Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tool Chests & Tool Boxes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre

The Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre is our lowest priced cabinet and chest featuring ball bearing slides, ideal for keeping your workshop tidy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.427 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (178 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
64
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
7
168 of 176(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Review 1 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So good I bought two!,
May 20, 2012
By Lawnranger
from Haslemere
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: almost perfect design
Cons: shallow drawers could be very slightly deeper.
Car Make Subaru Forester Diesel
" I should have bought these years ago. If I had I wouldn't have wasted all those hours trying to find where I'd left my tools. Now, (provided I've remembered to put them back!), I know exactly where to find them.
Do line the drawers with pieces cut off the Halfords Universal Drawer Liner Roll to stop all your tools rattling around. The ball bearing slides on the drawers work smoothly and silently, especially when fully loaded.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+17points
26out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value for money,
January 08, 2014
By Rusty70
from clitheroe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great piece of kit, far better quality than i expected for such a bargain price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tool kit on wheels,
January 07, 2014
By 1Instructor
from Stoke on Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this product is ideal for the DIY home mechanic, keeping tools tidy and in one place . The ability to wheel around the garage all for a price thats easy on the pocket. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
January 06, 2014
By Bazfitz
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it
Cons: whats not to like at this price
" OK....So its not a 'Snap on' professional mechanics storage centre but for the likes if us mere mortals who are sick of having to 'sift through' cupboards and biscuit tins for the tools we can never put our hands on this is an excellent bit of kit. I liked it so much that I went out and bought the separate tool kit box with another 3 drawers to put on top thus giving me even more storage. I've wanted something like this for years but thought they would be out of my price range....Not so......this represents fabulous value for money. A must for the average D.I.Y.'er... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid little unit and bargain price,
January 05, 2014
By talk2dino
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Solid little unit and bargain price, should offer years of service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product at bargain price,
January 05, 2014
By RYDAMAN
from ENGLAD
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great product, looks like more exspencive make, great value
" BOUGHT TOOL CHEST TO REPLACE MY OLD ONE AND THIS FITS THE BILL PERFECT ,PLENTY OF SPACE FOR EVERYTHING . QUALITY IS NOT BAD FOR PRICE ALTHOUGH I WOULD SAY THIS WOULD`NT SUITE A FULL TIME MECHANIC DUE TO VIBRATIONS WORKING SCREWS LOOSE IF MOVED ON REGULAR BASIS BUT HEY MOST PROS WOULD`NT TOUCH THIS ANY WAY AT LOW PRICE .
ALL IN ALL A GREAT HALFORDS PRODUCT FOR THE KEEN DIY `ER PLENTY OF SPACE FOR ALL TOOLS .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent valuve for the money,
January 05, 2014
By husky65
from Alfreton Derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Brilliant for keeping everything in its place for your keen DIY'er, bottom is just big enough to get 5ltr oil cans in too.No it's not your "Top Brand" tool chest but you'd be paying 5+ the price but for the money it's bob on. Oh if it's on offer it's even sweeter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
January 04, 2014
By Joetex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great value, excellent tool chest! Reserved online & collected in-store, no problem! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Drawer tool centre,,
January 03, 2014
By ged5
from lincolnshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well worth money, partner more than happy with this product, he has other tool centres that have lasted, also made by same
materials would by another.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GAINSBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 drawer tool chest,
December 31, 2013
By nicholas12
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" would reccomend this item easy to assemble good sturdy item,the storage space is plenty for all your tools also with a good locking system.this tool centre is also easy to move about on good sturdy wheels.this also is a nice size to put in your garage or shed highly recommended? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workshop tool storage,
December 30, 2013
By MrMGMan
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value
Cons: key for lock
" This items represents excellent value for money especially when compared to other products of a comparable specification.
Plenty of space for a good selection of tools.
/if a negative is required then one could state that the key to lock the cabinet only goes in the lock one way; so if you get it wrong you just have to take the key out, turn it 180 degrees and put in in again. This is however a minor issue unless you have a problem with patience!!!
NDB "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Toolbox is Awesome,
December 29, 2013
By GeneralKellie
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Love this toolbox use it as a tattooing station, easy to clean down and the top draws lock it's fantastic, well worth the money ^^ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value for the money,
December 21, 2013
By Dynastone
from Chesterfield, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks very professional, lockable tool chest
Cons: the wheels are very hard to fit, the base cover and draws do not lock
" A great tool storage unit. Most others on line are in excess of £55 for just the tool box on the top.
The draws are smooth to slide and the storage unit below is very handy for the tools to large to fit in the draws.
As a DIY car mechanic I would say that there are better boxes out there but not for the money this unit is selling for.
You will need to purchase the rubber liner mat for the draws unless you like your tools rattling around in draws. It is a shame they were not supplied as they are needed.
I have transferred my large Halfords socket set from its plastic box to the top tray area. I have fashioned a holder unit out of wood with 12mm dowel pegs as holders for the sockets. This works well and keeps everything tidy.
The tool box draws lock via a bar slotted in the top storage area to the rear. This bar can be stored in a slot provided to the left when not required so it wont get lost.
The top draws of the lower cabinet do not lock, nor does the cupboard. This is a shame as the sliding cover on the base unit does rattle a bit, especially if you wheel the unit around.
All in all a good unit and great value for money, but if you are a pro mechanic, fixing cars for a living then maybe you should spend £100 more or so and by the pro range. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money,
December 16, 2013
By Yvonne1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I brought this item for my son to use at work and at half price it was a bargain. I have seen more expensive ones that were not as good as this one. It is sturdy and the wheels do all go in the same direction and therefore it doesnt roll like a shopping trolley. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Chest,
December 12, 2013
By GraShaz
from Cambs, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: slightly 'tinny' panels., occasional mechanism glitches
" I was bought 2 of these units for my birthday & xmas presents recently. We decided that due to their price at the time, 2 of these were better value than 1x an 8 drawer unit for the same total price.
Easily assembled, nice units. A bit tinny & the up & over lower door mechanism sticks occasionally but for the price I can accept that. Overall I'd certainly recommend :-)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent kit,
December 11, 2013
By judges
from shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having purchased three of the earlier versions of the tool centre I was fully aware of the quality and reliability.
Therefore when the purchase price was reduced further I had no hesitation in obtaining three more.
They perform equally as well as more expensive versions albeit not to the same exacting build standard but as an amateur petrol head they are perfect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? OSWESTRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 drawer tool centre,
December 07, 2013
By herbie9322
from edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" has everything that is required of a small tool chest and cupboardideal for the DIY enthusiast "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
December 06, 2013
By Aok21
from Enniskillen
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product for the price, definitely worth the money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spacious and on sale price..life changing!,
December 03, 2013
By Harlequin2014
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: capacitysimplicity organisation
Cons: more assembly than id imagined
" This movable tool chest is well designed. It has a fully portable upper box, enough drawers to contain bolts nail and screws in containers and storage area for larger items. it easily swallowed the two overflowing large tool boxes I wanted to replace, which left my a work area organised and stress free. it was well designed an packaged, and easy though timely to assemble. Sad to say it has been a. Life changer for me just liberating space, saving time from searching through clutter, and was very well priced at its current sale value... Very happy to recommend and very pleased with this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 5 Drawer Tool Centre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value,
November 28, 2013
By michael64
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
Cons: at this price - nothing
" This tool centre is a fraction of the cost of equivalent brands. The drawers are not the smoothest and the door on cupboard is a bit flimsy but, for my needs (storing bicycle tools) it is just the job. I have had it for several weeks now & I am very pleased with it. Would recommend drawer liner to go with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>