Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords False Cross Bar

The Halfords False Cross Bar allows your bike to carried level on a rear cycle carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 of 43(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords False Cross Bar
Review 1 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords False Cross Bar,
July 11, 2016
By
from Colwyn Bay UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is an essential addition to make a bike carrier function. My only observation is that I didn't realise I needed one until I got home... I now have 2 for my 2 bikes... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product,
July 02, 2016
By
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought two of these for use with Carrera Vulcan mountain bikes to go with my Bones2 bike carrier. Excellent product, strong, sturdy, reliable. A bonus is it keeps the pressure from the weight of the bikes well away from the hydraulic brake pipes. These cross bars keep the bikes much more level on the carrier. Well recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic but Functional,
June 21, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid
Cons: doesn't grip the bike firmly
" This is a solid item. It doesn't grip the bike as much as I'd like but it was still in place after a three hundred mile trip and didn't rub any paint off the bike. Works fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job.,
June 06, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to attach.
Cons: loose fitting.
" I bought this item to fit a ladies bicycle to my car bike rack.
It has a very loose fit but it is easy to attach and does the job.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic and SO simple,
March 29, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity, price, strength, efficacy
Cons: none
" My wife having bought a new electric step-through bike, we had to find a way of transporting it on our Saris Bones bike carrier which requires a crossbar. This cost £20 and fitted the bill to an absolute tee. Such a simple idea and plenty strong enough to support a very heavy bike on the carrier. Can't recommend it highly enough. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy and easy to use,
March 26, 2016
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This false cross bar is very easy to use and allows a step through bike to be securely carried on a rear mounted bike rack. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good,
February 23, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does what it surpose to do great little bar
Bought 2
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product,
September 19, 2015
By
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Very simple to use and allows a step through bike to be safely carried on a rear mounted bike rack. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
False Cross Bar.,
June 15, 2015
By
from Londonderry, Londonderry, Derry, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: secure
" Great product.. It is very strong so you feel your bike is very secure and wont fall off your car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cross Bar Heaven,
April 29, 2015
By
from Isle of Man
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fully adjustable, feels sturdy
" Excellent product if your mtb frame will not accommodate a normal set up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy To Use Cross Bar,
April 29, 2015
By
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: the connecting loop was a bit tight for our bike.
" This is easy to use. With connections that slot into place . I tried another one before this which used screw connections which are really awkward to use.
I used this on a girls bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
false crossbar for cycle carriers.,
February 22, 2015
By
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bar is very sturdy and well made. Easy to fit. good value for money. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin!,
October 23, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Works well for carrying my full suspension mountain bike as the frame shape does not sit on standard bike carriers. No problems so far! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords false cross bar,
September 03, 2014
By
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Sturdy, easy to,use and easy to secure to bike . Good valve . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
August 30, 2014
By
from Hastings, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Allows a full suspension mountain bike to be easily fitted to car cycle rack . Quick,easy and simple to fit and remove. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (QUEENS RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok but not brilliant for suspension bike,
August 25, 2014
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit to the bike
Cons: doesn't work so well with suspension frame
" I bought this after purchasing the universal 3 bike high carrier (also Halfords own make) and finding that my son's adult suspension bike would not fit. The bike has a distance between the handlebar and seat post 2cm bigger than the minimum recommended for this false crossbar. However, when you try to attach to the bike carrier this doesn't seem to be a big enough distance, the ends of the false crossbar are too wide to sit properly in the rubber holders on the bike rack. It just about works but I wouldn't want to drive a long distance. Maybe it's better on a ladies bike? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great deal.,
August 17, 2014
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A fantastic little device. I was having to resort to putting my wife pedal bike upside down on the bike carrier. That it in itself was a challenge and a nightmare to secure. The cross bar has made it so much easier and more importantly the bike safetly secure. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
August 09, 2014
By
from Loughton, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, well made long lasting
Cons: releasing catch can sometimes be awkward
" Useful accessory for transporting bike, easy to use. This is my second one the first is 4 years old and still going strong. Highly recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
August 05, 2014
By
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick to fit
" Easy to use. Good quality. Fits 3 different bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the Tin,
January 20, 2014
By
from West Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: qucki to install
Cons: none
" Easy to use functional product that enables mountain bike without crossbar to be hung on bike rack with hanging arms.
In my case a thule item.
Price is right for quality of equul items of greater value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>