Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tyres or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"

Continental Baron Bike Tyre is not afraid of tough terrain or wet weather conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
51 of 55(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Review 1 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great tire if you can get it on a rim,
November 18, 2014
By jbarnes
from Sw devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: toughness, design, price, useability
Cons: so difficult to fit
"Brilliant piece of kit, my only worry is how you put it on your rim. These are sooooo tight to get on and you will bend your tire levers/spoons whatever getting them on or off!! I snake pinched the inner tube 3 times trying to get the rear tire on which got a little frustrating to say the least.
My other concern is that if you get a flat on a ride you won't be able to take the tire off or if you do, you might re damage the inner tube when putting back on, I would take some tire goo to fix this?
Other than that they are a great well made bit off equipment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing value,
November 16, 2014
By Davo1444
from Shrewsbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good tread and mud clearance
Cons: not too grippy on roots
"Wasn't sure about the cheaper compound to start but after a few runs I don't think you can beat this tyre for winter riding at this price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when the going gets tough....,
November 15, 2014
By thunderhoof
from Newcastle upon tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: superb grip, price
Cons: that i didnt buy them years ago
"The Continental Baron tyres i have just bought have proved very quickly to be the best winter tyres i have ever used. Have been biking for years and have tried all sorts from the top brands, these are quiet on hard trails and roads and come into their own when it gets wet and muddy i'm sure they will be a valuable addition to the bike when the snow falls as well.
It's a really chunky grip and gives great confidence on the trails as well as on the road in wet conditions, all in all a superb tyre which i would recommend to anybody who has tried all of the others and even if you haven't tried the others just buy these, they look great too. Great price from Halfords as always!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Value,
November 11, 2014
By PMo24
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value for money tyre. Good tread with lots of grip."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental Baron,
November 05, 2014
By Tractorboy77
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance, value for money
"Excellent tyre. Very good grip in all conditions. I run at low pressure offroad for max grip with no probs. Could not beat Halfords online price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boost my energy to go more miles,
October 29, 2014
By Alvin28
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm confident and feel so safe to challenge more rigid tracks and aim more higher.Awesome product,no fear!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant tyre,
October 28, 2014
By karlyt
from Chorley, Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost
Cons: weight
"Good tyre esp on the back. Grippy and sheds mud well. bargain"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental Baron Tyre,
October 27, 2014
By Mscam
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've used these for ages. I cycle around 120 miles a week and these are not ideal on the road but excellent off road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental Baron,
October 21, 2014
By Robbo27
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: tail winds
Cons: head winds
"I bought these tyres to replace the Bontrager 2.25s fitted as standard. I have a pair of Continental X-Kings on my other bike (which are equally as good). I wanted a pair of tyres for Autumn/Winter (which has recently arrived!) that would give me loads of grip and stability on my daily commute (road/mud/water/leaves). The 2.3 Barons are narrower than my old 2.25 Bontragers. This is probably due to the much stronger side wall on the Barons. The Bontragers were a bit soft and tended to 'wobble' a bit on cornering. So far so good for the Barons. They look great, feel solid and grip well. I'm just looking forward to some snow to see how they cope. Well, I imagine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
continental baron,
October 14, 2014
By peddlar69
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
"Good strong construction fairly stiff sidewall should withstand punctures from pinching. Not yet fitted so can't report on grip levels yet."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental baron 26',
September 13, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality material
"Item as described and great value quality material and also look wicked , very happy with this purchase Deffo recommend !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tyre for Price,
September 09, 2014
By poppylachat
from plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fitted to my Claude Butler Zagato very please with road hold worth buying at current price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for purpose,
August 30, 2014
By Anonymous
from Stockton-on-Tees, Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used on a daily basis for work and social on roads / cycle paths. good grip. A bit tricky to fit, needed lubrication on one of the tyres to lock onto rim"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top notch,
August 07, 2014
By Tidge30
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sticky
"Sticks to whatever terrain, the grip is great and the price is right."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chunky,
June 13, 2014
By Ginge123456789
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value, grip
Cons: not much
"Excellant grip from this tyre in the mud and loose stuff, not so sure how long its going to last tho."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3",
February 21, 2014
By Deano39641
from kilkenny, ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the grip, the price, its a all-rounder tyre
"bought a pair for my bike, great value at this price and they are great in all weather conditions. grip is good in wet muddy conditions and is smooth on the road as well. all rounder tyre. great buy!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KILKENNY (ROI)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic,
February 18, 2014
By GOochyGooch
from Cleveland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: grip is unmatched by any tire i've tried
Cons: nothing
"Purchased today, fitted today, rode today.
These tires are fantastic, rode in very muddy conditions, not one slip or wash out, trick is to set your pressures just right, this just grip everything, and the price is unbeatable...
Staff as always in the branch are fantastic, fantastic customer service, always hard working, nothing and I mean nothing is to much trouble for any of them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
January 05, 2014
By AJS21
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product was bought for my brother but the value was great and it seemed very sturdy with good chunky surface for his off roading needs."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product for realistic price,
January 04, 2014
By Bodie1
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: whats not to like at this price?
"Bought a pair of these tyres & reserved on-line to pick up the following day, as usual the Halfords staff at Dorchester branch were very helpful & my order was waiting at the till. Fitted & rode the same day & found them to be a very good tyre to suit my needs of mainly trail / track riding & at a budget price. All in all am very pleased with the purchase & would recommend to anyone potentially looking for off-road tyres."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Continental Baron Bike Tyre - 26" x 2.3"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
continental baron 2.3,
November 27, 2013
By jammin76
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price, the brand
"I fitted these tyres on the front and back of my specialzied hardrock. They great on road with Little noise and good grip, off road they even better I ride alot of mod land with mud sand, stones clay, I amm really impressed by there grip, highly recommended, good price at halfords I got the 3 for 2 offer and got the mrs's bike a maxxis tyre for free!!! Happy days ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>