Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
91 of 95(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use,
October 16, 2014
By Number1plumber
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first cycle carrier and I was amazed how sturdy and secure it felt once fitted. Would definitely recommend this carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't be happier,
October 14, 2014
By Daveski
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We were struggling to find a decent carrier for the car, but then noticed this one at Halfords. It was very very easy to fit, is very sturdy and it's easy to fit the bikes on securely.
Excellent quality and value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value and transports 4 biked easily,
September 15, 2014
By Jonny50
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy enough to construct. Fits to the tow bar securely although not as easily as my previous carrier but still not a problem. The straps are fiddly to thread through and you need to remember to leave them in situ when removing the bikes.
Carries 4 mountain bikes easily and feels solid and secure on the road.
For the money this is well recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great performer,
September 09, 2014
By bretzky29
from Bulford, Salisbury, Wiltshire SP4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, easy to assemble, bikes held securely
"I purchased this bike rack for my Jeep Cherokee. It took around 30 minutes to assemble, but the instructions were clear so wasn't a problem. Fitting the rack to the car can be a little fiddly, but now I've done it a few times it has got easier. The rack performs exceptionally and holds all 4 of my bikes securely in place. At half the price of other racks you can't go wrong."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use and good value,
September 08, 2014
By AgingDad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use getting on and off towbar, 4 bikes easy to load, bikes secure and free from damage, feels solid and secure
Cons: bike straps can be a fiddle to slip through holes, some nuts/bolts easy to overtighten when constucti
"A real step up from last high car mounted carrier. Very quick and easy to put on and take off towbar. Some straps a bit fiddly to thread on first use but once in easy to attach and secure bikes. Lights and backplate good quality and work well. Like another reviewer , so easy to do , took carrier off and stowed in boot on last trip. Sits away from car so can half open hatch when bikes are on. Generally very pleased so far, especially when comparing price to alternatives."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!!!,
September 05, 2014
By Londoner2010
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just did 2500 miles with it around Europe, carrying 4 bikes for the family."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
September 01, 2014
By jeff223
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was a worried about a tow hitch after many years on the roof rack but due to new car could not reach. I should have done it years ago, so much easier and so easy to fit. Took less than an hour to assemble all the bits (very easy to put together) then so simple to attach and remove in a few mins. no movement at all even down the windiest of roads"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
August 31, 2014
By RHGLOS
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality, price
Cons: no lock to stop it being removed from the tow bar
"I had been considering a tow bar bike rack for months, but did not fancy paying several hundred pounds. Based on others reciews I decided to buy this one. Overall it is a very well made sturdy rack. I got 4 mountain bikes on with little fuss and during transit the bikes and rack are rock solid. Initial assembly took me about an hour and half, but as others have said best to use your own tools if you have them as the supplied spanner is no where near as good as a socket set. Attaching the rack to the tow bar takes no more than 5 minutes (using a socket set), and removing it is equally as quick. Great bit of kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and fairly cheerful,
August 30, 2014
By Finlay999
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the sturdy construction
Cons: the fiddly straps, using spanners to attach it to the car
"This is a sturdy, basically engineered piece of kit that looks as though it will last a good while and is reasonable value for money.
Allow plenty of time to load up as tying the straps is a bit of a faff but everthing stays in place if you do it properly.
Just two small drawbacks, which I knew before purchasing: the carrier cannot be locked to the towbar and it cannot be tilted to allow the boot/tailgate to be opened with the bikes on.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value carrier,
August 29, 2014
By JasmineB
from Leighton Buzzard
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price., ease of fitting., ease of loading
"Easy to fit, mount and load. Will suit any style or size of bike (up to max 15kgs). The ones that you have to hang the crossbars on are nowhere near as useful as this one as not all bikes have horizontal crossbars and you can't fit the clamps on oversized frames. The wheels sit on this one and it is very adjustable. Other makes cost twice as much. Have only tried it with one bike so far but performed well from Exeter to Swansea to Bedfordshire. Light bar a bit fragile/vulnerable. Original was smashed in box and had to have replacement, which Halfords replaced. Also, if you want to lock bike(s) you have to add your own and find a way of stopping movement. Great carrier though. Looking forward to loading it with 4 bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Secure and safe transport for your bikes,
August 26, 2014
By Jade14
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good product, easy to put on your tow bar. Secures your bikes well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CONGLETON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money product,
August 21, 2014
By MsGneiss
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: even i can fit this single handed
Cons: fitting the wheel straps
"Can't fault this cycle carrier. I read all the reviews on here, went into my local Halfords to check it out too and received excellent advice. True to form (see the other reviews), the supplied tools weren't up to the job so we used our own. The instruction sheet was straightforward and putting it together ourselves worked well (the wheel straps were a little fiddly but be patient). Fitting to the car was a breeze (with our own tools) and so far, it's carried 3 adult and one child bike safely and securely. With no tilting mechanism the boot doesn't open when the bikes are loaded but you can always drop the back seats if you're as disorganised as us. It fits in the boot of my Focus with the seats folded down whilst we're out riding and was great value for money (£10 online discount on top of the advertised discount)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product - Does exactly what it says.,
August 21, 2014
By Tony41
from Munster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this as i need to transport 4 Bikes regularly. Works very well. Easy to assemble. Can be quickly put on hitch and bikes loaded in around 15-20 minutes. Be careful to mind bike straps. It also fits nicely in my car booth when you get to your destination. A good buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WATERFORD (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great 4 cycle carrier,
August 19, 2014
By Og444
from Redditch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the cycle straps, easy to fit together
"Really happy with the 4 cycle towbar carrier - easy to put together, easy to fit to the car and easy to fit the bikes on it. Tested it out on a 300 mile trip - all the family bikes and everything went great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to use,
August 08, 2014
By Hufty
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting/removal
"I bought this rack months and months ago, built it and the hung it in the garage. since then I have looked at it and decided to throw the bikes in the back of the car for ease.
Last weekend I finally got round to using it... how wrong i had been, it was easy to attach to the car and very solid. I only had three bikes on it but we did a few hundred miles some off road. All was great.
And the best bit... it was very easy to take off the car too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product easy to assemble and use,
August 06, 2014
By Bathfun
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, instructions
Cons: screwdriver
"Bike rack can easily accommodate 4 bikes and is easy to assemble and use. I practiced attaching the real to the car a clip Lee of days before using it in anger and found it great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
August 05, 2014
By Fendifender
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to install and seem good quality too. I really recommended this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why pay more ?,
August 03, 2014
By Ian01303
from Folkestone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: none
"With many cycling friends I see many towball carriers. This is by far the cheapest, and equals the best for functionality. It may not have quite the same styling as the Thule carriers, but at less than half the price is a no brainer. If you are brand conscious then remove the Halfords stickers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 03, 2014
By Boltphase
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product, little bit heavy to fit on your own, once on it is steady to carry 4 bikes easily"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords four bike tow ball mounter carrier,
July 31, 2014
By GrunterNI
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple assembly, firm fittment, super value, light bar and connector supplied
"This product was straight forward to assemble and fit to the tow bar. From opening the box to strapping the bikes onto the rack took me about one hour. When fitted to the car, I got onto it and bounced all of my thirteen and a half stone to ensure it was solid. It didn't budge so I was sure with four bikes on, it wasn't going to move. Best of all it was at least fifty pounds cheaper than similar carriers. Money in your pocket and easy to assemble and use...what's there to think about??"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>