoir
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: falls apart
" The bike just falls apart i found myself replacing most on the parts on the bike and even when halfords did replace a part it was halfords branded so it broke straight away very bad bike do not buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
January 03, 2014
By SHPT
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent bike for large gent to get around. Helpful staff "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Valour = Quality bike, so happy with this bike.,
January 02, 2014
By Widehead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This bike has everything your would want with a Mountain bike, i went out on it for the first time yesterday and i was so happy. Brilliant price and brilliant bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight comfortable and great to ride,
December 29, 2013
By hower006
from stoke on trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about the bike
" I bought this bike for my girlfriend for christmas has she use would be on the road commuting to work and she said its the best bike she has ever had its so light and the gears are easy to use.
great value for money and great service from Halfords
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bike I've bought so far!,
December 01, 2013
By Laur97
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the frame, customer service
Cons: gears
" Picked this bike up today, the customer service was great and the man who served me was very happy to help. If anything goes wrong with the bike, e.g. The breaks become soft, Halfords have already offered to repair them for free! The design is beautiful and it is very light weight, very pleased with the product, especially considering the price! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looks & great quality bike,
November 23, 2013
By jpspielberg
from Dorchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the looks
" The Carreras Valour is sturdy and easy to maintain. It rides well and is more than just an entry level model. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (HIGH STREET)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
November 03, 2013
By Bangorboy2000
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes
" Good in mud it's a big step up from a bmx bike or any thing like that the problem is the colour because the dirt shows very easily but the bikes colour is very nice "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike - does everything you want it to do,
November 02, 2013
By Teensshinty
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brilliant all round bike - great value for money - great service from Halfords . Extremely. Helpful young man who was full of information about all questions asked regarding bikes . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WASTE OF MONEY!!!,
October 11, 2013
By Shazerroo
from Hampshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: style
Cons: build quality
" 90% of the bike's use would be on the road commuting to work, the rest of it's use would be off-road.
Bought the bike mid-August 2013, and very disappointed after returning the bike to two different stores because of problems with the gears and only using it for several days over a period of eight weeks.
Despite explaining my intentions to the original salesman, he assured me this was the right bike model for my needs. I wanted to cycle to work to save money by not driving to work. Due to the quality and service issues experienced, I don't feel safe or confident on the bike or with the brand, which is a shame as it's a nice looking bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bike,
September 02, 2013
By 07coopern
from stafforshire uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: forks, steering, speed
Cons: saddle, grips
" its a great bike for the price. its really light and fast although I am going to change the saddle to a selle Italia one as the standard Carrera one is as comfortable as a rock. suspension is fantastic and copes with jumps well. grips are uncomfortable and need bar ends so I will replace those as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stylish alloy framed bike,
August 28, 2013
By romtom
from lancaster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the stylish alloy frame, the overall look of quality, great price
" bought one today but unable to get it built in store, took it home in box and it took longer to remove the extensive packaging than it was to build,easy peasy to put together ,gears all set up perfectly,only one slight flaw the halfords kit did not have an allen key that fitted the seat clamp bolts, but my tool box did
great looking bike has drawn many admiring glances and comments.good on you halfords for such a good deal
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bike,
August 22, 2013
By Tru123
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, well built
Cons: no rear suspension
" a big step up from my previous bike, very light ans manouverable wether it be on tarmac/gravel or even off road rough terrain... Brakes are awesome as well... 2 thumbs up "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Could have been a lot better,
August 04, 2013
By JJ34
from Surbiton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" The bike seems fine and works well. The service of halfords was really poor and the saddle became lose after one ride. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike!,
August 01, 2013
By Wooody
from Huyton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the look the quality the price
Cons: it is a bit low geared
" I wanted a basic mountain bike, but one that would be reliable and comfortable to ride, and this one fitted the bill nicely.
It's great to ride, as has been mentioned here that it is low geared, which is okay when riding up hills and off road, but not so good when you are going downhill, but then 31mph is quite fast enough for me :-)
Overall though, it's a bike I am glad I purchased! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Valour Mountain Bike - Large 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic piece of kit!,
July 27, 2013
By GR1ZZ
from Mansfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: colour, price
Cons: saddle
" Good quality, lightweight cycle. I wanted to go back to basics with my mountain bike & do away with discs & rear suspension & hydrolic brakes, too much hassle. This Carrera has proved the perfect choice for me. It is light and easy to use & easy to maintain. Would recommend a gel saddle for comfort & 26 x 2.2 tyres for better grip off road, breaks are excellent great stopping power! Better then disc's in wet conditions. Effortless gear changes, picks up speed very well. Suspension copes well with off road terrain. Good service from Halfords, some nuts needed tightening that's all. Done 100 mile so far bearing in mind i'm a heavy gentlemen, the bike held up very well really pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>