Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player

Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3/AAC/Tuner player, USB, iPod Control , Bluetooth compatible, ZAPPIN,
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (129 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
35
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
122 of 127(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Review 1 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stereo,
September 24, 2011
By gadget315
from Torquay
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great unit for the price, features
Cons: surround facia clip a bit flimsy
"Easy to install and set up. The bluetooth is good quality, and so is the sound quality. Love the fact that if you,re listening to music on a usb stick, it remembers the last track when you remove the stick."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product for a great price,
May 04, 2014
By dezzie
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Did a bit of home work when choosing a unit and cannot speak highly enough from this one. A few reviews mentioned about the speaker for hands-free and I can honestly say that it's clear both ends of the conversation. Top quality unit for a very good price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Poor mike,
December 29, 2013
By Nudger44
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This readily give good sound and is easy to use, but the Bluetooth is no good, it keeps cutting out and the phone mike is rubbish, it could do with external mike on it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product ever,
September 17, 2013
By Dan1996
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple headunit to use, manual is very clear, mic is good, phonecalls are clear
"I have installed a few headunits in my time and this is by far the best one I have ever bought and installed. connecting a phone to the headunit via Bluetooth is very easy and the headunit will remember the phone and connect automatically when the phone is within 1m of the car and the ignition is turned on. Answering a call is very easy you just push in the volume control dial and the same to end the call. Making a call is also very simple. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend. I also have a subwoofer connected to this radio using the rca output ports. if u plan on connecting a subwoofer the radio does have a remote cable for the amp. Comment with any question I will try and help you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bluetooth and remote!,
September 13, 2013
By RichardF25795
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: bluetooth, remote, good sound
Cons: none!
"I bought this for my boat because I wanted Bluetooth to play music from my phone, and a remote so I could operate it from the sofa. It was one of the few where I could be sure it had a remote included in the price. Great sound, easy to set up, lots of flexibility."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony MEXBT3900U CD/MP3 Player,
August 05, 2013
By 2Audiowner
from peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, superb sound
Cons: instructions manual, so many options
"Bought this stereo after much thought. Being a technophobe I am not up to date with iPod, Bluetooth & other options offered by this unit! I did go to 2 Halfords stores locally, & asked what I thought would be simple questions of the staff. Unfortunately neither store gave me any real answers. Took the decision & bought this model, as it seemed to offer the best value for money overall. I haven't had to fit a stereo like this for years. It only took minutes, in fact it took longer to repair previous owners bodge job! Have had it installed now for 3 weeks, find it gives superb sound in my Audi, couldn't want for anything more, apart from an easier to understand instructions book, which is why I only awarded it 4 overall. Grab one before they disappear!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony Bluetooth Radio - bought for use with iPhone,
August 02, 2013
By PeteTheVan
from Sittingbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of hands free operation, sound quality, feature-rich, can switch colour illumination between red & blue, works great with an iphone
Cons: over-complex equalizer, built-in mic is a bit poor
"I already own one of these, so when they came on offer again I bought one on flash my wife one for her car as I liked mine so much. I bought both specifically for use with our iPhones. We store our music on the phones and "Bluetooth" (stream) it to the unit. You can control the iPhone through the unit - including the phone.
It's brilliant, once you done a one-time Bluetooth link, you just get into the car, turn on the unit and after a few seconds it's found the phone and that's it - no fiddling or anything.
The hands-free works like a charm - phone rings and if you have auto-answer set you just speak, when the other party hangs up, so does the unit and returns you to the CD etc. No need to move your hands from the steering wheel at all. Making a call is possible, but not recommended when driving as you have to take your eyes off the road too much (this isn't a problem with the unit, just the necessary steps to take to make a call. I think you can voice dial if your phone allows it).
I had to buy an external mic for my unit as I have a open top car which is fairly noisy inside, my wife's Astra is quiet enough not to require one. The external mic plugs into a dedicated socket in the rear of the unit.
I gave this four stars because the operation of the presets for the sound equalizer is stupidly complex and difficult to understand. Once you have it OK, then it's fine. What threw me is that you HAVE to set, not CAN set, the equalizer for each sound source (all 6 or whatever). IMHO, the equalizer should be for all sources and easier to use.
The menu system is intuitive enough, but again works differently for each sound source which threw me for a while - "just where is the auto-answer timer" - not there when you've selected the tuner! The manual should really have a flowchart of the menu structure."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good value,
August 02, 2013
By dschaUK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: functionallity
"Git the radio for a very good price (web offer). The BT functionality is very good and useful, USB works very well as well. Overall very good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Power output,
August 01, 2013
By Paulcc
from Aldershot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design & power output
Cons: not as many settings as the pioneer
"I have bought this product because of the power output mainly since i will be fitting it with an amp and a subwoffer. It is very good quality the design is outstanding ( the iphone version in car stereos) however it doesn't have as many settings as the pioneer ones.... if you want better power output sony if you want more settings pioneer"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FANTASTICO :),
July 29, 2013
By JAKE214
from WIMBLEDON
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all the features
Cons: nothing
"Brilliant one from Sony, Big wow from the moment I first listened to my music after installing it. I'm planning to change my speaker too, but the moment I install this product it's like I change my speaker already. make the best sound out of my factory speaker. No need for speaker change!
All worth it for the money.
Making a call true BT is fantastic.
Good service from Halfords Mitcham.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MITCHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bluetooth audio.,
July 26, 2013
By Miranda4th
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The stereo's Bluetooth audio system makes it very simple to play music wirelessly, the hands free calling is a bit complicated but receiving calls is very simple and the sound quality is very good. The USB connection is also very useful for charging your phone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great features and even better value,
July 25, 2013
By Ade121
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great features
Cons: it's in the wife's car and not mine!
"I bought this unit to replace a failed unit in my wife's car, it was easy to install with a great sound and with the Bluetooth she now has a hands free facility in her car. All in all we are both very happy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent value for money,
July 25, 2013
By SylvieW
from Gerrards Cross
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A radio that has everything you need for modern day driving without being to complicated."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
July 25, 2013
By Blueeeyes1972
from Exeter
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does what it says on the box, great all round player"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking head unit,
July 22, 2013
By jokeruk
from Newton le Willows
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: highly configurable, great value, useful bluetooth
"I needed a new unit after the face died on my last one. I found this on offer, which made the value for money even better!
Two pre-outs, listening position adjustment and 7 band equaliser makes for a very configurable unit.
Bluetooth audio and hands free functions are great - and I'm using a tablet for the audio and a Galaxy S3 for the phone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality,
July 22, 2013
By John1935
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Easy to use and easy to fit tone is good and hands free very good"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All the connectivity you need.,
July 21, 2013
By tony60
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The hands free phone connection is great and voices are clear with adjustable volume, radio reception is also good and the price was even better!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
July 21, 2013
By Kathig
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for my ka, was very straight forward to fit and has great sound quality. The Bluetooth is also very good, which I connected my iphone via, phone calls also sound very clear through it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony MEXBT3900U,
July 15, 2013
By Royston724
from York
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had this Sony stereo fitted in the York store after reading all the good reviews. which I agree with 100%. This certainly is value for money. The sound quality is superb and compliments my speaker system on my VW The bluetooth, USB and Aux connections work easily. Phone calls are clear and of course safe to use whilst driving. I decided to have it fitted by Halfords, which I am glad as a problem was encountered connecting it to the steering wheel controls. The fitters solved the problem with no further cost and are complimented on their expertise. I would highly recommend this system."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony MEX-BT3900U CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for car stereo ?,
July 11, 2013
By artrocker
from brighton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bluetooth, steering wheel controlable, usb in, aux in, cd plays mp3 disc
Cons: only 2 illuminated colours red or blue
"Bluetooth , aux in , usb in hands free calling mp3 player , you have found your match , great price , and halfords fitted it perfectly and quickly , staff very helpful , it really is a great car stereo."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HOVE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>