Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment

The Sony DSX-S100 head unit features an integrated Tune Tray to securely store your iPod, Walkman or MP3 player within the unit, eliminating loose wires.
Average Customer Rating:
4.725 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Review 1 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good.,
October 28, 2013
By recaro3012
from Plymouth UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nice and easy to fit and sounds good. No problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usual quality expected from sony!,
October 27, 2013
By photographymatt
from Telford, shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really happy with this stereo especially at this price, thank you halfords you were more than half the price of everywhere online!
Easy to use and setup, plug in your ipod or stick some mp3s on a usb drive and you are away. Sound quality is great even with the stock speakers in my 03 punto, I know it will be even better with a sub added to the setup.
Again, cant recommend this enough. Don't be put off by no cd option as I think this is the way these things will go. I decided I never use cds and would just add clutter to my car so took a gamble, it paid off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
October 18, 2013
By Carterswfc
from Worksop
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good stereo for the price...... Got my 120 gig iPod inside it hidden in the tray and happy days...... Got sick of having CDs everywhere so put them all on my iPod and now no more clutter ;)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very good,
October 18, 2013
By Steve3105
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hides the ipod, good value
"Very good head units hides the iPod away so no trailing leads would recommend this product and would buy again for another vehicle"
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more cd's littering my car!,
October 14, 2013
By Alexred
from Darlington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased the DSX-S100 for my new car and it ticks every box. Finally got rid of all the cd's that were scattered around my old car, replaced with a cheap USB stick. Takes a while to organise the files to get the most out of your USB stick, they only allow 128 folders on the stick but up to 500 tracks in each file.
Very easy to install if you have the correct adaptors and really is a bargain at this price!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic upgrade,
October 10, 2013
By philcrumpler
from Spalding
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this as a upgrade to my GTX550. Sound quality is fantastic, the hidden USB slot saves any accidental knocks and damage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SPALDING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
October 09, 2013
By ChrisR36
from Exmouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really pleased with this stereo. It has an excellent sound quality for the price. Easy to fit, ten minutes out of the box to fully working. The only niggle is the plug doesn't fit very tight in the ipod, so when you put it in the compartment, it can come loose very easily, but it's not a big problem and wouldn't put me off buying it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top value for money,
October 09, 2013
By Wayne247red
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use and light on the pocket. Why more could you want? The sound quality is what you'd expect from sony, top rate and the added bonus of using/charging your iPod without all the random cables is a must"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value unit works fantastic,
October 08, 2013
By Jimmy79
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good unit,not to "flashy" and does the job really well. Theres no need for wires its great and sound quality is excellent. You wont be disappointed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must have product,
October 05, 2013
By Dfos04
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about this product.
"Great car stereo, sound quality is excellent, looks great, and is just fantastic in every way.
Does not play cd's, but that is a bonus, who wants a car full of cd's, when you can have all of your music in one place, on iPod etc, and have it out of the way, where it can't be seen.
All in all, a great item, with the quality that we have come to expect from Sony.
I would rate this 10/10
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
September 29, 2013
By Cat19
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For the price I don't think you will get anything as good as this product. It is easy to install and use, and sound quality is probably the best in this range"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony driveless stereo,
September 23, 2013
By Brownspeed
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the unit!
Cons: my own speakers!
"Deliberately chosen without a CD as its been installed in a sports car. Very easy to install and operate. Sounds good, Plenty of bass and power available, would be better in a quieter car!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect product. Clutter free. High quality sound.,
July 14, 2013
By Tommy12345
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the tune tray.
"After buying my first car, VW Lupo, I was keen to replace the tape player and when I found this I knew it was the one.
I always intended to use an iPod in my car as it saves the hassle of CDs laying about but this alleviates even more unecessary clutter.
It was easy to install and true to Sony's reputation, everything from the User Interface to the sound quality is off the highest standard."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stereo built for iPod generation!,
June 14, 2013
By porkpie2310
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: storage and controls for my ipod
"For anyone who uses an iPod, this is the stereo for you... we have all spent time loading cd's in to iTunes, downloading our favourite tracks and syncing our iPods now you can make the most of them without having to have cables hanging out of your radio. this neatly holds the iPod in s secure try inside the head unit and gives full control through the controls."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment,
May 23, 2013
By Godshill
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: helpful store staff
Cons: web site advice useless
"Despite what the website said - this unit could not be fitted at the store - the advice on the website was totally useless - a total waste of my time - the Young man in the store was very helpful though"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT IOW
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does the job without need of cd's,
January 31, 2013
By Lee1982
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic, iphone & ipod friendly, makes my speakers sound even better
Cons: no cons on this at all
"Bought the Sony as no body faffs around with cd's anymore, it can take my iPhone, iPod, MP3 player etc, its great! Halfords also honoured the online price as it was more expensive in the store, and the lad fitted it with no fuss and ease and even showed me how it worked, and said any problems I cpuld go straight back to him, overall a top item and top service"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sony dsx s100,
November 25, 2012
By simon88
from grimsby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: get one asap guys at this price its ace
"This headunit is great forvusing ipod iphone usb pen works great the sound is one off the bestvive heard for a long time non off the cds make a nosie though the speakers just clean soundand the set ups are one off the best ive every had in any off my cars thats with out a sub aswell"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bargain,
May 26, 2012
By Premswan
from Caerphilly, Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Superb piece of kit for the price, ordered on line & fitted at Halfords, service at the Caerphilly store was excellent, this is not the first time I have used this store, very friendly & helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased,
May 19, 2012
By Rifat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sound better
Cons: have to switch off manually dont off w/ignition
"Really happy with the purchase, makes standard speakers sound a lot better especially in xplod mode"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony DSX-S100 CD-less Car Stereo with Smart Compartment
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more wires!,
May 17, 2012
By Skatedonthate
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: no more wires
Cons: navigation better than most but still not perfect
"With the ipod inside, found navigation through songs to be alot better than other stereos i have seen, but still getting to grips with it. If all else fails making some playlists would do the trick."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>