Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge

Feeling the heat? Then you need this EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
53 of 58(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Review 1 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant and so easy to do....,
July 24, 2014
By Vectrapped
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"I have just used this product and it is first class . Simple instructions on how to measure and recharge your aircon.
My ten year old cars aircon is now working better than ever."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to have cured my leak for now,
July 21, 2014
By rodderstrotter
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: so far seems to have stopped my leak
Cons: no way of knowing if the qty of gas is correct
"After a regas at the garage, my aircon stopped working after 6 days due to a leak. I wasn't prepared to spend hundreds on A/C on a 10 year old car, so thought I'd try this. Glad I did, because after 40 days it's still blowing cold :)
Adding the correct amount of gas is a bit hit and miss using a pressure gauge, the only accurate way to do this is by vacuuming the old gas & adding the correct amount. I guessed I still had 100g of gas in the system (as that's what the printout from the garage said before), so I worked out I needed to add 550g of gas. I added this by weighing the bottle before and after adding (also taking into account the weight of the oil and sealer). I needed about a bottle and a half. The gauge stayed at about the same reading from adding the first half a bottle to 1 1/2 bottles, proving that pressure isn't the correct/accurate way of adding gas. The vent temperature after 40 days is still as cold as when I first added the gas, so hopefully this means it hasn't lost any gas. I just hope it continuous to last. Price is expensive, but the 3 for 2 deal was on when I purchased, and after the bottle deposit, the price isn't too bad.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy,
July 20, 2014
By Lynny1970
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, recycleable product, saves making an appointment
"Bought this today, had to borrow the stores reusable trigger as they had sold out. Very simple and easy to use. Just locate your Air Con Valve un screw, shake the can gently, attached the trigger to the can, start your engine, put the air con on full, attached the trigger to the valve then do short burst, until the dial goes into the green, . easy to use seeing i am a woman, and i managed it....i did use a whole can as mine hasnt been done in a while. what was good was you get £10.00 back when you return the empty can. A great buy overall, would buy this again. If in doubt ask one of the halfords staff they are very helpful. Even got my partner to come and do his"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't Work,
July 06, 2014
By UKSimmo
from Uk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I used this product to top up the A/C on my 2008 Skoda Octavia. I followed the instructions topping up until the pressure was in the middle of the green zone. The system was no better.
I resorted to getting the dealer to re gas the system and now it is fine nice and cool!
I'm a bit annoyed that I paid twice to get the problem sorted."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works brilliantly!,
June 25, 2014
By andy1590
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Like others I was sceptical about buying the DIY aircon recharge kit.
However, it was excellent and has worked perfectly in my Toyota Avensis. Very easy to use and now icy cold. The pressure gauge said my system had no pressure at all. I used a whole canister to refill it but overall I am really pleased. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great,
May 22, 2014
By Vanmancan
from Aylesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just used this to see if it would fix my air-con on the Mercedes vito van . And it did 100%. Don't normally leave reviews but just wanted to add some info . I followed the instructions as on Bottle. But it says to fix to the lower connector (low pressure inlet) but as I found this is not always the case ! On my van this was the higher of the two ! What would be clearer is if it said fit to the smaller off the two connectors ,one is 13mm and the other is 16mm . As not all makes/models have the small inlet connector as the lower one ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
-3points
8out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cool product...,
May 15, 2014
By Chazola
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, works immediately
"I was umming and aahing whether to try this or not as although my car's a/c components (compressor etc) were working, it wasn't cooling like last year. After reading the reviews, and being someone who prefers to DIY than trust garages I gave it a go. Very easy to use with the separate trigger/gauge (you need this for it to work!) ...if you can pump up a tyre you can use this kit; it's refreshingly straight-forward.
Anyway, the gauge showed a low reading so I hooked up the can and topped up, shaking the can and inverting it (as another reviewer suggested)... with the engine running and a/c on you need to give a 2-3 second burst at a time then release to check the pressure. Results were immediate- nice cold air out of the vents :) Hopefully it'll last, but there seems plenty left in the can even after a decent top up.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chill out...,
December 12, 2013
By v6jirdy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: really easy to use, can recharge several times on one can
"Did what it said on the tin! Regassed my Audi A4's aircon to get rid of the 'Econ' switch light, it only took a couple of light squirts and it was up to pressure, so a whole can like this will last years. Well worth the investment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS WELL,
October 02, 2013
By PGTh
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my third can in three years - to cure a minor leak that I've calculated would cost much more to trace and fix permanently. Only takes a few mins to top up about once every 4-6 weeks and get the aircon compressor to cut in. The trick with these cans is to make sure you shake vigorously and keep shaking as you refill - seems to ensure that the leak sealer it contains gets into the system. At some point I'm going to have to try a can of 'proper' leak sealer - if that fails I'll have to bite the bullet and spend ££'s taking it to an Aircon specialist."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will not recharge Result Megane II,
September 22, 2013
By Anonymous
from Matlock and
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Sadly I cannot review this product as my Megane doesn't have a suitable port with which to use it. Be warned that some other Renaults are similarly 'difficult'. This kit is going back for a refund."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
-9points
8out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review EZ Chill Air Conditioning Recharge,
September 18, 2013
By Rik56
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Staff were brilliant explained as they did the procedure, it was M/T .
But it still did'nt chill they explained the possible reasons as why. Sorted @ ford garage.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Air Conditioning Recharge - EZ Chill,
September 05, 2013
By Ally54
from Peterhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good performance, enough for several vehicles
Cons: a bit expensive
"Excellent product. Re-charged 2 cars A/C systems - both operating perfectly now. Still some left in the can. A bit expensive when bought along with the trigger & nozzle, but refund on empty can and reuse of trigger compensates a bit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PETERHEAD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surprisingly good product, very easy to use.,
August 30, 2013
By Anonymous
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"two attempts by main dealer and well known fitters resulted in loss of pressure in less than 24 hours. in desperation I tried this product as it claimed to have safe leak stopper.
so long as you hold the can upside down so as to poor in to system it works and in my case sealed the leak.
1 week later the system was still working and still checked as in the green with no loss of pressure
I can't vouch for long term effectiveness as I no longer have the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aircon now working,
August 07, 2013
By Simon16
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use and clear instructions, worked a treat
Cons: not sure i'd use it on a newer vehicle, having to buy the coupling pipe separately
"My 12 year old Honda Accord had aircon not working properly for as long as the previous owner could remember. I figured that having a go with the EZ chill would be worth it, as it wasn't worth spending a fortune for a dealer to look at it. I checked the system for obvious leaks and damage and it looke fine, so followed the instructions (and the helpful feedback on this site) and it was very straightforward (make sure you wear decent gloves!).
After a few squirts, the compressor kicked in and several squirts later I had nice frosty air in the cabin.
A few days later and the pressure is holding so no small leaks either.
Be sure to remember that if you ever send the car to an aircon repair specialist or dealer, as the sealer agent in the EZ Chill can make a mess of any gas recovery equipment.
I'm very happy with the product and the results.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Low cost AC maintenance,
August 06, 2013
By Rollsman
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"You don't have to be a trained mechanic to use this product just follow the simple instruction and your AC will be back to its full efficency"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2007 DAF XF 105 Truck,
August 05, 2013
By deuchman
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had to deliver a load to Rome & knowing the temp was going to be in the mid 30's and that the aircon in this truck was not working nor could I get it re-gassed in time as I was told to use this truck on saturday & was loading for Italy on the following monday I popped into halfords & took a punt on this working which i'm pleased to say it did :0)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
August 03, 2013
By RogerBoot
from Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Charged up no problems and yes it was very cold after installation"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A/C Recharge,
August 03, 2013
By PaulB123
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy
"It does what it says on the tin!!
I would reccomend buying the extension hose as it was a bit difficult with my car to get the can and trigger assy. in position
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Well,
August 02, 2013
By Jack49
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Made a huge improvement and took less than 5 minutes !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Important tips on using this product,
August 01, 2013
By PD175
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: instructions
"Yes, you should buy this and try it yourself. It works and it is simple. But you need to know a few things the manufacuturer chooses not to explain very well:
(1) You are filling the system with a liquid not a gas (in fact liquified gas). You therefore need to hold the can upside down so that when you squeeze the trigger and 'swirl the can', the liquid flows down out of the can into the tube and your system. Don't hold the can upright and try to fill because this will mean you are trying to push the gas at the top of the can into the system and that really doesn't do much - if anything.
(2) There is guidance on how to know when your system is full but it's a little confusing and involves temperature conversions etc. What you need to know is that when your system needs filling the gauge needle will be way off in the white area. You then need to fill it to get the needle into the green area - exactly where to fill it to you can work out using the instructions, but you won't go too far wrong by getting it in the middle somewhere. The red area is bad and would be an overfill.
Filled my Porsche 911 997 from empty to mid green with one can. Cooling went from nothing down to proper air-con levels. Mine was so empty that during filling the compressor came to life, followed by the radiator fan, neither of which had come on before.
If the instructions were clearer many more people would be confident to buy this product and use it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>