Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav

TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav with 5" colour fluid touch screen, a year of LIVE Services is included free and a magnetic mount.
Average Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
21
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
4
90 of 98(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Review 61 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
magnetic mount is very good.,
June 07, 2011
By xclucie
from SW England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have not used to full extent yet but first impressions are good. Battery life is only about 2hrs. Halfords delivery was very quick. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav,
June 05, 2011
By Thedonething
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: large screen sizes
Cons: does not fit case perfectly
" Excellent product - much better than my old 920 GO "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 63 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Sat Nav, poor PC/MAC Software,
May 29, 2011
By Jiffo
from Bham, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hd traffic, screen size, routing, re routing
Cons: pc software is basic, doesn't come with a case
" This is an excellent Sat Nav, great running software on it, no compass or advanced planning yet but the rest of the new interface is excellent.
TomTom HD traffic is out of this world, far better than my previous Sat Nav and the routing of the device I have found to be spot on. Also recalculating is spot on and fairly quick.
The main pitfall is the PC software, well it has none to speak of. It's online and the only thing you can do is update your device, backup your favourites and install custom POI's. No device backup,, custom voices? These however have been promised for the summer this year?
Overall if you drive a lot as I do for work the usage side of the device in the car is outstanding.
I would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tomtom Go 1005,
May 28, 2011
By ppt2
from Walsall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: large screen and clear instructions
Cons: dire software and does not connect to windows 7 co
" An realy good satnav let down by the software and drivers not working on a windows 7 computer. The satnav it self is brilliant but do not try and update it on a windows 7 system.Tomtom support says it does work on some windows 7 systems , but as of yet not all the bugs are irond out .This satnav appears to have been released BEFORE the software is ready. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tom tom go live 1005,
May 22, 2011
By BB49
from north yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" realy nice peice of kit easy to use with great mount "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom Tom 1005,
May 17, 2011
By GramB
from Glasgow, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: display quality, speaker quality
Cons: no cheap fuel finder
" Worked straight from box. Got latest map update no problem; large map so took some time to download. Pleased to see new M74 extension in Glasgow was included as it's not open yet (option to unblock road). Found mount kept dropping off windscreen, on closer inspection found protective packaging film was still on suction cup...D'Oh! No critisism other than cheapest fuel finder function no longer available. Lovely clear display and high quality speaker gives crisp, clear instructions. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, fast and accurate,
May 01, 2011
By roadsterman99
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: live services, sharp screen image, easy to set up
" Easy to use straight out of the box.
Far faster than my old 730 model, however less non-navigational features.
Fantastic 5" screen which is very sharp.
Live services on tap automatically without need to use my mobile phone.
Very pleased.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 68 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth while upgrade,
April 26, 2011
By tcp1
from SE England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" When my 950 stopped working I checked out what was available and chose the 1005. I am very pleased with the unit. It is a lot less bulky than the 950. the screen is great and easy to read. The windscreen connector is much improved and with the unit being attached magnetically it is very easy to place and remove from the holder. I can't comment on the traffic IQ routing aspect yet as I have not been in the unfortunate position of having to avoid traffic jams yet.
Thoroughly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product....best price anywhere,
April 15, 2011
By davidwf
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does everything you could ask, works in cars with athermic windscreen, display brightness changes automatically, mega quick to locate satellites, magnetic mounting, speaks the next street / road names
Cons: massive update before using, reflective screen, price
" I wanted to upgrade from a PDA running TomTom Navigator 6, I needed full Euro cover, I needed a BIGGER screen, I desired live services (Google local search mainly) and, although initially it seemed extremely expensive this seemed to fulfill all my requirements.
After looking around the only other alternative was the XXL IQ, also with a 5" screen but I soon realised that with a lowly 2Gb internal memory I wouldn't be able to update the map without breaking it up into smaller sections (this was confirmed by TomTom) which would then need a PC or laptop to load them when they were needed - hardly ideal when on holiday abroad !
So, the 1005 it was to be......
Impressively it worked straight out of the box and I was relieved to find that it quickly picked up 10 (out of 12 possible) satellites through my athermic windscreen - my previous one needed an external antenna as it wouldn't pick up anything !
In use the menus are intuitive and "familiar, similar but different" to previous versions so there isn't much of a learning curve and thankfully there are fewer menus to negotiate through.
There are several you tube reviews claiming the IQ routing system to be useless but I have found otherwise - it calculates the route very quickly indeed and as soon as it picks up a Vodafone signal you are advised of any delays on the route, more impressively it all works indoors too so you can check the route from home.
Voice announcement is loud (can be VERY loud if required) and clear and it can also speak the name of the road or street you are about to join which is a real benefit.
The display brightness automatically changes the day / night setting as it gets dark.
When I connected it to the PC and set up "My TomTom" I was advised that software and map updates were available, the software took about 15 mins but the maps took nearly 5 hours to download (on a 2.5meg broadband connection) and then a further 4 hours to load to the device.....hmmm.....looking on the TomTom forum this does seem to be the case but it all installed OK in the end and after a couple of re-boots and a worryingly blank screen for nearly 5 minutes it all worked OK - my advice is to leave it completely (completely !!) alone whilst doing the upgrade
The Google local search is brilliant, in effect you have the benefits of millions of POI's and can navigate directly to them and / or phone them via a blue tooth connection to your existing mobile phone......brilliant.
The new capacitive touch screen is responsive and only needs y a light touch with your finger - no more pressing or tapping with a stylus, no more losing said stylus !
The only downside of this is that the screen gets covered in fingermarks and, having a glossy finish does show a lot of reflections, the matt finish of the PDA screen didn't suffer from this problem.....but it wasn't quite as sharp or clear....you pays your money.......
Talking about money after trawling the internet I came across Halfords purely by chance and found them to be the cheapest supplier anywhere, use the reserve on line service it is cheaper still AND there is currently a £30 cashback offer from TomTom
The magnetic mount for both device and cable work well and are easy to use.
All in all I am, so far, pleased with it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 70 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
April 12, 2011
By happystreet
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the 7 TomTom my last being a Live 950. This one is very similar to use but finds your location much faster, only criticism is it does not cover the USA and you cant expand, so will use my 950 when we go to the USA. Junctions are much clearer also. Just come back from a trip to Germany and France and it never lost signal or took us the wrong way and the traffic delays were spot on, so over all highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Expensive,
April 09, 2011
By SamY2
from Kent
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: expensive
" For the top of the range live model, the device should have been a lot better.
The screen resolution is too low, and feels underpowered and sluggish at times.
Its has plenty of features and does navigation very well as expected - but you dont get a lot extra for the premium. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 72 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable purchase,
March 29, 2011
By Sweetdutchman
from Redditch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Exellent service, best way to buy is online and pay by collection "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purshase,
March 07, 2011
By eddddddd
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very good item, easy to use, everthing what i need in my travels "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 74 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The perfect upgrade,
March 06, 2011
By Anonymous
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stylish new look, extra large screen, very good sound, good lay out of new menu
Cons: none
" Bought this unit as a replacement for my 940 which was starting to freeze at times. Very nice looking which always goes down well. No problem with the newest map download with all the other extras on the way shortly according to tomtom. The sound is much better now. Crystal clear screen with really good new style graphics. Re-routes quickly and the live services are quick to connect. Like the new mount and have no complaints. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TT Go 1005 Live,
March 05, 2011
By simesp
from Warwick, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy setup, easy to install, crisp clear display, fast route planning, traffic info 1st class
Cons: computer interface still in development, expensive, reduced flexibility
" Overall the TomTom Go 1005 is a great product with a clear easy to use interface, easy to setup and works out of the box. I opened mine outside the store and in less than 2 minutes was up and ready to start navigating to all the places I wanted to go. The traffic services were already activated and with seconds I had all the local traffic information I could possibly want. With the clear read aloud instructions it makes navigating easy and problem free. In fact on day 2 of ownership it save me over two hours by directing me around a pretty serious traffic issue on my way to work and I was in the office before all of my colleagues. Additionally, it warns clearly about driving too fast and also if there are safety cameras on my route, thus also presenting me with a saving in terms of speeding fines and points on my license. It clearly does what it says on the box and presents itself as one of the market leading navigation devices.
As the proud owner of a previous Live Device, in terms of functionality there has not been any great additions other than the fact that the new has a very much clearer fluid display that at 5 inches makes the navigation experience much more fun and TomTom have also included 1 year of Live services instead of the 3 months you had before.
I have to cover a few of the negatives though.
TomTom have released a product that is not fully support by the new computer interface they have started moving their new devices to. They have removed a lot of functionality that the older devices had and still have and it makes the whole update process very clunky and unreliable, being the owner of an older Live device I find that updating the older easier and allows for more flexibility in terms of backup adding maps and POI's (Points of Interest). TomTom should have had the new interface for updating the device fully functional before releasing the TTG 1005 for example at the time of writing this review it was still not possible to get the latest map for the device. Adding shared POI's has only in the last couple of days become available and it is still not possible to perform a device backup. The TomTom products are also quite expensive and other market leading brands offer cheaper update services that offer slightly more flexibility, for example one leading brand allows you to purchase traffic services on a monthly basis, rather than fixed term.
My overall rating is based on my personal experience of TomTom products over the last few years and the fact that TomTom have released a product that is not fully supported by its online update service is clearly not the service you would expect from a market leader.
If you want a product that very fast route calculation, with a very high quality display, then the 100X range is definitely the range to go for, if you want flexibility and for the moment anyway more functionality, then choose one of the older Live devices that still use the old update interface.
In terms of cost, the Halfords reserve online service saved a considerable sum of money on the price of the unit and made it very attractive to purchase in this way, (Thank you Halfords) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 76 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sat nav,
March 02, 2011
By petrel2301
from Medway, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: magnetic mount, iqroutes, traffic updates
Cons: doesn't come with a protective case as standard
" The best satnav that I've had to date.The live traffic updates are updated much quicker than on my previus tomtom and the mapping is much better and clearer. IQ routes are great too and mean that you miss a lot of the conjestion on the normal trunk roads. The only downside about this purchase was that the first cable was broken internally and had to be replaced, this was done immediately instore. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but still awaiting software updates!,
February 23, 2011
By Aviator2125
from Canterbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Fast, accurate. Good menus.
The best bit is the IQ traffic function. It was remarkably accurate during my commute from Canterbury to Heathrow during this morning's rush hour. I'm very impressed - this was the most important bit for me. The built-in 3g updating is very good.
Shame they released it before the new updating system via My Tom Tom is working properly but it's only a matter of time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomtom1005,
February 19, 2011
By Minty1967
from North wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: massive screen, clear directions, lane guidance
Cons: none
" This is my 3rd tom-tom and is the best yet. Big screen makes for better usage when on the move as does the lane guidance, and speed camera warnings, all of which can be set.
Only drawback, is that tom-tom have not fully developed some of their services, ie download voices and sounds etc as these are still in development, so watch this space, but would definitely recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 79 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all round GPS,
February 18, 2011
By Uggi
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: crystal clear big screen, responsive touch screen, easy to use menus, wide range of sensible features, clear voices, very quick satellite tracking, quick mount system
Cons: no printed handbook, no universal data and power socket, power and data connection is to flimsy
" TOM TOM is now at the top of the GPS league. The GO LIVE 1005, with it's crystal clear 5" screen, is without doubt one of the best GPS units on the market. With Halfords price, it is an unbeatable package. The display is cleaner and crisper than most and provides you with the option to include a wide range of additional realtime data that is incredibly useful. The handfree phone option is first class, as is everything else with this outstanding GPS system. If you haven't got one, buy one. You won't be sorry. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 Europe Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best TOMTOM 1005 deal,
February 14, 2011
By 8072raz
from Exeter
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brilliant go 1005
Cons: updates to follow?
" Excellent service from halfords and the best price on the market, plus 50% off tomtom accessories so I purchased a quality case for the 1005 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>