Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge

Feeling the heat? Then you need this EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
74 of 80(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Review 1 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EZChill,
September 16, 2014
By BassMan720
from Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Super easy to use. I had my car cooling again after 10 minutes. Far less hassle and much lower cost than relying on a repair shop."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JUST THE JOB,
September 15, 2014
By number1wakeytrukka
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"1st class product, easy to use (5 MINUTES - JOB DONE ! ) just the job to top up my air-con. (Mercedes Atego 1323 Y reg)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EZ CHILL,
September 11, 2014
By den58
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"one can did my jeep xj great product and i still have some gas left in the can,so easy to do,i now have a cold aircon system.thanks go out to grace and lianne at the basildon branch of halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Will be better next time,
September 09, 2014
By Rob1n
from UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought 3 items to recharge my car's aircon - this recharge can, a gauge and a tin of 'Superseal'.
It seems that several details of this recharging procedure are not well documented and the trade are deliberately obstructive and scathing about it in order to protect their business.
Firstly the instructions say 'attach to the low pressure side without the engine and compressor going' ( to measure the static pressure). They give no indication of what this should be, merely stating that if the reading is zero there is an abnormal leak. The Halfords man who did a check for me advised that as the reading was over 50psi there was something wrong and I shouldn't proceed. On checking the internet, however, I learnt that in static state there will be a balance between the high pressure and low pressure side, and a 'normal' reading can be anything from 50 - 200psi!
Checking the reading with compressor running, it was 25psi - about the minimum acceptable - but still I was getting a noise from the compressor so decided to go ahead.
I got the tin of 'superseal' and wound down the key to puncture the top. I then connected to the Port and held it upside down. I could not seem to completely discharge the contents after several attempts and eventually realised that you have to UNSCREW the tap in the top in order to leave a hole for the product to escape! Once this was done I gave it 30 seconds or so to empty then removed it - there was a hissing noise from the can and it discharged the last of it's oil (as it was pressurised) onto the car paintwork and garage door paintwork, which it quickly started to remove.
Not wishing to stop (as the sealant rapidly hardens and blocks the port if you're not careful!) I connected the Air Con Refill, shaking it as instructed and seen on a video posted by the manufacturer - also maneuvering it at 45deg occasionally. Time went on - it's difficult to tell if there's gas left in the canister whilst in this restricted position. The pressure reading was failing to increase and I realised that with all the shaking around the gauge fitting had partly unwound from the top of the can, and refrigerant gas was leaking out.(the instructions warned not to overtighten)
Rescrewing this I carried on until the can seemed empty, then took a final pressure reading (which turned out about the same as when I started)
The compressor noise has stopped and the air is icy cold
I hope readers of this will have picked up a few tips - next time it should be easy!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
September 07, 2014
By Thekopite
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product and an easy and cost effective solution to DIY your own air-con system. Works a treat!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chilled out-Jaguar xf.,
September 05, 2014
By Humberto
from dagenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really easy to top up the aircon gas. Always thought it was an expensive thing to do,(jaguar dealers charging about £200)Trigger gun easy to use but could do with a longer pipe,because the "Low port is hidden behind the left front wheel-very funny-clever.I did find out by USA sites.Would definitely recommend this to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ez chill,
August 28, 2014
By Spacefrog
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use, easier than pumping up a tyre. Made my air con a lot cooler..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin.,
August 25, 2014
By MRD100blue
from Malmesbury, Malmesbury, Wiltshire SN16, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Worked perfectly well and half the price of a garage AC recharge."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CIRENCESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Re gas your aircon,
August 24, 2014
By witsend99
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value alternative to having your aircon recharged at a garage. Easy to use but if your not confident buy it and get Halfords to do it for you at a great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooray! My aircon's working again,
August 21, 2014
By henryh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I haven't had aircon in my car since I was on holiday in Germany in June last year. I recharged it with this EZ Chill system from Halfords and now I've got lovely cold air blasting out again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chilled out,
August 12, 2014
By jonde
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"East to use and does exactly as it says on the tin. Easy to purchase with quick service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (PENARTH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use,
August 10, 2014
By AudiMan1
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is very easy to use and does what it says on the tin. I put some in my partners Honda civic and now its so cold she turns it down. There is still about half left in the can for the next top up. I only wish the adapter was included but you have to buy that separate."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Air con top up,
August 09, 2014
By Paulsty
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as the Aircon in my car was not getting cold any more. By the valve first to check the pressure in your air conditioning system before buying the canister as it may not be the fluid content that is your problem. Mine was reading 10 psi and virtually empty of gas but with no leaks. Had to use the entire can to bring the pressure to almost normal that was required. I needed to purchase a second can to top up to the correct levels. This is an excellent product and now air conditioning is icey cold. In hindsight I would've bought both air conditioning canisters and the gun as Halfords are doing by three for the price of two. So if you can borrow a gauge from someone to check the pressure first as to how much liquid you need you might just get away with the valve and one canister."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bbbbbrriilllliiiiantly Cold,
August 08, 2014
By CoolDave
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use.
"The EZ Chill system is so easy to use. Excellent videos on You Tube to help you refill your system. Pressure dial is really easy to read. I managed one and a bit car refills from one can so not as many as the salesman has suggested but still cheaper than getting it done professionally.
Bbbbbrriilllliiiiantly cold now.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
August 06, 2014
By scrappy14
from Dagenham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having had my air conditioning recharged by a reputable company it lasted only a short time before failure used this product since then it is working alright and it's so easy to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EZ Chill Excellent -One Cartridge charged four Cars with Eaze!,
August 06, 2014
By cjapeterborough
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: doddle to use, suiitable for most cars
Cons: 20% still left in can at disposal, a little expensive imho
"Decided to have a go with the EZ Chill and was suprised how easy it was to use and the results obtained.
I bought the whole kit -trigger guage/hose adaptor/three cans (on the 3for2 offer)
Objective was to recharge 4 cars in the family and this was achieved easily after finding the correct low side port on the air con pipes.Just have the car running with the air con turned on attach the trigger hose and after checking the pressure in the system a few quick squeezes and your good to go.Overall allow 10mins per car!
I also managed to return the extension hose as it was not needed for any of the cars.....
I weighed the can each time between use and used about 100g on each car.....be aware that you will only get about 80% discharged from the can -at least thats what I found measuring against the net weight claimed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked perfectly!,
August 06, 2014
By maria1302
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"This product worked very well and our air conditioning is fully charged and wonderfully cold!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Air con is nice and cold again.,
August 05, 2014
By Andy1234567890
from Colchester, Colchester, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Followed the instructions and my car has gone from a 16C to 6C coming out of the dash vents, and a £10 refund on the returned empty bottle. Can't be bad."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, resealable and recyclable,
August 05, 2014
By Martin810
from Sale, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product and better value on 3 for 2 offer. Trigger gun easy to use but could do with a longer pipe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Re Charge Air Con,
August 01, 2014
By JAJH
from Stevenage, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had my air conditioning recharged at a local garage and it lasted for a week.
I bought the EZ Chill and the connector and my air con is back to being 'as new'. An excellent product and simple to use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>