Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI

The RAC 5000 Sat Nav has all the essential features you need in a sat nav including safety cameras & a wide touchscreen display.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
13 of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Review 1 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value purchase,
May 20, 2012
By tazmay
from flitwick
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: large screen
Cons: no detailed instructions
" good value but needs instructions for features supplied rather than the bother following a link to download off the internet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
steer clear,
April 25, 2012
By daveyboy64
from middlesbrough
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" this was a complete disaster, i was warned by staff this product was rubbish, when i got it home the suction cup was missing and i had to drive 11 miles to another shop to get this, then when i turned the sat nav on it crashed basically the battery was defunct, had enough so took it back and replaced it with the garmin nuvi thank god, stay away from this its complete rubbish... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Device,
April 18, 2012
By Podc7
from Reading, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all round great sat nav
Cons: no home charger
" WOW!! This is a great Sat Nav, I think the features are good and value for money... what can I say, wide screen accurate and easy to use. If you are going to get your first one ... THIS IS IT..Brilliant "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother,
April 12, 2012
By Marchman
from March Cambs
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looked good
Cons: would not work unless pluged in
" Put on charge for 6 hours unplugged unit then would not turn on pluged it back in it then came on. Tried to program it, it did not want to know
Also there were other post codes in the unit
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very useful,
April 10, 2012
By sewelly
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to use, clear and lovely large screen The charger lead could be a little longer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satnav,
March 29, 2012
By spanny
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: not easy to see screen in sunlight
" Clear instructions and easy to follow when driving, good value for mony. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well worth buying,
March 26, 2012
By Drawingtopsy
from Wrexham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was pleasantly surprised when I bought this Sat-Nav, I initially bought as a cheap tempory replacement for my TomTom which had packed up. I must say I was very impressed with how fast and accurate the system is, it pinpoints my location within seconds and the Google integrated search bar is awesome. I'm dedicatedly keeping this one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RAC sat nav,
March 14, 2012
By Beamaroo
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
Cons: none
" I bought this for myself as a necessity for recent travels and found it a great item. Is easy to use and set up was immediate from switching on. Great voice on it too! I know I will find it invaluable on my travels. The only downside for me is that the screen isn't very bright - although I haven't read the spec to see if I can adjust that - but I am hoping I can. I can still see everything but have got used to using my husband's satnav which is very bright so going on that really. Overall a great buy at the great discounted price I got it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rac sat nav,
February 25, 2012
By sheepmuppet
from argyll, scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, big screen, clear instructions
" excellent value unit, easy to set up and use, quick route calculation if you take wrong turn, better routing software than more expensive big name sat nav that used in the past, automatically changes to night colours so no need to scroll through menu's while driving "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice,
February 02, 2012
By stew3437
from oxfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" nice and easy to set up and really easy to use simple icons to understand so its not a over complicated unit to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well priced,
January 09, 2012
By wufh
from darlington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" god price. good product.excelent service.
would use this store again as staff were very
helpful and polite.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purchase,
January 04, 2012
By savvay
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this as a present for my daughter and she was really pleased with it and found it easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great sat nav,
December 26, 2011
By kawasakiman
from norwich england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, clear screen
Cons: no protective cover
" easy to use, nice clear screen ive had no problems with it so far only down side it really could do with a cover to protect it when its not in use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good,
December 18, 2011
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Good screen, easy to use. I bought extra accessories to protect the screen. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Load of rubbish stay away,
December 13, 2011
By Bigalfaeglasga
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought this on Saturday the 10/11/11 took it back on Monday 12/10/11. Gives false information sending you wrong way, telling you to do a you turn on motorways. very poor "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My Review,
June 19, 2011
By Anonymous
from Rotherham UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I purchased this Sat Nav on 18th June 2011 at the Rotherham Store.
However when I opened it later in the day it had clearly been used and showed up local addresses.
I had a voucher for a free map update but although it downloaded the update to the computer it will not copy the files to the machine I think maybe this Sat nav is running old style software.
But in fairness it does work quite well in use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RAC sat nav,
April 30, 2011
By dazza44
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Not impressed, i've been lost twice just trying it out :-( "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RAC 5000 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sharon......,
April 29, 2011
By stumpy24
from Nottingham, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: did not like the sucker attachment at all.
" Tried the RAC 5000 sat nav on a trip to the Isle of Wight and back again.
Sharon (the sat nav) performed extremely well, especially when teasing her with deliberate wrong turns. Updating and re-routing in a matter of moments. Although some of the roads were extremely narrow (we all had to breathe in !!) I cannot fault the unit at all.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.