Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio

Sony MEX-BT2900, turn up the quality of your commute with a Bluetooth handsfree calling, wireless audio package & featuring an integrated microphone and audio streaming capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Review 1 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
May 21, 2012
By Sharon42
from Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brilliant sound quality
Cons: none
"Bought this in the sale, fantastic sound and quality. Had it fitted at halfords fantastic service, he even set it up for me explaining how everything works. Can't fault it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bluetooth is great,
May 10, 2012
By Dave4Bren
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Bluetooth can directly controls music on my Phone and on my Wifes phone, The radio is powerful and really clear. Another good thing is that the buttons respond instantly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and great quality,
May 06, 2012
By Mrantwilliams
from London wembly
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brand, sound quality
Cons: no usb
"Great item at amazing value, very easy to set up and use. Such a recognized brand at an amazing value. Great purchase !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
April 20, 2012
By Doxford
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good bluetooth handsfree, good radio and cd
Cons: nothing
"Great product, excellent price from Halfords. Have tried many ways of having bluetooth hands free in the car (via sun visor clip-ons, sat navs with hands free bluetooth built in etc.) and this is by far the best. Radio and CD better than the stock item (Honda CRV). At Halfords price a real bargain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant stereo unit- great value in halfords,
March 30, 2012
By RubyJ
from Chelmsford England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Fantastic unit- I'm a real fan of Sony anyhow, but love the Bluetooth functionality of phone and music streaming. The only slightly disappointing thing is that when connecting an iPhone, you can't store the preset dialling because you need to send the contacts via Bluetooth .vcf- which isn't supported by the handset. Apparently there's going to be a Bad Dog app for it soon. It would
Be useful, but certainly doesn't detract from the phone function when you get used to it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ease of set up,
March 14, 2012
By cgilly
from Fort William, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very easy to fit and set up. The only thing would have liked to have seen for an external mic to be used. The built in mic picks up ok but you have to speak loudly when there is road noise which the player also picks up.
Overall though a very good piece of kit which I would recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony BT radio,
February 17, 2012
By CampervanTW
from Newport, Gwent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Haven't had a good chance to try everything out yet. Must say that it looks a little complicated, will need to take some time to try out functions with the help of the instruction manual. Managed to make a Bluetooth phone call with my iPhone and was impressed with the quality of the sound. Haven't tried streaming music or using my MP3 player through the aux-in yet. Overall an impressive piece of equipment for a good price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bluetooth delight,
February 13, 2012
By SonyLover
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Loving this sony head unit. Set up with bluetooth instant for me. Connects quickly to my mobile. Clear calling. Great sound both calling and music and fantastic output and even better on the xplod setting. Sony products are 2nd to none. Almost bought a Alpine unit as i have one from previous use which is now in my partners car but this unit is of a high quality standard and good to use. Very happy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quality product,
January 06, 2012
By swiftyb
from bedford uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good quality for price
bluetooth audio player is superb and phone call are good for a built in mic.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good value,
January 01, 2012
By christopher27061954
from cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easy to fit, amazing sound, easy to set up and very easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase - excellent unit,
December 31, 2011
By 64511
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easily fitted into existing space, wiring just clipped together. Easy set up with clear instructions. Bluetooth connection with both phone & Ipod took minutes. Overall good unit with excellent features and good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cant believe how good it is,
December 29, 2011
By Kicks
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just had this bought for me for Xmas ,this is one of the best things I've had .
Easy to use blue tooth stream music wireless via iPhone blackberry etc
Very good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Parent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic present,
December 09, 2011
By Foghorn10
from Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently bought this for a present for my husband. The price was fantastic as there was 50% off. The Bluetooth is so easy to use and set up and it is excellent quality. Would definitely recommend this stereo"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First class purchase,
November 15, 2011
By Dave8385
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product, has everything I wanted at a great price. Customer Service was excellent, installing the product and also reconnecting the steering wheel controls to make it better functioning and easy to use, brilliant!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic purchase,
November 14, 2011
By Jacko66
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bluetooth, play music from iphone
Cons: none
"Good quality in car entertainment. Fantastic value for money. Thinking of bying another one for my other car"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony ICE,
September 22, 2011
By Rubythursday
from York
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really pleased with the purchase, only thing that annoys me is that you van dim the LCD display but the buttons which light up very blue are annoying and don't dim."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value,
May 15, 2011
By foureyes60
from plymouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought this for the wife's car as her previous sony unit had died,not bad for nine years continuous use.Very easy to set up,instruction book fairly clear,great for audio streaming rather than having a cable dangling around"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product,
May 09, 2011
By swanseagirl
from hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great stereo, has a brilliant clear sound and was very easy to fit with the right wiring etc.. bluetooth function is good with the radio cut out feature and the sound is clear, so you can hear the other person loud and clear. I like the audio streaming feature too. All round good quality stereo"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
impressed with staff attitude,
May 06, 2011
By fleur47
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great item great value for money,just the job. would recommend it to friends and family"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony MEX-BT2900 In-Car Bluetooth CD Radio
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cd player,
April 24, 2011
By Vwpolobur
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great sound
"Really good product linked my iPod touch to it via the Bluetooth function! Great sound!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.