Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm

Using lightweight aluminium and carbon fibre materials the Boardman Road Race has Shimano Sora components to give an inspiring performance at a great price.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 7(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Review 1 for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike great Service,
February 15, 2013
By DajwidL
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything, light, build quality, looks
Cons: none so far.
"I recently bought a bike from the Braintree Essex store.
The staff member Mitchell, assembled the bike and also fitted mudguards for me. Then helped me choose the extras for the bike, Fantastic service.
The bike is great, looks fantastic. I am very impressed and I am rather fussy :-) I really can't fault the bike, if this is your budget you will find it hard to find a better bike for the money.
If you are local to Braintree I really recommend the branch, just ask for Mitch."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic first road bike,
January 29, 2013
By greenstreet
from Braintree
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the smoothness of the ride, speed, very light weight, strong
Cons: standard cheap tyres so would recommend upgrading
"Firstly I would like to thank Scott in the Braintree store as out of all the stores in Essex he is the only person who appeared to know what he was talking about and actually enjoyed talking about it.
After much research on my first road bike I finally decided to buy the Boardman Road Race. Although costing more than other Halfords road race bike it provided me with a suitable size frame and comfort. This was difficult to come across at 6ft 3" and I know many other cyclists are even taller.
If you are first time rider I would recommend you spend a bit more money on a road bike to ensure you enjoy the experience.
After having my bike since August 2012 I am now going to be competing in my first race in March.
My girlfriend is also now buying the Boardman Sport road bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazingly Good Value,
January 25, 2013
By Velodan68
from Thatcham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, finish, value
Cons: none
"I bought this bike in December on my work C2W scheme as a winter trainer. My regular road bike doesn't accommodate mudguards so a good reliable bike that could withstand the rubbish winter weather was a must.
This is my first bike with a budget groupset and to be honest this is the only thing that is really budget about the bike.
The frame is simply superb for the money. The tubes have aero profiles and are clearly triple butted because the bike is certainly no heavyweight. What's more, the welds are lovely and smooth with an overall quality that puts more expensive bikes to shame.
The Sora gearing is nice and slick whilst it doesn't have the finesse of the Shimano 105 that I have on my normal bike it is perfectly adequate. The thumb shifters are a bit fiddly and can't be used on the drops but it is something that you soon get to grips with.
The ride is very good for a bike at this price. It doesn't jump up climbs as easy as my normal bike but it is not far behind.
I have fitted the Crud Racer Mk II's to this bike and they fit and work perfectly well. With hindsight I would have picked the slightly more heavyweight SKS mudguards that use the guard mounts but again, I can't really complain.
Overall, I would recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 3
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fab bike, top grin factor,
May 16, 2012
By jerry001
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: balance, comfort, performance
Cons: right now can't think of any
"i bought a Boardman Race recently and this is a short, early review. Essentially this is a fabulous bike. I'm not sure that the equivalent or slightly pricier Specialized or Treks are better.
the guys in the shop organised the delivery in a day and a half. the setting was more or less correct (i'm no expert). I thought i was going to struggle with the gear shifters but they are actually really good, so pretty happy with Halford there.
I normally commute every day with an ageing hybrid. i took the bike out on the sunday and the grin factor was top. I had no idea those bikes could go so much faster than my old bike. The tyre are really good so the grip is never an issue. the chain is high performance so my limited power get delivered efficiency. generally the poise, the comfort and the speed of the bike are amazing. Whether it is going along larger roads or up and down small country hills, it seems to work marvellously."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Purchase and Service,
April 21, 2012
By Cyclerider1
from Charlton, London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast and light
Cons: peddles
"I have had no problems at Halfords. Had to decide between this bike and a Claud Butler Vicenza at a local bike store. Spent many a day looking at reviews. Went in to my local Halfords over three days and tried the Boardman Race Bike and bought it with accessories included a few throw in. Manager was great. Came in and waited next day after taking the bike away for a couple of adjustments and he came outside and did it for me on his own time before the store opened."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the price,
December 02, 2011
By essjaydee
from Blackpool, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, specification, wheels, rides great, carbon fork
"Spent a fair while researching what road bike to buy, Giant, Trek, Specialized, but I kept coming back to this. Had a good look at one in store and fell in love. Looks great with a good spec of kit, and it rides better than it looks. When I came to order it, there was nil stock locally, so ordered on line and it was in stock couple of days later. I elected to collect it boxed and assembled and set up myself. Only do this if you are confident with bike maintenance and set ups though. First ride out was 40 miles and it rides like a dream. So fast and responsive it encourages you to push yourself further and faster."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Extra Large 57.5cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A quality ride,
July 07, 2011
By jdtate101
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, strong, responsive, pretty to look at
Cons: naff standard pedals
"Having been riding a MTB for the last few years and finding it lacking on the roads I bought the Boardman Road Race as a mid price purchase. I couldn't get it in store so had to order online. No problem, the bike turned up 3 days later, and after a few minor adjustments (brakes were rubbing the rims, seat hight etc..) it was out onto the road. First thing I noticed was the speed and stiffness of the ride, not spongy like my MTB. It's very light and I found myself powering up hills like never before. I look forward to many more miles on the BRR. One thing I am immediately going to change is the pedals. The standard ones are AWFUL. I spent ages at every traffic lights fighting to get my feet back into the straps. Pedal upgrades are recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.