Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain

Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain is the basic chain that gets your 8 speed bike going.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Review 1 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chain to take the strain,
January 24, 2016
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap and functional
" Good basic chain. Used on road bike with shimano 8 speed.. First ride today after new rear mech and chain. Chain did the job well. Quick link makes it easy to fit. At this price i will be replacing regularly to save wear on more expensive parts. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid chain,
November 04, 2015
By
from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, solid performance, easy to fit
" Getting my commuter bike back on track for the winter included a new chain, and four weeks in this Clarks 8-speed chain has gone very well so far. No noticable difference from my much fancier Ultegra Di2 kit on my road bike. I found the quick fit link very easy to use, including taking the chain off and back on once since then when I fitted a chain catcher last week. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clarks chain,
September 11, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: slightly noisey when operating
" The chain was a budget item, but it does the job had a quick link included. Good value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy install, great price,
April 29, 2015
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of installing, low price
Cons: ? what's not to like
" Haven't given it a good testing yet but it was easy to install and at a price you can afford. Was even cheaper when I reserved online and collected in store.
Hoping it holds out for some trail riding, seems pretty decent quality "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We'll worth it for the price,
March 11, 2015
By
from Speke liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Worth it for the price, could even buy two as a spare? Well worth it for the price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality chain on a budget,
January 22, 2015
By
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: neatly packaged
" £3.99 doesn't go far these but I was pleasantly suprised how little I paid for a good quality from Halfords. I expected the chain to weigh a ton but it was infact as light as most chains I had paid at least double for. The chain is also well lubed and supplied with a connecting link which snapped in first time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QR link needs pliers to remove,
December 27, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, availability
Cons: quick link needs pliers to remove
" I got 2 of these chains when there was an extra 10% off, so £3.60 a pop! Good value at that price and went onto my bike without a hitch. The QR link needs a pair of expanding pliers to force the end of the links together to remove as the pins lock into some recessed ridges and I any way couldn't shift them by hand, unlike the sram ones that can be removed by hand. Time will tell how the chain wears, but seems ok for undemanding use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clark's bike chain,
August 02, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great value , easy to fit , got me back on the road in no time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great as described,
January 31, 2014
By
from leeds w.yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for my sons bike good chain for the price but if your serious about biking I would recommend spending a bit more for better quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So cheap and works,
December 24, 2013
By
from Brighton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It's a chain and unless you need something super powered this is an excellent product "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HOVE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chain 8 speed,
December 06, 2013
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" Very cheep in store and worth every penny 4x the price in store "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Standard 8 Speed Bike Chain
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
August 16, 2012
By
from Fraserburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Nice size of chain and very easy to put on to bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.