Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (154 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
38
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
139 of 146(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK, but not really what I was expecting from the glowing reviews,
June 25, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Well built (after you've spent a few hours assembling it)
Very difficult to load without rotating handlebars 90 degrees - don't even try is my suggestion
2 person job to attach to the tow bar - it needs to be supported and jiggled around while simultaneously tighening the ball clamp
One of the lenses was broken in the box
The tools supplied to assemble are a joke. You need a socket wrench and a decent screwdriver
I think the Pendle would have been a better (but more expensive) buy
Secure when its all together, but frankly I can't imagine I would bother with it unless I absolutely had to. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great service,
June 25, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Sound product, efficient booking and excellent fitting service "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very helpful service,
June 16, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I am well pleased with this product it's easy to install and quick to take off the car it is a very robust car rack. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords bike rack excellent product,
June 02, 2016
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, easy to use, well built
" Very pleased with the bike rack, feels solid and holds 4 bikes no problem, travelled 800mile to south of France and Rack/bikes didn't need any attention. Looked solid on back of the car. Also easy to assemble and fit to the car tow bar
Only slight negative, could do with covers on the end of the sections that the bikes sit on, caught leg on sharp edge whilst wearing shorts! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use! Great product,
May 09, 2016
By
from Letterkenny, Co. Donegal, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spacious all bikes fit easy, steady
" Picked it up assembled and fitted at the store. Easy to use and steady.
Definitely recommend!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LETTERKENNY (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product,
May 09, 2016
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was initially looking at the Thule 3 cycle carriers but was persuaded to buy the Halfords 4 cycle carrier due to the excellent reviews, which I am very glad I did. The carrier was received exactly as described with no missing parts, some reviews have stated that there were some missing straps in thier boxes. The carrier was very easy to put together and fits to the car with equal ease. I used this for the first time recently and it performed exactly as you would want it to. The carrier remained incredibly sturdy through out the journey giving me peace of mind and allowing me to consentrate on driving without having any concerns about the bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly....,
May 01, 2016
By
from Blandford Rd, Blandford Forum, Dorset DT11, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Needs a bit of time to put together, but not difficult. Fits all the bikes on it and it just works. For £70 the only difference is that it doesn't tilt. That one is your decision. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product great service,
April 30, 2016
By
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very sturdy product, well made. Easy from start to finish. Ordered for local store delivery over web chat. Called store made appt for assembly & fitting. In store fitter showed us several times how to put on & off & said call if any issues. Can really recommend the product & the longford store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LONGFORD (ROI)
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
all works perfect,
April 26, 2016
By
from cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" was a little dubious about fixing this on to the car and it supporting all of the weight - needn't have worried - all good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Impressed,
March 28, 2016
By
from Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good instructions for assembly, good design, heavy sturdy and well constructed, simple to attach/remove, plently of straps and anchor points
Cons: none
" I compared many different types of cycle carrier long and hard before choosing this one and right up until the last minute I was going to go for the 3-bike Thule towbar cycle carrier because I tend to favour the brand names but another review on this site made me go with this and I'm so glad that I did.
I bought it to fit a Vauxhall Insignia Hatchback fitted with a detachable ACS Systems towbar which gives a clearance on my vehicle between the ball of the towbar and the bumper of 60mm which is more than enough room to fit this cycle carrier.
This was my first worry dealt with because the instructions recommend 65mm clearance but you can quite easily get away with as little as 30mm.
My second worry was, how on earth does this cycle rack, which is 1 metre long and about 15kg in weight, carry 60-80kgs of bikes and still manage to remain stable on just a little towbar ball, surely it’s going to drop to the ground as soon as the first bike is strapped to it?
I still cannot answer this question but it just does and fully laden and driving over 300 miles it didn’t budge a millimetre! Amazing, it defies the laws of physics!
Fitting is very easy and even easier if two people do it, with one holding the rack while the other guides the jaws of the towball clamp over the towball and screws it tight. Final tightening of a pinch bolt with a spanner (provided) totally secures the cycle carrier – and I really mean totally secures!
And that’s it, worries and concerns over! Now just load on the bikes, using the straps provided to secure them firmly to the vertical supports – tightness is very important here!
If you’re carrying less than 4 bikes, don’t use the 1st carrying position nearest the car, this will then allow you boot access (on the Vauxhall Insignia Hatchback – not sure about other makes & models).
If you’re carrying 4 bikes, then you will need to turn the handlebars of the 1st bike through 90 degrees (whilst transporting) to allow boot access (on the Insignia). This is easily done by loosening a bolt in the handlebars’ stem with an allen key.
When driving off for the 1st time it’s natural to keep looking in the rear view mirror to check that all’s okay but after a while you will become more confident with the rack’s secureness and start to forget that the bikes are even there.
Although one thing I would recommend, is that after the first 5-10 miles, pull over and check everything, from towbar tightness to strap tightness. I did this and the towbar fitting was very secure but one of the bikes needed strapping more tightly to the vertical support.
So £180 well spent, although it only cost us £170, as we managed to get a £10 online discount!
Happy days, wish I’d have bought one sooner!
PS - don't forget to buy a rear registration plate. They cost £16 and Halfords can knock one up in about 5 minutes but you'll need your driving licence and V5 Car Registration document. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality,
October 27, 2015
By
from Holbeach, Spalding, Lincolnshire PE12, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy and quick to put together
" Great quality product. Seems strong and sturdy. Just be aware that some of these have been packaged with only half of the required straps. I had to go back to the shop where another rack was opened and I was given the straps from that box (that rack was also short of straps). Probably worth checking before you leave the car park. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SPALDING
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I'm really writing this to praise the customer service I had at the Inverness store. The staff were friendly and very helpful in helping me find the correct product for me car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A good, no nonsense product,
September 21, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
Cons: no tilt option
" Very happy with this product...a little time consuming to set up and afix bicycles to.. would imagine that it will become easier and quicker to load up the more its used.
This would have received 5 stars if their was a tilt option for easy access into the rear of your vehicle.
But all in all..... a great item to own.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great features but,
August 30, 2015
By
from Dorchester, Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Could do with plastic wheel holders being a little wider apart especially for e-bikes otherwise great product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
truly excellent,
August 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I was attracted by the price of this bike rack and the fact that I could get it fitted at my local Halfords (Plymouth Marshmills)
The fitting was fine (thanks to Tom) and we used the rack on a two week holiday in the UK (Scotland and back)
It was great - I got really confident at putting 4 bikes on the rack although I bought some extra straps just to make sure. I allowed 15 minutes to put four bikes on (much less to take off!)
In fact the rack is still on the van - don't forget to get a number plate.
All in all, a fabulous bit of kit - well made and study and certainly fit for purpose.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
August 24, 2015
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, reliable, well proced, light weight, looks neat, easy to load
" Bought this in Halfords Dublin and Just completed a 1500km roundtrip Dublin to France (our first family camp holiday in France). We have 2 adult bikes, 1 small adult bike and 1 kids 16" bike. 145kph on the Auto was no problem when overtaking, no noise, no shaking the car, you wouldn't know it was there. . I can do the whole set up myself now from start to finish in 15 mins. My car is Opel Insignia Hatchback which means I can open the hatch back too while bikes are loaded which was great on the ferry as we could get whatever we needed out of the back easily. No problem with the spanner supplied although I now use my own socket wrench for the side bolt just so I don't damage the outer grooves. It got lots of looks too and one family stopped us to ask where I got it and how much it cost as they are fed up strapping bikes to their car. The first few kilometres you are checking the mirror and I stopped once to check the bolt tightening but I didn't need to and did not do that again, now I just drive like its not there and I don't bother checking the tension etc. Just put the straps on right, tighten the bolts and your all sorted. Also, I had some worries about ground clearance going up on the ferry which was steep but no problem at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIFFEY VALLEY (ROI)
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tow bar bike carrier,
August 22, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" fits on car like a dream,have got round to trying it with my bikes not yet "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently bought this and its very good....,
August 21, 2015
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: loads of plus points
Cons: cannot drop rack down to access boot like some
" I have been looking for a four bike rack for a while as kids are growing up. I was hesitant over the strap on type as they look insecure, you have to hold the bike up high to load and unload and also need to provide a tail light bar and number plate generally.
I looked at the Thule one and it was similar price but only three bikes. To future-proof myself I opted for this one.
It is sturdily made and of simple design. Fairly heavy but one person can handle it quite easily. Two is a doddle. There is very little assembly required but it probably takes an hour to unpack, look at and understand and put the last bits on and then fit.
Fitting to the tow ball is great as suddenly the rack is part of the car - not tied to it.
Basically there is a four piece metal jaw that you unwind and then you position it over the tow ball and it then snaps down over it. You need to take the weight of the rack for a bit before you feel it engage and then you can let go. The rack then is sitting there self supporting but still loose. The instructions tell you what to look out for but basically you tighten the large hand screw which tightens the clamps around the ball. The rack can still move side to side at this point but it should not move up and down.
Once you are happy its attached you tighten a clamp with the spanner supplied and this stops and sideways movement. Soon you can rock the car and the rack is firmly located. Takes a few goes but you know when its right.
If you use the same bikes each time then you just set the channels the wheels sit in for each bike and need only to do this once. There are nylon straps and grips to firmly hold the wheel to the rack. There are uprights which go up and down which you do a secondary strap to. Then there is a final long nylon strap that you secure all bikes together with and its done!
Plug in the socket and test the lights and it works!
This one means that you cannot open the boot once fixed on so that is a slight negative but if you cannot organise whats in the boot then there is not much helping you. I can get in from the cabin anyhow.
I take mine off the car when we have parked up and you can put it in boot or cabin. Remember it is easy to take off and on and so someone will take a shine to it. Plus it adds just over a metre to the length of your car and so sticks out in car parks. You could chain it to chassis if necessary.
I love mine and well pleased with the result. Those who have strap on racks have commented on how good it is and how it is to use. Looks tidy too.
I try and keep all the straps on the rack so you know where they are. The spanner is ok but a cheap socket and rachet would save a minute or two loosening and tightening the rack.
It stows away vertically too so doesn't take up too much space.
A good buy in my opinion. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
August 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Dies exactly what it says-so much cheaper than other brands but just as good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very solid piece of kit,
August 18, 2015
By
from Ely, Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid build, price
Cons: fiddly straps
" Although a little fiddly to attach straps in the first instance, I can now attach carrier and secure all four family bikes in less than 10 minutes. In our cycling club, the majority of people have Thule carriers, but considering that they are, at best, double the price, I think this alternative is an excellent buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>