Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge

Feeling the heat? Then you need this EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
4
96 of 104(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Review 1 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK. But a pro-garage will do a better job.,
August 03, 2015
By
from Wisbech, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, has made a difference
Cons: not that cold
" Worked well on a car that had been pro re-gassed in the last 18 months. Not icy cold but better than it was. Hasn't worked quite so good on a car that hasn't been re-gassed for a few years.
Thing this is best if used yearly on a system that is working well .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Air Con recharge EZ Chill,
July 24, 2015
By
from Sale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price but 3 for 2 offer good.
" Quick and easy to use to top up a poor performing air con system. Refill cans are not cheap but remember to save your receipt to get £10 back when returning the empty cylinder. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
air con,
July 24, 2015
By
from Dumfries, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" the product was easy to use, unfortunately they do not tell you that the pressure gauge does not fit every car and I had to purchase an adaptor for my renault laguna which cost £18. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Take some scales with you when you buy,
July 23, 2015
By
from Molesey, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: worked well
Cons: lightweight for the price
" The product worked as expected, no problems using it.
I'd had it a couple of days before using it, noticing that the "seal" just unscrewed, I weighed it and found it's gross weight (contents plus container) to be 340 grams yet it's advertised nett weight (on the bottle) was 510 grams.
I'll be kind and suggest a used bottle was mistakenly sold to me, of course other theories are available.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DIY Air Con Recharge,
July 22, 2015
By
from North Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What a brilliant product. Just follow the instructions on the can and squirt away. It is that simple!
Why pay £40+ for something you can do yourself. It is even better if you have two cars as one can will do both if you are only topping up.
Try it if you can, you have nothing to lose!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge,
July 22, 2015
By
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: pipe not very long so hard to shake can
" Used this product to fix I pin hole in my air con and it done the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy,
July 19, 2015
By
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" Simple and easy procedure and quick to boot and plenty of gas to do it again at least twice. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
July 19, 2015
By
from Stockport, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Tried this on the wifes 07 corsa the air con was not very good at all , followed the instructions carefully and within 30 mins it was working fine again. Would point out you will almost definitely need the extension hose with the gas cartridge and trigger. I bought mine on the three for two deal so i got the hose for free. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLOSSOP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
July 18, 2015
By
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to use with additional purchase of pressure gauge. Be careful not to put too much in. My car (ford focus 06) only needed increasing from 22 to 35 psi but the green level on the gauge went up to 55 psi.
Nice and cold now "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant products - hose far too short *but that's not Halfords fault!*,
July 17, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: length of trigger hose
" Brilliant product, which must be purchased with the 'reusable trigger and dispense' which is sold separately. If you follow the instructions to the letter on the side of the can, and it'll work perfectly. Don't be worried about using this, if you have never done it before. It's simple.
If you search Youtube for 'EZ Chill' you'll find a load of helpful vids, but basically you do the following -
1) Locate the low pressure port (look in your owners manual or google it for your car)
2) Attach the trigger dispenser (bought separately) and read the gauge. If it is not in the green zone, it needs regassing.
3) Run the engine with the air con on maximum cool and fan on maximum for 3 minutes (leave it running the whole time - don't turn it off).
4) Attach the trigger dispenser to the can, screw on so it punctures the seal and attach the other end of the trigger dispenser to the low pressure port (you can't confuse it with the high pressure port - they are different sizes)
5) Shake the can often (every few seconds and squeeze the trigger. It takes quite a long time if your car is empty and the car will not feel immediately cool. Release and repressurise to get an accurate reading.
6) Keep going until the needle is in the green. It doesn't really matter where abouts in the green is is (my mates 206 only went up to 30psi, my car to 45psi) and both cars feel just as cold as each other.
7) Job done. The can will do more than one car, so it still works out cheaper than even the cheapest garage and it's so simple - why pay?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what is says on the can!,
July 17, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price
" After noticing that the AC in my car had slowly degraded and with the recent heat wave I was noticing the warmth creeping in. After a little research and viewing a few clips online, I decided that this was the product which will do the business. I was fortunate enough to grab 2 cans and the dispenser on a 3 for 2 deal.
Watched the video on the Halfords website and gave it go. All went as expected and I would recommend wearing gloves as the can and connector point on the car can get very cold.
The dispenser was reporting that my system was low, so one can filled it up to the green zone and now I'm getting perfectly chilled air to enjoy while driving in the heat.
Be sure to return the can for a recycling refund of a tenner.
From a price point, I did find the can a little dear, but considering its a relatively easy task to perform, I'm sure I'll be making a saving as opposed to asking a local garage to do the same. Be sure to look out for the 3 for 2 deal when ordering.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and all in one product,
July 15, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: o
" Did the job and got a better deal because ordered online "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy and chilled out now,
July 15, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" To be honest I wasn't confident this would work, my aircon hadn't worked in nearly three years, took around 15 minutes, really simple to do as the halfords video shows and now my aircon is blowing ice cold, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aircon,
July 14, 2015
By
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Watch the video and you cannot go wrong
My Aircon is working 100% and I have gas left for at least another two annual top ups.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (CORNWALL STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
July 14, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Had my air con serviced twice in last 2 years. Both times air con only lasted few months dispite garages saying no leaks in system. Used this with dispenser nozzle. Very easy to use and my air con is blowing freezing cold. Not had it long enough to see if it solves the small leak i must have but so far so good. Never using a garage for air con servicing again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Other places will evacuate, test, refil and add dye,
July 10, 2015
By
from Uckfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy of use
Cons: over priced - trigger should be a loan item
" Too expensive! Cheapest place would charge £45 for AC recharge (well known tyre centre) for a complete evac, pressure test, recharge and of course added leak dye. This product costs (with trigger) £59. My 2010 accord used entire can despite it still working although not cold. To get any benefit I would have to buy another can and add approx 20% of new can to get it to its recommend amount. It is easy to use but over priced for my situation. Only wished I booked and had the patience to get it done using a proper machine! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
do your own Air con refill,
July 08, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: expensive
" needs the dispenser
this is expensive the first time because you have to buy the dispenser and pay a £10.00 deposit on the bottle.
And I would question whether it is worth it as all as long as Halfords are doing £30 refills.
In my case my tank was empty and I needed the whole bottle but for topping up partially fill systems it is a good idea.
As far as I can tell it will work on all cars
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so easy to use,
July 08, 2015
By
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Car air con charge was so low the compressor clutch would not come in. First used stop leak then the refrigerant. Now works great. so very, very easy to do. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Destroyed my compressor,
July 06, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: destroyed compressor
" I've used the product in the past with good results. But I used it again last week in accordance with the instructions and it destroyed my compressor - that's a £400 repair job. Good luck! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use aircon resurrection aid,
June 25, 2015
By
from Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, cheap, bona-fide product made especially for halfords
Cons: perhaps do a deal on gas and hose?
" I've used various product like this in the past from our commonly used online auction house but the options are shrinking along with a lot of misleading packaging not making clear that you've bought a Propane product instead!
This is a bona-fide R134 refrigerant top up and you can use it with total peace of mind. First time I applied it to my Volvo V50 I got too high a charge and the aircon wouldn't work. After a couple more days I revisited the task and realised I hadn't shaken the can anywhere near enough and had filled my system incorrectly. After applying my charge hose and gauge I could see that the system had settled to the 'low charge' state so applied the EZ-Chill after a thorough shake and straight away the levels were correct and the aircon worked brilliantly.
I stuck a common thermometer into the cars air inlet in the cabin and read 6 - 7 degrees C. I've been using the car everyday for a fortnight with the aircon on everytime and it's working brilliantly.
There was enough to recharge my sons Ford Focus and once I returned the empty cylinder to get my £10 refund it meant that two cars had been improved for £30. The key of course is to make sure your car has some charge in it using the separately purchased charge hose/pressure gauge. If there isn't any gas in the system you'll just be wasting money by pumping an ozone depletant into the atmosphere. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>