Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
101 of 106(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good at this price point,
May 12, 2015
By LootInTheBoot
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: ease of use
" I bought this in-store (Friern Bridge) following some online research and in-store conversation. I only need to carry three adult bikes and a child's bike perhaps once or twice per month, so did not want to spend a large sum - so this fit the bill.
Other reviews have covered most of what needs saying: it's quite simple to assemble and use, albeit some things could have been made easier, such as the bike straps and the attachment to the tow ball, but you would typically have to pay more for those luxuries.
I would add that, yes, the included spanner is difficult to use, so I've just bought a 17mm/19mm (double ended) ratchet ring spanner online (another popular online retailer) that will make the job much easier. I've also ordered a torque wrench and 19mm socket so that I know what 45nm is - I don't want to take any risks; suffice to say that the first time I used the carrier I used the included spanner and tightened the pinch bolt as tight as I could - and it held nicely.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle Carrier,
May 06, 2015
By paullllllllllllll
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike carrier, Was worried the spare wheel would prevent first bike going on but this wasn't a problem "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle Carrier,
May 01, 2015
By sj12345
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product. Easy to assemble. Easy to fit to tow bar. Easy to load bikes. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says,
April 29, 2015
By Zed14
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The bike carrier is for our VW T5. We've carried 2 children's bikes and 2 adult bikes with 29" wheels. Easy to fit and had no problems. Less than half the price for the VW carrier. Used 4 times now and been fine. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money,
April 29, 2015
By Hawkeye63
from Castle Donington, Derby, Leicestershire DE74, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this on recommendation of garage where car was serviced. Easy to assemble, and easy to fit.
Carries adult and kids bikes easily. Well worth the money!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
April 29, 2015
By Michael6
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" 20 mins to put together at first and easy to use thereafter...Would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor but customer service was good!,
March 11, 2015
By Mollster
from North wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: customer service
Cons: the carrier!
" I had this for a few months and only used a couple of the bike 'slots'. Not sure if it was because I carried large framed bikes but it was always a faff to load them and they never really felt secure. Anyway in the end after not much use one of the plastic wheel holders failed and the bike dropped down dragging the wheel. Luckily I wasn't going fast and was able to stop quickly. On the positive side halfords sorted the problem quickly and i was able to get a different model. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works - don't get the expensive alternative,
March 07, 2015
By Craig70
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: robust
" I first bought the Exodus 4 bike carrier which I broke before getting a bike on it - but Halfords were great and took it back without any hassle. The Exodus in theory is better because of the easy on/off mechanism, but that's the bit that broke!
Bought the Halfords carrier and immediately noticed how much more robust it is and considerably lighter. Assembly was easy and it is so rigid when it's on the towbar which gave me so much more confidence when loading it up.
The only downside is that you need a spanner (supplied with the carrier) to get it on and off the towbar. But don't let this put you off, the first time took 15 minutes, after a few uses I was doing it in less than 5 - its a lot easier than changing an inner tube so every cyclist should be able to cope with this.
When I was looking I saw a review that this carrier can't take a large mountain bike - that was nonsence. We have three adult bikes - a GT 29er, Kona 29er, Appolo XC 26 and a teenagers Muddyfox and they all go on together no problem.
The straps can seem a bit fiddly to start with but you get three per bike and two long one which secure two bikes at a time as extra security. I also put a bike lock around all four. It takes a few minutes per bike so all 4 done within 15 minutes - quicker if it's raining!
All in a great product - well worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really useful,
February 18, 2015
By witchgrandma
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what the label says. All types and sizes of bikes can be transported at the same time.
Easy to load and secure the bikes.
Easy to store when not in use, can be hung on the wall.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
good value carrier but!,
January 31, 2015
By muddywheel196901
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Brought carrier today, took home and assembled easy enough fitted to vehicle all good. Went to fit bike on would not fit due to carrier will not take mountain bike with 27.5 " wheels, nothing written anywhere indicating this please Halfords please address this issue I wasted my time and I will not be the last. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great towball attachment, value,
January 03, 2015
By stevex06
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Better than some of more expensive well known makes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
December 16, 2014
By Bigguns
from West sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well made, up there with the branded models. Does not tilt like some, but for that price a bargain so what. Easy to use and build. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
November 30, 2014
By jackthekipper
from Dawlish, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, stylish, totally safe and secure, roll on roll off, great quality straps
Cons: doesn't tilt like some of the thules but no great
" Didn't know whether to get this or the Thule type of on the tow bar carrier, just knew I wanted one. I have had the cheaper mount on hanging type with not much luck in the past.
Thule were very good but more expensive and upon inspection and with some wonderful help from the very knowledgeable Mary at the Newton Abbot store, I could instantly see the build quality of the Halfords carrier and bought it.
On the car it's just great, takes a bit of getting used to when reversing and parking, there's non of the wavering about even on the motorway and with expensive bikes it gives me peace of mind. Would definitely recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unable to comment,
November 26, 2014
By Minijoyce
from Hampshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" This has been brought for a Christmas present and as it's only still November it hasn't even been taken out of its box ..:/ "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
-102points
3out of 108found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use,
October 16, 2014
By Number1plumber
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first cycle carrier and I was amazed how sturdy and secure it felt once fitted. Would definitely recommend this carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't be happier,
October 14, 2014
By Daveski
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We were struggling to find a decent carrier for the car, but then noticed this one at Halfords. It was very very easy to fit, is very sturdy and it's easy to fit the bikes on securely.
Excellent quality and value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value and transports 4 biked easily,
September 15, 2014
By Jonny50
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy enough to construct. Fits to the tow bar securely although not as easily as my previous carrier but still not a problem. The straps are fiddly to thread through and you need to remember to leave them in situ when removing the bikes.
Carries 4 mountain bikes easily and feels solid and secure on the road.
For the money this is well recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great performer,
September 09, 2014
By bretzky29
from Bulford, Salisbury, Wiltshire SP4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, easy to assemble, bikes held securely
" I purchased this bike rack for my Jeep Cherokee. It took around 30 minutes to assemble, but the instructions were clear so wasn't a problem. Fitting the rack to the car can be a little fiddly, but now I've done it a few times it has got easier. The rack performs exceptionally and holds all 4 of my bikes securely in place. At half the price of other racks you can't go wrong. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use and good value,
September 08, 2014
By AgingDad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use getting on and off towbar, 4 bikes easy to load, bikes secure and free from damage, feels solid and secure
Cons: bike straps can be a fiddle to slip through holes, some nuts/bolts easy to overtighten when constucti
" A real step up from last high car mounted carrier. Very quick and easy to put on and take off towbar. Some straps a bit fiddly to thread on first use but once in easy to attach and secure bikes. Lights and backplate good quality and work well. Like another reviewer , so easy to do , took carrier off and stowed in boot on last trip. Sits away from car so can half open hatch when bikes are on. Generally very pleased so far, especially when comparing price to alternatives. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!!!,
September 05, 2014
By Londoner2010
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just did 2500 miles with it around Europe, carrying 4 bikes for the family. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>