Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Snow Chains Size 70

Iceblok/XS9 Snow Chains which give your car a superb grip on snow & ice covered roads
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Snow Chains Size 70
Review 1 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Iceblok Snow Chains Size 70,
January 06, 2011
By jezzy
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: when working there good
Cons: any decent hill and they snap
" these chains are absolute rubbish. the materials used are not strong enough. Don't get me wrong for the first hour the performance was exceptional until I got to a bank and the left hand side snapped. so I fixed it then tried to pull away on the hill and the one I had fixed came off and the other side snapped.
ONLY GOOD ON FLAT SMOOTH ROADS
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality snow chains,
December 27, 2010
By EastHampshireman
from Hampshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: good grip first use only
Cons: poor construction
" Very difficult to fit in snowy conditions and poor construction quality resulting in the chain tensioning ratchet breaking the second time chains were used. Very disappointing purchase which let me down over the Christmas period when I was relying on functionality to navigate snowy roads in the West Country. I will try to obtain refund. I would not recommend purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Waste of money,
December 22, 2010
By Jez105
from North Northumberland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: performance
Cons: there rubishly made
" Bought these chains as my farm track is 5 and a half miles long and there is some pretty steep hills on it. just about every time I use these I have to make repairs to them. When I bought them I explained that I would be using them quite regular and the assistant said these were the ones to get, but personaly unless you only want to use them once or twice a year then spend a bit more cash and get some decent ones. Performance is however excellent when these dont break.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IceBlok snow chains.,
December 20, 2010
By 999tay
from Perth, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These chains are easy to fit, easy to store and give great grip in the snow. Important to practice fitting at home before use. I also found that turning the wheels to full lock made fitting easier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Iceblok Snow Chains Size 70,
December 16, 2010
By JamesB123
from Yorkshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: seem to work well in snow & ice
Cons: mine broke a link, fiddly to fit
" Only used for a couple of days before a link broke, Seemed to work well in snow and gave a lot more traction, but mine broke a link at the slightest sight of tarmac even at low speed, no problems returning them for a refund. Things to consider and I am sure this applys to all snow chains, fiddly to fit at the best of times but in the dark when its cold makes it 10 times harder, I would recommend having a headlight torch to see what you are doing and a pair of rubber gloves as you have to reach into a wheel arch which will be covered in ice,snow & slush. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an excellent piece of kit,
December 14, 2010
By thewinner
from Sheffield, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: have gloves to hand its cold fitting them
" Purchased these ice chains just before the snow came glad I did ,as I got stuck twice and these saved me from abandoning my van with all my tools in and I got to my job....... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tricky,
January 28, 2010
By Snowdin
from Scotland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very difficult to put on, especially in freezing conditions! One of them must not have been on quite right and the chain link snapped. Having said that, the other stayed on and worked very well in the snow, so I got the car out. Next year I'm buying snow tyres instead. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snow Chains,
January 19, 2010
By nickolasxivlordalnham
from Stockport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The snow chains are a great idea and will get you out of some pretty bad conditions but your still stuck behind the car in front. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snow chains,
January 19, 2010
By Anonymous
from Chippenham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Although I haven't had to use these in anger, I did the practise fitting and they seemed to go without too much trouble, probably about 5mins for each wheel.
Beware of sizing though, I ended up with a different set to the ones I reserved as the '70' doesn't relate to the wheel size. The nice man in the shop put me straight. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snow Chains Size 70
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iceblok snow chains,
May 26, 2009
By sunshinemaloney
from Swindon, Wiltshire, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Compact to store, easy to use, give peace of mind in severe weather and good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.