Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tow Ropes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole

The Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole has a damping spring for extra safety when towing another vehicle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
49 of 53(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Review 1 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bent in less than 15 miles........,
February 18, 2014
By Linda2014
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: it bent!!!
"Bent in less than 15 miles I now have two damaged cars."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: More than 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tow bar/ rope,
January 06, 2014
By TheDarkKnight59
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this product enables you to tow with out fear of the tow vehicle running into the back of you"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple towing,
January 02, 2014
By Mickye
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong, value for money
Cons: nothing
"The most boring piece of towing I've done which is great. Strong and easy to setup. This even managed 50mph on the motorway."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth it. So much better than a rope,
January 01, 2014
By richieb222
from braintree
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: is a little heavy to carry around all the time
"I bought this because the route we had to use was busy and the only time available to do the towing was after dark, but the cost was worth it.
It only takes a few more moments to fit than a rope.
Takes all the stress out of towing.
Still have to drive smoothly, but once you get the hang of it, is much less jerky than a rope.
Although you are much closer to the car doing the towing my son said it is so much better.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tow pole,
December 31, 2013
By Steve6926
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this on boxing day to tow a car about 120 miles and after 25 miles it bent approaching a roundabout. Managed to do a roadside repair and all went well until 2 miles from destination when it finally broke. Again managed to repair by taking spring section out. Tends to be a problem when braking may be due to central towing point on towing vehicle and off side towing eye on towed vehicle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rigid Steel Towing Pole,
December 27, 2013
By GreatOrme1
from Pembrokeshire, Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use
"Very Good product, bought to tow a vintage car 10 miles, it was simple to use, worked a treat and saved me a lot of time & money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hilka towing pole,
December 19, 2013
By sack690
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First class kit. straight forward to put together and no snatch on pulling away, no un expected snatches as the other driver panics. as peace of mind to towed driver, even a relative novice can be towed safely. can not praise enough so much easier than a rope or strap. carry it in the car all the time now"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for towing.,
December 18, 2013
By M82Wel
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up, robust, low slack on tow
"Really easy to set up within minutes. Towed a much heavier car with no problem, even with offset tow points. Didn't have to worry about controlling the slack either. On tow sign included was a bonus."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Towing,
December 10, 2013
By KG07
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and use
"Hilka rigid steel towing pole did its job perfectly. I think that it is easier to use than a nylon tow rope"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole,
December 03, 2013
By Dave1965
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: safe and easy way to tow
Cons: none
"Good value for money and loads easier than towing with a rope"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Towing Pole,
November 03, 2013
By EcktheSpec
from Near Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having previously used a Tow Rope, decided to invest in a Towing Pole and was not disappointed with the outcome.
Towed an Astra 30 miles from Glasgow. good quality part and would recommend this as a good buy and a much safer method of towing than with a rope.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steel tow pole,
October 06, 2013
By Jonny4501
from Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product didn't look the strongest when unpacked. Hollow bars, hook restraints didn't look very strong. However, towed a car behind my van 40 miles with it just using the tow eyes. When finished the bar didn't show any signs of failure or defect. Very impressed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what the doctor ordered :),
September 29, 2013
By AlienS
from Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: safety in towing use
"This is streets better than towing with a rope - so easy by comparison due to not having to worry about the tension so therefore it's possible to recover a vehicle in the dark and wet when driving visibility is low.
You need ideally the front and rear towing rings on the vehicles involved in the action (check them - my handbook said I had a permanent hook but it wasn't there, on some cars esp if second hand, the detachable ring may have disappeared) but with a bit of judicious filing (about 15 minutes) you could attach this to a standard rear towball.
Recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
August 08, 2013
By Psb1
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very easy to use,helped tow my car with no engine and brakes,would easily recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hilka Steel Towing Pole,
July 23, 2013
By HFCM72
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as my car needed towing and what a great buy. Easy to assemble and my wife had no problems in towing me to the garage. There is a little bit clunking but that is expected. There is no need to worry about keeping the tension like you would using a rope and I would recommend this to anyone as it's great value for money. It does say to keep to 15mph but my wife towed me at 30mph and the pole was just fine. As long as you follow the instructions then it's a nice bit of kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,
July 15, 2013
By MegsDad57
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought it to tow my daughters car to the garage, worked really well. So much easier and SAFER than a rope. Quick to fit. Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
July 13, 2013
By PR21
from Swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used this to tow my Mercedes estate, which is a heavy car and it did the job great. So much better than towing with a rope. Great product and have recommended to my family to get one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A1 Communication,
July 12, 2013
By Holtsedge
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: heavier duty than expected, carry bag
Cons: flappy plastic cover
"Great product for the price, haven't used yet but seems it will do the job just fine - much better than a rope for sure. Great communications from Halford's all the way by text and email, we collected it in store, if I had to mention anything negative it would be that I still received a text message after it was collected asking me if I wanted to cancel the collection until tomorrow. All in all though, great service and product, couldn't really be faulted."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes towing easy,
July 11, 2013
By Andy325ci
from Newcastle Upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this product after my old rope snapped. It fitted straight away with no problems to either vehicle, and it proved much easier to tow, and be towed than with a conventional rope, we used it for 20 miles through the middle of Newcastle city centre and at up to 50mph on dual carriageways to our destination. Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent kit and easy to use,
July 08, 2013
By KevD69
from Manchester UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, great towing response, easy to store
"Hilka Rigid Steel Towing Pole is an excellent bit of kit. It is lightweight and easy to store but is more than up to the job of towing with easy. The driver of the towed vehicle has so much more control and no jerky movements to contend with like towing with a rope. Fantastic towing bar would recommend to anybody."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
123next>>