Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge

Feeling the heat? Then you need this EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Average Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
48 of 52(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Review 1 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chill out...,
December 12, 2013
By v6jirdy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: really easy to use, can recharge several times on one can
"Did what it said on the tin! Regassed my Audi A4's aircon to get rid of the 'Econ' switch light, it only took a couple of light squirts and it was up to pressure, so a whole can like this will last years. Well worth the investment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS WELL,
October 02, 2013
By PGTh
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my third can in three years - to cure a minor leak that I've calculated would cost much more to trace and fix permanently. Only takes a few mins to top up about once every 4-6 weeks and get the aircon compressor to cut in. The trick with these cans is to make sure you shake vigorously and keep shaking as you refill - seems to ensure that the leak sealer it contains gets into the system. At some point I'm going to have to try a can of 'proper' leak sealer - if that fails I'll have to bite the bullet and spend ££'s taking it to an Aircon specialist."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will not recharge Result Megane II,
September 22, 2013
By Anonymous
from Matlock and
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Sadly I cannot review this product as my Megane doesn't have a suitable port with which to use it. Be warned that some other Renaults are similarly 'difficult'. This kit is going back for a refund."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review EZ Chill Air Conditioning Recharge,
September 18, 2013
By Rik56
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Staff were brilliant explained as they did the procedure, it was M/T .
But it still did'nt chill they explained the possible reasons as why. Sorted @ ford garage.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Air Conditioning Recharge - EZ Chill,
September 05, 2013
By Ally54
from Peterhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good performance, enough for several vehicles
Cons: a bit expensive
"Excellent product. Re-charged 2 cars A/C systems - both operating perfectly now. Still some left in the can. A bit expensive when bought along with the trigger & nozzle, but refund on empty can and reuse of trigger compensates a bit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PETERHEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surprisingly good product, very easy to use.,
August 30, 2013
By Anonymous
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"two attempts by main dealer and well known fitters resulted in loss of pressure in less than 24 hours. in desperation I tried this product as it claimed to have safe leak stopper.
so long as you hold the can upside down so as to poor in to system it works and in my case sealed the leak.
1 week later the system was still working and still checked as in the green with no loss of pressure
I can't vouch for long term effectiveness as I no longer have the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aircon now working,
August 07, 2013
By Simon16
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use and clear instructions, worked a treat
Cons: not sure i'd use it on a newer vehicle, having to buy the coupling pipe separately
"My 12 year old Honda Accord had aircon not working properly for as long as the previous owner could remember. I figured that having a go with the EZ chill would be worth it, as it wasn't worth spending a fortune for a dealer to look at it. I checked the system for obvious leaks and damage and it looke fine, so followed the instructions (and the helpful feedback on this site) and it was very straightforward (make sure you wear decent gloves!).
After a few squirts, the compressor kicked in and several squirts later I had nice frosty air in the cabin.
A few days later and the pressure is holding so no small leaks either.
Be sure to remember that if you ever send the car to an aircon repair specialist or dealer, as the sealer agent in the EZ Chill can make a mess of any gas recovery equipment.
I'm very happy with the product and the results.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Low cost AC maintenance,
August 06, 2013
By Rollsman
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"You don't have to be a trained mechanic to use this product just follow the simple instruction and your AC will be back to its full efficency"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2007 DAF XF 105 Truck,
August 05, 2013
By deuchman
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had to deliver a load to Rome & knowing the temp was going to be in the mid 30's and that the aircon in this truck was not working nor could I get it re-gassed in time as I was told to use this truck on saturday & was loading for Italy on the following monday I popped into halfords & took a punt on this working which i'm pleased to say it did :0)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
August 03, 2013
By RogerBoot
from Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Charged up no problems and yes it was very cold after installation"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A/C Recharge,
August 03, 2013
By PaulB123
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy
"It does what it says on the tin!!
I would reccomend buying the extension hose as it was a bit difficult with my car to get the can and trigger assy. in position
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Well,
August 02, 2013
By Jack49
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Made a huge improvement and took less than 5 minutes !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Important tips on using this product,
August 01, 2013
By PD175
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: instructions
"Yes, you should buy this and try it yourself. It works and it is simple. But you need to know a few things the manufacuturer chooses not to explain very well:
(1) You are filling the system with a liquid not a gas (in fact liquified gas). You therefore need to hold the can upside down so that when you squeeze the trigger and 'swirl the can', the liquid flows down out of the can into the tube and your system. Don't hold the can upright and try to fill because this will mean you are trying to push the gas at the top of the can into the system and that really doesn't do much - if anything.
(2) There is guidance on how to know when your system is full but it's a little confusing and involves temperature conversions etc. What you need to know is that when your system needs filling the gauge needle will be way off in the white area. You then need to fill it to get the needle into the green area - exactly where to fill it to you can work out using the instructions, but you won't go too far wrong by getting it in the middle somewhere. The red area is bad and would be an overfill.
Filled my Porsche 911 997 from empty to mid green with one can. Cooling went from nothing down to proper air-con levels. Mine was so empty that during filling the compressor came to life, followed by the radiator fan, neither of which had come on before.
If the instructions were clearer many more people would be confident to buy this product and use it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cool Runnings,
July 31, 2013
By Photobill
from Pembroke Dock South Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of use
Cons: no mention that the earlier connection cannot be u
"A first class product that really works, yet saves you money.I purchased the product in order to recharge my daughter's mini. It not only successfully achieved this but also topped up ny CRV and there is still gas left in the bottle.he only thing I would comment on is the fact that earlier EZ Chill connectors will not work with this bottle (a fact not mentioned anywhere) which meant that I had to return the following day to purchase a new connector. Overall I found this product to be first class and I will use it again if required."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cool man,
July 30, 2013
By Lostinfrance2
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it works
Cons: none
"The air con on my car obviously was not coping with the recent heat wave so I ordered the recharge service online from Halfords . The technician checked, re charged and tested quickly, efficiently and with a smile on his face despite the heat. Well done Halfords and particularly Rotherham (Canklow)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and convenience,
July 30, 2013
By Officer1
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: convenience and that it works
Cons: no downside
"This really worked for me, in the hot weather, unwilling to wait for the next scheduled car service, this was recommended to me by a local much respected motor mechanic. Couldn't be easier, reserved it on the Halfords website, called the store as soon as it opened the next (Sunday) morning to make sure that they had it - they had, turned up with the car and within minutes a Halfords technician was recharging the system. That way you don't have to buy the adaptor and gauge and it's done properly. Cost of installation is the same as cost of the adaptor.
Highly recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
July 30, 2013
By rl17052013
from Winchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Air-con now working really well - especially in the very hot weather we have been experiencing recently. Two small down sides however. 1) the instructions on the cylinder are not consistent with those on the dispenser/gauge 2) there is no way of knowing how much liquid is left in the cylinder. Apart from that , very easy to refill the air-con system."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AIR CON GAS,
July 28, 2013
By Rattlesqueekbang
from MK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have used two of these gas bottles and they work well. It is quite easy to re-gas your car's air con using this system. I did two cars with one bottle. Just follow the instructions and it is very easy to do. The air con worked very well after I did the recharge. I bought the gas bottle at one branch and got the deposit refund back at another branch of Halfords. (Keep the original receipt). Don't forget to shake the bottle during the filling of the system with the new gas."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use , worked fantastically , brilliant,
July 28, 2013
By Morris01
from Perthshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy and effective
"Charged my air con on a Sunday before we went on holiday as we forgot to get it done beforehand , we were sceptical whether this would work but how wrong we were it worked brilliantly and was very easy to use following instructions , I would definitely use this again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Chill Auto Air Conditioning Recharge
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick to implement, and good value,
July 27, 2013
By Leon10
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Would definitely use again. Very quick to recharge the vehicle and the can has enough in it for at least one more topup."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
123next>>