Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Sat Nav Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe

TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav with full european mapping, 12 months LIVE services FREE & spoken street names.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
31 of 35(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Review 1 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A replacement for my Garmin Streetpilot,
May 13, 2012
By Anonymous
from Burton upon Trent UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: eady to set up and use
Cons: takes a while to turn on and the writing on the sc
"I have used this twice so far. The first time it took me near to my destination. The second time it took me straight there. I don't like the way the mount is fixed to the back of the device and is not removeable. if it breaks the complete satnav has to be replaced. I have not got used to the fact you have to hold the button for ages before it turns on and the screen has to be tapped quite hard for it to register what I want. I have not worked out how I get it to speak the street names but it is easy to set up and use for navigating. I like the way it highlights which lane I need to be in but the writing at the bottom of the screen is quite small and difficult to read."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good,
April 30, 2012
By Ron676
from London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Will recommend to everybody nice and sleek design very easy to operate and perfect price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful Item,
November 25, 2011
By mumruns
from Wirral, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: alerts to traffic problems and reroutes quickly.
Cons: have to download europe maps as not preinstalled
"Bought to replace older Sat Nav (different brand) which stopped working. Very pleased with TomTom, easy to start up from the box. Easy to update. Very accurate on time estimates for travel (previous model used to underestimate time needed for journeys quite considerably)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good purchase,
October 17, 2011
By softlad
from Southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: hands free
Cons: battery life
"Good sat nav, worked straight out of the box.
Have got a tom tom one xl UK/Republic of Ireland and needed a newer model.Only found one problem, thought the live traffic was a bit slow.Google search and weather are both excellent and I would definitely recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good choices,
October 13, 2011
By sylwia82
from Bath England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product, easy to use , recomended from my friend, Very light, good screen on sun day, and in night, many options to choose, frre trafics for a year, Just there is no case for this sat nav included."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill.................,
October 04, 2011
By Baz15
from Kings lynn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Absolutely brilliant item. I would recomend this to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
September 22, 2011
By mandem
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: traffic info fairly accurate, easy to use, speed cameras
Cons: expensive
"TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe - Works very well. Requires a software and map update when you first connect it to your pc.
It takes approx 2-3hrs to do this.
I have been using it every day, travelling approx 100miles a day, for the last 3 weeks, no problems. Battery life is good for now.. hold change for approx 2 hrs.
With the £30 cash back, it's a good buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase,
September 14, 2011
By babamdiki
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really useful and helpful, good buy all round and a nice peice of kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but not brilliant,
September 06, 2011
By Anonymous
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Has some excellent features. Just been to France; drove 1600 miles and it never went wrong on directions once, apart from trying to programme a place to go via. Here it twice took be somewhere no where near my way point; got it completely wrong. Also it froze on one occassion but picked up where it left off once I rebooted it, very quickly. Pronounciation of road names and town names is a bit interesting but this feature is nevertheless very useful. Having owned a TomTom One for several years this is a superior unit in every way. The Live services were inaccurate and useless in France. Any incidents shown were either exagerated or no longer there. Not put them to the test fully in the UK"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Sat nav used,
September 04, 2011
By Twinny
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hi Bought this sat nav last week and used it to navigate to North Wales. This was great it showed me where the traffic issues were and how long they lasted and delay time. Great all round sat nav"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still number one choice,
August 16, 2011
By tonylaw
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent build quality, good interface with plenty of control
"Returned a Garmin which was purchased to replace an original TomTom but it proved a complete disappointment. The TomTom via 120 was an excellent enhancement of my old satnav. Great screen, easy to use update system despite reviews suggesting it was difficult. Voice commands are the only weakness in an otherwise great product which I bought for its navigation not hands free voice controll."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good,
June 02, 2011
By tomplayfair
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It is a good product, easy to use, good tecnology."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
May 29, 2011
By Giljohn
from Kent, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Tom Tom does what it says, and to have the Live services without having to have a connection through a mobile phone is excellent. We are really pleased with this product. As with other reviews slightly fiddly to attach the cable in the device and a home charger with the product would also be useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sat Nav,
May 19, 2011
By casa99
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: five star.
Cons: no cons
"After having one of the origonal Tom Tom classic models for nearly 8 years I felt it was time to have a change.
I have to say the Tom Tom Via live 120 europe is a great kit with live traffic and voice recognition, also you get one free map upgrade with this model.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom,
May 04, 2011
By Gerti
from Hemel Hempsaed
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i purchased this two weeks ago and have found it by far the best Sat Nav it is easy to use , it is clear and informs you before you need to turn lol
i would recommend this product above all the others"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom,
April 30, 2011
By noviceuser
from devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: hands free telephone
Cons: none found yet
"Once I had been shown how to use the gadget it was very simple and helpful - bluetooth connection to phone is very good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hardware excellent but Tomtom support is hopeless,
April 25, 2011
By paul10
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good features, hd traffic excellent
Cons: a major con is the lack of reliable updates
"The Via Live 120 satnav hardware is very good and most of the live features work well. However, Tomtom update support is very poor indeed. I recently used the online update system and it resulted in the traffic camera data being removed from my Tomtom. The has happened to a number of users and well are still waiting for a fix from Tomtom. There seems to be quite a number of other problems with the update software for this family of Tomtoms and until they are sorted out I could not really recommend this Tomtom."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tool for travel abroad,
April 20, 2011
By finedab
from Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bluetooth
"Excellant bit of kit for those who want to get from a -b or a - z in the quickest and safest way"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upgrade from TomTom One 2nd Edition,
April 11, 2011
By Grumpy41
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Due to damaging the connection point on my old TomTom so it would no longer charge meant I needed to buy a replacement. I had been very happy with the performance of my TomTom so wanted to stay with this brand.
After some internet reviews of the various new TomTom products and some of the slightly older models sold by Halfords, opted for the Via Live 120 Europe model and reserved on line. £20 cash back offer made this as good value as some of the older models.
When I went to collect the item the next day there was a mix up at the shop and they didn't have a 120 Europe model only the UK version. However, they did have a Via Live 125 Europe model, and were happy to let me have this for the same price as the 120 model due to their mistake.
Have managed to upgrade the maps to the latest version using the new Web based tool, which I have seen some complaints about on the internet but worked okay for me. However, did take best part of a day to download the file and transfer to the Via.
TomTom do need to update their website to say that the fuel price checker is no longer included in the live service, but otherwise the traffic and other live services are great and very useful. Only time will tell if I will pay for the subscription once my 12 month trial is up.
Lots of new features over my previous TomTom, and managed to get the bluetooth to work with my wife's phone after a few attempts. Worthwhile downloading the user guide from the website.
Overall very happy with purchase and would recommend to others.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom Via LIVE 120 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Full Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Via Live April 2011,
April 11, 2011
By AdeyBaby
from Milton Keynes, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have used the Sat Nav for a couple of journeys now and it has worked well. Easy to set up, usually quick to get a satellite fix and to calculate a route. Bleeps and squawks when you go past a speed camera or exceed an average speed limit. A solid feeling bit of kit.
The only problem is the software for updates and downloading maps etc. TomTom haven't finished writing it yet. The day I bought it the web site was offerring UK Map downloads for the first time, but I have the Europe maps so can't say if it works. There are no software updates available for the machine.
So I'm sure it will be great when it's finished.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12next>>