Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Speed Camera Detectors or
Choose a Category

Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription

Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Speed limit Awareness.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Review 1 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well most of the tie,
August 25, 2014
By Lynn22
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: mostly
"I have not it long had it and find it very simple to understand and impressive on most roads but I have had problems on two 50 mph stretches where Snoopers thinks it is 60 mph. I am now wondering how many times this is going to happen."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FROME
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Works well if it can.,
April 25, 2014
By RicF
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Bought this product for use in an S Class Mercedes, and it wouldn't pick up a GPS signal. Tried in the Micra(s), collects a signal almost instantly & works well. Back in the Merc, nothing!
Seems the windscreen is too advanced in top end vehicles and blocks the signal along with UV radiation etc.
Only solution is to buy something called a Re-radiating GPS Antenna as an addition or rewire the car.
My solution is to return the product as no use.
This is a technical issue and needs to be resolved. There are many cars with these windscreens.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 3
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
February 20, 2014
By GWombat64
from Leicester UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Small size and simple style makes the Snooper My-Speed Aura a great product. Works well and is up to date with camera locations"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny,
January 29, 2014
By Lye1234
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Gread a product recommended to new drivers like me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slows the wife down,
December 31, 2013
By dasmole
from north wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: its compact size, clear and bright screen, easy downloads of the speed camera postions plus b
Cons: mounting bracketa bit flimsey
"Bought this as a christmas present for the wife,she seems to lapse every now and then ,not now her little smiley face keeps her on track and the points hopefully at bay"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
works but very quiet,
April 24, 2013
By toffee71
from weymouth,gb
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: knowing speed limit
Cons: not very loud or attention catching
"the idea of knowing the speed limits is very good but they do not tell you you have to subscribe to updates"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless,
October 11, 2012
By Bob567
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This product would be brilliant if only it knew what the road speed limits are. It doesn't seem to have a clue what they are in this part of Wiltshire."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
15out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Snooper My Speed Aura,
September 26, 2012
By George30
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks and size
Cons: camera database not reliable
"Only used it for a few days so far but it seems that the camera database is not up to date as it warns of some fixed cameras that have been removed (one more than 6 years ago) .
It failed to alert to several local well known mobile camera locations as well -so I am not impressed and I am thinking of sending it back as you have to be able to trust it and at the moment that's not the case.
Its a shame as it looks a nice unit although the sound is poor.
The speed limit feature is very useful although its not perfect.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 14, 2012
By UncleJohn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a new car that had Sat Nav built into the dash, but it did not have a speed warning on it!! which is crazy! the Snooper has a small footprint and does an excellent job of telling you when you are travelling over the speed limit on the road you are travelling and warns you of fixed camera positions! The snooper my speed aura saved the day for my because i didn't think to ask the car salesman if the Sat nave has a speed warning, thinking this was standard on all Sat Navs."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good-BUT!,
April 01, 2012
By Gadgeteer66
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very effective speed warnings.
Cons: poor sound quality.
"Ths sound from this device is terrible! The fixing bracket is awful.Yet I like it. On many occassions it's prevented me from exceeding the speed limit. It does it's job very well. My passengers love the smiley green face which changes to a glum red face if I meander above the stated speed limit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well Worth The Outlay,
March 03, 2012
By Zxplen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small accurate
Cons: would like to see other mounting options
"For such a small compact unit, this device works very well changing speeds as you get to the speed changes on the road. There are the odd ocasions that it gets the speed wrong but catches up quickly.I used to be a spedd freak, but now I always try to stay with the green happy face on the unit. My driving has actually improved using this device. All cars should be fitted with one as standard.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product,
February 23, 2012
By driverpatrol
from south gloucester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good Product This will stop you from speeding, I did not find the back up support very friendly,When you call snooper asking for advise the staff come across like they can not be bothered even on the brink of being rude.Knowing that before hand I would of not brought because why would I support a product where the staff cant be bothered to help.The product works well though, I do question the camera data base though"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excekkent preformance ever,
February 12, 2012
By balkar
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no dashboard mount
"it dose what it says on the box.although you may know whats ahead but some times you forget for example in a rush i got hit because i was rushing/day dreaming.
it will still remind you. !!gatso slow down!! !!oops!! i forget
.thank you my speed aura
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Snooper My-Speed Aura - GPS Speed Camera Detector with Free Lifetime Subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Recommended,
February 02, 2012
By Nic43
from Fair Oak
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: out of date maps supplied - costs to update
""I wanted to give this item a good rating as it would work well ............ IF.............it was supplied with up to date speed maps. I would also expect to eventually pay for updated speed maps. I don't expect to buy a product which is already out of date. Unfortunately in one week I have found 4 roads where the speed limit on the Snooper is wrong all within 10 miles of home. None is a recent change (less than 6 months). You only get free updates of speed limits within 30 days of purchase. No updates are due for some months. Therefore you are automatically forced to pay more than the list price if you want an up to date machine and in the meantime the speed limits (it's major selling point) are inaccurate. OK I know authorities change limits now and then (however we are talking local authorities who don't do anything fast). You may do better in your location. Personally - I will look at the sign posts along the way - it's a lot cheaper and (in my experience) safer where your licence is concerned. This is one of those items I genuinely wish I hadn't bought.""
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+15points
21out of 27found this review helpful.