Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge

Feeling the heat? Then you need this EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.504 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
6
102 of 112(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Review 1 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works,
June 23, 2016
By
from St Helens, Saint Helens, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value and service
" Took my car to my local Halfwords yesterday and they re-charged my air con system and also cleaned it out with the stock bomb. The total cost was £40 , the total cost was less than if I had bought the stuff myself. And they did the job for me so I didn't even have to get my hands dirty. Excellent service and price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ace,
June 21, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, fixed the problem
" Saves booking in and hanging around a garage used on mercedes ml w164 worked a treat easy to use and had air conditioning working again in a flash. Also £10 back when you return the empty bottle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
How to write off your air-con,
June 10, 2016
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: simple to use
Cons: feeling like a simpleton for buying it
" Following two instructional videos, including Halford's own, I filled the air con. Releasing the trigger frequently to avoid overfilling, the gauge showed the gas going in but it would not move into the green section, so I assumed that my car had a bad leak and what I was putting in was going straight out. The next day I checked to see if anything remained in the system and the needle of the gauge went as far into the red as possible. The system had been completely overfilled the day before but the gauge had read wrong. This was while the air con was blasting, per instructions, which is a sure-fire way to blow all the components such as the compressor and condensor etc. An air-con specialist has told me since that these kits cause huge problems and are seriously frowned upon by experts. He also refused to vacuum and properly refill my system to see if anything still worked because he said the sealant in this product has the potential to damage his expensive equipment. It is now likely that my air-con is beyond economic repair. It may work for some people but I would not risk using this product ever again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works!,
May 28, 2016
By
from Cambs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it worked.
" I had an empty air con system in my Toyota IQ which had a confirmed leak from the condenser area. Toyota quoted me £500 to repair. I bought this canister and also the additional all-in-one small hose, gauge and adapter (also from Halfords).
The canister, with the help from a few clips from YouTube, worked a treat. Note, safety gear is essential. My air con system has now been sealed and recharged and I still have some gas to spare. I've saved about £450 and now have a working system.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let a A/C guy do it.,
February 23, 2016
By
from Leicester
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: quick, cna do more than one car
Cons: have to buy gauge, cost benefit is not worth it., garage will be far better, need to have easy access to lp port
" You really have to buy the pressure gauge, for another £20 or so, and then this is only a top up. You have to identify the Low pressure port, and get the volume right not too much not too little. So it will cost you about £30 (when on Special offer with gauge) and £50 when not on special offer.. It is a good thing you cant accidentally place this on the High Pressure side, you could really injure yourself badly. Just give the car to a specialist. I got mine done, complete drain and refill with a pressure check for £35. So why mess about have the can hanging about, and risk injury? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
-4points
10out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ford C-Max 1.6 tdci,
January 29, 2016
By
from Galway
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Highly recommend this product, my A/C was empty after change new engine (in old one block was gone) it took me 10 minutes to refill A/C, Works much better than before, it is very simple to do it, and I was save on expensive filling in garage, Also gas include oil to seal leaks One gas tanks is enough to fill a/c from zero and is still bit left. I highly buy this again, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GALWAY (ROI)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use with the charge nozzle,
October 14, 2015
By
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy and quantity
Cons: have to take bottle back for £10 refund
" Brought this along with the charge nozzle and extension hose (maybe a kit saving a few pounds would be a good idea) to investigate why my a/c wasn't working. it became apparent very quickly once the nozzle was connected as I had no pressure. however, connected up the nozzle to this charge bottle with ease, and pressurised my system very easily, cant comment on how cold it was etc. as its turns out my condenser is shot. but id use this again no problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ez chill aircon recharge,
September 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Quick and easy way to recharge aircon. Save money and time with this. Dont forget to buy extension hose as it maybe handy to get to low pressure side valve. The only think I would like to add that there should be some kind of chart what kind of pressure should be for each specific car not just green zone on gauge ranging from 25 to 55psi. Apart from that very recommended indeed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
air con,
September 20, 2015
By
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: bit expensive
" worked a treat def needed the extension pipe for my landrover ,nice and cold now and still enough for at least 2 more charges. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK. But a pro-garage will do a better job.,
August 03, 2015
By
from Wisbech, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, has made a difference
Cons: not that cold
" Worked well on a car that had been pro re-gassed in the last 18 months. Not icy cold but better than it was. Hasn't worked quite so good on a car that hasn't been re-gassed for a few years.
Thing this is best if used yearly on a system that is working well .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Air Con recharge EZ Chill,
July 24, 2015
By
from Sale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price but 3 for 2 offer good.
" Quick and easy to use to top up a poor performing air con system. Refill cans are not cheap but remember to save your receipt to get £10 back when returning the empty cylinder. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
air con,
July 24, 2015
By
from Dumfries, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" the product was easy to use, unfortunately they do not tell you that the pressure gauge does not fit every car and I had to purchase an adaptor for my renault laguna which cost £18. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Take some scales with you when you buy,
July 23, 2015
By
from Molesey, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: worked well
Cons: lightweight for the price
" The product worked as expected, no problems using it.
I'd had it a couple of days before using it, noticing that the "seal" just unscrewed, I weighed it and found it's gross weight (contents plus container) to be 340 grams yet it's advertised nett weight (on the bottle) was 510 grams.
I'll be kind and suggest a used bottle was mistakenly sold to me, of course other theories are available.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DIY Air Con Recharge,
July 22, 2015
By
from North Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What a brilliant product. Just follow the instructions on the can and squirt away. It is that simple!
Why pay £40+ for something you can do yourself. It is even better if you have two cars as one can will do both if you are only topping up.
Try it if you can, you have nothing to lose!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge,
July 22, 2015
By
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: pipe not very long so hard to shake can
" Used this product to fix I pin hole in my air con and it done the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy,
July 19, 2015
By
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" Simple and easy procedure and quick to boot and plenty of gas to do it again at least twice. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
July 19, 2015
By
from Stockport, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Tried this on the wifes 07 corsa the air con was not very good at all , followed the instructions carefully and within 30 mins it was working fine again. Would point out you will almost definitely need the extension hose with the gas cartridge and trigger. I bought mine on the three for two deal so i got the hose for free. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLOSSOP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
July 18, 2015
By
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to use with additional purchase of pressure gauge. Be careful not to put too much in. My car (ford focus 06) only needed increasing from 22 to 35 psi but the green level on the gauge went up to 55 psi.
Nice and cold now "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant products - hose far too short *but that's not Halfords fault!*,
July 17, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: length of trigger hose
" Brilliant product, which must be purchased with the 'reusable trigger and dispense' which is sold separately. If you follow the instructions to the letter on the side of the can, and it'll work perfectly. Don't be worried about using this, if you have never done it before. It's simple.
If you search Youtube for 'EZ Chill' you'll find a load of helpful vids, but basically you do the following -
1) Locate the low pressure port (look in your owners manual or google it for your car)
2) Attach the trigger dispenser (bought separately) and read the gauge. If it is not in the green zone, it needs regassing.
3) Run the engine with the air con on maximum cool and fan on maximum for 3 minutes (leave it running the whole time - don't turn it off).
4) Attach the trigger dispenser to the can, screw on so it punctures the seal and attach the other end of the trigger dispenser to the low pressure port (you can't confuse it with the high pressure port - they are different sizes)
5) Shake the can often (every few seconds and squeeze the trigger. It takes quite a long time if your car is empty and the car will not feel immediately cool. Release and repressurise to get an accurate reading.
6) Keep going until the needle is in the green. It doesn't really matter where abouts in the green is is (my mates 206 only went up to 30psi, my car to 45psi) and both cars feel just as cold as each other.
7) Job done. The can will do more than one car, so it still works out cheaper than even the cheapest garage and it's so simple - why pay?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what is says on the can!,
July 17, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price
" After noticing that the AC in my car had slowly degraded and with the recent heat wave I was noticing the warmth creeping in. After a little research and viewing a few clips online, I decided that this was the product which will do the business. I was fortunate enough to grab 2 cans and the dispenser on a 3 for 2 deal.
Watched the video on the Halfords website and gave it go. All went as expected and I would recommend wearing gloves as the can and connector point on the car can get very cold.
The dispenser was reporting that my system was low, so one can filled it up to the green zone and now I'm getting perfectly chilled air to enjoy while driving in the heat.
Be sure to return the can for a recycling refund of a tenner.
From a price point, I did find the can a little dear, but considering its a relatively easy task to perform, I'm sure I'll be making a saving as opposed to asking a local garage to do the same. Be sure to look out for the 3 for 2 deal when ordering.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>