Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier can transport up to 4 bikes safely and securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
108 of 113(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good for price,
June 27, 2015
By MizzP
from Guildford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: the tools supplied
" This rack does exactly as it says it will. There are some bits that aren't top notch such as the tools to build it and secure it onto your car - buy your own spanner! It's not particularly quick to put on / take off, as you have the top screw fixing and the side bolt to contend with. For it's price it is good value as does what I need it for 2 adult and 2 kids bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly Recommended,
June 19, 2015
By BigSigh
from Driffield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting and loading
Cons: straps could be better as fiddly to fit
" Needed to carry up to four bikes, but was fed up of having to fit the roof bars and then the roof carriers which took ages. Also because of the height of our Discovery 3 it was always a struggle to load/unload the bikes. This makes it much easier, and bikes can be loaded in no time at all.
Takes a bit of time for the initial set-up, but is a doddle to fit on the towbar afterwards. Very secure once fitted.
Click and collect drom Halfords was great. There was an issue with one faulty part, but thanks to Jenny at Halfords in Beverley this was sorted without any fuss.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
June 15, 2015
By Louise150
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with this bike carrier, recently purchased a high tow bar carrier but getting the bikes loaded is a work of art after our last trip taken over an hour to load we looked for another carrier, seeing this on halfords and having read the reviews we decided to purchase and we are so glad we did, after purchase you do have build the carrier but my husband and I did this easily, loading on to the tow bar is very simple and having the light board is also a great plus, you do have to purchase a registration plate unless like us you already have one. Loading the bikes couldn't be easier took 10 minutes to load 4 adult bikes and carrier can be adjusted to carry smaller /child's bikes. The only down side to this carrier is there is no lock to lock to your car, so on first use when we arrived at our destination we took it off and locked it in the car, now we have purchased a good bike lock and on next use we are going to use this to lock carrier to the car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased, can't fault it,
June 15, 2015
By Watergirly
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quickly remove from tow bar, quickly attach to tow bar
Cons: straps can be a bit fiddly
" Did alot of research before buying this. Very happy with it. Wanted a bike carrier suitable for a pick up truck with out having to use roof bars due to height and this was perfect. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Easily fits 4 adult bikes, and is easy and quick to remove from tow bar. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good,
June 10, 2015
By 172Navigator
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Carrier was easy to build, all parts there, took about 30 minutes.
It's easier to fit onto the two bar with two people, it is possible to do alone though.
Carrier works fine, quality seems as good as the Thule two bike carrier it replaced. The fitting mechanism onto the two bar is different to the Thule design, I don't think it is better or worse, just a little different.
I drove for a couple of hours with three bikes on, no issues. I think this Halfords carrier is very good value compared to the Thule options and does exactly what you need. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bike carrier,
June 10, 2015
By juniepunie1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: holds 4 bikes
Cons: heavy
" Very happy with product. Expected it to be lighter but still happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine,
June 10, 2015
By perks01
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bit fiddly to put together, but guess you learn that. No problems otherwise "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good at this price point,
May 12, 2015
By LootInTheBoot
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: ease of use
" I bought this in-store (Friern Bridge) following some online research and in-store conversation. I only need to carry three adult bikes and a child's bike perhaps once or twice per month, so did not want to spend a large sum - so this fit the bill.
Other reviews have covered most of what needs saying: it's quite simple to assemble and use, albeit some things could have been made easier, such as the bike straps and the attachment to the tow ball, but you would typically have to pay more for those luxuries.
I would add that, yes, the included spanner is difficult to use, so I've just bought a 17mm/19mm (double ended) ratchet ring spanner online (another popular online retailer) that will make the job much easier. I've also ordered a torque wrench and 19mm socket so that I know what 45nm is - I don't want to take any risks; suffice to say that the first time I used the carrier I used the included spanner and tightened the pinch bolt as tight as I could - and it held nicely.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle Carrier,
May 06, 2015
By paullllllllllllll
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike carrier, Was worried the spare wheel would prevent first bike going on but this wasn't a problem "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle Carrier,
May 01, 2015
By sj12345
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product. Easy to assemble. Easy to fit to tow bar. Easy to load bikes. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says,
April 29, 2015
By Zed14
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The bike carrier is for our VW T5. We've carried 2 children's bikes and 2 adult bikes with 29" wheels. Easy to fit and had no problems. Less than half the price for the VW carrier. Used 4 times now and been fine. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money,
April 29, 2015
By Hawkeye63
from Castle Donington, Derby, Leicestershire DE74, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this on recommendation of garage where car was serviced. Easy to assemble, and easy to fit.
Carries adult and kids bikes easily. Well worth the money!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
April 29, 2015
By Michael6
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" 20 mins to put together at first and easy to use thereafter...Would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor but customer service was good!,
March 11, 2015
By Mollster
from North wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: customer service
Cons: the carrier!
" I had this for a few months and only used a couple of the bike 'slots'. Not sure if it was because I carried large framed bikes but it was always a faff to load them and they never really felt secure. Anyway in the end after not much use one of the plastic wheel holders failed and the bike dropped down dragging the wheel. Luckily I wasn't going fast and was able to stop quickly. On the positive side halfords sorted the problem quickly and i was able to get a different model. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works - don't get the expensive alternative,
March 07, 2015
By Craig70
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: robust
" I first bought the Exodus 4 bike carrier which I broke before getting a bike on it - but Halfords were great and took it back without any hassle. The Exodus in theory is better because of the easy on/off mechanism, but that's the bit that broke!
Bought the Halfords carrier and immediately noticed how much more robust it is and considerably lighter. Assembly was easy and it is so rigid when it's on the towbar which gave me so much more confidence when loading it up.
The only downside is that you need a spanner (supplied with the carrier) to get it on and off the towbar. But don't let this put you off, the first time took 15 minutes, after a few uses I was doing it in less than 5 - its a lot easier than changing an inner tube so every cyclist should be able to cope with this.
When I was looking I saw a review that this carrier can't take a large mountain bike - that was nonsence. We have three adult bikes - a GT 29er, Kona 29er, Appolo XC 26 and a teenagers Muddyfox and they all go on together no problem.
The straps can seem a bit fiddly to start with but you get three per bike and two long one which secure two bikes at a time as extra security. I also put a bike lock around all four. It takes a few minutes per bike so all 4 done within 15 minutes - quicker if it's raining!
All in a great product - well worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really useful,
February 18, 2015
By witchgrandma
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what the label says. All types and sizes of bikes can be transported at the same time.
Easy to load and secure the bikes.
Easy to store when not in use, can be hung on the wall.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
good value carrier but!,
January 31, 2015
By muddywheel196901
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Brought carrier today, took home and assembled easy enough fitted to vehicle all good. Went to fit bike on would not fit due to carrier will not take mountain bike with 27.5 " wheels, nothing written anywhere indicating this please Halfords please address this issue I wasted my time and I will not be the last. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great towball attachment, value,
January 03, 2015
By stevex06
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Better than some of more expensive well known makes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
December 16, 2014
By Bigguns
from West sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well made, up there with the branded models. Does not tilt like some, but for that price a bargain so what. Easy to use and build. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4 Bike Tow Bar Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
November 30, 2014
By jackthekipper
from Dawlish, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, stylish, totally safe and secure, roll on roll off, great quality straps
Cons: doesn't tilt like some of the thules but no great
" Didn't know whether to get this or the Thule type of on the tow bar carrier, just knew I wanted one. I have had the cheaper mount on hanging type with not much luck in the past.
Thule were very good but more expensive and upon inspection and with some wonderful help from the very knowledgeable Mary at the Newton Abbot store, I could instantly see the build quality of the Halfords carrier and bought it.
On the car it's just great, takes a bit of getting used to when reversing and parking, there's non of the wavering about even on the motorway and with expensive bikes it gives me peace of mind. Would definitely recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>