Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Sat Nav Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe

Tom Tom IQ XL2 packed with great features including Advanced Lane Guidance, IQ Routes, extra widescreen & Western European Mapping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
29
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
1
58 of 66(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Review 1 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Very Happy,
January 27, 2011
By BusinessUser
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very slim and easy to use, great screen layout, great performance, fantastic value for money
Cons: voice with street names didn't work at first, voice sound maybe not as loud as you would like
"I had previously owned an old Garmin sat nav and was largely a fan of the Garmin product, but when I saw the offer on this item, I took the time to pop into the local Halfords store and check it out. I was impressed by the layout and the information displayed on the navigation screen that told me everything I needed to know about the journey, including time of arrival, distance to destination and more importantly speed limits on that road. Previously I had to click on to a different screen to find most of this information.
Out of the box, set up was very easy. The options were clear but a little limited in comparison to other manufacturers. No fancy calculators or currency converters or world clocks on this unit, but who needs those anyway? I paid the extra to purchase a traffic receiver and I would recommend this to anyone who can afford to do so. The traffic updates are very good. The navigation was spot on and a particular plus was the ease of entering the postcode. I liked the way it almost prompts for the next digit as you enter it and shows as unnamed road when it doesnt recognise it, yet still takes you to the right area. Previously, I would just get a not found message and that's it!
One warning though, the voice to speech didn't work at first. The voice would start to say something then stop and there were very few voice commands at all. I switched the voice option to no street names and it worked fine. This almost led me to return the product and I actually went and bought a Garmin Nuvi to test. I ran the two units side by side and the TomTom came out on top on performance. The arrival times were more accurate, as were the speed limits and the TomTom screen layout just looked a lot better.
Whilst running them side by side, I reverted back to the voice with street names and it started working perfectly. A bit weird, but at least it's working now.
The unit updated no problem when I connected to my computer. I was a little hesitant at first after reading others comments, but mine was fine.
In summary, it may not have all the features of the more expensive products or it's competitors offerings, but I felt it performed very well at getting me to my destination at roughly the time it said it would, which is my main reason for using a sat nav system and with the discount over Christmas, it was great value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good basic satnav,
February 06, 2011
By Nuttabiker
from Oxford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: intuitive to use, easy to read screen, good battery life
Cons: updating the maps from internet is slow, no bluetooth
"This is my second TomTom and I bought this to replace a PDA based device so I was already familiar with the features and functionality.
The XL2 is incredibly simple to use, it locks on position quickly and I'm impressed with the easy to read screen which is also OK in sunlight. I've used it on motorways, country roads in rural Wales and also used it to navigate walking around London - all of which were 100% accurate. Thankfuly the bugs that sometimes made my previous TomTom a little wayward at times seem to have been ironed out.
The only thing that potential buyers need to be aware of is that the download speed is PAINFULLY slow when you download the most upto date maps and other features - it took hours and I ended up running the downloads overnight and I've got a reasonable broadband connection speed. Also you will need to decide which portion of Europe you wish to download as the full European maps will not fit on the device.
One small feature that would have made the XL2 just that bit better would have been bluetooth connectivity with the car radio to mute the radio when voice guidance is given for junctions, speed cameras etc. I find these are tricky to hear over the radio unless set very loud.
My final comment is that in my humble opinion you don't really need to buy the extra accessories such as a mains charger or case as the device charges from anything with a USB outlet such as a PC and a bog-standard PDA/smart phone screen protector will prevent scratches. I've left the screen protector in place that was already fitted and it works fine.
Overall a very good device for the money and can recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
disappointed,
March 14, 2011
By marfea2
from Farnham, Surrey
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to use for simple routes, lane guidance is clear
Cons: does not cover western europe as described, maps are not up to date, not easy to set custom routes, speed camera warnings are a bit alarming
"WARNING: This product is sold as covering Western Europe. But after an update, it is only capable of holding maps for one third of this region. Therefore it cannot be used for driving e.g. from the UK to Italy. This is in blatant contradiction to the description of the device.
Apart from that, it is reasonably easy to use and the lane guidance is useful when driving on unfamiliar motorways. The "IQ routes" seem to be a bit random, so it is worth researching a route before plugging it in- which somewhat reduces the point of buying an in-car satnav. I struggled to enter a route with more than one waypoint, and the route was lost after I switched the device off and on again.
Driving from Annecy (France) to the UK, the device decided to change route halfway along and send me towards the Mont Blanc tunnel. I would have become very lost if I had heeded its advice.
Also, despite updating on the day before a journey through France, the device failed to recognise the E17 around Reims- which is a major route from the UK to many popular French destinations. On the plus side, it was amusing watching it panic as it thought I was driving across roundabouts and dead ends at 80mph, constantly trying to re-route!
Therefore think carefully before buying this- especially if you intend to use it to navigate around Western Europe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom Tom Review,
February 10, 2011
By TomTomUser123
from North West
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use. maps seem accurate at the moment.
Cons: voice difficulty at 100% volume
"When I first bought the unit I found a problem with the voice directions breaking up or not happening at all. (Default UK voice, straight from the box) I exchanged the unit for a replacement of the same model. However, I found the same problem on the replacement unit. With the Halfords store now closed for the night, I searched on the internet to see if anyone else was having the problem. I found this note:
In the set up options menu, untick the box which links the sound level to car speed. Also do not set the volume above 80%. The voice directions now seem to be fully working. Very clear and detailed. How strange. I have accepted that this is the solution to the voice problem and have kept the unit. It is still loud enough and I have not noticed any downside for not having the speed/volume link.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
load of rubbish,
January 17, 2011
By greatstart
from wales
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: easy to fix onto window
Cons: no multi drop, not enough favourites
"Bought this sat nav to replace my trusted navman s50 and was totally gutted.Firstly it is i cant believe that this suppose to be the top maker of sat navs tom tom cant store more than 10 favourites .Then the other strange thing is it is no good for a multi-drop driver as it can only cope with A to B routes. It has got a via but its not any good.All the great features just are not there,i am use to going A to B to C to D ect and able to store favourites from recent places ive been afterwards. Having a birds eye view when tapping in postcode so i can drag the little flag any were i want and save it ,been able to put in order all the places i need to go before setting off.I will not be buying a tom tom again in my eyes this unit its not for the drivers that use sat nav alot ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed.. Returning it to the shop,
September 04, 2011
By Estrada
from London
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: any pro ?
"Contrast if bad, specially if it is a very bright day. No speed cameras !!! if it has, it failed to show it to me in all opportunities it had! Start 20 does not allow to include map, it "allows", but has a small memory... so ? No options to chose the screen colours, some people see better in different colours. Software is harder to use than before. Unless you only use it in main roads, twice a month. you will get mad. I will return mine. I miss my old TomTom that I bought 5 years ago and I dropped. (I am happy with Halford, I bought it online, I am unhappy with the product)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but not that good,
December 11, 2010
By Jasee2
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First of all, I am a novice. I know nothing: this is my first Sat Nav. The manual is just a few pages, really not very useful. There is a better manual on the tom-tom site, better, but still not that useful. Perhaps the most annoying ommision is a simple way of getting the gps to take you back from somewhere you have got to. Maybe this is possible somehow but I haven't found it yet. It failed to find satellites a couple of times here in Kent, not sure whether that is normal or not. Most useful accessory is a nav-mat. Be sure to choose one with a cut out for this tom tom"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bit disappointed,
June 07, 2011
By Riom
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: lane guidance
Cons: map update limitation, features limited
"Good lane guidance as a new feature, nice large screen and very easy to use. However, disappointed that the menu options are not as complete as the old TomTom One we replaced. Did not include either speed cameras but got it from TomTom customer services for a limited period. Cannot update map with the whole of Europe due to limited memory and have to select one of the European areas. Image contrast not good. No audio warning when exceeding speed limit. All in all, we expected that after several years this TomTom would offer many improvements not some limitations."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money,
January 28, 2011
By Eurostomper
from Dunmow, Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: lane guidance, well made & very light, optional vent mount very good, can be used on foot
Cons: inaccurate, poor speech synthesis, slow replanning, windscreen mount useless
"Bought this to replace my 5 year old satnav (different make) 2 weeks ago.
Is constantly giving me incorrect routing & fails to replan quickly enough.
The voices are very garbled & indistinct..
Using it in France & Belgium, on the approach to roundabouts it was constantly instructing me to turn left on the roundabout ie the wrong way round!
Luckily enough I knew the route very well
Takes forever to obtain a sattelite fix especially after being switched off for a ferry etc..
Ran my old satnav alongside the XL2 & the old one was markedly quicker.
Not a good buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What no bluetooth?,
December 29, 2010
By jbl366
from Bedford
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: no built-in bluetooth for handsfree calling
"I purchased this sat nav three days ago as my previous Garmin was a bit old and did not stick to the windscreen anymore. The device itself is fine enough though I would like to inform other prospective purchasers that this device does not come with bluetooth for hands free access to your mobile.
I naively thought that for this price it would come as default on it seeing as cheaper devices have blue tooth on them. Unfortunately it does not.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
October 14, 2011
By norbecker
from lake district
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: does not go ogg with ignition
"I bought this sat nav to replace my old tom tom one I was suprised that it had less features than my old one .the most annoying one is that it does not switch itself off when the ignition is turned off ,I have left it turned on whilst leaving the car making it an easy target for thieves(especially at night)
That aside I think the sat nav was good value for money and I would certainly recommend it to a friend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sat nav tom tom,
March 20, 2011
By hamsarni
from Nuneaton warwickshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the instructions are clear and timely
"The tom tom product is good but suffers from a low memory and unable to always down load a new map of the type purchased as the equipment does not have a seperate card as the older versions and has an inbuilt card instead which cannot always down load the newer maps as they require a larger memory. this is mainly on the full europe version and is the main reason I chose only the western europe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good service,
December 04, 2010
By Flamingskull68
from Sheffield, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Tom Tom XL2 Sat nav is very good and easy to use, set up and amend both on screen and vis the internet TomTom home.
Good selection of voices and map tweaks.
Idiot proof map point location and points of interest.
Fits to car very easily.
Better than the original Tom Tom 700 it replaces......
The ordering and collecting procedure with halfords was very easy and ready when visited store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A grest bit of kit,
January 29, 2011
By crar22
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"With some changes from the original this is another winner from TomTom.
The interface has been cleaned up and generally it is an inprovement of the original.
About the only change I didn't like was the Address Keyboard - which no longer has numbers so entering a Post Code is more complicated than it needs to be.
Overall though an excellent SatNav at a reasonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thank goodness we bought it!,
June 04, 2011
By Danny11
from London, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, directions clear, lane guidence, screen good size
"2wk trip from uk to Germany, down the Rhine, Mosel, Blackforest, over to France, Dijon then back to uk. TomTom made the trip sooo easy. Lane guidence very very helpful. Menu easy to follow. Voice not too annoying. Did head us down a forest tract once! Only thing that would have been good is to be able to scan through the route/map which you can do on a Iphone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good buy,
March 28, 2011
By Morro
from nuneaton, england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no carry case
"I really like my new tom tom a replacement for my GO 910 which i had for four years with no problems and my new one is living up to the old one but is alot more compact am still getting used to the menu set up but it has alot more points of interest compared to the old ones things like tesco's and asda are in there which are handy if your somewhere different"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Tom Tom!,
November 01, 2011
By Red34
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Tom Tom is great! We bought it for all the features listed and they don't disappoint. The wide screen in particular is excellent, taking the screen on and off the clip is fine once you have the nack, and it's easy enough to use even for a novice like me. We bought one last year and liked it so much this is this year's Christmas present for my brother."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchase online,
January 28, 2011
By Mij89
from Walsall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: iq route
Cons: no cover/case to protect or pocket the satnav.
"Great satnav for its price. The new IQ route is much better than the usually one bar on sat nav as its more precise to which lane you should be on. Much faster than the previous models and fairly quick recalculation for when you take a wrong turn.You get a discount online so saved over £15.00 which is great. Would recommend to buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Replacement,
May 16, 2011
By akindredspirit
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very simple to use
Cons: none
"I bought this to replace a rather outdated Tom Tom we have had since they first came out. We used it for the first time this weekend on a 300 mile round trip. We were very pleased overall. The screen is easy to see and the lane instructions are a very useful addition. The spoken instructions are very clear. So far very pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL2 IQ Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Device,
February 20, 2011
By Civilian
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this device to replace my aged TomTom One. It was instantly usable with, for me, no complications. The wide screen and definition are a great improvement. The facility to set a start point and a destination irrespective of your current location is brilliant. I have yet to find anything I don't like about the product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1234next>>