Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole

The Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole has a damping spring for extra safety when towing another vehicle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
7
68 of 75(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Review 1 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great piece of kit,
May 07, 2016
By
from Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the damper spring
" The tow pole is very sturdy, and well made. The added feature of the damper spring jn center is briliant. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not bad for price,
May 02, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spring does its job
Cons: feels a bit cheap
" i bought this to move my classic mini to the bodyshop. I was worried when I got it out of the box as it didn't look very strong. The Spring and hooks look great but then the other bits like the split pins look cheap. Maximum tow speed 15mph not sure how much you have to stick to it.
Very handy piece of kit well worth the money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Faulty product,
May 01, 2016
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I originally purchased this item to tow my wifes car to the garage as it had broken down and the cost of recovery was too expensive. unfortunately when I unpacked the bar one of the pins that hold the bar together did not have whole drilled in it for putting the retaining pin through. The local store was closed and I could not get a replacement in time and so had no choice but to pay for recovery. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exelent product good price,
March 11, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I only bought this as got stopped by the pigs . I have towed 1 car so far with it and its a big diffrence wel recomended fits in the boot breaksin to 3 parsts for east storagemade of decemt metal not cheap "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
missing parts,
February 28, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Woks as it should but was missing split pins but didn't have time to take it back so I had to improvise with nuts and bolts "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole,
December 05, 2015
By
from Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money, easy to use, comes in a bag with an 'on tow sign'
Cons: no negative's
" My son in laws car broke down and not wanting to tow it on a rope with no power assistance for the brakes or steering I bought this pole.
The product is excellent value for money and completed the job perfectly - however you should regard this item as a DIY product rather than a professional tool - Having said that I made use of this item only once, it performed adequately and I would have confidence in using it again.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to tow with,
December 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent bar
" This is a great piece of kit, my wife towed me to the garage 12 miles from home, she had never towed before and this took all of the hard work and jerking around you get with a rope. It's a real must have as it saved me the £150 + VAT in recovery costs.
I would defiantly recommend it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job in an emergency,
November 07, 2015
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble, far better than a rope, good value
Cons: suitable only for emergency/occasional use
" Bought this as I needed to tow a non running car 20 miles home. Did the job and was far far better than a rope but would want something more substantial for more than occasional use. Came fully assembled but a couple of bolts required more tightening.....ensure you check them before using! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Based on only one towing trip.,
October 22, 2015
By
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: better than a rope if never been towed before.
Cons: not enough "warnings"
" Was happy with performance on open road. Towed well and felt secure. Unfortunately not enough clearance when negotiating traffic calming measures even at dead slow speed. When first car went up bar scraped the ground and when it went over and down the bar bent.
But, even although it only survived one trip, I would still prefer it to a rope. It just needs the manufacturer to add an obvious warning to avoid extreme traffic calming "obstructions." I am much more aware of it's limitations now and would give it another try if I had to.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AYR
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better than a rope,
September 19, 2015
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: links and pin
" had to tow a celica i bought as a non runner a distance of 20 miles,
always used ropes in the past and was scared using the pole first time especially when you see how close the towed car is.
did the job and was easier than a rope although would urge caution i,e, dont tow at and give clear signal to the towed car you are going to slow down or brake
only dislike was the tiny pins and chain link
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
June 16, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble, carry case, comes with everything you need
Cons: heavy
" Would highly recommend the store and the product to all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well, as expected/anticipated,
March 16, 2015
By
from Gartcosh, Glasgow, North Lanarkshire G69, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact, cheaper than a recovery vehicle
" I bought this to tow my wife's car from garage A to garage B as garage B quoted cheaper clutch repair. This tow pole worked as i hoped and offered more peace of mind over using a tow rope. the close proximity to the rear of the car towing had me a little nervous, but it ensured a safe tow experience. The 'On Tow' writing on the storage bag was a great idea, and i turned the ends of the bg up to jam in to the boot so the writing was visible to vehicles behind me. Keeping it in the car now to assist anyone i pass by in need of a tow. The pole was made of sturdy enough material to cope easily with towing a Kia Ceed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use,
March 15, 2015
By
from Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having towed cars many years ago using tow ropes the towing pole makes it so much easier and safer especially when towing a driver with no experience of being towed - he also found it less daunting than feared. We had a 20 mile journey from Edinburgh to Fife and managed it comfortably. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent towing bar,
March 14, 2015
By
from Kirkby Stephen, Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria CA17, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, easy tomassemble and fit, safe towing mechanism, small enough to be left in boot all the time
Cons: split pins are attached to by flimsy chain
" I purchased this item to tow my landrover 90 hardtop from Kirkby Stepen to Kendal, for those of you who don't know his is about 22 miles and is up hill and down dale.
The tow bar proves itself to be up to the task of towing a vehicle that is at the top of its weight limit. Mother were no problems towing in on down the steepest of hills.
After the journey there were no signs of damage of flexing / bending to the tow bar.
The tow bar itself is very easy to assembly, it consist of four split pins that are used to lengthen or shorten the bar and towing eye hooks.
Because it's a rigid bar you need someone who's able to reverse the towing vehicle centimetres at a time in order to get the bar slotted into place.
If you've never towed before, or towed only with a rope, I'd recommend a towing bar, it's so much easier for the person driving the car being towed as it removes the possibility of driving into the back of the towing car.
The bar comes in a sturdy bright red bag with On Tow written on it, which can be placed in your rear windows when on tow.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
February 26, 2015
By
from South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this product to tow my son's car to a garage and had no problems at all - does what it says on the tin! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hills towing pole,
February 04, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use
" Very good product , towed a Peugeot expert van 40 miles no problem "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for emergency use,
January 12, 2015
By
from Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Found bar easy to fit onto cars and very good product for the price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Towing pole failure,
January 05, 2015
By
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Looks like a case of possible suspect manufacturing technics. The pole was set up and used correctly but after approx. four miles snapped at the tension spring point as described in other reviews. As with one of the other reviewers I too have two damaged vehicles...be warned.!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hilka towing barb,
December 10, 2014
By
from Aberdeenshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
" This product was very handy !! Pulled a jeep with no problems !! And I would recommend it ! It is also a reasonable price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tow pole - verdict,
December 09, 2014
By
from yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" needed to get daughters car to a main dealer via motorway didn't fancy doing 25 miles with a rope so pole was bought fitted easily used easily (weird sensation to see daughter right up my boot instead of at the end of a long rope!) spring does help reduce the 'drag and push' effect especially the car was immobilised so no power steering or power assisted brakes. worked perfectly - can only assume the couple of reviews that say it bent / damaged cars the pole wasn't being used properly.... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>