Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords False Cross Bar

The Halfords False Cross Bar allows your bike to carried level on a rear cycle carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
46 of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords False Cross Bar
Review 1 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin!,
October 23, 2014
By Pmacca85
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Works well for carrying my full suspension mountain bike as the frame shape does not sit on standard bike carriers. No problems so far! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords false cross bar,
September 03, 2014
By Gonz31
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Sturdy, easy to,use and easy to secure to bike . Good valve . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
August 30, 2014
By Anonymous
from Hastings, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Allows a full suspension mountain bike to be easily fitted to car cycle rack . Quick,easy and simple to fit and remove. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (QUEENS RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok but not brilliant for suspension bike,
August 25, 2014
By scooby103
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit to the bike
Cons: doesn't work so well with suspension frame
" I bought this after purchasing the universal 3 bike high carrier (also Halfords own make) and finding that my son's adult suspension bike would not fit. The bike has a distance between the handlebar and seat post 2cm bigger than the minimum recommended for this false crossbar. However, when you try to attach to the bike carrier this doesn't seem to be a big enough distance, the ends of the false crossbar are too wide to sit properly in the rubber holders on the bike rack. It just about works but I wouldn't want to drive a long distance. Maybe it's better on a ladies bike? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great deal.,
August 17, 2014
By Superop4711
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A fantastic little device. I was having to resort to putting my wife pedal bike upside down on the bike carrier. That it in itself was a challenge and a nightmare to secure. The cross bar has made it so much easier and more importantly the bike safetly secure. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
August 09, 2014
By WilkiFamily
from Loughton, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, well made long lasting
Cons: releasing catch can sometimes be awkward
" Useful accessory for transporting bike, easy to use. This is my second one the first is 4 years old and still going strong. Highly recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
August 05, 2014
By Gaz0000
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick to fit
" Easy to use. Good quality. Fits 3 different bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the Tin,
January 20, 2014
By Weeky
from West Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: qucki to install
Cons: none
" Easy to use functional product that enables mountain bike without crossbar to be hung on bike rack with hanging arms.
In my case a thule item.
Price is right for quality of equul items of greater value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords False Cross Bar,
December 21, 2013
By TheBadger99
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I'm using this to hang a Cube carbon XC MTB bike on a Thule HangOn 970 tow bar bike rack.
Using the bar, I can stop worrying about damaging the carbon frame. The bike is much more centrally placed and wheels only protrude beyond the car body by a couple of centimeters. Much more aerodynamic and secure for the bike.
I would recommend this whole heartedly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sorted!,
September 17, 2013
By MickG1810
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My wife's new bike has a step-thru frame & an over-sized down tube. While it fitted onto the hi-lift bike rack, it was very high so this allows it to sit a lot lower. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great idea,
September 15, 2013
By critter
from Southsea Hants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: innovative design, ease of use
" Great product not only for car application i also used it in a wall rack on my wifes dutch style tourer
This levelled everything up nice and neatly
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Misleading info,
September 04, 2013
By Ianmelat
from Solihull
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I have just purchased cycle carrier suspension cycle adaptor. It clearly states on the product (1) adapts to all cycles without horizontal crossbars (2) suitable for ladies, childrens & suspension cycles. I bought with the intention of fixing my sons bike to it. However the adaptor does not fit. The adaptor is only suitable for certain bikes. The info is misleading, false and should not be allowed to be sold as is. My sons bike is a Raleigh mini. It clearly suitable for a certain size and type. Suggest Halfords address this problem. I will be returning this product immediately. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
-11points
5out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy!,
August 13, 2013
By Happyuser
from Sheffield UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very user friendly.
" Makes loading the cycles onto the carrier much easier and the plus side is that they are very easy to fit! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
August 10, 2013
By rainbowscotia
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, easy to use. I have an Apollo ettiene bike and can now put it in my bike carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords false cross bar,
July 31, 2013
By Sharky50
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Purchased this item to be able to allow my partners cycle to be stored and carried on my car cycle carrier and it is perfect for this job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what you'd expect,
June 10, 2013
By Nigel82
from Shropshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" My wife recently purchased a step through bike and needed this to get it home. Worked perfectly well on my carrier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
June 01, 2013
By John72
from Cheshire East
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: no nuts and bolts
Cons: none
" This product works really well. It only takes seconds to fit it to a bike, and there are no fiddly bolts and wing nuts etc . Highly recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for Boardman bike,
May 14, 2013
By lulu3
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" After buying a rear mounted bike rack for my car I was expecting to need a false cross bar for my womans bike. However it turned out my partners boardman bike was the problem.
I was a little dubious as one end is bigger and I didn't think it would hold the bike still and would just rattle around. But once on the bike rack it stayed in one place and the bike was secure.
Only used on two journeys so far, but I have no worries about the quality and expect it to last a long time.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords False Cross Bar,
March 12, 2013
By dibs42
from Trowbridge Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very solid. maybe a bit heavy but easy to fit and works well with the three bicycle rack I purchased as well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords False Cross Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Simple Product,
November 18, 2012
By Trevor53
from Southend - on - Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what it says on the packet.
Simple to use and easy to store when not in use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>