Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
78 of 82(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 114 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great 4 cycle carrier,
August 19, 2014
By Og444
from Redditch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the cycle straps, easy to fit together
"Really happy with the 4 cycle towbar carrier - easy to put together, easy to fit to the car and easy to fit the bikes on it. Tested it out on a 300 mile trip - all the family bikes and everything went great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to use,
August 08, 2014
By Hufty
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting/removal
"I bought this rack months and months ago, built it and the hung it in the garage. since then I have looked at it and decided to throw the bikes in the back of the car for ease.
Last weekend I finally got round to using it... how wrong i had been, it was easy to attach to the car and very solid. I only had three bikes on it but we did a few hundred miles some off road. All was great.
And the best bit... it was very easy to take off the car too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product easy to assemble and use,
August 06, 2014
By Bathfun
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, instructions
Cons: screwdriver
"Bike rack can easily accommodate 4 bikes and is easy to assemble and use. I practiced attaching the real to the car a clip Lee of days before using it in anger and found it great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
August 05, 2014
By Fendifender
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to install and seem good quality too. I really recommended this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why pay more ?,
August 03, 2014
By Ian01303
from Folkestone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: none
"With many cycling friends I see many towball carriers. This is by far the cheapest, and equals the best for functionality. It may not have quite the same styling as the Thule carriers, but at less than half the price is a no brainer. If you are brand conscious then remove the Halfords stickers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 03, 2014
By Boltphase
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product, little bit heavy to fit on your own, once on it is steady to carry 4 bikes easily"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords four bike tow ball mounter carrier,
July 31, 2014
By GrunterNI
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple assembly, firm fittment, super value, light bar and connector supplied
"This product was straight forward to assemble and fit to the tow bar. From opening the box to strapping the bikes onto the rack took me about one hour. When fitted to the car, I got onto it and bounced all of my thirteen and a half stone to ensure it was solid. It didn't budge so I was sure with four bikes on, it wasn't going to move. Best of all it was at least fifty pounds cheaper than similar carriers. Money in your pocket and easy to assemble and use...what's there to think about??"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job at a great price,
July 27, 2014
By Bluntpencil
from Newport, Newport, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great budget bike rack.
"Very happy with the bike rack. It was easy to assembly with the spanner provided. Rack fits easily onto the tow bar. Rack can hold our three adult size mountain bikes and one childs bike with no problem. For the price am unable to fault it. Thanks."
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits my Jeep with spare wheel carrier,
June 29, 2014
By Anonymous
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, fits any towbar, lights included, 4 bikes for same price as many single carriers
Cons: takes up a lot of room when not in use
"I've looked at lots of different cycle carriers but nothing would fit my modified Jeep Wrangler as it has a large steel tyre carrier with a 35" mud tyre on the back. It doesn't have a UK style tow bar mounting to fit the type of carriers that bolt on to the tow bar plate and the spare tyre is too big for all the ones that strap onto your usual size 4x4 tyres. With this one bolting straight onto a gooseneck ball and riding low it avoids all these problems. I can probably just about squeeze 4 bikes onto it but it works fine for 3 by loading the rear end ones first and thats all I need. The only other ones I've seen that mount like this are higher up and the bikes would hit the tyre, plus they are up to 4 times the price. This is well made and quite heavy at 15kg without bikes. It doesn't tilt but my towbar is quick release so achieves the same thing as I can lift the whole thing off with some help. Tilting would be no use with a big sideways swing tailgate anyway. Light bar included so no more expense like with others. Doesn't lock to vehicle but I have a cycle lock extension cable which I use to chain the bikes and carrier to the hitch mounting point with a big padlock. Also got extra 10% off with a promo code so bit of a bargain! Very pleased with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 4 Bike Carrier,
May 17, 2014
By MegaNewton
from Cheddar, Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: security of fixing, quality of product
Cons: the tools are poor, would be nice if it locked onto the hitch
"Very pleased with the bike carrier. Took about an hour to fit and get the bikes on it.
None of the luxuries some others offer like tilting etc but then I've seen plenty of posts saying you still can't get in the rear.
It fixes really securely to the tow bar and I've no worries it'll come off like I would with carriers which strap to the hatch or boot.
Tools aren't great and what is offered as a screw driver is utter junk. So resorted to my own tools. I think someone could look at the fixings and provide something easier for most to fit the number plate and lights with. I would also question stating torque figures for tightening the tow ball clamp when I suspect 80% of purchases don't have one and don't have a feel for what 45Nm means in reality - with the spanner provided it will feel pretty tight.
Taking the above into account I'd still say its good value for money and should stop the bikes getting trashed.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
April 15, 2014
By Madaboutbikes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought and fitted it to my jeep with no problems. Easy to build about 25 mins takes four adults mountain bikes with ease."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product,
April 05, 2014
By Chris1963
from Cork, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: won't tilt or fold
"I returned the advance 4 bike cycle carrier which was useless for mountain bikes. 2 struts snapped . I complained to Halfords that there is a design fault. The product was not in Halfords for long now i know why . I ended up changing for this carrier which straight away i could see was built better & half the price . A little annoyed with Halfords not reimbursing me the difference in price, although they did give me a 50 euro voucher (still short of what i paid) with the rack etc. Thoroughly recommend this product. Big shame Halfords couldn't produce a product of the build quality of this product combined with features of old advanced carrier , i.e fold able, tilt & easy clamp to tow bar. Was glad to get rid of faulty product & have a better built rack. Thanks too Brian & Mario in Tralee."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality cycle carrier,
February 04, 2014
By Fuller10
from North Staffordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: keeps the bikes away from cars paintwork, easy to fit to towball
Cons: a little on the heavy side for one person to fit, tools provided are not very good
"It took around an hour to set the carrier up, the tools provided were not too good so used my own. The carrier was easy to fit to the towbar although abit on the heavy side. the carrier kept the bikes away from the cars paintwork, the bikes felt secure when travelling, I also used a bungee cord along with the straps provided, we have two adult and two childrens bikes which fitted well on the carrier, we locked the carrier onto the car using a long cycle lock from the carrier to the towbar as we could not fit it into the boot, you cannot use the boot with the carrier but that isn't a problem with an estate car, don't forget to check vehicle noseweight and not to exceed it(75kg minimum)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Electrics shoddy,
October 31, 2013
By mlayzell73
from UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased this bike carrier to put on my tow bar and make trips out with the family easier.
I have had to replace two sets of wiring in my car which connect to the tow bar electrics. I tracked the problem down to damaged wiring in the light unit shorting out.
It was not a single wire which was damaged, but 3 of them, all with the sheaths cut and shorting against the bulb mounts.
It has ended up costing me more in time & money than a better made brand."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
-1point
11out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value,
October 22, 2013
By matt1982
from northumberland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, cost
Cons: not lockable
"Excellent value compared to other makes works really well easy to use fits all of my bikes some minor things missing out of box but i never complained so cant really judge. overall really good only downside that its not lockable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
halfords 4 bike carrier,
October 10, 2013
By Loupy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the quality
Cons: it doesn't tilt like other bike carriers
"Excellent value for money. Supports our 4 bikes very securely indeed. Surprisingly very impressed with the carrier for the price.
Would recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 bikes,
September 18, 2013
By Mittch
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product.Can get 2 adults and 2 kids bikes on.Can be put on with only one person"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sturdy carrier for 4 bikes,
September 16, 2013
By veryslowcoach
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: loose straps
"Easy to fit, easy to use, feels v sturdy to attach directly to the tow ball.
Just make sure you don't lose the little straps."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much better than roof mounted bike racks,
August 11, 2013
By Roger100
from Bracknell
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: car drives perfectly with carrier in place, frees up roof for a topbox, easy to assemble
Cons: heavy to put on towbar - needs 2 people, restricts access to boot
"I bought this rack to replace a roof mounted bike rack. With it attached, I don't notice any difference in performance and I have now fitted a top box on the roof.
Easy to assemble, but it does need 2 people to put it on the towbar and lock in place.
We have 3 bikes on the 4 bike carrier. With 4 bikes you might go over the tow hook weight limit - we're just ok.
It's now much easier to get the bikes on; no more straining to get them on our 4X4.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic!..... just wish it tipped so we can access the boot,
August 07, 2013
By GodChick4Ever2
from Garvagh, Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: compact, good value for money
Cons: a bit cumbersome for a 5ft2" lightweight female
"Until now we had been using a small trailer, so this carrier is a massive improvement with proper support for our bikes :-)
We can easily fit 4 bikes (3 adult and 1 child) and it has good support.
Wish it could tip to allow access to the boot of the car (but to be honest, albeit a little inconvenient, we can access the boot from the rear seat). The extra money to get a 4 bike carrier that tips isn't really worth it for our family.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COLERAINE
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>