Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
71 of 75(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits my Jeep with spare wheel carrier,
June 29, 2014
By Anonymous
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, fits any towbar, lights included, 4 bikes for same price as many single carriers
Cons: takes up a lot of room when not in use
"I've looked at lots of different cycle carriers but nothing would fit my modified Jeep Wrangler as it has a large steel tyre carrier with a 35" mud tyre on the back. It doesn't have a UK style tow bar mounting to fit the type of carriers that bolt on to the tow bar plate and the spare tyre is too big for all the ones that strap onto your usual size 4x4 tyres. With this one bolting straight onto a gooseneck ball and riding low it avoids all these problems. I can probably just about squeeze 4 bikes onto it but it works fine for 3 by loading the rear end ones first and thats all I need. The only other ones I've seen that mount like this are higher up and the bikes would hit the tyre, plus they are up to 4 times the price. This is well made and quite heavy at 15kg without bikes. It doesn't tilt but my towbar is quick release so achieves the same thing as I can lift the whole thing off with some help. Tilting would be no use with a big sideways swing tailgate anyway. Light bar included so no more expense like with others. Doesn't lock to vehicle but I have a cycle lock extension cable which I use to chain the bikes and carrier to the hitch mounting point with a big padlock. Also got extra 10% off with a promo code so bit of a bargain! Very pleased with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 4 Bike Carrier,
May 17, 2014
By MegaNewton
from Cheddar, Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: security of fixing, quality of product
Cons: the tools are poor, would be nice if it locked onto the hitch
"Very pleased with the bike carrier. Took about an hour to fit and get the bikes on it.
None of the luxuries some others offer like tilting etc but then I've seen plenty of posts saying you still can't get in the rear.
It fixes really securely to the tow bar and I've no worries it'll come off like I would with carriers which strap to the hatch or boot.
Tools aren't great and what is offered as a screw driver is utter junk. So resorted to my own tools. I think someone could look at the fixings and provide something easier for most to fit the number plate and lights with. I would also question stating torque figures for tightening the tow ball clamp when I suspect 80% of purchases don't have one and don't have a feel for what 45Nm means in reality - with the spanner provided it will feel pretty tight.
Taking the above into account I'd still say its good value for money and should stop the bikes getting trashed.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
April 15, 2014
By Madaboutbikes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought and fitted it to my jeep with no problems. Easy to build about 25 mins takes four adults mountain bikes with ease."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product,
April 05, 2014
By Chris1963
from Cork, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: won't tilt or fold
"I returned the advance 4 bike cycle carrier which was useless for mountain bikes. 2 struts snapped . I complained to Halfords that there is a design fault. The product was not in Halfords for long now i know why . I ended up changing for this carrier which straight away i could see was built better & half the price . A little annoyed with Halfords not reimbursing me the difference in price, although they did give me a 50 euro voucher (still short of what i paid) with the rack etc. Thoroughly recommend this product. Big shame Halfords couldn't produce a product of the build quality of this product combined with features of old advanced carrier , i.e fold able, tilt & easy clamp to tow bar. Was glad to get rid of faulty product & have a better built rack. Thanks too Brian & Mario in Tralee."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality cycle carrier,
February 04, 2014
By Fuller10
from North Staffordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: keeps the bikes away from cars paintwork, easy to fit to towball
Cons: a little on the heavy side for one person to fit, tools provided are not very good
"It took around an hour to set the carrier up, the tools provided were not too good so used my own. The carrier was easy to fit to the towbar although abit on the heavy side. the carrier kept the bikes away from the cars paintwork, the bikes felt secure when travelling, I also used a bungee cord along with the straps provided, we have two adult and two childrens bikes which fitted well on the carrier, we locked the carrier onto the car using a long cycle lock from the carrier to the towbar as we could not fit it into the boot, you cannot use the boot with the carrier but that isn't a problem with an estate car, don't forget to check vehicle noseweight and not to exceed it(75kg minimum)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Electrics shoddy,
October 31, 2013
By mlayzell73
from UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased this bike carrier to put on my tow bar and make trips out with the family easier.
I have had to replace two sets of wiring in my car which connect to the tow bar electrics. I tracked the problem down to damaged wiring in the light unit shorting out.
It was not a single wire which was damaged, but 3 of them, all with the sheaths cut and shorting against the bulb mounts.
It has ended up costing me more in time & money than a better made brand."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value,
October 22, 2013
By matt1982
from northumberland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, cost
Cons: not lockable
"Excellent value compared to other makes works really well easy to use fits all of my bikes some minor things missing out of box but i never complained so cant really judge. overall really good only downside that its not lockable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
halfords 4 bike carrier,
October 10, 2013
By Loupy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the quality
Cons: it doesn't tilt like other bike carriers
"Excellent value for money. Supports our 4 bikes very securely indeed. Surprisingly very impressed with the carrier for the price.
Would recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 bikes,
September 18, 2013
By Mittch
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product.Can get 2 adults and 2 kids bikes on.Can be put on with only one person"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sturdy carrier for 4 bikes,
September 16, 2013
By veryslowcoach
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: loose straps
"Easy to fit, easy to use, feels v sturdy to attach directly to the tow ball.
Just make sure you don't lose the little straps."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much better than roof mounted bike racks,
August 11, 2013
By Roger100
from Bracknell
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: car drives perfectly with carrier in place, frees up roof for a topbox, easy to assemble
Cons: heavy to put on towbar - needs 2 people, restricts access to boot
"I bought this rack to replace a roof mounted bike rack. With it attached, I don't notice any difference in performance and I have now fitted a top box on the roof.
Easy to assemble, but it does need 2 people to put it on the towbar and lock in place.
We have 3 bikes on the 4 bike carrier. With 4 bikes you might go over the tow hook weight limit - we're just ok.
It's now much easier to get the bikes on; no more straining to get them on our 4X4.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic!..... just wish it tipped so we can access the boot,
August 07, 2013
By GodChick4Ever2
from Garvagh, Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: compact, good value for money
Cons: a bit cumbersome for a 5ft2" lightweight female
"Until now we had been using a small trailer, so this carrier is a massive improvement with proper support for our bikes :-)
We can easily fit 4 bikes (3 adult and 1 child) and it has good support.
Wish it could tip to allow access to the boot of the car (but to be honest, albeit a little inconvenient, we can access the boot from the rear seat). The extra money to get a 4 bike carrier that tips isn't really worth it for our family.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COLERAINE
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin ..,
July 26, 2013
By John456
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble, easy to install on tow bar, very rigid and felt safe. Easy to put 4 bikes on. Particularly liked the simple 3 straps per bike for easy on and off once the straps inserted onto the bike carrier. The padded arms can be made flat to the main carier so doesn't take up too much storage room in garage. Very happy - it does what it says it does and does it well ..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DORKING
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
July 19, 2013
By Clive3952
from Leatherhead. UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A good discount and a great product. Very easy to fit and was works perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feels strong,
July 19, 2013
By lilo71
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to assemble, no point spending any more on a carrier when this does the job more than adequetely"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 4 bike tow bar cycle carrier,
July 08, 2013
By Sarahdd56
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our new bike carrier is just right for what we need. Having a teenager who likes to try out jump parks it means I can transport 4 bikes easily. It's so simple to put on the car and they are securely fastened to the carrier .It has also made my husband very happy as now no longer chipped paint from the boot of the car!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
How many cars: 3
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value carrier,
June 29, 2013
By 10emmad
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy simple
"Easily constructed, good instructions for use, simple,value for money carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made with clear instructions,
June 17, 2013
By Redmuk
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, easy to use and set up, great value
"It doesn't take too long to put together. People might find that they need to drop the towbar bit out and place it on the cars towbar and put the nut back on. First time I put 4 bike on, I found it a struggle, took about 20 mins, but once you get all the wheel gutters and ties in position, it really is just a case of remembering which bike went where and which way it pointed, now it only takes about 5 mins to put four bikes on. Great solution to bringing 4 bikes with you, highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (CONNSWATER)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All expectations met....,
June 17, 2013
By JMH1
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The product has met all expectations in terms of ease of use, reliability and quality, and in terms of performance. 5 mins to install and uninstall and the rest is easy. Happy with this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy,
June 14, 2013
By Browny321
from Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bit pricey, as most bike racks are, but otherwise happy with this rack."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>