Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
97 of 102(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor but customer service was good!,
March 11, 2015
By Mollster
from North wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: customer service
Cons: the carrier!
" I had this for a few months and only used a couple of the bike 'slots'. Not sure if it was because I carried large framed bikes but it was always a faff to load them and they never really felt secure. Anyway in the end after not much use one of the plastic wheel holders failed and the bike dropped down dragging the wheel. Luckily I wasn't going fast and was able to stop quickly. On the positive side halfords sorted the problem quickly and i was able to get a different model. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works - don't get the expensive alternative,
March 07, 2015
By Craig70
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: robust
" I first bought the Exodus 4 bike carrier which I broke before getting a bike on it - but Halfords were great and took it back without any hassle. The Exodus in theory is better because of the easy on/off mechanism, but that's the bit that broke!
Bought the Halfords carrier and immediately noticed how much more robust it is and considerably lighter. Assembly was easy and it is so rigid when it's on the towbar which gave me so much more confidence when loading it up.
The only downside is that you need a spanner (supplied with the carrier) to get it on and off the towbar. But don't let this put you off, the first time took 15 minutes, after a few uses I was doing it in less than 5 - its a lot easier than changing an inner tube so every cyclist should be able to cope with this.
When I was looking I saw a review that this carrier can't take a large mountain bike - that was nonsence. We have three adult bikes - a GT 29er, Kona 29er, Appolo XC 26 and a teenagers Muddyfox and they all go on together no problem.
The straps can seem a bit fiddly to start with but you get three per bike and two long one which secure two bikes at a time as extra security. I also put a bike lock around all four. It takes a few minutes per bike so all 4 done within 15 minutes - quicker if it's raining!
All in a great product - well worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really useful,
February 18, 2015
By witchgrandma
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what the label says. All types and sizes of bikes can be transported at the same time.
Easy to load and secure the bikes.
Easy to store when not in use, can be hung on the wall.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
good value carrier but!,
January 31, 2015
By muddywheel196901
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Brought carrier today, took home and assembled easy enough fitted to vehicle all good. Went to fit bike on would not fit due to carrier will not take mountain bike with 27.5 " wheels, nothing written anywhere indicating this please Halfords please address this issue I wasted my time and I will not be the last. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great towball attachment, value,
January 03, 2015
By stevex06
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Better than some of more expensive well known makes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
December 16, 2014
By Bigguns
from West sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well made, up there with the branded models. Does not tilt like some, but for that price a bargain so what. Easy to use and build. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
November 30, 2014
By jackthekipper
from Dawlish, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, stylish, totally safe and secure, roll on roll off, great quality straps
Cons: doesn't tilt like some of the thules but no great
" Didn't know whether to get this or the Thule type of on the tow bar carrier, just knew I wanted one. I have had the cheaper mount on hanging type with not much luck in the past.
Thule were very good but more expensive and upon inspection and with some wonderful help from the very knowledgeable Mary at the Newton Abbot store, I could instantly see the build quality of the Halfords carrier and bought it.
On the car it's just great, takes a bit of getting used to when reversing and parking, there's non of the wavering about even on the motorway and with expensive bikes it gives me peace of mind. Would definitely recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unable to comment,
November 26, 2014
By Minijoyce
from Hampshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" This has been brought for a Christmas present and as it's only still November it hasn't even been taken out of its box ..:/ "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
-73points
3out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use,
October 16, 2014
By Number1plumber
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first cycle carrier and I was amazed how sturdy and secure it felt once fitted. Would definitely recommend this carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't be happier,
October 14, 2014
By Daveski
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We were struggling to find a decent carrier for the car, but then noticed this one at Halfords. It was very very easy to fit, is very sturdy and it's easy to fit the bikes on securely.
Excellent quality and value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value and transports 4 biked easily,
September 15, 2014
By Jonny50
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy enough to construct. Fits to the tow bar securely although not as easily as my previous carrier but still not a problem. The straps are fiddly to thread through and you need to remember to leave them in situ when removing the bikes.
Carries 4 mountain bikes easily and feels solid and secure on the road.
For the money this is well recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great performer,
September 09, 2014
By bretzky29
from Bulford, Salisbury, Wiltshire SP4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, easy to assemble, bikes held securely
" I purchased this bike rack for my Jeep Cherokee. It took around 30 minutes to assemble, but the instructions were clear so wasn't a problem. Fitting the rack to the car can be a little fiddly, but now I've done it a few times it has got easier. The rack performs exceptionally and holds all 4 of my bikes securely in place. At half the price of other racks you can't go wrong. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use and good value,
September 08, 2014
By AgingDad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use getting on and off towbar, 4 bikes easy to load, bikes secure and free from damage, feels solid and secure
Cons: bike straps can be a fiddle to slip through holes, some nuts/bolts easy to overtighten when constucti
" A real step up from last high car mounted carrier. Very quick and easy to put on and take off towbar. Some straps a bit fiddly to thread on first use but once in easy to attach and secure bikes. Lights and backplate good quality and work well. Like another reviewer , so easy to do , took carrier off and stowed in boot on last trip. Sits away from car so can half open hatch when bikes are on. Generally very pleased so far, especially when comparing price to alternatives. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!!!,
September 05, 2014
By Londoner2010
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just did 2500 miles with it around Europe, carrying 4 bikes for the family. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
September 01, 2014
By jeff223
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Was a worried about a tow hitch after many years on the roof rack but due to new car could not reach. I should have done it years ago, so much easier and so easy to fit. Took less than an hour to assemble all the bits (very easy to put together) then so simple to attach and remove in a few mins. no movement at all even down the windiest of roads "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
August 31, 2014
By RHGLOS
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality, price
Cons: no lock to stop it being removed from the tow bar
" I had been considering a tow bar bike rack for months, but did not fancy paying several hundred pounds. Based on others reciews I decided to buy this one. Overall it is a very well made sturdy rack. I got 4 mountain bikes on with little fuss and during transit the bikes and rack are rock solid. Initial assembly took me about an hour and half, but as others have said best to use your own tools if you have them as the supplied spanner is no where near as good as a socket set. Attaching the rack to the tow bar takes no more than 5 minutes (using a socket set), and removing it is equally as quick. Great bit of kit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and fairly cheerful,
August 30, 2014
By Finlay999
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the sturdy construction
Cons: the fiddly straps, using spanners to attach it to the car
" This is a sturdy, basically engineered piece of kit that looks as though it will last a good while and is reasonable value for money.
Allow plenty of time to load up as tying the straps is a bit of a faff but everthing stays in place if you do it properly.
Just two small drawbacks, which I knew before purchasing: the carrier cannot be locked to the towbar and it cannot be tilted to allow the boot/tailgate to be opened with the bikes on.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value carrier,
August 29, 2014
By JasmineB
from Leighton Buzzard
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price., ease of fitting., ease of loading
" Easy to fit, mount and load. Will suit any style or size of bike (up to max 15kgs). The ones that you have to hang the crossbars on are nowhere near as useful as this one as not all bikes have horizontal crossbars and you can't fit the clamps on oversized frames. The wheels sit on this one and it is very adjustable. Other makes cost twice as much. Have only tried it with one bike so far but performed well from Exeter to Swansea to Bedfordshire. Light bar a bit fragile/vulnerable. Original was smashed in box and had to have replacement, which Halfords replaced. Also, if you want to lock bike(s) you have to add your own and find a way of stopping movement. Great carrier though. Looking forward to loading it with 4 bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secure and safe transport for your bikes,
August 26, 2014
By Jade14
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good product, easy to put on your tow bar. Secures your bikes well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CONGLETON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money product,
August 21, 2014
By MsGneiss
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: even i can fit this single handed
Cons: fitting the wheel straps
" Can't fault this cycle carrier. I read all the reviews on here, went into my local Halfords to check it out too and received excellent advice. True to form (see the other reviews), the supplied tools weren't up to the job so we used our own. The instruction sheet was straightforward and putting it together ourselves worked well (the wheel straps were a little fiddly but be patient). Fitting to the car was a breeze (with our own tools) and so far, it's carried 3 adult and one child bike safely and securely. With no tilting mechanism the boot doesn't open when the bikes are loaded but you can always drop the back seats if you're as disorganised as us. It fits in the boot of my Focus with the seats folded down whilst we're out riding and was great value for money (£10 online discount on top of the advertised discount). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>