Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge

Feeling the heat? Then you need this EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.445 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
7
103 of 115(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Review 1 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok for minor top ups,
July 20, 2016
By
from Bristol, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I found that there was insufficient contents in the can to service my system back to its normal operating range, Sadly you wont know this until you've already used it. If you have to use a second can then it would be cheaper to get a service performed by a specialist who would also be able to perform thorough vacuum tests etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
R134a Regas,
July 19, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: tinkering
Cons: heat
" I had a regas initially done by the 'professionals' and appeared I had a small leak in three seals, rather than change seals was quoted £790 to fix this was replacing 2 pipes and condenser. I replaced the seals and also using another product along with this I now have an ice cold car, sits at 3 degrees on thermometer. Easy to do with the gage that can be bought separate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Use This,
July 19, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" This Product contains a sealant as well. If your car did not just need a regass and it has a problem with the compressor you are going to pay an extra £200 ,ring up a car air conditioner garage first "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Expensive but seems to have worked.,
July 13, 2016
By
from Perth, Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: money back on empty tin
Cons: price
" Seems to have worked on my 2005 Audi A4, also purchased the tim of sealer and the trigger/gauge., its only been 2 weeks but time will tell. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works,
June 23, 2016
By
from St Helens, Saint Helens, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value and service
" Took my car to my local Halfwords yesterday and they re-charged my air con system and also cleaned it out with the stock bomb. The total cost was £40 , the total cost was less than if I had bought the stuff myself. And they did the job for me so I didn't even have to get my hands dirty. Excellent service and price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ace,
June 21, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, fixed the problem
" Saves booking in and hanging around a garage used on mercedes ml w164 worked a treat easy to use and had air conditioning working again in a flash. Also £10 back when you return the empty bottle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How to write off your air-con,
June 10, 2016
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: simple to use
Cons: feeling like a simpleton for buying it
" Following two instructional videos, including Halford's own, I filled the air con. Releasing the trigger frequently to avoid overfilling, the gauge showed the gas going in but it would not move into the green section, so I assumed that my car had a bad leak and what I was putting in was going straight out. The next day I checked to see if anything remained in the system and the needle of the gauge went as far into the red as possible. The system had been completely overfilled the day before but the gauge had read wrong. This was while the air con was blasting, per instructions, which is a sure-fire way to blow all the components such as the compressor and condensor etc. An air-con specialist has told me since that these kits cause huge problems and are seriously frowned upon by experts. He also refused to vacuum and properly refill my system to see if anything still worked because he said the sealant in this product has the potential to damage his expensive equipment. It is now likely that my air-con is beyond economic repair. It may work for some people but I would not risk using this product ever again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works!,
May 28, 2016
By
from Cambs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it worked.
" I had an empty air con system in my Toyota IQ which had a confirmed leak from the condenser area. Toyota quoted me £500 to repair. I bought this canister and also the additional all-in-one small hose, gauge and adapter (also from Halfords).
The canister, with the help from a few clips from YouTube, worked a treat. Note, safety gear is essential. My air con system has now been sealed and recharged and I still have some gas to spare. I've saved about £450 and now have a working system.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let a A/C guy do it.,
February 23, 2016
By
from Leicester
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: quick, cna do more than one car
Cons: have to buy gauge, cost benefit is not worth it., garage will be far better, need to have easy access to lp port
" You really have to buy the pressure gauge, for another £20 or so, and then this is only a top up. You have to identify the Low pressure port, and get the volume right not too much not too little. So it will cost you about £30 (when on Special offer with gauge) and £50 when not on special offer.. It is a good thing you cant accidentally place this on the High Pressure side, you could really injure yourself badly. Just give the car to a specialist. I got mine done, complete drain and refill with a pressure check for £35. So why mess about have the can hanging about, and risk injury? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
-1point
16out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ford C-Max 1.6 tdci,
January 29, 2016
By
from Galway
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Highly recommend this product, my A/C was empty after change new engine (in old one block was gone) it took me 10 minutes to refill A/C, Works much better than before, it is very simple to do it, and I was save on expensive filling in garage, Also gas include oil to seal leaks One gas tanks is enough to fill a/c from zero and is still bit left. I highly buy this again, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GALWAY (ROI)
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use with the charge nozzle,
October 14, 2015
By
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy and quantity
Cons: have to take bottle back for £10 refund
" Brought this along with the charge nozzle and extension hose (maybe a kit saving a few pounds would be a good idea) to investigate why my a/c wasn't working. it became apparent very quickly once the nozzle was connected as I had no pressure. however, connected up the nozzle to this charge bottle with ease, and pressurised my system very easily, cant comment on how cold it was etc. as its turns out my condenser is shot. but id use this again no problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ez chill aircon recharge,
September 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Quick and easy way to recharge aircon. Save money and time with this. Dont forget to buy extension hose as it maybe handy to get to low pressure side valve. The only think I would like to add that there should be some kind of chart what kind of pressure should be for each specific car not just green zone on gauge ranging from 25 to 55psi. Apart from that very recommended indeed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
air con,
September 20, 2015
By
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: bit expensive
" worked a treat def needed the extension pipe for my landrover ,nice and cold now and still enough for at least 2 more charges. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK. But a pro-garage will do a better job.,
August 03, 2015
By
from Wisbech, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, has made a difference
Cons: not that cold
" Worked well on a car that had been pro re-gassed in the last 18 months. Not icy cold but better than it was. Hasn't worked quite so good on a car that hasn't been re-gassed for a few years.
Thing this is best if used yearly on a system that is working well .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Air Con recharge EZ Chill,
July 24, 2015
By
from Sale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price but 3 for 2 offer good.
" Quick and easy to use to top up a poor performing air con system. Refill cans are not cheap but remember to save your receipt to get £10 back when returning the empty cylinder. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
air con,
July 24, 2015
By
from Dumfries, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" the product was easy to use, unfortunately they do not tell you that the pressure gauge does not fit every car and I had to purchase an adaptor for my renault laguna which cost £18. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Take some scales with you when you buy,
July 23, 2015
By
from Molesey, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: worked well
Cons: lightweight for the price
" The product worked as expected, no problems using it.
I'd had it a couple of days before using it, noticing that the "seal" just unscrewed, I weighed it and found it's gross weight (contents plus container) to be 340 grams yet it's advertised nett weight (on the bottle) was 510 grams.
I'll be kind and suggest a used bottle was mistakenly sold to me, of course other theories are available.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DIY Air Con Recharge,
July 22, 2015
By
from North Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What a brilliant product. Just follow the instructions on the can and squirt away. It is that simple!
Why pay £40+ for something you can do yourself. It is even better if you have two cars as one can will do both if you are only topping up.
Try it if you can, you have nothing to lose!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge,
July 22, 2015
By
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: pipe not very long so hard to shake can
" Used this product to fix I pin hole in my air con and it done the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy,
July 19, 2015
By
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" Simple and easy procedure and quick to boot and plenty of gas to do it again at least twice. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>