Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
127 of 133(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great features but,
August 30, 2015
By
from Dorchester, Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Could do with plastic wheel holders being a little wider apart especially for e-bikes otherwise great product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
truly excellent,
August 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I was attracted by the price of this bike rack and the fact that I could get it fitted at my local Halfords (Plymouth Marshmills)
The fitting was fine (thanks to Tom) and we used the rack on a two week holiday in the UK (Scotland and back)
It was great - I got really confident at putting 4 bikes on the rack although I bought some extra straps just to make sure. I allowed 15 minutes to put four bikes on (much less to take off!)
In fact the rack is still on the van - don't forget to get a number plate.
All in all, a fabulous bit of kit - well made and study and certainly fit for purpose.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
August 24, 2015
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, reliable, well proced, light weight, looks neat, easy to load
" Bought this in Halfords Dublin and Just completed a 1500km roundtrip Dublin to France (our first family camp holiday in France). We have 2 adult bikes, 1 small adult bike and 1 kids 16" bike. 145kph on the Auto was no problem when overtaking, no noise, no shaking the car, you wouldn't know it was there. . I can do the whole set up myself now from start to finish in 15 mins. My car is Opel Insignia Hatchback which means I can open the hatch back too while bikes are loaded which was great on the ferry as we could get whatever we needed out of the back easily. No problem with the spanner supplied although I now use my own socket wrench for the side bolt just so I don't damage the outer grooves. It got lots of looks too and one family stopped us to ask where I got it and how much it cost as they are fed up strapping bikes to their car. The first few kilometres you are checking the mirror and I stopped once to check the bolt tightening but I didn't need to and did not do that again, now I just drive like its not there and I don't bother checking the tension etc. Just put the straps on right, tighten the bolts and your all sorted. Also, I had some worries about ground clearance going up on the ferry which was steep but no problem at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIFFEY VALLEY (ROI)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tow bar bike carrier,
August 22, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" fits on car like a dream,have got round to trying it with my bikes not yet "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently bought this and its very good....,
August 21, 2015
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: loads of plus points
Cons: cannot drop rack down to access boot like some
" I have been looking for a four bike rack for a while as kids are growing up. I was hesitant over the strap on type as they look insecure, you have to hold the bike up high to load and unload and also need to provide a tail light bar and number plate generally.
I looked at the Thule one and it was similar price but only three bikes. To future-proof myself I opted for this one.
It is sturdily made and of simple design. Fairly heavy but one person can handle it quite easily. Two is a doddle. There is very little assembly required but it probably takes an hour to unpack, look at and understand and put the last bits on and then fit.
Fitting to the tow ball is great as suddenly the rack is part of the car - not tied to it.
Basically there is a four piece metal jaw that you unwind and then you position it over the tow ball and it then snaps down over it. You need to take the weight of the rack for a bit before you feel it engage and then you can let go. The rack then is sitting there self supporting but still loose. The instructions tell you what to look out for but basically you tighten the large hand screw which tightens the clamps around the ball. The rack can still move side to side at this point but it should not move up and down.
Once you are happy its attached you tighten a clamp with the spanner supplied and this stops and sideways movement. Soon you can rock the car and the rack is firmly located. Takes a few goes but you know when its right.
If you use the same bikes each time then you just set the channels the wheels sit in for each bike and need only to do this once. There are nylon straps and grips to firmly hold the wheel to the rack. There are uprights which go up and down which you do a secondary strap to. Then there is a final long nylon strap that you secure all bikes together with and its done!
Plug in the socket and test the lights and it works!
This one means that you cannot open the boot once fixed on so that is a slight negative but if you cannot organise whats in the boot then there is not much helping you. I can get in from the cabin anyhow.
I take mine off the car when we have parked up and you can put it in boot or cabin. Remember it is easy to take off and on and so someone will take a shine to it. Plus it adds just over a metre to the length of your car and so sticks out in car parks. You could chain it to chassis if necessary.
I love mine and well pleased with the result. Those who have strap on racks have commented on how good it is and how it is to use. Looks tidy too.
I try and keep all the straps on the rack so you know where they are. The spanner is ok but a cheap socket and rachet would save a minute or two loosening and tightening the rack.
It stows away vertically too so doesn't take up too much space.
A good buy in my opinion. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
August 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Dies exactly what it says-so much cheaper than other brands but just as good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very solid piece of kit,
August 18, 2015
By
from Ely, Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid build, price
Cons: fiddly straps
" Although a little fiddly to attach straps in the first instance, I can now attach carrier and secure all four family bikes in less than 10 minutes. In our cycling club, the majority of people have Thule carriers, but considering that they are, at best, double the price, I think this alternative is an excellent buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very secure, great value bike rack,
August 18, 2015
By
from Grantham, Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality, feels secure
" Love it! The wheel straps are a bit fiddly, but that's the only negative. Even though it doesn't tilt to allow boot access, like some expensive models, you can lower the support arm and tilt the bike neared to book so you can gain access.
It's a great quality, sturdy product. Feels much more secure than the boot racks with straps.
Hopefully they will bring out a rack that holds 5 bikes, big enough for our family.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant buy,
August 18, 2015
By
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease, quickness of loading bikes
" Great piece of kit for transporting bikes. Easy to put together. Loading bikes takes about ten minutes and the carrier takes four bikes. It is sturdy and I just wish we'd bought ones years ago! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike carrier,
August 10, 2015
By
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fitting behind the car rather than on the roof.
" This bike carrier was easy to use once we worked out the best arrangement of the families bikes and which way round the pedals had to be. It stayed firmly in place over 1500 miles of driving. The only downside was the difficulty in doing up the nut to attach it to the car as the spanner supplied did not fit very well and you could only turn the nut a short way before the spanner hit the carrier or the car. A better designed spanner or a taller nut would make fitting and removing the carrier much easier. The really good thing about it was the bikes were behind the car and so didn't make a noise of cause drag and loss of fuel economy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 07, 2015
By
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having read the reviews for this product, I felt I had to add to the review of this product, easy to assemble, easy to fit and works great. Looks and feels sturdy been out twice with it now with 3 mountain bikes no problems "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product and Value for Money,
August 05, 2015
By
from Windsor, Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead SL4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: how sturdy and secure it all feels when attached
Cons: the supplied construction tools
" Did exactly what we needed it to do,exactly what we were looking for, and at a great price, given that there are other 4 bike tow bar racks out there for over £500. The build quality is great, and it feels very solid when attached. Also very quick to get the rack on the tow bar, and very quick to get the bikes on - all in, rack on and bikes ready in about 10 minutes (apart from the first time - see next point). Only advice I would give there is leave the wheel straps threaded through the system and in the buckle when you are not using it, ready for the next time - it can be very fiddly and a little time consuming the first time to get the straps through the mechanism.
If I had one criticism, it is do not use the tools they provide to build it. The screwdriver is next to useless and the spanner for the bolts to hold the number plate on does not actually have room / space to move. Buy a cheap socket set, and everyone must have a Philips screwdriver, they it will make like FAR easier to get the rack built.
People have talked in reviews about needing to buy torque wrenches etc. to put the rack on - personally I don't think that is necessary and in fact (despite my comment above) the supplied spanner to tighten the pinch bolt does work well - just tighten that and the tow bar ball grip as tight as you can with your own muscles and you are good to go.
Highly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good choice,
August 05, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Lightweight, easy/quick to assemble and really easy to put on the car. A total contrast to the Exodus one which we returned.
I'm really pleased with this one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
About to make my 5th visit to a store,
August 04, 2015
By
from Surrey, England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
" 1st visit: click and collect. Box handed over to me, box has been opened. Get home, discover no instructions.
2nd visit: Pick up instructions from store (taken from another box; I pity the next customer who buys that item). Get home. Compare items in box to checklist: discover missing items. Call 2 stores to check they have the item in stock.
3rd visit: visit alternative store to replace missing items. Missing items not available in a box of random parts kept on site (all related to this particular product, so clearly this product has known issues).
4th visit: visit original store, return and re-order.
5th visit: collection of reordered item still to take place. Will be really annoyed if it's not in before we go on holiday. This time it better be right!
Avoid this product: Halfords are clearly aware of the problem as they store parts in their stockroom.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
August 04, 2015
By
from Doncaster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: would like better holding cables
" Fabulous product and easy to use ideal for families "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 1 - Thule 0,
July 28, 2015
By
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: affordable price, strong materials
Cons: does not tilt - but i can live with it
" I had to choose between this one and the Thule 3 bike carrier, and in the end opted for the Halfords make even though it does not tilt to allow access into the boot.
I figured that I could instead tilt the bike handle bars of the bike nearest the boot, and all this gave me plenty of clearance to access the boot.
The carrier is very robust and can easily load 4 adult-sized bikes - and you can keep an average of 80-ish on the motorway on a clear day. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goog product at great price,
July 27, 2015
By
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good sturdy product. Manually put together in little over 30 minutes.
Easily attached and detached from tow bar and bike can be loaded in little time.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Notch,
July 24, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Goes together very well extremely sturdy and a great price as good as any of the more expensive ones "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for purpose,
July 22, 2015
By
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lighting board supplied
Cons: the spanner supplied
" Bought this product to accommodate 4 adult mountain bikes, fully loaded the carrier feels secure. Definitely recommend buying a ratchet style spanner as the tool supplied is awkward to use close up to the car.
Definately fit for purpose.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great item,
July 22, 2015
By
from ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: this product does what it says
Cons: none
" very pleased with this item was very easy to build . is easy to attach to car but if not sure about it always have someone at hand just incase . there is plenty of straps to hold all your bikes they can be fiddly but if you do it in order ( ie. put bike on and strap it to uprite support bar then stap the wheels ) all in all a had no problems in building and attatching this item to my car and would recommend this product. it also stores away very easy and does not take up space "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AYR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>