Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole

The Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole has a damping spring for extra safety when towing another vehicle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
59 of 65(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Review 1 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 16, 2015
By ballast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble, carry case, comes with everything you need
Cons: heavy
" Would highly recommend the store and the product to all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well, as expected/anticipated,
March 16, 2015
By ayecove
from Gartcosh, Glasgow, North Lanarkshire G69, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact, cheaper than a recovery vehicle
" I bought this to tow my wife's car from garage A to garage B as garage B quoted cheaper clutch repair. This tow pole worked as i hoped and offered more peace of mind over using a tow rope. the close proximity to the rear of the car towing had me a little nervous, but it ensured a safe tow experience. The 'On Tow' writing on the storage bag was a great idea, and i turned the ends of the bg up to jam in to the boot so the writing was visible to vehicles behind me. Keeping it in the car now to assist anyone i pass by in need of a tow. The pole was made of sturdy enough material to cope easily with towing a Kia Ceed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use,
March 15, 2015
By Bill800
from Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having towed cars many years ago using tow ropes the towing pole makes it so much easier and safer especially when towing a driver with no experience of being towed - he also found it less daunting than feared. We had a 20 mile journey from Edinburgh to Fife and managed it comfortably. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent towing bar,
March 14, 2015
By Neo360
from Kirkby Stephen, Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria CA17, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, easy tomassemble and fit, safe towing mechanism, small enough to be left in boot all the time
Cons: split pins are attached to by flimsy chain
" I purchased this item to tow my landrover 90 hardtop from Kirkby Stepen to Kendal, for those of you who don't know his is about 22 miles and is up hill and down dale.
The tow bar proves itself to be up to the task of towing a vehicle that is at the top of its weight limit. Mother were no problems towing in on down the steepest of hills.
After the journey there were no signs of damage of flexing / bending to the tow bar.
The tow bar itself is very easy to assembly, it consist of four split pins that are used to lengthen or shorten the bar and towing eye hooks.
Because it's a rigid bar you need someone who's able to reverse the towing vehicle centimetres at a time in order to get the bar slotted into place.
If you've never towed before, or towed only with a rope, I'd recommend a towing bar, it's so much easier for the person driving the car being towed as it removes the possibility of driving into the back of the towing car.
The bar comes in a sturdy bright red bag with On Tow written on it, which can be placed in your rear windows when on tow.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
February 26, 2015
By gem203
from South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this product to tow my son's car to a garage and had no problems at all - does what it says on the tin! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hills towing pole,
February 04, 2015
By Craigh123
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use
" Very good product , towed a Peugeot expert van 40 miles no problem "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for emergency use,
January 12, 2015
By Jimsed
from Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Found bar easy to fit onto cars and very good product for the price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Towing pole failure,
January 05, 2015
By SilverFox2015
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Looks like a case of possible suspect manufacturing technics. The pole was set up and used correctly but after approx. four miles snapped at the tension spring point as described in other reviews. As with one of the other reviewers I too have two damaged vehicles...be warned.!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hilka towing barb,
December 10, 2014
By Boulder13
from Aberdeenshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
" This product was very handy !! Pulled a jeep with no problems !! And I would recommend it ! It is also a reasonable price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tow pole - verdict,
December 09, 2014
By scimitargtc
from yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" needed to get daughters car to a main dealer via motorway didn't fancy doing 25 miles with a rope so pole was bought fitted easily used easily (weird sensation to see daughter right up my boot instead of at the end of a long rope!) spring does help reduce the 'drag and push' effect especially the car was immobilised so no power steering or power assisted brakes. worked perfectly - can only assume the couple of reviews that say it bent / damaged cars the pole wasn't being used properly.... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole,
October 07, 2014
By StPaul100
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
" Very easy to use and of great quality. I have used this a couple of times now and it really inspires confidence when towing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of money,
July 29, 2014
By Jimmyjimjim
from uk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" bent and snapped at the damping spring within just a few miles "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a sturdy bit of kit,
July 08, 2014
By firkinjeffery
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I towed my Smart car 110 miles with this bar ,,fantastic bit of kit.
Its simple to use yet very safe also easy to operate...If you only need to use it once you are in pocket,,definitely recommend...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bent in less than 15 miles........,
February 18, 2014
By Linda2014
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: it bent!!!
" Bent in less than 15 miles I now have two damaged cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: More than 3
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tow bar/ rope,
January 06, 2014
By TheDarkKnight59
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this product enables you to tow with out fear of the tow vehicle running into the back of you "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple towing,
January 02, 2014
By Mickye
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong, value for money
Cons: nothing
" The most boring piece of towing I've done which is great. Strong and easy to setup. This even managed 50mph on the motorway. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth it. So much better than a rope,
January 01, 2014
By richieb222
from braintree
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: is a little heavy to carry around all the time
" I bought this because the route we had to use was busy and the only time available to do the towing was after dark, but the cost was worth it.
It only takes a few more moments to fit than a rope.
Takes all the stress out of towing.
Still have to drive smoothly, but once you get the hang of it, is much less jerky than a rope.
Although you are much closer to the car doing the towing my son said it is so much better.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tow pole,
December 31, 2013
By Steve6926
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought this on boxing day to tow a car about 120 miles and after 25 miles it bent approaching a roundabout. Managed to do a roadside repair and all went well until 2 miles from destination when it finally broke. Again managed to repair by taking spring section out. Tends to be a problem when braking may be due to central towing point on towing vehicle and off side towing eye on towed vehicle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rigid Steel Towing Pole,
December 27, 2013
By GreatOrme1
from Pembrokeshire, Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use
" Very Good product, bought to tow a vintage car 10 miles, it was simple to use, worked a treat and saved me a lot of time & money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hilka towing pole,
December 19, 2013
By sack690
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" First class kit. straight forward to put together and no snatch on pulling away, no un expected snatches as the other driver panics. as peace of mind to towed driver, even a relative novice can be towed safely. can not praise enough so much easier than a rope or strap. carry it in the car all the time now "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>