Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge

Feeling the heat? Then you need this EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
67 of 73(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Review 1 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin.,
August 25, 2014
By MRD100blue
from Malmesbury, Malmesbury, Wiltshire SN16, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Worked perfectly well and half the price of a garage AC recharge."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CIRENCESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Re gas your aircon,
August 24, 2014
By witsend99
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value alternative to having your aircon recharged at a garage. Easy to use but if your not confident buy it and get Halfords to do it for you at a great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooray! My aircon's working again,
August 21, 2014
By henryh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I haven't had aircon in my car since I was on holiday in Germany in June last year. I recharged it with this EZ Chill system from Halfords and now I've got lovely cold air blasting out again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chilled out,
August 12, 2014
By jonde
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"East to use and does exactly as it says on the tin. Easy to purchase with quick service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (PENARTH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use,
August 10, 2014
By AudiMan1
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is very easy to use and does what it says on the tin. I put some in my partners Honda civic and now its so cold she turns it down. There is still about half left in the can for the next top up. I only wish the adapter was included but you have to buy that separate."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Air con top up,
August 09, 2014
By Paulsty
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as the Aircon in my car was not getting cold any more. By the valve first to check the pressure in your air conditioning system before buying the canister as it may not be the fluid content that is your problem. Mine was reading 10 psi and virtually empty of gas but with no leaks. Had to use the entire can to bring the pressure to almost normal that was required. I needed to purchase a second can to top up to the correct levels. This is an excellent product and now air conditioning is icey cold. In hindsight I would've bought both air conditioning canisters and the gun as Halfords are doing by three for the price of two. So if you can borrow a gauge from someone to check the pressure first as to how much liquid you need you might just get away with the valve and one canister."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bbbbbrriilllliiiiantly Cold,
August 08, 2014
By CoolDave
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use.
"The EZ Chill system is so easy to use. Excellent videos on You Tube to help you refill your system. Pressure dial is really easy to read. I managed one and a bit car refills from one can so not as many as the salesman has suggested but still cheaper than getting it done professionally.
Bbbbbrriilllliiiiantly cold now.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
August 06, 2014
By scrappy14
from Dagenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having had my air conditioning recharged by a reputable company it lasted only a short time before failure used this product since then it is working alright and it's so easy to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EZ Chill Excellent -One Cartridge charged four Cars with Eaze!,
August 06, 2014
By cjapeterborough
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: doddle to use, suiitable for most cars
Cons: 20% still left in can at disposal, a little expensive imho
"Decided to have a go with the EZ Chill and was suprised how easy it was to use and the results obtained.
I bought the whole kit -trigger guage/hose adaptor/three cans (on the 3for2 offer)
Objective was to recharge 4 cars in the family and this was achieved easily after finding the correct low side port on the air con pipes.Just have the car running with the air con turned on attach the trigger hose and after checking the pressure in the system a few quick squeezes and your good to go.Overall allow 10mins per car!
I also managed to return the extension hose as it was not needed for any of the cars.....
I weighed the can each time between use and used about 100g on each car.....be aware that you will only get about 80% discharged from the can -at least thats what I found measuring against the net weight claimed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked perfectly!,
August 06, 2014
By maria1302
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"This product worked very well and our air conditioning is fully charged and wonderfully cold!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Air con is nice and cold again.,
August 05, 2014
By Andy1234567890
from Colchester, Colchester, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Followed the instructions and my car has gone from a 16C to 6C coming out of the dash vents, and a £10 refund on the returned empty bottle. Can't be bad."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, resealable and recyclable,
August 05, 2014
By Martin810
from Sale, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product and better value on 3 for 2 offer. Trigger gun easy to use but could do with a longer pipe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Re Charge Air Con,
August 01, 2014
By JAJH
from Stevenage, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had my air conditioning recharged at a local garage and it lasted for a week.
I bought the EZ Chill and the connector and my air con is back to being 'as new'. An excellent product and simple to use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product easy to Do It,
July 31, 2014
By SmartB
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy and fast top up yourself your Air Conditioning as long as you know where is your Low Pressure Point :))
You will also need Auto Airconditioning Reusable Trigger Dispenser & Gauge.
Bottle include gas and oil which seal the system..
Take minutes to complete."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware of empty bottles!,
July 29, 2014
By MrWeightsAndMeasures
from Rotherham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: ... it when you get a full bottle.
Cons: ...when they give you an empty!
"I recently purchased a recharge bottle and before I used it I decided to weigh it so that I could tell how much I'd used. I'm glad I did, because I'd been sold an empty (or very nearly so).
I returned to the store and explained that the weight of the empty bottle was only 20g lighter than before I started to use it. I was given another straight away from under the checkout counter.
Before taking it I asked if could weigh it. I got a rather strange look. I explained that I didn't want a repeat performance. I got the electronic kitchen scales from my car and weighed the "new" bottle. It was only 210g heavier than the empty one.
The net weight of the product is 510g, so there was obviously something amiss here. The checkout guy went into the back and came out with another bottle. We weighed this and it was just over the 513g heavier than the empty. At last, a full bottle.
I'll give Halfords the benefit of the doubt on this occasion, but they have a problem here that needs addressing. The product itself works great, but customers need to be confident that they're getting what they paid for. This stuff ain't cheap!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant and so easy to do....,
July 24, 2014
By Vectrapped
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"I have just used this product and it is first class . Simple instructions on how to measure and recharge your aircon.
My ten year old cars aircon is now working better than ever."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to have cured my leak for now,
July 21, 2014
By rodderstrotter
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: so far seems to have stopped my leak
Cons: no way of knowing if the qty of gas is correct
"After a regas at the garage, my aircon stopped working after 6 days due to a leak. I wasn't prepared to spend hundreds on A/C on a 10 year old car, so thought I'd try this. Glad I did, because after 40 days it's still blowing cold :)
Adding the correct amount of gas is a bit hit and miss using a pressure gauge, the only accurate way to do this is by vacuuming the old gas & adding the correct amount. I guessed I still had 100g of gas in the system (as that's what the printout from the garage said before), so I worked out I needed to add 550g of gas. I added this by weighing the bottle before and after adding (also taking into account the weight of the oil and sealer). I needed about a bottle and a half. The gauge stayed at about the same reading from adding the first half a bottle to 1 1/2 bottles, proving that pressure isn't the correct/accurate way of adding gas. The vent temperature after 40 days is still as cold as when I first added the gas, so hopefully this means it hasn't lost any gas. I just hope it continuous to last. Price is expensive, but the 3 for 2 deal was on when I purchased, and after the bottle deposit, the price isn't too bad.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy,
July 20, 2014
By Lynny1970
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, recycleable product, saves making an appointment
"Bought this today, had to borrow the stores reusable trigger as they had sold out. Very simple and easy to use. Just locate your Air Con Valve un screw, shake the can gently, attached the trigger to the can, start your engine, put the air con on full, attached the trigger to the valve then do short burst, until the dial goes into the green, . easy to use seeing i am a woman, and i managed it....i did use a whole can as mine hasnt been done in a while. what was good was you get £10.00 back when you return the empty can. A great buy overall, would buy this again. If in doubt ask one of the halfords staff they are very helpful. Even got my partner to come and do his"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't Work,
July 06, 2014
By UKSimmo
from Uk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I used this product to top up the A/C on my 2008 Skoda Octavia. I followed the instructions topping up until the pressure was in the middle of the green zone. The system was no better.
I resorted to getting the dealer to re gas the system and now it is fine nice and cool!
I'm a bit annoyed that I paid twice to get the problem sorted."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works brilliantly!,
June 25, 2014
By andy1590
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Like others I was sceptical about buying the DIY aircon recharge kit.
However, it was excellent and has worked perfectly in my Toyota Avensis. Very easy to use and now icy cold. The pressure gauge said my system had no pressure at all. I used a whole canister to refill it but overall I am really pleased. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>